Kashmir | News & Discussions.

So, is new media only reinforcing old stereotypes?

• Total voters
Who said that not a single temple was not destroyed during muslim rule?
What i can say for sure is that not every single temple in india was destroyed by the muslims during there rule.
The stupid assumption that muslim where on a non stop quest to destroy every hindus and there temples is just that .....stupid.

Who said all temples were destroyed during the Muslim rule..?
Wat I said was innumerable temples were looted and destroyed by the invading hordes.
Actually It was not as if the invaders didn try to destroy them..they simply couldn destroy all of them.Get the difference.

And as for the "stupid assumption"...it is equally stupid for u to cry over one destroyed mosque even though it itself was built on top of another destroyed temple.:wave"

I deny the gurus martyrdom as much as you deny the martyrdom of Jarnail Singh Bhindranwale

Dont compare the Sikh gurus with Bhindranwale..It is an insult to the holy souls who gave up their life defending the country from alien invaders.

There you go again cherry picking a few examples out in thousand year timeline........logic.....if the muslims wanted they could have destroyed all the temple in that time period but they did not and by giving a few isolated example is the same as me saying you attacked and burnt the holiest place for sikh and that all that people need to know on how tolerant the hindus are to sikhs.

First it was not a 1000 year period...rather it was exactly 651 years from the rise of Delhi Sultanate in 1206 to the fall of Mohammed Zafar in 1857..even though the Marathas and Sikhs were kicking the rear end of the Mughals for some time then.

Secondly Cherry picking isolated instances.?!?!?!U must be outta ur mind.Some of the holiest places of hinduism like Somnath,Ayodhya were looted,pillages and destroyed.How would u feel if someone looted Mecca and Madina even though they were just two places.

Thirdly some bigots like Khilji,Aurangazeb tried their level best to convert the ppl into Islam at the point of the sword but instead of doing the ppl were ready to lay down their lives rather than giving up on the faith theu believed in.
Only some ppl who thought life as more important gave up their original faith and took up the one imposed on them.

And lastly are u a Sikh??...If not buzz of.Dont shed crocodile tears for them..The Muslim rulers have done greater injustice to them than any of the Hindus.

Sounds like logic to me.....except where you have killed tens of thousands....:wave:

Nothing compared to the millions in the 651 year rule. :wave:

Get your facts right.......if we wanted to force people into islam dont you think we would have converted all the hindus in india during the reign of the muslims?
The kashmiris that converted where all living there and where hindus.......so the logic becauce they converted they cant be kashmiri is stupid.

Better if you leave kashmir to the kashmris and go back to india where you came from........where not indian and will never be indian.

You just keep on proving how illiterate you are, but never the less, theres something called as GOOGLE.

Read about a Son of a whore called "sikandar butshikan" and you will know Kashmir belongs only to KASHMIRI PANDITS

Hindu minority homeless in Kashmir

UPDATED ON:
Thursday, July 15, 2010
10:42 Mecca time, 07:42 GMT

YouTube - Hindu minority homeless in Kashmir

Muslim separatist groups have been fighting Indian rule in Kashmir for two decades. New Delhi blames Pakistan for supporting them. Pakistan denies the claim.

Tens of thousands of people have been killed in the conflict.

In the lead-up to talks between the two countriesin Islamabad on Thursday, Al Jazeera takes a closer look at the Kashmir unrest.

Al Jazeera's Prerna Suri reports from Srinagar about the region's Hindu minority left homeless by years of violence.

Hindu minority homeless in Kashmir - CENTRAL/S. ASIA - Al Jazeera English
Ohh these are one of those who were thrown out of the region because some peace loving radicals massacred their relatives and exiled them from the state. Why blaming Indian government for something the lovely radicals in valley did.

Violence will not solve problems, Abdullah tells people | TwoCircles.net

By IANS,

Srinagar: Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah Wednesday said violence had not provided an answer to problems in the past nor would it do so in future and stressed that shutdowns the state has seen in the last month would only cause public inconvenience and hamper children's education.

"When effective democratic means are available to register protests and put one's viewpoint across, there is no reason for perpetrating violence and putting general public to hardships and difficulties," Abdullah said while addressing people in north Kashmir's Handwara town.

"My government is committed to facilitate dialogue between all shades of opinion in the state and the central government. We are positively working in this direction. We also favour sustained dialogue between India and Pakistan," he said.

