K-P slaps ban on dowry

making a law about is a good step. however, I wonder how are they going to implement said law. If there is an understanding between the two families, how are they going to punish them. Furthermore, family matters are considered sensitive here and these things are considered private.

but, this is a step in the right direction and a very commendable legislation from KP
a law does not take agreement of families into consideration in this case it has to be abide by.

A hypothetical scenario...say i am marrying my daughter and wish to give her dowry that is much more than the stipulated amount. I can give it all as a gift to her or her new husband. There are no bar on giving gifts yet. In this case, how can the dowry law be enforced?

I always thought islam is less discriminatory from talk shows in which muslims say that... but from your answer, it seems unfair when it comes to property right(I am comparing with current hindu law, it was better than old hindu law that gave nothing to daughters)...

You can not go to Jannah even after all those sajda's, nimaz, reciting Quran, rozay and other good deeds if you do not give the due part of your property to your daughter.

Even if you are the Imam of Kaaba. but by not giving due share to your (sister from father's wealth, daughter from your wealth). you are nothing. that's what make Islam great.

and how many girls remain unmarried ? may be 1 in 100's. it's not that common. so 99% still get what their brother's get.

Now that i understood. :enjoy:

Well,
many disagree with his Point of view.
many have political rivalry.
many are jealous. :D
and some can not comprehend what IK says. taking the example of PSL final in Lahore. which he opposed. and his point was that "what message will you give to International media, community and teams" regarding Pakistan's security situation's by literally declaring curfew type situation's in 1 km radius of Stadium. shutting down Hotels, markets, shops etc and apointing 1000's of security guards. and what if god forbid some incident happen's. then forget international Cricket for 10-15 year's.

But some dumb*** internet warriors was so dumb that they couldn't even understood what IK said and started bashing him. calling him anti-PSL, non-supporter of International cricket in Pakistan, "haddi in the kabab :partay:" etc etc etc....

Each person have his own reason. many can't be IK that's why abusing him. :big_boss:
IK had a lot of goodwill among 'innocent' people who dont know how politics works.. they wanted a messaiah... who will clean the system. do the right thing... etc..
as you can expect, anybody is bound to fail to such high expectation.. IK certainly did not do himself any favour by doing some crazy stunts and always deciding at spur of the moment...
from outsider, he is decently successful, enough to get a second chance in KP... he is like AAP(I dont like AAP boss, but they got good people who want to try new things).. only better
also there is regional/racial sentiments which is expressed as opposition/support of specific party here.... but lets not go there..

Now that i understood. :enjoy:

Well,
many disagree with his Point of view.
many have political rivalry.
many are jealous. :D
and some can not comprehend what IK says. taking the example of PSL final in Lahore. which he opposed. and his point was that "what message will you give to International media, community and teams" regarding Pakistan's security situation's by literally declaring curfew type situation's in 1 km radius of Stadium. shutting down Hotels, markets, shops etc and apointing 1000's of security guards. and what if god forbid some incident happen's. then forget international Cricket for 10-15 year's.

But some dumb*** internet warriors was so dumb that they couldn't even understood what IK said and started bashing him. calling him anti-PSL, non-supporter of International cricket in Pakistan, "haddi in the kabab :partay:" etc etc etc....

Each person have his own reason. many can't be IK that's why abusing him. :big_boss:

I'm actually talking about most posters here. Unless I am mistaken, they would all be mainly students, working class, or fauji circle. What political rivalry or jealousy would such have with a Imran Khan. Not to be crude, but kahan Raja Bhoj aur ....

Anyways, most of the angst (anger, irritation) seems to come from him being seen as Taliban friendly. Hence the name Taliban Khan. Not helped by photos of his in traditional costumes holding AK-whatevers.

So is there a anti Pakhtun element to it?? From say the more powerful Punjabi populace that seems him as a threat? Though honestly, Imran belongs to both, as a national hero as well as where he's lived most of his life.

