Literacy rate at 71% in rural India, 86 % in urban: Survey

yes, the populations in ussr and libyan jamahiriya was lot lot less than india's because the farmers in those socialist lands suicided on daily basis.

Farmers suicides are linked mostly to private financing in which the rate of interest is high and on that farmers have to be dependable of the rainfall.

Estimate in 2014 is that there are 6.25 million people in Libya, dropping it down to the 109th most populous country. immigrants make up just over 12% of the total population, according to UN data (2013) (July 2014 est.)

Yeah right...an education system which produces only doctors and engineers.

Our education system should encourage creativity and discourage rote learning, but unfortunately this is not going to happen anytime soon.

Primary and secondary education doest not produce doctors or engineers.
If you remember Science, social studies, maths, geography, language, GK, drawing, and subjects like music are thought in classes. Its the parents and society which decides under what capabilities he/she can make his livelihood.

Both creativity and rote learning play very important role, thats nature, one of the way of natures learning mechanism is doing things repeatedly. For example the rote learning of multiplication tables help in quick computation.

Education system will also evolve as required, so dont worry about it. Our system is not perfect, but its good, since we are able to produce gems which are shinning globally on there merits of education and hardwork.

yes, the populations in ussr and libyan jamahiriya was lot lot less than india's because the farmers in those socialist lands suicided on daily basis.

Are we still talking about farmers or, population in general..?

People in Libya and USSR were living under dictatorship with not enough amenities and civil rights. Sanctioned ration is not something Indians should hope for. :)

Farmer suicides do occurs even in other countries and its like an International issue.

In the U.S. the rate of farmer suicides is just under two times that of the general population. In the U.K. one farmer a week commits suicide. In China, farmers are killing themselves daily to protest the government taking over their prime agricultural lands for urbanization. In France, a farmer dies by suicide every two days. Australia reports one farmer suicides every four days. India yearly reports more than 17,627 farmer suicides. -- Newsweek 2014

Farmers suicides are linked mostly to private financing in which the rate of interest is high and on that farmers have to be dependable of the rainfall.

1. therefore private financing and interest-driven economics should have long been abolished... a few days, a farmer in karnataka state set his sugarcane field on fire and went in and burned himself alive... he had taken a loan of 1.26 lakhs ( 126,000 rupees ) and was unable to return it.

2. in india, every necessity is a commodity to be exchanged for money... other than above point, the system should have been enlightened enough to remove economics burdens from citizens for basic necessities and basic comforts... how can a government become the world's biggest armaments importer when the society has so much injustice??

Estimate in 2014 is that there are 6.25 million people in Libya, dropping it down to the 109th most populous country. immigrants make up just over 12% of the total population, according to UN data (2013) (July 2014 est.)

if we are comparing populations, then has any state in india achieved parity with the comforts offered by pre-2011 libya??

it should, for below is how any citizen ( and by consequence, farmers ) in libyan jamahiriya lived...

1. any person interested in engaging in farming was given free land by the system, along with seeds, tools needed and housing, for free.

2. electricity and water was free ( that too in a largely desert country ), and libya had history's largest irrigation system, "the great man-made river" project ( gmrr ).

3. housing for any citizen was to be lived rent-free until the resident wished... rent was considered a compromise on the freedom of the citizen and therefore anti-human.

4. medical system was free, and if treatment was available outside, the costs would be borne by the system.

5. education system was free, and if that course was available outside, the costs would be borne by the system.

6. education was of one's choice and could not be forced by parents or circumstance.

7. food was at low cost.

8. any person interested in establishing a business was given a start-up amount of 20,000 dollars, interest-free.

9. all loans were interest-free.

10. no private banks operated in libya.

11. for a person not in employment, he or she was given the average salary ( stipend ) for the person's choice of field of employment... in fact, this was a coming-down in later years from the early days of the al-fatah revolution... in 1979, a unemployed person was given 7000 dollars per month !!

12. libyan jamahiriya being socialist, all wasteful traditions were frowned upon, like 600-guest four-day weddings like what happens in south asia.

13. at weddings, the bride and groom were together given 50,000 dollars to help them set up a new home etc.

14. car purchase was subsidized by the system.

----------

so tell me, why would any farmer suicide in libyan jamahiriya, when his material needs had been taken care by the system, leaving him spiritually at ease ??

i would love to live in such a dictatorship... indeed, i would contribute to bringing such a dictatorship to the world.

1. therefore private financing and interest-driven economics should have long been abolished... a few days, a farmer in karnataka state set his sugarcane field on fire and went in and burned himself alive... he had taken a loan of 1.26 lakhs ( 126,000 rupees ) and was unable to return it.