Abdullah sought public support for the success of his efforts in this direction.

The chief minister said shutdowns only led to public discomfort and badly affected children's education.

"These tactics are in no way in anybody's interest. These only mar the livelihood opportunities of poor and hamper the process of economic growth."

"When the platform of talks is available to all shades of opinion, what is the need of disturbing peaceful life of the people?" he asked.

Abdullah took a dig at those instigating adolescent children to take to stone-pelting and said: "This is the most unfortunate behaviour of those politicians who mar the future of the young generation while protecting the interests of their own children".

Representatives of the Handwara bar association, traders' federation, fruit growers union, youth organisations and many prominent citizens spoke at the meeting and explained various aspects of development and the difficulties faced by the people in the area.

Wednesday's interaction is part of the chief minister's efforts to reach out to the people of the Kashmir Valley in order to end the cycle of violence that started June 11.

The valley has been virtually paralysed due to violent protests against civilians being killed in firing by security forces. At least 15 people have been killed in firing by security personnel across the Kashmir Valley since June 11.

Kashmiris donot pay any taxes and they are provided best quality food grains at very cheap prices. center sends thousands of crores every year to kashmir. Now when the kashmirs are getting all these facilities without doing any thing would they be bothered about tourism.

Army rescues 500 families in north Kashmir - Hindustan Times

The army on the intervening night of Tuesday-Wednesday rescued 500 families caught in flash floods triggered by cloudburst and rains in the Rishi Canal in north Kashmir's Bandipora district. An army spokesman said that five square kilometre area of Malangan village was threatened by the flash
floods in the canal.

"The army unit deployed in the area immediately rushed to the area and rescued 400-500 families marooned," said the spoeksman.

The worst hit areas were Sheikhmuquam and Turkpura. The spokesman said the rescue efforts continued till late in the night.

Additional reinforcements were rushed in to provide assistance to the operation.

"Food packets, medicines and provisions are being provided to the locals," said the spokesman.

Many survivors were shifted to a nearby raised ground where they will camp till water levels recedes in the area.

Surprisingly (or not!!!) no replies to this thread from the other side.:coffee:

Good news ... but there is nothing surprising here. Army always help who needs care..

Kashmir situation still retrievable: Saifuddin Soz (Interview)

Congress leader Saifuddin Soz says the situation in Jammu and Kashmir, which has seen angry protests by stone-pelting mobs and 17 civilian deaths in the past month, is 'still retrievable', but 'the quality of governance has to improve'.

'There is no point in blaming just Chief Minister Omar Abdullah. The buck does not stop at Omar's door only,' Soz, 73, the state Congress chief, told IANS in an interview at his residence here.

'The quality of governance has to improve in the state,' said Soz, who is a Rajya Sabha member and a former union minister. Abdullah's National Conference rules Kashmir in alliance with the Congress.

'I think the performance of ministers - both of my party and the coalition partner National Conference - and the bureaucrats should improve,' Soz said. 'The ministers and leaders have to realise that politics is not for enjoyment. They have to reconnect to people,' he said.

He said the situation 'is still retrievable if steps are taken to understand the grievances of people'.

'Despite the volatile situation I toured south Kashmir last week. At Anantnag, I had addressed a meeting which was attended by 2,000 people. They did not throw stones. But they talked to us about their problems in daily life,' he said.

'I am going to Kashmir Friday. Come and see the ground situation. Do not report Kashmir sitting in Delhi alone. Kashmir is not about stone-pelting only,' he said.

Soz was a union minister in the United Progressive Alliance government as a Congress nominee and a minister in earlier United Front governments led by H.D. Deve Gowda and I.K. Gujral as a National Conference nominee.

Soz said Kashmiris should be provided immediate relief. 'Kashmiris are very sensitive,' he said.

'Seventy thousand people have lost their lives in the past 20 years. Even the families of the 55 people who were killed in firing during the Amarnath land row agitation in 2008 are to be rehabilitated,' he said.

Soz said the state police and paramilitary forces should work together to avoid killings and serious injuries while dealing with stone-pelters. 'Rubber bullets and non-fatal methods should be used to deal with ordinary protests,' he said.

At least 17 civilians, mostly teenagers and youths, have been killed in firing in Kashmir in the past four weeks as stone-pelters clashed with security forces in Srinagar and other towns of the valley. Curfew was clamped on several towns and the army called in to stand by for several days.

