KPK: Heavy Rains kills many in Peshawar

Asian.Century

Heavy rains leave 16 dead, 80 injured in Peshawar

PESHAWAR: At least 16 people have been killed and more than 80 others injured in rain-related incidents and hailstorms in various parts of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa's capital city Peshawar as roofs and walls of building collapsed due to heavy rain.

Assistant Commissioner Peshawar, Mumataz Ahmed while speaking to media at Lady Reading Hospital confirmed the number of casualties.

People facing hardships due to the rain complained that they felt stranded as entire KP cabinet, including Chief Minister Khattak, was busy with their 'Azadi March' and so far no Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) leader could reach the spot or hospital to inquire after the injured and dead.

Rescuers are facing problems due to choked roads, and traffic jams and expressed fears that the death-toll may increase.

Severe hail storms hit parts of the Peshawar on Friday evening playing havoc with life and properties in Akhundabad, Gujjarabad, Wazirbagh, Faqirabad and other areas of the city.

Earlier, Rescue 1122 personnel confirmed that they had reports of at least 11 people dying and more than 50 others injured during the heavy downpour.

Edhi sources had however said, the death toll might be higher as the rescue workers were still busy in rescue activities.

Most of the casualties were a result of collapsing buildings and walls in Lewane Baba Nothia, Faqirabad, Wazri Bagh, Lahori Gate, Phandu, Barisko, Ladny Sarak, Dir Colony and other areas.

The families of the victims have castigated the authorities and the government for their irresponsible behaviour as still many people are stranded in collapsed houses and no one visited to hospital or the affected areas to assess the situation.

When contacted, Deputy Commissioner, Peshawar's office said the concerned 'patwaris' and revenue officers have been directed to assess the life and property losses.

Deputy Commissioner Zaheerul Islam's official statement said an emergency was declared in all hospitals to meet any untoward incident due to further rains.

x1230116_33076383.jpg.pagespeed.ic.9epawEfQGU.jpg

Artificialy manufactured leaders leave their faithful workers in wilderness & rain to spend their own wild nights nights in luxurious houses & 5 star hotels. A certain heartless & incompetent CM left his troubled province in govt vehicles at least 30 hours before his party chairman just to prove his loyalty while a massive storm killed 15 and injures more then 70 last night but this spineless idiot was in Isloo to receive His majesty the 'King'. Shame on such shameless leadership. But all the praise for ordinary workers who left their homes and families in the hope that they are part of a struggle for change !!!

I feel really sorry for this poor CM for why had no access to Archangel Gabriel who would have informed him through 'wahi' of incoming storm.

Does statement of sadness and encouragement to the ppl of KPK to withstand the nature's onslaught and directing the provincial machinery to help the ones in pain, needs a Gabriel 'Wahi'?

What has CM Khattak done for the dead ones, monetary help, state help, Moral support ? anything anything !!!

CM Khattak should've used his helicopter, and cut short his Islo visit, to actively provide humanitarian assistance, the Azadi march can still be functioning no ? any wahi is needed ??

Does statement of sadness and encouragement to the ppl of KPK to withstand the nature's onslaught and directing the provincial machinery to help the ones in pain, needs a Gabriel 'Wahi'?

What has CM Khattak done for the dead ones, monetary help, state help, Moral support ? anything anything !!!
People need to get their homes and selves insured so that in the case of disaster, they could claim their damage from the insurance companies. Expecting everything from the government is a wrong trend in Pakistan and must come to an end. Secondly, it is not that CM has asked the entire KPK governmental machinery to move along with him to Islamabad. There are government officials present in Peshawar and other parts of KPK whose job is to take care of day-to-day business and emergencies such as these. Yes, if they fail to do their job and the CM does not take remedial action even after the reports of incompetence of these officers reached to him, then it would be fair to criticize the CM.

Allah Raham Karay and may they Rest in Peace... the population in that area of the city are poor and their homes are not concrete built, hence they're prone to such calamities.

No need to feel sorry for the stupid person. At least he could have gone back after the storm to the people who voted him to power instead of proving his loyalty to Imran Khan.

i being from the you people from Punjab are doing politics can tell you how bad the rain storm was.

And how do you on earth expect CM to come in minutes ? he will be here among us. Bad or good he is our CM and we dont expect light speed movement from a human.

May be NS or shahbaz can turn into light to travel fast human cant.

The storm came yesterday at about 5:30pm.

anyway kindly do not polish your political differences at our cost

i being from the you people from Punjab are doing politics can tell you how bad the rain storm was.

And how do you on earth expect CM to come in minutes ? he will be here among us. Bad or good he is our CM and we dont expect light speed movement from a human.

May be NS or shahbaz can turn into light to travel fast human cant.

The storm came yesterday at about 5:30pm.

anyway kindly do not polish your political differences at our cost

It is 1 p.m. now. If he cared about you people he would have been there by now. It is hardly an hours flight by helicopter from here.

what will he do even if he is here? is he going to bring the dead back?

on the other hand the political aid which CM Punjab is trying to get points scored on is not at all going to impress us because when he and his cronies block supply of wheat when we need it the most them such aid is useless

Artificialy manufactured leaders leave their faithful workers in wilderness & rain to spend their own wild nights nights in luxurious houses & 5 star hotels. A certain heartless & incompetent CM left his troubled province in govt vehicles at least 30 hours before his party chairman just to prove his loyalty while a massive storm killed 15 and injures more then 70 last night but this spineless idiot was in Isloo to receive His majesty the 'King'. Shame on such shameless leadership.

Spineful Leadership like stopping wheat/atta to KPK, Leadership like paying only 1crore [50 lack each from twin brothers] from their own pockets unbelievable having billions of dollars in personal accounts for first floods where as zardari paid 2 crore. Leadership like murdering own people for political interests in model town and all you see is CM KPK to be blamed for the stomr that was sent by Nature and had landed 5.30pm in evening.

Remember Pakistan is and was in touble and pm sahib and his brother visited turkey 3 times, China 2 times hong kong 1 time US and 3 times london, 1 time india and yeah I forgot a few more countries for free along with families truly kings party.

what will he do even if he is here? is he going to bring the dead back?

on the other hand the political aid which CM Punjab is trying to get points scored on is not at all going to impress us because when he and his cronies block supply of wheat when we need it the most them such aid is useless

Well if you are happy with incompetent leadership and one that does not care about you then it is fine with me. May Allah impose them upon you for next 10-15 years.

Why don't you produce your own wheat instead of looking towards others for feeding you.

Spineful Leadership like stopping wheat/atta to KPK, Leadership like paying only 1crore [50 lack each from twin brothers] from their own pockets unbelievable having billions of dollars in personal accounts for first floods where as zardari paid 2 crore. Leadership like murdering own people for political interests in model town and all you see is CM KPK to be blamed for the stomr that was sent by Nature and had landed 5.30pm in evening.

Remember Pakistan is and was in touble and pm sahib and his brother visited turkey 3 times, China 2 times hong kong 1 time US and 3 times london, 1 time india and yeah I forgot a few more countries for free along with families truly kings party.

Kam karne aya tha India Yaar,mazze thodi mare honge usne