LoC flare up: August 2013

Pakistani snipers target Indian posts in Jammu
Vijay Mohan/TNS

Chandigarh, August 19
Pakistani forces are using snipers to target Indian troops across the International Border (IB) in Jammu. During the past month, there have been three incidents of sniping, in which one Border Security Force (BSF) soldier was killed and two were seriously wounded.

BSF top brass has directed local commanders to respond to enemy activity from across the border in an effective and calibrated manner.

BSF Special Director General Rajdip Singh said on August 11, a single round fired from Pakistan’s New Chinor post seriously injured a BSF trooper posted at the Alfamachan border outpost. Earlier, on August 5, sniper fire from Pakistan’s New Awam hit a BSF constable Ram Niwas, who later succumbed to his injuries at AIIMS, New Delhi. Counter-fire by BSF killed a Pakistani ranger.

On July 27, Pakistani snipers from Jagwal post targeted a BSF observation post, injuring a BSF trooper. BSF, in retaliation, killed two Pakistani rangers.

Pakistan’s so-called Border Action Teams (BATs) are known to be active along the IB and the Line of Control to assist infiltration of terrorists into Jammu and Kashmir and also to target Indian posts. The BSF recently foiled two BAT attempts to foment trouble.

On the intervening night of August 13 and 14, BSF troops detected movement of heavily armed terrorists through surveillance devices in the Krishnaghati area. BSF troops opened fire and the terrorists also retaliated and ran towards the LoC, taking advantage of thick vegetation and bad weather. Simultaneously, posts from across the LoC started indiscriminate firing to assist the terrorists. The BSF action prevented a likely terrorist attack on Indian posts.

Earlier, BSF troops in the Rajouri sector neutralised two terrorists who were members of a BAT team that had infiltrated across the LoC with the intention to inflict casualties on Indian forces. In this incident, the BSF had recovered two AK-47 rifles with nine magazines, five Chinese hand grenades and other items.

Pointing out that in the recent past, there has been a spurt in ceasefire violations, Rajdip Singh said since May, there have been 31 instances of violations in Jammu region and eight cases along the LoC, which indicates desperation of the ISI and Pakistani forces to get terrorists to infiltrate into the Indian territory. Besides Indian posts, Pakistan is targeting villages along the border. This month, BSF recovered close to Rs 5 lakh along with Pakistani SIM cards from RS Pura.
The Tribune, Chandigarh, India - Nation
Indians lost another soldier Pakistan responded with snipers to Indian firing and in result Indians lost one soldier and another one is injured @Aeronaut @Leader @Oscar @WebMaster @nuclearpak @Areesh @fatman17 @Arsalan @OrionHunter @nair @hinduguy

Yar ya Indian Media bhe na...
If we had such Good Sniper to hum Sikander Sahib ko na qabo kr lytay!! :P
Hum Masoom bachay han, hum na kuch nai kia! :)

Yar ya Indian Media bhe na...
If we had such Good Sniper to hum Sikander Sahib ko na qabo kr lytay!! :P
Hum Masoom bachay han, hum na kuch nai kia! :)

Our Police doesn't have snipers Sir I mean the Islamabad Police Army and Rangers have Snipers and they have the best one in the world Sir with really good Guns

@notorious_eagle - Sir eik sawaaal poochaaa thaaa ! :cray:

Whats the latest on the LOC ? What is the Army up to ? :unsure:

Media mein tou koi pataaa nahin chal rahaaa...they'd run talk shows on Nawaz getting a constipated stomach but nothing on the LOC thing ! :undecided:

Nothing much, the usual. Sporadic firing back and forth, we were using small arms but the Indians have started using weapons that can be termed in the medium category. So far there is no report of any bunker being destroyed from the Pakistani side, only the Indian side is claiming it. Also if you hear the intercepts the Indians have posted, Pakistani posts are taking fire but there is calm among the voice communication officers.

Since the Indians are trying to up the ante, the question is how will Maj Gen Najam Shah will respond? Will he take the bait or will he keep his troops on a tight leash.

All evidence on the table suggests that elements of the ISI were involved in some manner. That is the position of the GoI. The Americans believe that too. There are two gentlemen who have been singing, one in America & one in India - Headley & Abu Jundal. Maybe the fact that your government tried so hard to stop Jundal's extradition & their obvious lack of interest in dealing with Hafiz Saeed confirms what many in India think.

If India has the evidence that ISI was involved in these attacks, than take the case to SC and ICJ. What is stopping India from doing that, and i am yet to find a single piece of statement that the Americans do believe that ISI was behind the 26-11 attacks. Put your money where your mouth is and present evidence.

Then, no point in complaining. If IA soldiers are killed, there will be consequences. Same BOTTOM LINE.

