It’s our failure Prerna, not yours

Are you serious!!!

Such news gives me chills, Pathetic.....I will make sure that my kid never gets in such mindset....its more important to spend time with family and enjoy small things of life....

I call BS on that one. My friend, life is not a Disney movie. And you may probably have heard this a million times but "Happily ever after cannot happen just by wishing for it".

Its a cut-throat world. Most of you hypocrites burned asphalt in school and college trying to outshine everyone else......and now here you are, talking about "small things in life".

bad parenting. bad education system. wrong mindset. all are responsible. but root cause is caste system.

There may be a certain percentage due to this but it's always people from better background who are expected to excel.
Here even in UK, the fee paying people appear under more pressure than those who attend state schools.

All my entire life my parents abused and tortured me to become a doctor. I rebelled and turned out to be an engineer.
They still have not given up and torturing me to marry a doctor.

It cant get any sadder than that. :(

You will find more "Higher Caste" , "Middle Class" families with this case than any other .
correct. and the root cause for that is caste system.

All my entire life my parents abused and tortured me to become a doctor. I rebelled and turned out to be an engineer.
They still have not given up and torturing me to marry a doctor.

It cant get any sadder than that. :(

it is tribal mentality of subcontinent people where personal freedom is least important and parents/tribe/community dictate younger people about all their important life decisions.

bad parenting. bad education system. wrong mindset. all are responsible. but root cause is caste system.

What on earth has this to do with caste ???

Its just a fallout out of excessive competitiveness and parents adding fuel to the fire by not counseling their kids and not preparing them for adversities.

Not to mention poor interaction between parents & children.

BTW if failing in a subject was reason enough to commit suicide - I should have hung myself each year !

May be Pakistan can learn a thing or two from this incident and control the population...smaller population,happier country.

I call BS on that one. My friend, life is not a Disney movie. And you may probably have heard this a million times but "Happily ever after cannot happen just by wishing for it".

Its a cut-throat world. Most of you hypocrites burned asphalt in school and college trying to outshine everyone else......and now here you are, talking about "small things in life".

O bhai, thoada thand rakh....mummy se roz marr khata hai kya???

My parents never pushed me hard on studies, i was a average student doing my own thing most of the time. I did very well in some subjects and that made me a competent software engineer. I stand by what i said because that's how i have been brought up. keep ur views with you and let me have mine. Go on with ur thinking and when u ever have a kid, tell him/her that he/she is coward bcz they are not able to cope up with pressure....

What on earth has this to do with caste ???

Its just a fallout out of excessive competitiveness and parents adding fuel to the fire by not counseling their kids and not preparing them for adversities.

excessive competitiveness - In Indian culture social status is defined by caste and even after education and urbanization most people carry that mentality with them in some form. So everyone wants few typical white collar jobs/professions. Now these jobs will always be in limited numbers. if there are 10 such seats/jobs and 100 people trying for it through an exam, whether everyone studies for 4 hours per day or 20 hours per day, either way only 10 people will get jobs and 90 people will be losers even if they study for 24 hours. The (15-20% population) upper castes had become used the fact that they have 100% reservation in these jobs for thousands of years and those 90 people are usually sour losers who will either keep whining about reservations or something else. But their 100% reservation is now reduced to less than 50% and as lower castes progress, there will be more competition. No one has stopped them from doing other professions but the Indian social values (which have developed based in caste system) are such that anything that needs menial labour is considered low class and shameful. They will not even think of alternate professions till they are pushed into doing that. And so excessive competitiveness for marks and seat in medical/engineering college.

parents adding fuel to the fire- indian parents' mentality is moulded by Indian social values which have roots in caste system. so they are like frogs in a well and don't know enough about the world beyond their family/relatives and friends (most of which are usually from similar class/caste). but even though they don't have enough knowledge of outer world, still they want to dictate their children and make them like themselves because according to Indian culture, children are a 'property' of parents.

Elite classes usually define the dominant values of a culture and others want to be like them. As lower classes, which is lower castes try to adopt values of elites, they also run after same things and hence increase in such incidence in whole society.
In case of Pakistan and Nepal, since it is still feudal and no reservations for lower castes, upper castes still must be dominating the white collar jobs and rest of people doing menial jobs. So they should have had less competition but population explosion and ruined economy would mean even their elite classes will have to face competition. But I can only guess because in Pakistanis will not even collect such data or lie about it, forget about making efforts to give opportunities to lower castes.

excessive competitiveness - In Indian culture social status is defined by caste and even after education and urbanization most people carry that mentality with them in some form. So everyone wants few typical white collar jobs/professions. Now these jobs will always be in limited numbers. if there are 10 such seats/jobs and 100 people trying for it through an exam, whether everyone studies for 4 hours per day or 20 hours per day, either way only 10 people will get jobs and 90 people will be losers even if they study for 24 hours. The (15-20% population) upper castes had become used the fact that they have 100% reservation in these jobs for thousands of years and those 90 people are usually sour losers who will either keep whining about reservations or something else. But their 100% reservation is now reduced to less than 50% and as lower castes progress, there will be more competition. No one has stopped them from doing other professions but the Indian social values (which have developed based in caste system) are such that anything that needs menial labour is considered low class and shameful. They will not even think of alternate professions till they are pushed into doing that. And so excessive competitiveness for marks and seat in medical/engineering college.

parents adding fuel to the fire- indian parents' mentality is moulded by Indian social values which have roots in caste system. so they are like frogs in a well and don't know enough about the world beyond their family/relatives and friends (most of which are usually from similar class/caste). but even though they don't have enough knowledge of outer world, still they want to dictate their children and make them like themselves because according to Indian culture, children are a 'property' of parents.

Elite classes usually define the dominant values of a culture and others want to be like them. As lower classes, which is lower castes try to adopt values of elites, they also run after same things and hence increase in such incidence in whole society.
In case of Pakistan and Nepal, since it is still feudal and no reservations for lower castes, upper castes still must be dominating the white collar jobs and rest of people doing menial jobs. So they should have had less competition but population explosion and ruined economy would mean even their elite classes will have to face competition. But I can only guess because in Pakistanis will not even collect such data or lie about it, forget about making efforts to give opportunities to lower castes.

I totally disagree with your interpretation. I agree to the fact that people want "white collar jobs" as opposed to menial jobs but that is due to the simple fact that they pay more. With petrol price increasing every month, inflation at 6 - 7 % it is imperative that one does a good salary job. This has nothing to do with caste.

In urban India largely caste factor has diminished. Today's generation first think about caste when they fill entrance exam forms where they have to specify SC /ST/OBC/Genral. When they see people with low marks but that coveted backwardness certificate get ahead of them then they speak against reservation.

It is the politicians who have misused the caste factor for 65 years. India is probably the only country where people fight to become backward.

For India to progress we must promote meritocracy whatever may be the caste of the person. This is one reason why private sector is so much better than public.

I concede that caste plays a role in the rural areas but the solution is not reservation but education.

You bet it is... Man... This just sucks.. My daughter is just about the same age and such news give me the shivers...

Your daughter is 14? I thought you were.......;)

One of my neighbors 16 year old kid committed a suicide over same reason and within 6 months his dad also died of heart stroke.

Man, this is just so wrong. !!!

Agreed. Kids should do well in school, but they should be motivated to be the best they can be, not pressured to become Superman or Supergirl.

"she shuts her room before examination"--This should be where you start.

Damn right. When I was a kid, I wasnt allowed to close doors. No locking doors inside the house :lol:

To add, If i had a kid and he/she committed suicide, i wouldn't spend a lot of time 'grieving'.

That is the dumbest thing I have ever heard. You wouldnt feel guilty after reading that type of note? That you didnt do anything for your daughter? You'd be devastated.

but root cause is caste system.

Although the caste system is a problem, I dont think that figures here. I think the main reason is mad competition. Parents should pay more attention to kids and what they go through and help them deal with tough situations.

Bad parenting is not the only problem,increase in competition plays a major factor in todays life,for having better future you have to be best from the beganing thats the mindset of todays people, some gets through it and some can't, its a lot better than old days where children were used to get a lot of spanting for not performing well. And I also agree that caste system and that unlogical reservation plays adequate part in it.