Soz said 'truckloads of stones were being supplied to protestors'. 'There had been organised efforts in the protests'.

He also said Pakistan was losing influence in Kashmir. 'The influence of Pakistan is waning in the valley. Nobody raises the slogan 'Pakistan zindabad' nowadays,' he said.

'The slogan 'Hum chahte hain azaadi' (We want freedom) is raised often at political, social and religious gatherings. Do not misinterpret it all as calls for a seperate country, which is impractical,' he said.

Soz said 'azaadi' means different things for different people on different occasions. 'For some Kashmiris, it may be a way of voicing their civic grievances; for others it may be a way of protesting the excesses of the security forces.'

Soz said 250,000 people had enrolled as Congress members in the valley. 'This is a record, a new political history in Kashmir,' he claimed. He said nearly 1,000 Kashmiri youngsters applied to become Youth Congress office-bearers.

'That proves that all Kashmiris are not stone-pelters. And Kashmir is not about stone- pelting alone. That is a limited view by a section of the media from Delhi,' he said.

He said the central and state governments were working together to restore the situation. 'You will hear of measures soon. The National Conference and the Congress are united in tackling the problem,' he said.

He ruled out the chance of governor's rule in the state.

Soz said an economic package was urgently needed for the state, which has been ravaged by militancy. Unemployment is acute, with opportunities lacking in the private sector.

So as a Congress leader does he have any problems working with National Conference leaders Farooq Abdullah and Omar?

'Not at all. We are united in the alliance. I had left the National Conference over a matter of principle,' he said.

Education should not suffer due to strike: J&K Governor, CM - Hindustan Times

With education hit badly by separatist-sponsored strikes, Jammu and Kashmir Governor N N Vohra on Wednesday convened a meeting of Vice Chancellors and called for taking effective measures to ensure studies are not affected under any circumstances by the prevailing situation in the
Valley.

"Effective measures must be taken to ensure that the educational system is not allowed to be affected under any circumstances and innovative measures implemented to make good the academic losses in the best interest of the students", the Governor said addressing the meeting held in Raj Bhavan on Wednesday.

The meeting was convened as a sequel to the discussions the Governor and the Chief Minister had last week in which need was felt to discuss required measures for making up of the academic losses which may have arisen on account of the recent developments in the Kashmir Valley.

Chief Minister Omar Abdullah asked the Vice Chancellors to ensure that the educational system and the careers of the students are not affected.

"The career of the students is of paramount importance and it is the responsibility of all of us to see that this does not in any way get affected. The teachers, students, parents and the civil society would need to come forward and ensure that neither the studies of the students nor the healthcare of patients suffers, " Omar said.

Omar also said "everything possible would be done to facilitate the education of students so that the career and the future of the youth do not suffer in any way."

Nothing can undo the attrocities which Kashmiris have suffered from generations.
indiscriminate killing of innocent Kashmiris should stop immediately..... it is inhuman to kill childrens on the basis of the religon of their parents.

Hi Areesh & Karthic Sri

I miss you both so much. pls come again

Anantnag killings: Magisterial probe nails police- Kashmir Times

SHABIR-UL-HAQ
ANANTNAG, July 29: The magisterial enquiry team formed by the government into the killing of three teenagers on June 29 here has established the involvement of the police into the incident and has recommended action against the culprits.

Sources said that the enquiry team today submitted its report to the Deputy Commissioner, Anantnag, Jaipal Singh. He would forward the report to the higher authorities. Sources said that the report has found that the police men including some officers of the sub-inspector rank have been found involved in firing on the
youth.
“Minutes before the incident took place a Rakhshak vehicle carrying six police men including some officers chased the youth protesting at Laizbal area of K.P road upto the S.K colony, where from they got down and three of them entered inside a by lane leading towards Anchidora area where seven persons were found lying in a pool of blood. Some of them were fired at inside the compound of a residential house,” said the sources quoting the report.

They said that the enquiry team has also held responsible the top officials of police and civil administration for dereliction in duties and suggested action against them too. The enquiry team in its report according to the sources has observed that chasing away the youth up to such a long distance was not the right decision on part of the police officers deployed in the area.

“Though the police men who fired on the youth after returning from the spot did not conceal the facts before the higher ups to hide their wrong doing but the top police and administrative officials who were supposed to preserve the circumstantial evidences also showed negligence in finding the facts,” the report according to sources reads.
The enquiry team in its report according to the sources also blames the concerned police officers of manipulating the FIR and not furnishing the accurate details about the use of ammunition by the suspected police men. The enquiry team sources said in its report has recommended the action against the police men and other officials as per their level of
involvement.