Sure, but stop pretending to be the victim when your clearly not

No purpose at all, simple retaliation. Pakistan has its patience, and its patience is being tested by the Indians. Indians have upped the ante by using mortars and heavy artillery. What they forget is that Pakistan has the same ammunition too, and lots of it. These punitive strikes have no purpose at all, only a battle of ego's. .....................

Whose egos are so important so as to hold national interests hostage? Endless retaliation that achieves nothing except entrench the importance of the military in the national discourse? Wait a minute, that just might be it.

If India has the evidence that ISI was involved in these attacks, than take the case to SC and ICJ. What is stopping India from doing that, and i am yet to find a single piece of statement that the Americans do believe that ISI was behind the 26-11 attacks. Put your money where your mouth is and present evidence.

First of all ....... There is ample evidence from Kasab, David Headly and Tunda that ISI has been backing LET . You can't just deny that for the sake of winning an argument ...

Second of all ..... You started the whole mess by sending terrorists across the LOC ..... IF people come from Pakistani side and start killing soldiers/civilians , then the Pakistani state is responsible. You should have put an end to supporting terrorism a long time ago..But NOooooo ...you have to send terrorists and play victim/innocent card at the same time

This saddens me so much. There is no objective, no territory to be gained or no strategic point to be captured. The only purpose is to inflict casualties on the other side. Unfortunately both sides are so equally matched in Mountain Warfare, they have both have the same capability to inflict equal casualties.

Despite Indian bravado of steam rolling the 12th Division, facts on the ground state otherwise. There is not much the Indians can do to dislodge or inflict pain on the 12th Division. For example, even if the Indians do manage to kill 10 PA soldiers, whats the end purpose? PA will regroup and retaliate back and kill the same amount of IA soldiers. Last time in January, GOC was able to keep his troops in line and not retaliate as the local commanders wanted to. The Indian Government has given open permission to the IA to engage in hostilities, this explains their constant provocations. If they continue with these provocations, PA Generals might be tempted to unleash the Local Commanders with orders to retaliate with full force.

LOL you are playing innocent here even after knowing all.

Your objective is the same as for decades ie send terrorists in India and kill civilians and incite riots and then say Islam khatre mein hai.

Our objective is simple ie stopping your brainwashed terrorist and put cold water on your plans ie MISSION KASHMIR IS FAILED.

Now why are you not reporting how many terrorists/soldiers are killed in recent counter attack, seems like all are running back in fear of GHAATAK ATTACK? At least 30-50 Pakistani terrorist/soldiers are killed in recent counter attack by Indian Army.You again miscalculated the response.It should be YOU to understand the end result which is nothing but SHAMEFUL RETREAT of your soldiers.Why do you always start what you cant finish off?

:omghaha:

INDIAGHATAKq1.jpg

Flag Hoisting ceremony some where in India @<u><a href="http://www.defence.pk/forums/member.php?u=15719" target="_blank">Aeronaut</a></u> @<u><a href="http://www.defence.pk/forums/member.php?u=31895" target="_blank">Leader</a></u> @<u><a href="http://www.defence.pk/forums/member.php?u=2" target="_blank">WebMaster</a></u> @<u><a href="http://www.defence.pk/forums/member.php?u=32045" target="_blank">nuclearpak</a></u> @<u><a href="http://www.defence.pk/forums/member.php?u=14956" target="_blank">Oscar</a></u> @<u><a href="http://www.defence.pk/forums/member.php?u=25703" target="_blank">Areesh</a></u> @<u><a href="http://www.defence.pk/forums/member.php?u=141155" target="_blank">Talon</a></u> @<u><a href="http://www.defence.pk/forums/member.php?u=35647" target="_blank">RazPaK</a></u> @<u><a href="http://www.defence.pk/forums/member.php?u=39168" target="_blank">Major Sam</a></u> @<u><a href="http://www.defence.pk/forums/member.php?u=26661" target="_blank">Jazzbot</a></u> @<u><a href="http://www.defence.pk/forums/member.php?u=28512" target="_blank">mafiya</a></u> @<u><a href="http://www.defence.pk/forums/member.php?u=145565" target="_blank">Yzd Khalifa</a></u> @<u><a href="http://www.defence.pk/forums/member.php?u=137740" target="_blank">Arabian Legend</a></u> and others :omghaha:

Our women are enough to beat the **** out of these guys. :rofl: :nana:

Our Police doesn't have snipers Sir I mean the Islamabad Police Army and Rangers have Snipers and they have the best one in the world Sir with really good Guns

was just be sarcastic. Sorry!

LOL you are playing innocent here even after knowing all.

Your objective is the same as for decades ie send terrorists in India and kill civilians and incite riots and then say Islam khatre mein hai.

Our objective is simple ie stopping your brainwashed terrorist and put cold water on your plans ie MISSION KASHMIR IS FAILED.