IK had a lot of goodwill among 'innocent' people who dont know how politics works.. they wanted a messaiah... who will clean the system. do the right thing... etc..
as you can expect, anybody is bound to fail to such high expectation.. IK certainly did not do himself any favour by doing some crazy stunts and always deciding at spur of the moment...
from outsider, he is decently successful, enough to get a second chance in KP... he is like AAP(I dont like AAP boss, but they got good people who want to try new things).. only better
also there is regional/racial sentiments too which is expressed as opposition/support of specific party here.... but lets not go there..

You like AAP?

Who wuda thot!

as you can expect, anybody is bound to fail to such high expectation.. IK certainly did not do himself a favour by doing some crazy stunts and always deciding at spur of the moment...
from outsider, he is decently successful, enough to get a second chance in KP...
also there is regional/racial sentiments too which is expressed as opposition/support of specific party here.... but lets not go there..

Hope he get a second chance. atleast in KP if not federal.

KP deserve good, Pakistan deserve good. BTW for me, he is not a Politician. as he is very bad at Politics. if he was a politician, his vision would be till 2018, to win the next election. and for that he would have built ed roads, motorways, and such other structures. BUT no, he worked on organization's and institutes. he brought reforms to government departments and invested in education department more then other departments. which show's his vision. He is a Leader. not a Politician.

and for those Pakistan's whose will drag me to Political discussion after this post. i am not a PTI follower, i am just a common KPian who wan't good for his Province and his Nation.

I'm actually talking about most posters here. Unless I am mistaken, they would all be mainly students, working class, or fauji circle. What political rivalry or jealousy would such have with a Imran Khan. Not to be crude, but kahan Raja Bhoj aur ....

Anyways, most of the angst (anger, irritation) seems to come from him being seen as Taliban friendly. Hence the name Taliban Khan. Not helped by photos of his in traditional costumes holding AK-whatevers.

So is there a anti Pakhtun element to it?? From say the more powerful Punjabi populace that seems him as a threat? Though honestly, Imran belongs to both, as a national hero as well as where he's lived most of his life.

You like AAP?

Who wuda thot!
dont like.. but dont hate them... as such... many of the members are there to make a difference..make politics less dirty.. may be a bit naive... but thats ok.
I hate the kejri guy... and loud mouth asutosh... but delhi CM is a decent man... I heard him speaking about odd-even scheme in a tv debate and found him to be quite likable... may not be an alpha man... but I dont think we need alpha man everywhere... :)

dont like.. but dont hate them... as such... many of the members are there to make a difference..make politics less dirty.. may be a bit naive... but thats ok.
I hate the kejri guy... and loud mouth asutosh... but delhi CM is a decent man... I heard him speaking about odd-even scheme in a tv debate and found him to be quite likable... may not be an alpha man... but I dont think we need alpha man everywhere... :)

Acha sidily taking my hole here. lol

Members, a soft reminder: Read subject title and stick to the same.

Thanks.

PESHAWAR: The Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Assembly adopted a landmark piece of legislation on Thursday, barring a bride’s family members, relatives and outsiders from making dowry payments to the groom and his family.

A needed and long due however, done in good deed and well on time right along-with the news of FATA induction. Good days ahead.

1 : do you know PMLN have a media cell ? which have hired many many and many Internet warriors for PMLN ?
for a refernce, it work's like the Israeli cyber army. difference is, PMLN work for political interests. and as i said,
each person got his own reason to hate IK. but as KPian, as he rule my Province. i can answer better then those
who haven't seen his work.