However, sources without divulging the identification of the police men confirmed that the three cops have fired upon the youth from a very close range. They further said that the accused police men have already confessed their crime during the course of investigation.

When contacted, Additional Deputy Commissioner Anantnag who was
heading the enquiry team confirmed that the report has been submitted to Deputy Commissioner Anantnag this evening. However, he refused to divulge any details regarding the report.
Meanwhile, a policeman arrested yesterday by the Special
Investigation Team (SIT) in connection with the killings of three
youth in Anantnag has been remanded to five day police custody by the Chief Judicial Magistrate (CJM) Anantnag today.

The three youth Shujat-ul-Islam, Ishtiyaq Ahmad Khanday and Imtiyaz Ahmad Itoo were allegedly murdered in cold blood in SK colony area of Anantnag on May 29 after the police chased away the youth protesting against the CRPF firing on a teenaged boy who recieved bullet injuries in his leg in Mattan chowk area that morning. The government ordered magisterial enquiry into the incident while as the police initiated separate investigations into the incident through a special investigation team (SIT). The SIT during the course of investigation succeeded in recording the statements of two prime witnesses including a policeman into the incident before CJM. On the revelations made by the two witnesses in their statements, the SIT yesterday made the arrest of a suspected cop in terms of section 54 CRPC and also seized a Rakshak gypsy.
Sources said that the SIT today moved an application before the CJM
seeking police remand for the cop.
The SIT today produced the policeman before the CJM
Anantnag Jeema Bashir, who sent him to the police remand for five
days.
“The SIT sought the remand for the cop following the important
revelations made by him during the interrogation," said the sources.
They said that the SIT may conduct the identification parade of all
the suspected policemen into the incident in next five days.
Meanwhile the magisterial enquiry team formed by the government to
Investigate.

71 persons in custody: Police
KT NEWS SERVICE
SRINAGAR, July 29 : A police spokesman today claimed that there are only 71 persons in police custody, who were arrested following eruption of law and order problems in the Valley and not hundreds as reported by a section of media.

He added that police had arrested 930 persons across the valley under various preventive measures in connection with several stone pelting and peace disruption incidents from May 1 to July 27.
Of them, according to the spokesman, 851 persons were released in consultation with their parents and senior citizens of the respective areas. The parents of these youth assured of their good moral character in future and they were subsequently released leaving just 71 persons in police custody. There is no truth that hundreds of youth have been arrested and are presently in police custody, the spokesman clarified.

The spokesman further said that during the same period 330 incidents of violence took place in the valley in which 795 police personnel were injured against only 78 civilian injuries. This, he said, is in addition to the 136 injuries suffered to the CRPF personnel.

Delusions of a Stone Pelter -- GreaterKashmir.com

Just think what this act of yours has done. It has brought us nothing but dishonour and destruction, Dr. Wasim Ahmed responds to the article I am a stone pelter.

Unlike the “stone pelter” of today I don’t have a short yet comprehensive introduction because the ordeals we have gone through forced us to assume multiple roles in life all for the sake of our nation and our people. We pelted stones when needed, protested when required, won debates when challenged and at present treat people when oppressed. For first twelve years of life we had never heard the word “Jihad” in our life nor had we seen any bloodshed. Our first entry into adolescence was concomitant with the birth of massacres, bomb blasts and gunfire. We never had the time to ask WHY, WHAT and HOW. The massacres and human rights violations that had started were self explanatory.

The “stone pelter” of today is confused as why the same Moulvi Sahib who supported us for protesting and pelting stones in nineties has issued a Fatwa against it. He is unable to make out whether the Moulvi Sahib has changed. The fact is that the Moulvi Sahib and Hadith are the same but it is the “stone pelter” and his ways that have changed. Unlike the “stone pelter” of today we didn’t had trendy clothes and sporty shoes, for belonging to the lower income groups we could only afford chapels and plastic shoes. And while our feet had a rot with frostbite we still marched from Lal-Chowk to Charar-e-Shareef. In subzero temperature we spend weeks protesting outside UNMOG amidst torrential rains and snow without caring about what we were wearing, for “Jazba” was our best attire. We had heroes of our own, real heroes earning eternal reverence through their sacrifices. One of them I will never forget was a young handsome hero in his twenties, protesting along with us during the first year of militancy. When one of the CRPF personnel started firing into the crowd he went to him grabbed the barrel of the gun with his both hands and put it on his chest and I saw every bullet piercing his body. He was far more athletic than the present “stone pelters”. He could have easily evaded the bullets by acting like Rajnikanth but he was destined to rise far, far above these hollow dudes. Such were the “stone pelters” when Moulvi Sahib supported them for sacrificing their own lives to protect their people. Will today’s “stone pelter” understand now why Moulvi Sahib changed his mind? It was the job of security forces to destroy vehicles and public property, beat innocent people and cause inconvenience to the people. We only protested aginst those who committed excesses. In 1995 when one of our classmates, Salim Hamid, was martyred in cold blooded murder we didn’t break windows of passenger buses nor did we damage the shops or prevent patients from reaching the hospital. The sole target of our protests was the bunker at the Bohri Kadal where he was killed. And it was because of this appropriateness of protest aimed at guilty, rather than on innocent people, that no one alleged us to have an income from these actions or that we were doing it for our thrill seeking behavior.

When Hazratbal siege took place we came on roads as protestors and “stone pelters” but our protests didn’t last a week but for continuous three months. And despite three months of protests and stone pelting we still passed our matric examination as position holders. No one could call us illiterate. During these protests there were no teargas shells or rubber bullets but only LMGs and SLRs. We didn’t have the privilege of having a chief minister like Omar Abdullah who would get Lakhwinder Singh arrested and BSF commandant suspended in two days. We had governor’s rule wherein security forces would increase their medals tally and promotions for every massacre they committed.

We not only protested but studied in our best capabilities. And we taught others as well so that the stigma of illiteracy could be erased. All this because we REALLY wanted our nation to excel on all fronts. My purpose of passing the examination was not to get a medical seat but to TOP the list just to DEFEAT the Jammuites for we always were taunted for being “inferior” to them. And through curfews, bomb blasts, crackdowns we fought academic battles and DEFEATED the more privileged ones.

Unlike todays “stone pelter” we didn’t restrict our protests just to stone pelting or slogan raising but fought legitimately at every front. When “Dish TV” and private news channels came to Kashmir our accent and language was made fun of yet we debated with their historians and intellectuals in front of the camera, at fourteen years of age, and made them eat dust so that they never had the guts to telecast it. During the interview we hadn’t covered our faces to hide our identity but faced them face to face. This is unlike the “stone pelter” of today who will not debate even with his own people to decide what actually is the right way to protest? As cartoonists we worked free for online and local newspapers like Kashmir Monitor and used art to highlight the atrocities of Army and Task Force at a time when people would tremble even at the mention of these words. Though 16 years of age we were the only people in our locality well versed with English and it was our duty to collect information about human rights violations and write letters on behalf of affected families to NGOs and Human Rights groups all across the globe.

The “stone pelter” of today thinks we dislike him because he prevents our progress. The 7 lakh Indian troops with their crackdowns, curfews and violations along with hostile circumstances could not prevent us from reaching the zenith of our career yet these stone yielding dollies think they can prevent our “progress” by disrupting traffic for few hours. Dear “stone-pelter”, like other government employees I could make you as an excuse to stay at home and enjoy Indian movies and cricket matches, and praise you for giving me a much needed holiday. But at great personnel risk I drive my car all the way to hospital amidst your hostility. Am I doing this for progress? What do you think must be the reason for this “craziness”? During the first days of Hartals imposed by you, two of our patients died as the Sumo they were traveling in was stopped from reaching hospital. 4 patients went to Jammu, one to Apollo Hospital and one to Gangaram. These are patients who had my phone number and I am sure there must be hundreds like them. Every day we get 3 to 4 patients of Heart Block, 3 to 4 patients of Heart Attack and half a dozen patients of Heart Failure. During the Hartals we didn’t get any or less than that. Not that no emergencies occurred, but they failed to reach the hospital. And if we take statistics from all specialties no less than 100 patients must have died for not reaching the hospital in time. After all this you call yourself a “savior” of this nation and a fighter against killings!!!