In Karnataka , different problem was there. sugar mills have failed to clear their dues for 2013-14 and thats why government has seized 8.07 lakh metric tonne of sugar from 29 factories which have failed to make full payment to farmers.

“The government wants to auction the seized sugar. But now there is very low demand as there is glut of sugar in the market. The demand for sugar both in domestic and international market is low. We are not sure how much we may recover by selling it. If the price is around Rs 25 a kg, then we may get about Rs 3,000 to 4,000 crore,” he said.

2. in india, every necessity is a commodity to be exchanged for money... other than above point, the system should have been enlightened enough to remove economics burdens from citizens for basic necessities and basic comforts... how can a government become the world's biggest armaments importer when the society has so much injustice??

These problems are different which are more or less even linked to International market which is due to the pricing when it comes to farmers, cattle growers and low income groups. Government even do have follow International norms.

Republic of India do need weapons for its security needs and defense is even important part of the countries.

if we are comparing populations, then has any state in india achieved parity with the comforts offered by pre-2011 libya??

All the states in India do have large populations and here we just dont have to forget that India do have large agriculture sector, meat industry, dairy industry, textiles industry and many more industries and almost all the stuff is produced in India when its about the day to day products which are needed by the Indian Population.

i would love to live in such a dictatorship... indeed, i would contribute to bringing such a dictatorship to the world.

But those dictatorships not existed anymore now be it in Iraq or Libya.

Indian Model is based on five year plan since the time of Independence and now India is self sufficient in almost everything.

You are making anti-NATO propaganda.

Libya was already liberated, democratised and freedomised by NATO in 2014. You are spreading lies that NATO is the cause of polulation decline in Libya.

Liar!

You are making anti-NATO propaganda.

Libya was already liberated, democratised and freedomised by NATO in 2014. You are spreading lies that NATO is the cause of polulation decline in Libya.

Liar!

Where you are seeing i am making Anti NATO propaganda ?

Here i am just showing about the population.

Hehehehe... I dont need to read your posts to know about USSR. I have seen USSR firsthand ... with my own eyes.. I have seen long queues in front of those "freebies" center which you are so proud of.. And the despicable condition of citizens of socialist USSR which they did not deserved to be in, considering humongous potential of the land they lived on. If not for terrible "socialist" policies adopted by Stalin and his successors, USSR would still be a super power in all sense.

But I see you have skirted USSR in your response and listed out Libya's policies. I can understand... After all one must always work towards converting his/her religion and live under a crackpot who was fond of virgin school girls. Who knows someday that person might get lucky enough to have his/her daughter/sister graced by socialist benevolent dictator in his bedroom... :enjoy:

In Karnataka , different problem was there. sugar mills have failed to clear their dues for 2013-14 and thats why government has seized 8.07 lakh metric tonne of sugar from 29 factories which have failed to make full payment to farmers.

“The government wants to auction the seized sugar. But now there is very low demand as there is glut of sugar in the market. The demand for sugar both in domestic and international market is low. We are not sure how much we may recover by selling it. If the price is around Rs 25 a kg, then we may get about Rs 3,000 to 4,000 crore,” he said.

1. the state government may have seized sugar from sugar factories but that isn't stopping more farmers from burning their sugarcane fields... you may consult internet on this.

2. jaggery units are offering farmers 700 rupees per ton of sugarcane... this is ridiculous... the farmers would have taken loans from tens of thousands of rupees to a few lakhs or even one lakh... how can 700 rupees help them in a capitalist envronment??

3. the central government departments, especially those under csir, have failed to make sugarcane ( from karnataka and maharashtra ) a source for ethanol for use as vehicle fuel and other purposes... doing so would have given the sugarcane farmers good prosperity.

Hehehehe... I dont need to read your posts to know about USSR. I have seen USSR firsthand ... with my own eyes.. I have seen long queues in front of those "freebies" center which you are so proud of..

really?? what year was this??

But I see you have skirted USSR in your response and listed out Libya's policies. I can understand... After all one must always work towards converting his/her religion and live under a crackpot who was fond of virgin school girls. Who knows someday that person might get lucky enough to have his/her daughter/sister graced by socialist benevolent dictator in his bedroom... :enjoy:

nevertheless, you have avoided talking about the system in libya where for fulfilling material needs one needn't have troubled oneself too much but would have lived a comfortable life.

actually, about two million of libya's population were economic migrants from other african countries and guest workers from elsewhere.

After all one must always work towards converting his/her religion

who??

really?? what year was this??

