Know why you may have to shell out more money on rail fares soon

fsayed

@nair @proud_indian @Roybot @jbgt90 @Sergi @Water Car Engineer @dadeechi @kurup @Rain Man @kaykay @Abingdonboy @SR-91 @nang2 @Stephen Cohen @anant_s

@jbgt90 @ranjeet @4GTejasBVR @The_Showstopper @guest11 @ranjeet

@GURU DUTT

Ur views on this

NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi has asked railways to publicise the 'real cost' and 'subsidy' of passenger fares to make travellers aware of the burden it is bearing for their travel, which can then be reduced through rationalisation in line with the 'GiveItUp' campaign for LPG.

The PM's directive at a meeting on road and rail sectors last month indicates a move to eventually ask travellers with paying capacity to bear the full burden of their ticket and keeping cheaper fares only for economically weaker sections.

The transport behemoth has been asked to prepare this mechanism plan within three months i.e by August. At present, railways loses around Rs 30,000 crore annually on passenger segment, which is cross-subsidised by freight earnings.

The PM has also asked road and rail ministries to create a framework to measure user's experience.

The ministry has been asked to set up an independent body to measure road quality and bring the entire NH network under road asset management system so that necessary repair work can be taken up on time.

Majority of the tasks identified by Modi have deadlines up to March 2019.

Considering congestion at check-posts, Modi wants states to computerise and integrate all such points besides using drones for monitoring efficiency.

in short it means upgrade of existing rialway infra and much better facilities to coustmors but slightyly costlier which is OK for most people and to keep poor people happy a few more new economy class trains :coffee:

Better services for which Suresh Prabhu is working relentlessly, I don't mind shelling out a couple of more bucks.

At present, railways loses around Rs 30,000 crore annually on passenger segment, which is cross-subsidised by freight earnings.

Funny thing about these subsidies is that, come tomorrow if Mukesh Ambani decides to travel by train he'll enjoy the same subsidy as a random migrant labourer from Bihar. :)
Modi promised to regulate subsidies and I am yet see anything concrete in Railways.

Better services for which Suresh Prabhu is working relentlessly, I don't mind shelling out a couple of more bucks.

At present, railways loses around Rs 30,000 crore annually on passenger segment, which is cross-subsidised by freight earnings.

Funny thing about these subsidies is that, come tomorrow if Mukesh Ambani decides to travel by train he'll enjoy the same subsidy as a random migrant labourer from Bihar. :)
Modi promised to regulate subsidies and I am yet see anything concrete in Railways.
So u think middle income and low income people's r ambani of india this news is not for ambani but for people average income below 2.5lakhs a year.because taxpayers r just 3%of total 1billion population open ur eyes
in short it means upgrade of existing rialway infra and much better facilities to coustmors but slightyly costlier which is OK for most people and to keep poor people happy a few more new economy class trains :coffee:

http://m.ndtv.com/profit/guess-how-many-people-pay-income-tax-you-will-be-surprised-1274917

So u think middle income and low income people's r ambani of india this news is not for ambani but for people average income below 2.5lakhs a year.because taxpayers r just 3%of total 1billion population open ur eyes

http://m.ndtv.com/profit/guess-how-many-people-pay-income-tax-you-will-be-surprised-1274917
sirji tell me do you pay income tax and all those around you if yes god bless you but thing is if you want better services you have to pay better for it or else you can travel in unreserved copmpartments trust me they are still dirt cheap .. try it

So u means every citizen if he expects better service need to give extra money. my family of just 2 members living in mumbai average monthly expense comes just imagine

I hope people will leave the subsidy like many did in their LPG connections. A few more bucks wont hurt your pocket but will do far more good the IR.
Their are some people who will see this as a unfair decision even if they have loads of money as they never learns and just want 'muft ka maal'.
Hopefully this means more cleaness in our trains and stations.

So u means every citizen if he expects better service need to give extra money. my family of just 2 members living in mumbai average monthly expense comes just imagine
well dont you want better train services yourself :azn:

tell me why do you buy a new car when you have one which is doing just fine ?

or why you want to get a better pay when you are making it fine already ... your arguemnt can at best be termed as lame and full of hate towards work done by current government for just sake of your politcial stand and opposition towards BJP

well dont you want better train servies yourself :azn:

tell me why do you buy a new car when you have one which is doing just fine ?

or why you want to get a better pay when you are making it fine already ... your arguemnt can at best be termed as lame and full of hate towards work done by current government for just sake of your politcial stand and opposition towards BJP
Bhai I never defend each and everything of any government it's my opinion. not everything i see in bjp or congress goggles but I support and believe in congress.

dissent doesn't means I m not indian or don't think of india betterment

Bhai I never defend each and everything of any government it's my opinion. not everything i see in bjp or congress goggles but I support and believe in congress.

dissent doesn't means I m not indian or don't think of india betterment
all ok but tell me how will progress happen without sufficient capital to invest :azn:

Required cost cutting of waste full expenditure cut subsidy of mp, government officers salary above 50000 RS, induce new technologies

well easier saiid than done stupid congressies and media in there hate for NaMo and BJP dint let GST pass till they were in power and you thing overhauling of raliway and its beurocracy is a cake walk :azn:

[
well easier saiid than done stupid congressies and media in there hate for NaMo and BJP dint let GST pass till they were in power and you thing overhauling of raliway and its beurocracy is a cake walk :azn:
then what is the use of full majority when he can't bite the bullet of structural reforms

[

then what is the use of full majority when he can't bite the bullet of structural reforms
well work is still in progress and Namo took more decissions and working over time and showing results in just two years than 10 years of mis rule and corruption of congress led UPA

so dont worry NaMo knows what he is doing and has a very able and equally hardworking , non corrupt and smart cabinet of moinisters to support him its only the corrupt congress and its media & NGO stooges who are wailing as they lost all the free perks which they had started taken as there god given gift