Jesus won’t save you — President Xi Jinping will, Chinese Christians told

Haha - I too would be ashamed to display my real flag if I were Chinese, so I don't blame you.
Converted? LOL - He was the Indian Emperor - what would he convert to - Confucianism? But I can see why all this a bit too complex for a Chinese citizen. That's why India is doing the humane thing by given Chinese citizens refugee status.

Take could have taken Hong Kong? LOL , from the British? Sure - keep telling yourself that - who knows you might even begin to believe it.

Ah I see English tumhara first language nehi hain. By local converted I meant some Indian who converted to Islam. Like our erstwhile president Kalam. A guy like Kalam, I can respect. But no, Shah Jahan wasn't an 'Indian'. Next you will say Queen Victoria bhi 'Indian' empress thi.

I understand why you praise Shah Jahan though. 800 saal lamba foreign rule tum jaise logon ki sense of self respect barbaad kar dia hain. Chalo. Khush raho aur aapne occupiers ko praise karte raho.

Aur Hong Kong? Ek chutki mein.

Many rural people are ignorant.
Every country has a fair share of such kind of people, living in the most isolated areas for generations led to a very closed mindset. You can hardly expect them to embrace the idea of free thinking all of a sudden.

I think you should know that better than most.. coming from India.

Simply put, these people NEED to be herded

Jesus won’t save you — President Xi Jinping will, Chinese Christians told

By Simon Denyer November 14 at 6:59 AM
View image on Twitter
DOfKtGkXUAEwTK-.jpg:large

Yaqiu Wang @Yaqiu

“Help turn those who believe in religions into believing in the Party”

In the latest campaign, party members involved in poverty alleviation toured villages telling people how the party was supporting agriculture and removing poverty, “melting the hard ice in the hearts of religious believers” and “helping turn them into believers in the party.”

Qi Yan, chairman of the people’s congress in the township of Huangjinbu within Yugan county and the man in charge of the local poverty alleviation effort, told the South China Morning Post that villagers “should no longer rely on Jesus, but on the party for help.”

“Many poor households have plunged into poverty because of illness in the family. Some resorted to believing in Jesus to cure their illnesses,” Qi said. “But we tried to tell them that getting ill is a physical thing and that the people who can really help them are the Communist Party and General Secretary Xi.”

Qi said the campaign has been running since March in Huangjinbu township, with more than 1,000 portraits of Xi distributed and hung in homes. Christians make up around one-third of the population there, with between 5,000 and 6,000 families, he said.

“Many rural people are ignorant. They think God is their savior,” he said. “After our cadres’ work, they’ll realize their mistakes and think: We should no longer rely on Jesus, but on the party for help.”

In October, officials in Yugan county held a meeting in which they talked about “having a sense of crisis” about the presence of religion there, according to the county’s official website. County party secretary Hu Wei said they must insist on “uniting people of faith around the party.”

In August, officials also forcibly removed crosses in Yugan county, according to Radio Free Asia — mirroring a similar campaign that took place in recent years in neighboring Zhejiang province.

A resident of another township in Yugan, a man surnamed Liu, told the South China Morning Post that villagers had no choice but to comply.

“Some families put up gospel couplets on their front doors during the Lunar New Year; some also hung paintings of the cross. But they’ve all been torn down,” he said. “They all have their belief and, of course, they didn’t want to take them down. But there is no way out. If they don’t agree to do so, they won’t be given their quota from the poverty-relief fund.”

China’s constitution protects the right to religion, but the state also takes a dim view of any institution that might challenge its total control over society. So Christians, Buddhists, Muslims and others have the right to worship, but their houses of worship are often tightly controlled and can easily be shut down if deemed distracting or a threat to official dogma.

More than any other time in decades, the party is now seeking more control. At last month’s Party Congress in Beijing, Xi Jinping was granted another five years in power as general secretary, and elevated almost to the level of Mao in the Communist pantheon, with his name written into the party constitution. Critics say it spells a dangerous return to one-man rule in China, something that had disastrous results under Mao.

During his speech at the congress, Xi said religion must be guided by the party to adapt to socialist society.

A local newspaper in the southwestern province of Guizhou is already referring to Xi as “Great Leader” in a headline, a title that hasn’t been used since Mao’s era.

