Legal Shackles hindering Pakistan army's counter terrorism efforts

Yar ap sab ki batein dekh hain. But kabhi hum log adliya ko ilzam dete hain kabhi police ko aur kabhi army. But the truth is awam itself and the rotten system in place have to chanzge from the ground up.

One example of behissi and lackluster of awam is when bollywood movies were banned because they use the same tax revenue against Pakistan in their defence budget. It was the awam itself that was crying crocodile tears to reopen indian movies.

Everyone should listen to Lt Gen Tariq Khan's remarks on the current system and how we can change it.

Elected representatives are not elected but selected.

As long as that is happening you are likely to find some form of terrorism or fassad
nope they are elected
contrary to what some people believe, PML N has clear support of the people
infact, even if we do a survey here in this forum, majority will be PML N supporter

PPPP has supporter who will die for them(not the country)

Herein lies the problem.common man is tangled up in this political circus some like to call democracy.

And those who could afford an education and are slightly well off than the rest are trying their hardest to leave the country.
nope they are elected
contrary to what some people believe, PML N has clear support of the people
infact, even if we do a survey here in this forum, majority will be PML N supporter

PPPP has supporter who will die for them(not the country)

Those who think PTI is going to do the work of a magic wand are wrong as well. Because we haven't done any institution building since independance. Any institutions that we did inherit from the british raj either remained in 1800 or were politicized. Those institutions that we did create also became a part of this circus.

We do not need new leader like most people think. We do not need an individual or a group of individuals. What we need is a system of institutions where the will of an individual or a group of individuals does not dictate the fate of the whole country.

A system in which individuals come & go. But the institutions and the system as a whole can keep on functioning for the betterment of Pakistan and its people.

This starts at the foremost with the mindset of the populace and its people.

Useless citizens who won't report shit are what's holding the security services back. That and fat mullahs who want to mislead the youth and rub halwa on their bellies.

Chamcha geeri and boot polishing continues

Section 4 of The Anti Terrorism Act (ATA), 1997 implies that only the federal government can invoke ATA 1997 and deploy armed forces for counter terrorism. If the Provincial government feels the need of deploying armed forces for counter terrorism, they have to get the orders issued via the Federal government.
Once ATA 1997 is implied then the armed forces deployed can act as police and have full police powers and can act autonomously under section 5 of ATA 1997.
Problem is that the legislation is seldom used the correct way in Pakistan . The need is for the provincial governments to be proactive and issue the correct directives via federal government when act of terrorism is imminent .
In 90% of the cases Pakistan Penal Code (Act XLV of 1860) or not even that, just a phone call to local army unit.
is invoked by local authorities in case of terrorism, which only gives the armed forces some limited legal rights as helpers of the police.
ISI regularly issues letters to Provincial governments and police about Imminent terrorism threats in their areas. But a preemptive order under ATA 1997 is almost never issued. Its always PPC 1860 after the terrorists have attacked and damage done.
The elected representatives of civilian government should be more responsible and an institution known worldwide for their abilities in counter terrorism should\not be left shackled in legalities and proper sections of the law invoked preemptively.
Today's attack in Peshawar was imminent for more than a month but ATA 1997 was not invoked for the university area for which warnings were issued by ISI and armed forces couldn't take any preemptive actions.
Many steps could have been taken by the armed forces to prevent today's attack from happening if the correct legal clauses were invoked. That still does not relieve or stop the police from their responsibilities and they can continue their work.
Its all about saving the people of Pakistan from Terrorists. Elected representatives have a big role to play by invoking the right clauses of the law at the right time, and they just don't do that.

yess ok but Not exactly.

First understand the real cause of the lack of law and order ( security in general )
and the real cause is our Police system.
What our political feudal lords have done, is ensure that the Police never ever takes
root as an organization, and remains under the provincial government's thumb at all time.
Thus crime when allowed to flourish at small scale over a long period of time then infects
the whole social fabric and renders it useless.

Now to fix the police under present feudal political patronage is wishful thinking.

Therefore, what the Army can do to help this country, is to take Police under it's wing,
purge it, train it, institutionalize it and make it as independent as possible.

This will make Pakistan strong from within, and reduce the Army's workload in the long run.

There are many people looking for jobs ...

Two guys,
Gen Tariq @GenRtdTariqKhan
and Gen Moin Haider ( who does not have twitter that I know off)
can make this happen.

What is the "gosh" for? You asked a question "Find an example in last 10 years when Army or Rangers took upon themselves to takeover police role?". I answered. Forget about the police, the army was in control of the entire freakin country up till 2008. So there is your answer.

Musharaf - don't forget his two hats. COAS and El Presidente. That placed the entire police and other law enforcement under the military control via COAS. He even attempted to reform the police if you remember. Not that it worked.

1*as_F9fUu0cKbJtCQS9_aRQ.jpeg
When army mens and civilians kids were massacred in aps army waited for the 21st ammendment approval from parliament to setup military courts fr swift justice

We hear different solutions to the problem of terrorism like education,poverty etc but we have not considered Islam in determining a solution.We should look in the past and see how Islam dealt with terrorism.
First there was badar then ahud and ahzab also know as khandak.
In khandak there were two type of enemies external and internal.
both had same agenda the external enemies attacked soldiers stationed at the trench while the internal attacked soft targets(women and children) and what was their punishment "The Banu Quraiza treatment" and Allah approved of that punishment as evident in Hadith.
Now we had our badar(49&65) then ahud(71) and currently khandak we are literally digging khandak(Trenches) on our borders.The external and internal enemies of Pakistan also have the same agenda.The external is looking for any weakness in our ranks to attack while the internal enemies with the backing of external enemies attack soft targets(women and children).
In short "The Banu Quraiza treatment" is long overdue.

Military Forum Latest Posts