2 : Coming to the Taliban khan. Previously, in 2009-10-11 he Opposed the military Operations. and insisted on a Political solution. and the only reason for his opposition was that it will military operation's in these areas of KP will destroy the socio-economic structure in these areas.. the 2nd and more latest reason is that he signed an agreement with Haqani madrasa in Akorah khatak, as per which provincial government allocated 30 crore ruppes for reforms in this madrasa. in return, Madrasa administration agreed for reforms which includes computerization of the student's records, modernizing the syllabus etc. and the reason for reforms was that 2.2 million Pakistani children's studying in Madrasas. we just can't abandon those madrasas for the reason that they have produced terrorists back then. the only soultion was reforms. which KP government Opted for. and criticism just started.... despite that it was a decision of KP government , not IK.

3 : No it's not the dominant Punjabi but Punjab government led by PMLN. which try to prove PTI as a "Pakhtoon party" . so that it just remain's to KP and do not challenge their position in PUnjab. it's a Political reason for PMLN to make IK controversial.

1 : do you know PMLN have a media cell ? which have hired many many and many Internet warriors for PMLN ? for a refernce, it work's like the Israeli cyber army. difference is, PMLN work for political interests. and as i said, each person got his own reason to hate IK. but as KPian, as he rule my Province. i can answer better then those who haven't seen his work.

2 : Coming to the Taliban khan. Previously, in 2009-10-11 he Opposed the military Operations. and insisted on a Political solution. and the only reason for his opposition was that it will military operation's in these areas of KP will destroy the socio-economic structure in these areas.. the 2nd and more latest reason is that he signed an agreement with Haqani madrasa in Akorah khatak, as per which provincial government allocated 30 crore ruppes for reforms in this madrasa. in return, Madrasa administration agreed for reforms which includes computerization of the student's records, modernizing the syllabus etc. and the reason for reforms was that 2.2 million Pakistani children's studying in Madrasas. we just can't abandon those madrasas for the reason that they have produced terrorists back then. the only soultion was reforms. which KP government Opted for. and criticism just started.... despite that it was a decision of KP government , not IK.

3 : No it's not the dominant Punjabi but Punjab government led by PMLN. which try to prove PTI as a "Pakhtoon party" . so that it just remain's to KP and do not challenge their position in PUnjab. it's a Political reason for PMLN to make IK controversial.

The madrasa thing makes a lot of sense. Don't fight the system from the outside. Thanks for sharing buddy. No.s 1 and 3 were known to me.

Nice development!

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1344507/k-p-slaps-ban-dowry/

PESHAWAR: The Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Assembly adopted a landmark piece of legislation on Thursday, barring a bride’s family members, relatives and outsiders from making dowry payments to the groom and his family.

The law also restricts the maximum value of gifts given to the bride by her parents, family members or any other person to Rs10,000. It is now illegal for anyone from the groom’s family or anyone on their behalf to ask or force the bride’s family for dowry. If they still do, they shall be liable to a two-month prison term and a fine of Rs300,000 or both.

The law titled, ‘the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Dowry, Bridal Gift and Marriage Functions Restriction Act, 2017,’ states that the total expenditures on marriages, including on baarats or valimas shall not exceed Rs75,000 and other ceremonies, including nikah, baraat or valima shall be concluded before 10pm.

Anti dowry campaign: Constant effort against gender violence called for

Similarly, the law restricts the valima to a one-dish banquet of rice, gravy and sweets. It also states that a person or family celebrating the nikah or baraat or organising the marriage ceremony of other person shall not serve or allow anyone to meals or other edibles, excluding beverages, to people participating in the ceremony.

Under the law, anyone who contravenes or fails to comply with any provision of this law shall be liable to pay a fine not less than Rs200,000 and an imprisonment term not exceeding two months.

The bill, tabled by the Jamaat-e-Islami’s (JI) Rashda Riffat, was unanimously adopted by the house.

Services of more than 3,000 employees of the health and irrigation departments were regularised after the adoption of two separate laws tabled by Pakistan Peoples Party lawmaker Sardar Fakhar Azam Khan.

The assembly also adopted a resolution asking the provincial government to include chapters on the life of celebrated humanitarian and charity founder Abdul Sattar Edhi in textbooks taught in Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa.