Kashmir | News & Discussions.

So, is new media only reinforcing old stereotypes?

• Total voters
MR Basit, the so called Org UN is a spine less one.It can only pass resolutions and that too one weaker ones.Heck when it comes to internal matters India cares none not USA nor EU....

Toh Basit sahib aap hindustaan se ye paigam apney mulk or waseer e azam ko de ki ""jiski laathi uski bhais""..Kashmir chahiye toh pehle kashmir hamare haaton se cheeney ki haisiyat pe aao.

Dont talk abt hasiyat... it doesnt suite a nation withy more poverty,aids,prostitution and other ills then then african continent.

:rofl:OIC ?? what does cutie cutie OIC want??ale ale raja beta ko kashmir chahiye??
Stmt against Human rights violation??Is this stmt for kashmiri muslims or for kashmiris??I have never seen any stmt in favour of 4 lakh pandits who are also as much kashmiri but unfortunately they were hindus..

and look who is advicing US turkey saudi heck even nigeria:rofl::rofl:

MR Basit, the so called Org UN is a spine less one.It can only pass resolutions and that too one weaker ones.Heck when it comes to internal matters India cares none not USA nor EU....

Toh Basit sahib aap hindustaan se ye paigam apney mulk or waseer e azam ko de ki ""jiski laathi uski bhais""..Kashmir chahiye toh pehle kashmir hamare haaton se cheeney ki haisiyat pe aao.
pakistan ko chaie k is senario ko use kare. hm ne international com ko sath milane gineva main bhi free kash camp lagaya tha bt thatr nt enf. hmari govt b actv nzr ari he .lkn masla hai k hmain apni sarhadon se ghafil nai hna. india is just like a scorpion yahan se isko chora to 2ri jaga se attack kardega ooper intelligence reports b khatre ki ghanti bja ri hain. so as v r in a crtcl pstin ourslvs so v r doin the best thing v can in prsnt snario

:rofl:OIC ?? what does cutie cutie OIC want??ale ale raja beta ko kashmir chahiye??Stmt against Human rights violation??Is this stmt for kashmiri muslims or for kashmiris??I have never seen any stmt in favour of 4 lakh pandits who are also as much kashmiri but unfortunately they were hindus..

and look who is advicing US turkey saudi heck even nigeria:rofl::rofl:

Actually combined they are ur PAPA not beta be it population,economy or militarily.
Wat does OIC stand for genius?:rofl:
4 lac pundits any proof? and like 160000 martyred Kashmiris scores missing and women raped by indian terrorists...... how many pundits have been killed,raped or are missing?

Yes USA... u praise like a GOD these days.... Yes turkiye u talk abt alot these days.... Yes K.S.A which u indians r boasting these days... remember a thread tht indians opened today?

Actually combined they are ur PAPA not beta be it population,economy or militarily.
Wat does OIC stand for genius?:rofl:
4 lac pundits any proof? and like 160000 martyred Kashmiris scores missing and women raped by indian terrorists...... how many pundits have been killed,raped or are missing?

Yes USA... u praise like a GOD these days.... Yes turkiye u talk abt alot these days.... Yes K.S.A which u indians r boasting these days... remember a thread tht indians opened today?

160000 kashmiri dead any proof??any ways who cares u guys have started it and we are just ending it??

Combined??a very big question...No they are not combined.R they neutral?? No they are not neutral ..Heck their name itself suggests Organisation of the Islamic Conference, so right has an islamic org to poke in the affairs of a secular/hindu majotiry country??

India never questioned the brutal sharia laws of KSA ,we never asked the turks to stop the human rights violations on the Khurds,who the Fcuk are they to advice Us at all.

And dear oh dear donot boast of the economy or military of these islamic countries ..we have seen the military might of these countries against Israel, they were all combined still israel .....

and economy heck dont boast of the Oil driven economy of those nations ,they dont even have the knowledge of extracting thta Oil, all they can do is sit back at their luxirious palaces and watch western channels...

"A Burning Paradise”, “Kashmir on the Edge” — these single liners with images of hundreds of thousands of children and youth holding placards reading, “We want freedom”, “Go back...” children and teenagers engaged in ding-dong battles with troops, blood-soaked bodies on biers with thousands of wailers chanting pro-freedom slogans carrying them to the martyrs’ graveyards for burial have been beaming television screens for the past few months.

These images are more than enough to tell the real Kashmir story to people in India in particular and world in general. At this point of time it will be difficult for me to say if the Indian intelligentsia would raise banners of revolt against New Delhi as the French intellectuals did in Paris forcing the government to sign the Evian Accords that ended the Algerian war. With religion and caste continuing to dominate Indian political discourse and major political parties surviving on religious bigotry it may take many more years for the people of India to know the truth about Kashmir and look at the problem dispassionately. But what torments me is the indifference of the global community, particularity the Muslim world, toward the human tragedy in Kashmir.

The ministerial meeting of the Organization of the Islamic Conference (OIC) Contact Group on Jammu and Kashmir as well as the annual coordination committee meeting of the OIC foreign ministers took place during the 65th annual session of UN General Assembly held in New York from Sept. 22 to 24. The Contact Group on Kashmir includes Pakistan, Iran, Niger, Saudi Arabia and Turkey. The meeting was held at a time when, in the words of a columnist in The Times of India, Kashmir was once again staring New Delhi in the face. It was held at a time when hundreds of thousands of demonstrators were filling the streets of Kashmir’s cities in the words of Indian author Pankaj Mishra.

The demonstrators are overwhelmingly young, many in their teens, and armed with nothing more lethal than stones. Yet the Indian state seems determined to strangle their voices as it did of the old one. Or as very rightly put by top Indian journalist Vinod Mehta, “One would need a heart of stone not to be moved by the plight of the stone-pelters of Srinagar taking on the might of the Indian security forces — a David vs. Goliath fight.” So far 103 youths, most of them children and teenagers, have been killed.

Since the birth of the dispute, Jammu and Kashmir has seen many turmoil, deaths and destruction but it is difficult to find anything like the situation obtaining since June 11, 2010. There is no precedent of the entire Kashmir Valley being converted into “a cage”, as reported by The Washington Post, for such a long period. “The youth uprising” in Kashmir has been getting unparalleled coverage in the Western media. Rarely in the past has the Kashmiri movement received such a sustained media attention. According to the New York Times (Aug. 13), the Kashmiri protests for a third consecutive year “signal the failure of Indian efforts to win the assent of Kashmiris using just about any tool available: Money, elections and overwhelming force.” It is for the first time in the history of Kashmir that even a state chief minister has gone on record to say publicly that the youth fighting on the streets were not demanding employment or economic package but a political settlement that reflects the wishes of the Kashmiri people.

Despite the public opinion in the West (even in India the public opinion for the first time seems to be concerned about Kashmir to an extent) why the world at large and Muslim countries in particular is maintaining criminal silence on the bloodbath taking place in the valley? Excepting one or two ritualistic statements by the secretary-general, the OIC has been witnessing the gory happenings in Kashmir as a mute spectator.

The birth of the OIC was seen by many Muslim scholars as a manifestation of the Islamic renaissance as dreamt by people like Jamaluddin Afghani and Muhammad Abdu in Arabia. The organization undoubtedly provides the leaders of the Muslim nations around the world a common platform for “intergovernmental dialogue and action.” With all its inherent difficulties it does project a Muslim worldview. The organization has been articulating its views on Kashmir and these views are those of the Muslim world. The OIC for the past 20 years has been meeting on Kashmir. Like the United Nations this organization of 56 Muslim countries does not “recognize the finality of the accession of the State of Jammu and Kashmir to the Union of India.” It also believes that “India’s noncooperation and the passage of time do not erode UN obligations.