Now why are you not reporting how many terrorists/soldiers are killed in recent counter attack, seems like all are running back in fear of GHAATAK ATTACK? At least 30-50 Pakistani terrorist/soldiers are killed in recent counter attack by Indian Army.You again miscalculated the response.It should be YOU to understand the end result which is nothing but SHAMEFUL RETREAT of your soldiers.Why do you always start what you cant finish off?

:omghaha:

INDIAGHATAKq1.jpg

We have killed around 300 indian soldiers with around 700 injured and you were able to kill just 50-60 Pakistanis. Pathetic performance dear. Nothing to be proud of.

@Other Indian members

I know 300 Indian soldiers aren't dead. Just responding to this douche from your country in his own language. So take it easy. :)

The Americans believe plenty. Headley's testimony is in the U.S. courts. Obama's top adviser Bruce Reidel has pointed out what I said many times. Beyond a point, everyone does what is in their national interest. The Americans haven't called the coup in Egypt a coup, have they? Same here. What specific evidence did you want? Signed confession from ISI officers, preferably with the ISI chief's signature? Get real. What I said is the GoI's position as articulated by former HM Chidambaram. That was after Abu Jundal sang like a canary.

Your government & state apparatus shield the LeT. No escaping responsibility then. The only ones fooled by such a tactic are those inclined to be so fooled. Count us out of that list.

I'm sorry. Should we do what you want us to do? I'm afraid that we don't care to do that.

Senate slams Indian LoC firing

ISLAMABAD - The Senate on Monday condemned the unprovoked Indian firing on LoC and violence in Egypt as well as toppling of a democratically elected government in that country.
These sentiments were expressed by the members unanimously through two separate resolutions passed by the Upper House that met for 97th session with Deputy Chairman Sabir Ali Baloch in the chair.
The resolution on situation on LoC was moved by Leader of the House Raja Zafarul Haq, stating Pakistan wants peaceful relations with all the neighbouring countries but it will not accept any aggression on its sovereignty.
The House unanimously passed the resolution condemning the unprovoked firing on Line of Control by India.
Some Opp members including Farhatullah Babar from PPPP and Zahid Khan from ANP also demanded thorough probe of the Indian breaches by the UN Observers Mission.
PML-Q senators including Mushahid Hussain Syed and Kamil Ali Agha while endorsing the resolutions said Pakistan should reply to unprovoked firing in a befitting manner.
They also demanded the government highlight the atrocities of the Indian forces against the innocent Kashmiris for demanding their right to self-determination.
Kamil Ali Agha as well as Senator Mandokhel from Balochistan also called upon the government to strive to call UN session on Indian breaches of LoC.
They described the Indian move to leave water in Pakistan&#8217;s three rivers as &#8216;water aggression&#8217;, which has caused huge losses to the people of Pakistan.
Mian Raza Rabbani from PPPP moved the second resolution condemning the ongoing violence in Egypt and toppling of a democratically elected government that was also unanimously passed by the House.
The House also congratulated Senator Jhangir Badar from PPPP on attaining his doctorate degree from the Punjab University.
Earlier, at the outset the announced the panel of the Presiding Officers for the current session. Its members include Chaudhry Jaffar Iqbal&#8218; Gul Muhammad Lot and Nasreen Jalil. The House also offered Fateha for the departed soul of the son of Senator Saeed Ghani of PPPP.
The House was adjourned to meet again on Tuesday (today) amid points of order by the Opposition benches to discuss the Islamabad incident carried out by a gun-man named Sikandar.
Leader of Opposition in the House, Aitzaz Ahsan and Mian Raza Rabbani sought to discuss the issue through a joint adjournment motion. But the chair adjourned the House

Senate slams Indian LoC firing

We have killed around 300 indian soldiers with around 700 injured and you were able to kill just 50-60 Pakistanis. Pathetic performance dear. Nothing to be proud of.

@Other Indian members

I know 300 Indian soldiers aren't dead. Just responding to this douche from your country in his own language. So take it easy. :)

300 when? About 700 Pakistani terrorists killed in last few years.

We ALWAYS know you feel shame in recognizing and admitting your causalities in wars.Now you are unable to answer and resorting to abusing shows you have LOST the argument.

A Army which refuses to accept their own soldiers and let them rott on enemy land.Wow what a professional Army you have.:bunny:

@Other Pakistani members : Don't worry I am teaching your brother in my language and not his abusive one which he speaks.

300 when? About 700 Pakistani terrorists killed in last few years.

We ALWAYS know you feel shame in recognizing and admitting your causalities in wars.Now you are unable to answer and resorting to abusing shows you have LOST the argument.

A Army which refuses to accept their own soldiers and let them rott on enemy land.Wow what a professional Army you have.:bunny:

@Other Pakistani members : Don't worry I am teaching your brother in my language and not his abusive one which he speaks.

We massacred 300 Indian soldier when you were killing 30-50 Pakistani soldiers. :)