My uncle since 60;s. Myself in 88 and 92... Good enough..? :)

nevertheless, you have avoided talking about the system in libya where for fulfilling material needs one needn't have troubled oneself too much but would have lived a comfortable life.

I am in complete agreement.. Why just fulfilling one's material needs, One need not even have to work and still could live a very very comfortable life if his/her daughters/sisters were beautiful enough to catch the attention of the "benevolent dictator" and/ or, his closed ones.. After all whats few nights in harem if material needs are fulfilled... :D

because even if they have progressive ideas, their families and the general society will taunt them with "kuch kam-dham kyun nahi karte" and force them into jobs.

you should also ask, from the three million "computer science" graduates that have flooded out of indian colleges in the last 13/14 years, has any one of them designed a operating system or microprocessor?? what seems to be the problem of these students and more so, of the teachers??

look at what 99 percent of indian start-up companies are about... shopping websites, cell phone apps and online exam preparations. :woot:

one company in tumkur town in karnataka state gets its income from breeding virtual foxes in order to sell them to the internet virtual world, "second life". :lol:

completely useless and frivolous and harming local society and non-contributing to the world.
i dont' think three million Cs graduates are being churned out every year.. Maybe around 200-300k atmost. and the people who even think of a startup are easily cream of the graduates.. Microprocessor/OS design should not be a criteria to judge their worth. to make a microprocessor which will rival the likes of Intel or TI will require a lot of funding and is easily beyond the scope of most colleges.. if given ample funding and facilities i am sure they could make a decent mup

i dont' think three million Cs graduates are being churned out every year.. Maybe around 200-300k atmost.

that is what i used to calculate for 12 to 13 years, though i should have said two million for the total period rather than three.

this ( http://deity.gov.in/hindi/sites/upload_files/dithindi/files/Semiconductor06April11_020511_0.pdf ) is a study report from 2011 done by "ernst and young" in conjunction with "india semiconductor association" ( isa ) for the then office of the indian minister minstry of info. tech. and human resources development.

the study was about why india wasn't able to have a computer components manufacture environment ( the fabs )... below is one of the facts...

snapshot1.png

so, a combined computer science graduate output for 12/13 years by 2011 is easily two million easily, though this will have now reduced because of the software sector being in loss mode.

and the people who even think of a startup are easily cream of the graduates.. Microprocessor/OS design should not be a criteria to judge their worth.

it should be, yes?? for three years, they "study" os design and microprocessor design so when they are declared as "learnt" via their graduate degrees, we would expect them to design os and microprocessor... we should have expected from these two million graduates at least 10 os designs and 10 microprocessor designs at least... fair, i think.

so what is holding them back?? in fact, that was the point of that study above.

to make a microprocessor which will rival the likes of Intel or TI will require a lot of funding and is easily beyond the scope of most colleges.

i have been designing a microprocessor ( clock-less that too ) since 2008 and i am doing it without huge funds.

all that is required is pen and paper and a text editor and then a fpga board and a display and mouse to test the idea and progress... a few lakh rupees.

if given ample funding and facilities i am sure they could make a decent mup

"lovely professional university", a huge 600 acre campus... i am sure they have crores of rupees... what about the states of andhra and karnataka which have the highest number of engineering colleges in the country...

besides the colleges, what about companies like infosys into which these graduates go... infosys has a huge campus in mysore city which they like to brag about... why couldn't infosys design??

My uncle since 60;s.

then i must ask him to compare ussr to india.

Myself in 88 and 92... Good enough..? :)

what a wonderful time for the ussr you chose to visit !!

a time of disturbance, dissolution and strife.

I am in complete agreement.. Why just fulfilling one's material needs, One need not even have to work and still could live a very very comfortable life if his/her daughters/sisters were beautiful enough to catch the attention of the "benevolent dictator" and/ or, his closed ones.. After all whats few nights in harem if material needs are fulfilled... :D

you should stop making snide and callous comments, and look at reality... post 2011, after 40+ nato militaries had invaded libya, preceeded by tens of thousands of terrorists, how does libya look like, without the "dictator"??

then i must ask him to compare ussr to india.

what a wonderful time for the ussr you chose to visit !!

a time of disturbance, dissolution and strife.

you should stop making snide and callous comments, and look at reality... post 2011, after 40+ nato militaries had invaded libya, preceeded by tens of thousands of terrorists, how does libya look like, without the "dictator"??

USSR and India cant be compared... Too much difference...

About Libya : Yes. Libya was much better during Gaddafi's time. NATO did a blunder there. However even during Gaddafi's time, Libya was not a perfect "socialist" state. :)