Time and again, the OIC has been reiterating that “the Kashmiri right of self-determination is an inalienable right which has been acknowledged by UN Security Council resolutions. As such, it constitutes an obligation for all members of the United Nations, and in particular, the designated parties to the dispute, India and Pakistan.

The OIC has not only constituted a Contact Group on Kashmir but also accorded an observer status to the All Parties Hurriyat Conference. It has also appointed a special envoy for Jammu and Kashmir. The perusal of the proceedings of this organization for the past two decades, more particularly after the APHC was accorded an observers status, are full of statements and resolutions in support of the right to self-determination for the people of Jammu and Kashmir. In 2008, Secretary-General Ekmeleddin Ihsanoglu on the sidelines of the 11th OIC Summit held in Dakar, Senegal on March 14 described Kashmir as one of the oldest unresolved issues on the agenda of the UN and OIC. He also called upon the member states, especially those who have good relations with India, to effectively use their influence to improve the human rights conditions in Kashmir.

India never permitted the OIC special envoy to visit Kashmir. The envoy has been only visiting the Azad Kashmir and submitting its report to the organization. It obviously cannot be a complete report. The OIC Contact Group as well as the general body has been passing resolutions in support of resolving the Kashmir problem but New Delhi has been dismissing these resolutions as of no consequence even diplomatically.

The OIC Contact Group on Kashmir is not a diplomatic lightweight as it includes major and influential Muslim countries. India has very strong economic and political relations with these countries. The question then arises why New Delhi is not attaching any importance to the OIC resolutions on Kashmir.

The situation in Kashmir makes it imperative for the OIC to moot over this point and work out a strategy that will make New Delhi come out of its denial mood and restart composite dialogue with Pakistan for the resolution of the Kashmir dispute and other allied issues.

— Zahid G. Muhammad is a columnist and writer based in Srinagar. He can be contacted at: zahidgm@greaterkashmir.com

Correction, we only sent our forces once India started invading Kashmir. We prevented half of Kashmir to be usurped by India and we will give up our area too, to give that choice to Kashmiris if they choose to go away from us.

We are that confident about their choice, are you? If you're confident then man up and let them choose.

Ru talking WRT kashmir or jammu and kashmir as a whole??
Azadi ka matlab kya : La ilaha illa Allah, i mean if this is aazadi why should hindu/buddhist majority areas be a part of freedom moment??

Instead of pleading the USA and the UN pakistan should have full faith on god and wage a war on india..If allah is on their side they will surely win..

160000 kashmiri dead any proof??any ways who cares u guys have started it and we are just ending it??

Who started it? who promised a refrendum>? if u go by the head of princely state formula then Give us Junagarh and hyderabad..or give hyderabads Nizam to choose wat he likes.
Combined??a very big question...No they are not combined.R they neutral?? No they are not neutral ..Heck their name itself suggests Organisation of the Islamic Conference, so right has an islamic org to poke in the affairs of a secular/hindu majotiry country??

Do they have anything against the hindu india? how r they not neutral?just coz they are Muslim>? u sick ....
Kashmir is a DISPUTED TERRITORY even ur father nehru accepted it...Its a MAJORITY MUSLIM AREA...AND PAKISTAN REPRESENTS KASHMIRIS AND THEIR VOICE ON EVERY AVAILABLE FORUM!

India never questioned the brutal sharia laws of KSA ,we never asked the turks to stop the human rights violations on the Khurds,who the Fcuk are they to advice Us at all.

U dont coz u have no fcking reason for it!
Sharia law is brutal for arseh...s and criminals who ****,steal or murder..
It Kurd .... and Turkiye is not against kurds.But PKK a terrorist organisation black listed by the world....unless u have a soft corner for them.

Also dont use ur shytting language here... this aint ur living room its a Pakistani defence forum.:mod:

And dear oh dear donot boast of the economy or military of these islamic countries ..we have seen the military might of these countries against Israel, they were all combined still israel .....

Which countries fought israel? syria,lebanon,egypt? KSA alone will spend 60-70 billion $ on us weapon deal... count turkey,egypt,pakistan,iran and other.... where does the hungry india stand?

Also remember how hamas raped israel in lebanon conflict..

and economy heck dont boast of the Oil driven economy of those nations ,they dont even have the knowledge of extracting thta Oil, all they can do is sit back at their luxirious palaces and watch western channels...

Forget there economy look at ur india

Who started it? who promised a refrendum>? if u go by the head of princely state formula then Give us Junagarh and hyderabad..or give hyderabads Nizam to choose wat he likes.
referendum??now we are not interested..solutions are based on current ground situations..half of kashmir(not J&K) is with pak, a chunk of land with china..all pandits chased away from kashmir and u need referendum??:no:
Do they have anything against the hindu india? how r they not neutral?just coz they are Muslim>? u sick ....

wat im sick if IOC is so concerned about kashmiri what is its stand on the plight of kashmiri pandits??

Kashmir is a DISPUTED TERRITORY even ur father nehru accepted it...Its a MAJORITY MUSLIM AREA...AND PAKISTAN REPRESENTS KASHMIRIS AND THEIR VOICE ON EVERY AVAILABLE FORUM!
who the F*uk is nehru to tell me what is mine and wat is not??kashmir is muzzie area accepted what about jammu and ladakh they are not muslim majority, y should they come with u??
U dont coz u have no fcking reason for it!
Sharia law is brutal for arseh...s and criminals who ****,steal or murder..
It Kurd .... and Turkiye is not against kurds.But PKK a terrorist organisation black listed by the world....unless u have a soft corner for them.

Also dont use ur shytting language here... this aint ur living room its a Pakistani defence forum.:mod:
what moral reason does IOC have to speak on behalf of Indian/kashmiri muslims??does IOC feed them??India/hindu majority india feeds them.as far as lang is concerned look at the highlighted part of ur stmts.
Which countries fought israel? syria,lebanon,egypt? KSA alone will spend 60-70 billion $ on us weapon deal... count turkey,egypt,pakistan,iran and other.... where does the hungry india stand?
Also remember how hamas raped israel in lebanon conflict...

Oh comon dont be a child wat abot 1948,1967 even 1973 was supported(active participation) with hell a lot of muslim nations.
as far we indians stand though we are hungry we can donote $25 m (pak) $1.6 billion (Afghan) in aid what about u??

Forget there economy look at ur india

well i was not the one who bought the economy and military of OIC in comparision with india ,infact u were boasting..as far as india is concerned we are at $3.526 trillion (PPP: 4th; 2009) where do u ppl stand..

anyways if u guys(IOC) are that powerful then do a thing have faith in ur god and attack india ,if allah is with u guys u ppl will win..

From the above statement, clearly India is not quite democratic, but is run on dictatorship. By the way I believe in a theory called what goes around, comes around. My meaning is India is oppressing the Kashmiri people, but there will be a time when the same might happen to India.

What about the Kashmiri Pundits who were raped, driven out of their homes and forced to live in refugee camps?

Oh comon donot sterio type us asians that way dear...
U guys talk of religion??
Then y is there so muss fuss abour a mosque near ground zero??
What was the reason behind, all the afro americans voting for Mr Obama??
Why are the asians being thrashed in white countries??

Do you have reliable news filtering through wherever you are and are you able to make informed judgment? Judging by the way you write, I would guess not.

What about the Kashmiri Pundits who were raped, driven out of their homes and forced to live in refugee camps?

Couldnt find anything about **** and the driven out crap is reported by indian media only...Wat next?
Remember the 10000 raped Kashmiri women?160000 kashmiris murdered since 1947? heck u killed around 150 in these few weeks for protesting...SHAME ON INDIA.