CJP lashes out at DIG seeking 'undue favour' through own son-in-law
Rana BilalUpdated April 29, 2018
Facebook Count8
Twitter Share

Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Saqib Nisar on Sunday reprimanded Deputy Inspector General (DIG) Ghulam Mahmood Dogar and summoned his own son-in-law to provide an explanation regarding the DIG's attempt to seek undue influence in a child custody case against his ex-wife.

Canadian-national Mirjam Aberras Lahdeaho had contracted marriage with DIG Dogar on March 6, 1997, in Lahore and stayed in Pakistan for over 12 years along with their three children, including a daughter, before they moved to Canada as permanent residents in 2009.

The DIG used to visit his family in Canada frequently instead of opting for a permanent stay due to his job in Pakistan.

Finnish-origin Lahdeaho said in 2016 that Dogar made their two minor sons visit Pakistan from Canada on a short tour but never allowed them to go back on one pretext or the other.

She said her husband also obtained an ex parte order from a court regarding guardianship of the minors and that she had been fraudulently deprived of lawful custody of her children.

In February, a guardian court ordered the DIG to produce his two sons so that their interim custody could be given to their mother in the light of a Supreme Court order.

Lahdeaho had appealed to the apex court against the placement of her name and the names of her children on the Exit Control List (ECL), but the DIG allegedly wanted his former spouse and sons' names to remain on the no-fly list.

The CJP, while hearing the case at the Supreme Court Lahore Registry today, took strong exception to the DIG's attempt at gaining undue favour by appealing to his son-in-law Khalid Rehman, and summoned Rehman to court immediately to record his statement.

"How dare you seek to approach me for favour through my son-in-law?" the chief justice lashed out at the DIG. "Tell me, who advised you to seek undue advantage in the case through my family members?" he asked.

DIG Dogar gave the CJP an unconditional apology, but Justice Nisar told him the court was not interested in his apology, and insisted on being told the name of the person who had advised the police official to seek intercession in the case by approaching the CJP's family members.

"What made you think that anyone could gain undue favour with the CJP?" he asked. "I am doing a jihad and you are attempting to seek favours," he said.

Son-in-law appears before CJP
Rehman, the CJP's son-in-law appeared before the court in response to Justice Nisar's summons.

"You are my son at my home but right now you are standing before the chief justice of Pakistan. Tell the court who asked you for the intercession," the chief justice questioned his son-in-law.

Rehman submitted an unconditional apology to the court and told the CJP that DIG Dogar had approached him for a favour.

He alleged that the DIG had said his former wife and sons' names should stay on the ECL.

The chief justice then ordered the hearing of the case be continued in his chamber.

Justice Nisar reprimands son-in-law, DIG for seeking undue 'favour'
By Mohammad Haroon
Published: April 29, 2018
49SHARES
SHARE TWEET EMAIL
1698258-chiefjusticex-1524988916-417-640x480.jpg

Chief Justice of Pakistan Mian Saqib Nisar: PHOTO:EXPRESS

LAHORE: Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Mian Saqib Nisar summoned his son-in-law on Sunday for attempting to earn a favour for an official in a child custody case.

The country’s top judge was hearing a custody case filed against DIG Ghulam Mehmood Dogar at the Supreme Court’s Lahore Registry when the latter was censured for attempting to use personal connections.

The DIG’s ex-wife, a Canadian national, has approached the apex court over the placement of her and their children’s names on the exit control list. Reportedly, the Dogar wanted the his ex-wife and children’s name to remain on the no-fly list.

CJP wants Pakistan Railways audit within six weeks

Expressing his displeasure, Justice Nisar asked Dogar who advised him to approach the chief justice’s relatives for ‘favours’. He questioned the official’s audacity to seek an undue favour through the chief justice’s son-in-law, Khalid Rehman, and assume that the CJP will respond positively to the recommendation.

Reprimanding Dogar, the top judge stressed that he had waged a war against injustice. “You are trying to earn favours using a source?”

A chastised Dogar tendered an unconditional apology to the top court, however, Justice Nisar refused to accept it. “I do not want your apology. Tell me who advised you to use personal connection?”

When Rehman appeared before the apex court, he was censured for attempting to influence the judicial process.“You are my son at home but right now you are appearing before the Chief Justice of Pakistan,” said the top judge as he inquired who asked Rehman to seek ‘undue favours’. “I was approached by Dogar,” replied Rehman.

Reiterating his apology, the DIG pleaded the court to not remove his former wife and children’s names from the ECL.
Halting the court proceedings, Justice Nisar advised both the parties to reach private chambers for further hearing.

Kiya Saas Bahu lagaya hua hai

Saza bhi to do

My respect for the man just went up a few notches....Totally appreciated...More power to CJ Saqib Nisar.
If we want a more tolerant and successful then we must support such people. Kudos CJP sahib, may you succeed in your Jihad and rid PK of this evil.