View image on Twitter
DOb5vXeUEAAnvVo.jpg:small

Yuen Chan @xinwenxiaojie

A local newspaper in Guizhou describes #XiJinping as #GreatLeader, appellation not used since #Mao (pic via Cable News China Team FB)
Twitter Ads info and privacy

Today's WorldView

What's most important from where the world meets Washington

John Pomfret 潘文 @JEPomfret

The cult of personality lives... https://twitter.com/xinwenxiaojie/status/929705310230478848 …

2:41 AM - Nov 13, 2017
Twitter Ads info and privacy

Meanwhile, Xi's slogans are almost ubiquitous in China, since the run-up to and aftermath of the Party Congress. This one means: “Stay true to the mission and keep it firmly in mind.”

View image on Twitter
DOe7hKYUMAAbwBk.jpg:small

Bill Birtles

✔@billbirtles

Even at pro basketball games in China Xi Jinping's propaganda slogans are ever present.

Amber Ziye Wang contributed to this report.
To be fair,, I think they are right to some extent.
Jesus, Mohammed, Buddha etc will never come down from heaven to come and change your life materially, financially, economically or provide basic social amenities needed for a normal human being. It's the government/leader of a country that provides all these things not a religious figure or GOD.
So if by 'save' the author meant financially /economically /social status etc then yes it's true that only Xi Jinping and his government can do that for the Chinese people not Jesus or whoever.
However, if by 'save ' the author meant in terms of faith/religious beliefs or spiritually etc then the author is right indeed.
So it depends on what he means by 'save' in this regard.

So we have to look at things the way they are. For if jesus or any other prophet /lord could save people economically, financially, and provide them with all the luxuries or basic needs of life, then Sub saharan african countries , South Asian countries(and SEA countries as well) , Middle Eastern countries etc will be the wealthiest and most developed regions on earth and their people won't be risking their lives in the sea/desert to emigrate away from their very religious societies to 'godless' or far less religious societies /countries in Europe /Canada/Australia etc .

So it depends on what is more important to each individual /human being. Is it living a good life financially/socially/materially that's more important or is it faith /spiritual accomplishment that's more important?

Every country has a fair share of such kind of people, living in the most isolated areas for generations led to a very closed mindset. You can hardly expect them to embrace the idea of free thinking all of a sudden.

I think you should know that better than most.. coming from India.

Simply put, these people NEED to be herded

I know what religious conversion is. But replacing one image with other doesn't change anything right?

Such practice has been going on for decades... the CPC hands out framed head shots of leaders to the rural people like candy. Hu, Jiang, Deng and before that Mao,along with Lenin, Stalin... it's almost a tradition for the CPC

But it does appear a bit weird once some english media starts reporting it..

Anonymity is something we enjoyed in the past, when China was a nobody, now it's increasingly becoming a luxury

Such practice has been going on for decades... the CPC hands out framed head shots of leaders to the rural people like candy. Hu, Jiang, Deng and before that Mao,along with Lenin, Stalin... it's almost a tradition for the CPC

But it does appear a bit weird once some english media starts reporting it..

Anonymity is something we enjoyed in the past, when China was a nobody, now it's increasingly becoming a luxury

Can't blame the messenger (News media). The greatest enemy of communism is worshiping icons and cult following.

It's at large since Mao. Deng enjoyed great respect but neither Jiang nor Deng enjoyed the same love Mao got. While Xi is slowly rising to Mao's stage. Let's see what happens in 2021-22.

Well that’s the truth.. Just wish the illiterate masses of South Asia take a que out of East Asian people in self empowerment without relying on supernatural mumbo jumbo.. @Juggernaut_is_here
Agree 100%. Hoping for some supreme being from heaven to come and change their country or life conditions is indeed stupid and naive.

Can't blame the messenger (News media). The greatest enemy of communism is worshiping icons and cult following.

It's at large since Mao. Deng enjoyed great respect but neither Jiang nor Deng enjoyed the same love Mao got. While Xi is slowly rising to Mao's stage. Let's see what happens in 2021-22.

oh no... you make it sound like soon 1.4 billion people will be chanting Xi's name..LOL!

I honestly don’t see that happening even if he delivers Taiwan...the time for personality cult in China has long gone

oh no... you make it sound like soon 1.4 billion people will be chanting Xi's name..LOL!

I honestly don’t see that happening even if he delivers Taiwan...the time for personality cult in China has long gone

Oh, I'm not calling your country North Korea style politics. It has become less party oriented and more person oriented. As Xi consolidated powers on an unprecedented level, who knows, odds are he needs popular support to continue his reign. And for that he needs a cult or fan following.
Clap your hands:yay: