Karachi must form new party with new mandate

W.11

as MQM is not trying to address that, Karachi people should come forward who want to save this one of the largest cities in the world, form a political front and put forward these following points

1) Karachi must have an autonomous status and its should have autonomy (like hongkong in china) so that it addresses its migration, population, law and order and many things

2) karachi only shares similar currency, army with Pakistan otherwise it should be otherwise free

3) karachi should have independece over its revenue and the revenue generated should be spent in Karachi and karachi alone

4) laws of Karachi should be different than laws of Pakistan which reflect Karachi's own interest

5) the pakistanis coming into karachi should have special permits and anybody just cannot be allowed to stay in karachi permanently

6) after five years there should be a proper referendom on karachi whether it wants to politically separate from Sindh and declared as autonomous region of Pakistan if things don't work out with people's party of sindh in provnce and PMLN in the federal

i totally disagree with MQM's politics of making alliances with other parties and that it doesn't demand separation of karachi even as a separate province, MQM doesn't get karachiites to enjoy their own local government, karachiites have no authority in law enforcement, karachiites have to suffer brutal quota system, Karachi has to suffer acquairing government jobs, Karachiites can get to have their own city funds spent on it, there is complete ethnic separation and isolation and an ethnic hegemony in all matters related to the business of karachi, so if karachiites can't be given a free space to control their own city than karachi must be declared as an autonomous self sustaining city

i think if within five years MQM fails to get Karachiites to have more powers, Karachiites must form another karachi based political party to put forward these demands, if the city is to survive in future

as MQM is not trying to address that, Karachi people should come forward who want to save this one of the largest cities in the world, form a political front and put forward these following points

1) Karachi must have an autonomous status and its should have autonomy (like hongkong in china) so that it addresses its migration, population, law and order and many things

2) karachi only shares similar currency, army with Pakistan otherwise it should be otherwise free

3) karachi should have independece over its revenue and the revenue generated should be spent in Karachi and karachi alone

4) laws of Karachi should be different than laws of Pakistan which reflect Karachi's own interest

5) the pakistanis coming into karachi should have special permits and anybody just cannot be allowed to stay in karachi permanently

6) after five years there should be a proper referendom on karachi whether it wants to politically separate from Sindh and declared as autonomous region of Pakistan if things don't work out with people's party of sindh in provnce and PMLN in the federal

i totally disagree with MQM's politics of making alliances with other parties and that it doesn't demand separation of karachi even as a separate province, MQM doesn't get karachiites to enjoy their own local government, karachiites have no authority in law enforcement, karachiites have to suffer brutal quota system, Karachi has to suffer acquairing government jobs, Karachiites can get to have their own city funds spent on it, there is complete ethnic separation and isolation and an ethnic hegemony in all matters related to the business of karachi, so if karachiites can't be given a free space to control their own city than karachi must be declared as an autonomous self sustaining city

i think if within five years MQM fails to get Karachiites to have more powers, Karachiites must form another karachi based political party to put forward these demands, if the city is to survive in future

W-11, it is refreshing to see that you are looking beyond MQM. While I agree with you on most of the problems that you have mentioned that Karachiites face, I cannot agree with you on the solutions - especially #3. Karachi is a gateway to Pakistan. It should have a greater say in its affairs and should get its fair share of the revenues generated. But you cannot remain a part of Pakistan and not contribute to its overall economy.

sorry, this is the only solution

What's the population of Karachi and what's population of Urdu speakers in karachi? How can a minority impose it's will of separating karachi on others ?

Bhai lagta hai raat ko buhaat ziyada pe li thee ...

Is terha to every city of Pakistan will demand same status .. o meray bhai aisay kaam nahi chalta ...
Is this the best you can bring on ? That is why MQM Terrorist Altaf H burned Pak Flag ?

sorry, this is the only solution

Brother,

Accept the failure of MQM, they are in power from last 25 years, and not able to deliver any thing to their voters.

after accepting that, i think we will discuss the solutions, because before cure we need to understand the disease also.

MQM have its own interests in Karachi and london!
MQM never want to sit in Opposition because of their own internal conflicts.
MQM never want to discuss the core issues of their voters.
MQM not have a vision beyond 20 years
MQM always speaks against Jageerdars, and also nominated them as a president or prime minsters.
MQM not have any problem that karachities have a proper transport system or not.
MQM not have Problem people have a water or not.

Bhai lagta hai raat ko buhaat ziyada pe li thee ...

Is terha to every city of Pakistan will demand same status .. o meray bhai aisay kaam nahi chalta ...
Is this the best you can bring on ? That is why MQM Terrorist Altaf H burned Pak Flag ?
Very right, and your first line is confirmed when W11 gives statement against MQM. In present circumstances if we go by his recommendations, we will make Karachi another Rawanda. A city ruled by criminals and gangs.

Not going to work. People often give example of Hong Kong. But HK doesn't have the same importance to China, as Karachi has to Pakistan. China has other huge port cities. Pakistan has only Karachi (Gwadar doesn't count at this point). Doesn't make any sense.

Secondly, HK has more or less a homogenous population as compared to China mainland. Karachi on the other hand is a wild mix of Pakistanis from all over Pakistan. Politics will be even more messed up.

Karachi just needs the decent amount of revenue for fast development and up-keeping the growing economy. The more you put into Karachi the more you will get back into Pakistan economy as a whole. There is a lot of potential.

Unfortunately, the people fail to realize this by keep voting for PPP (who has done squat for Sindh, let alone Karachi), and MQM being Karachi only party it will never be able to do anything for Karachi without decisive support in Sindh.

Oh and btw @W.11 i wanted to troll you so bad for this thread, but i will let it go. :D

You are running away from a solution. New party, new state, new country dies not solve any issues. I agree with theboiint a member made that the will of a few Karachiets cannot be imposed in the Pakistani majority. Hong Kong example is not correct as Hong Kong history is different than Karachi and Pakistan. We should never forget that Karachi was the first Capital of Free Pakistan!

@W.11, Few weeks ago Ganja nawaz sharif gave you good package around 10,000 Million . Farooq sittar praised this package including metro bus project, Karachi-Lahore motorway, Big package for clean water and others....
Karachi is big city, We should make at-least 2 provinces from Karachi... and at-least 25 provinces in Pakistan.

@W.11 - First, kudos for looking beyond MQM.

But I disagree with your suggestion. Karachi is an integral part of the country. Even if 100% revenue came from Karachi, it still needs to feed the nation. We're gifted with a warm water and strategic port, but that doesn't make us any more special. If revenue was distributed by output, Balochistan would by far be the richest province. The rest of Pakistan would be without electricity and gas.