You are right that neither you can stoop to our level nor can we rise to yours. I dodge your stones to reach the hospital because I know the poor Mauj or Kak unable to bear the cost of treatment must have come for free samples and if don’t reach the hospital 3 days later they will be lying in the casualty floor with heart failure and pulmonary edema. Your supporters had enough money to sponsor their treatment but why to stoop to our level? Our hospital may be below standard for your supporters who prefer to go to costliest private hospitals in India and abroad but it is the only ray of hope for these oppressed people as well as for the kid on ventilator after being hit by a teargas shell which you evaded like Rajnikanth. So every Hartal I will continue stooping low to reach the hospital and you continue your ascend by pelting stones at us and preventing us to go for “progress”. Don’t you worry that when you are injured and brought to the hospital we won’t take revenge from you but will treat you just like our brother. No matter how much pain we may have on seeing you wounded in police action we will not leave you to die and go out pelting stones at police-we have stooped too low to do such a brave act. Instead we cowards will hide day and night in operation threatres and ICUs with an excuse of treating you. My lowly degree may not help in lodging an FIR but is capable enough to save the leg of the injured journalist. And you should have asked him at the time of injury what his priority is – an FIR to be lodged or his leg saved by removing the bullet?

I will not tell you when and why I changed my options to stoop low and work CONSTRUCTIVELY for my nation- the reasons are there clearly written on the wall but you need a brain that is permeable to rationality to understand that. While doing internship in GMC we were asked to help the MSF (Doctors without Borders) in interviewing the families affected by militancy, and what did I found out? People who had lost their bread-earners in Jihad were receiving aid from “Kafir” organizations like MSF, Red Cross, and even Indian NGOs while completely neglected by their “own” people who always talk of Jihad and sacrifices!!! And how can you know of their ordeals for you know nothing but the street and your momma’s lap. Its only for us “Non-Stone Pelting cowards” to stoop low to wipe their tears and help them earn a dignified livelihood and give their orphans meaningful education so that no one will say, “Jihad destroyed these families”. There are people who will say such sacrifices are necessary for “Azadi” but to be honest I have hardly seen any of these people making any credible sacrifices themselves.

What makes you think that you drive us to action? Rather whenever we wish to work for our impoverished nation it is you who gets us in-acted through curfews and Hartals. What makes you think you work for honour of our nation? Come to me and I will show you thousands of people coming for attestation to get BPL cards so that they can get free ration from India. They weren’t so dishonoured but by taking their livelihood you derogated them to this level, and you talk of honour. In a nutshell “they answer your inappropriate stoning with their unwanted voting” If instead of destroying livelihoods you had tilled a piece of land to help them stand on their feet rather than making them dependant on Indian aid I would have touched your feet in respect. But it cannot be because you cannot stoop so low to do anything constructive. It is because of your concept of exaltedness and social service that far from the dawn we had dreamt of we find our nation in more darkness than it ever was:
Ye Daag Daag Ujaala, Yeh Sabkazida Seher
Woh Intezaar tha Jiska, Yeh Woh Seher to Nahin (Faiz Ahmed Faiz)

(Dr. Wasim Ahmed is Senior Resident Cardiology, SKIMS. Feedback at wasim_skims@yahoo.com)

news.outlookindia.com | Afghan Heroin Used to Lure Youths for Stone Pelting

A narcotic dimension to violent street protests in Kashmir valley has come to light with local youths being lured by anti-national elements with Afghan heroin and steroids to take to stone pelting against security forces.

The drug factor behind the current unrest in the state came to the fore during the interrogation of some local youths arrested by the state police, official sources said today.

The sources said the arrested youths confessed to addiction to drugs which was provided to them by a local supplier in return for their participation in stone pelting and violent protests.

After getting this information, Police immediately swooped down on some of the localities but could manage to pick up only one peddler Shezad from Khanyar in the downtown area.

Police claimed that during interrogation Shezad told them he was getting heroin from a resident of Natipora, in the outskirts of the city, which he used to distribute among groups of youths in downtown areas.

Some other steroids and drugs used to be also given to the youth besides cigarettes loaded with charas, a senior police officer claimed.

The downtown area is also home to a large number of people who were terrorists before and now jobless after serving their sentences.

These youths become easily vulnerable to drug abuse encouraged by anti-national elements including separatist organisations, police said.

In one of the raids, police seized hundreds of disposable syringes and vials of heroins, steroids and analgesic injections.

The police has been told by the arrested youths that there was a well-knit network by which drugs found its way to people in various areas in the Kashmir valley.

The drugs were provided free of cost and in return they were asked to indulge in stone pelting on security forces, the sources said.