Is the revival of Pakistani cinema sustainable?

Our country is on right track eventually. Things will be better in future. In Sha Allah :pakistan:

Pakistanis movies are cheap copy of bollywood but with horrible acting, music and story. This revival will not last either because people will say f it and watch bollywood instead with better production values and acting. Majority of people making movies are tv actors and directors.

Pakistani public dont give respect to this profession of acting and dancing because of bad image and reputation of past actress in lollywood while such people are being respected in Indian society no matter how vulgar they appear in movies. Indian kids start learning singing, dancing at very early stage and most parent encourage them to go for such activities and even parent go with them in dancing/music contests. I want to see a quality movie industry in Pakistan like Iranian. Pakistan should not copy typical Bollywood trend. Iranians gave this clear message to world that movies can be worth watching without item songs ,nude gori foreign chamri and vulgar dance and scenes. Pakistan dramas are hit for this reason that they are unique compare to Indian in story, simplicity of characters, direction and seem more realistic whom people could relate with

Of recent times it has made great strides. Again they need to invest in talent, both acting and directing, and increase budgets. The public also needs to be kept in an excitable state.

Pakistanis movies are cheap copy of bollywood but with horrible acting, music and story. This revival will not last either because people will say f it and watch bollywood instead with better production values and acting. Majority of people making movies are tv actors and directors.

Horrible acting? We got some best acting skills actors. :) I can give you long list. Andddd all these Pakistani actors and actresses who are working in Bollywood are actually our tv actors. If they can cast them for big screens why not us?

Every Movie need
Pakistani public dont give respect to this profession of acting and dancing because of bad image and reputation of past actress in lollywood while such people are being respected in Indian society no matter how vulgar they appear in movies. Indian kids start learning singing, dancing at very early stage and most parent encourage them to go for such activities and even parent go with them in dancing/music contests. I want to see a quality movie industry in Pakistan like Iranian. Pakistan should not copy typical Bollywood trend. Iranians gave this clear message to world that movies can be worth watching without item songs ,nude gori foreign chamri and vulgar dance and scenes. Pakistan dramas are hit for this reason that they are unique compare to Indian in story, simplicity of characters, direction and seem more realistic whom people could relate with

Somehow..I completely agree with you..I saw some of the Pakistan movies...Although they are good but they are again following most of the things from Bollywood...Now a days, Bollywood in India hardly relates to any regular public..Bollywood always presents a fantasy ...So rather than copying Bollywood, Korean and Iran Movie industry is a good way to follow and start developing the industry

also should try to make better/different movie than bollywood(instead of competing by throwing more money and showing more of the same crap)

yeah, i don't see the point of "jawaani phir na aani" or of putting wedding songs or even of making weddings the focal point of a film in manner of most hindi tv serials.

the only worthwhile hindi film last in recent times was "haider".

it would be wonderful if there is a desi version of "the last days on mars" with actors and technicians from all over south asia.

Every Movie need

Somehow..I completely agree with you..I saw some of the Pakistan movies...Although they are good but they are again following most of the things from Bollywood...Now a days, Bollywood in India hardly relates to any regular public..Bollywood always presents a fantasy ...So rather than copying Bollywood, Korean and Iran Movie industry is a good way to follow and start developing the industry
Bollywood actually produce some good movie but problem is they go unnoticed as Bollywood rely on big names to make a movie super hit or block buster and to be honest i hate those block buster movie with same typical story line ..there are many bollywood movies which were super hit but i cannot continue watching them say more than 20 minute ..on the other hand there is one recent movie of nawazuddin manjhi the mountain man which i personally like but its no where in hit list..now harsh reality is if Sharukh khan or salman khan was acted in this manjhi movie then it would be a super hit lol

Of recent times it has made great strides. Again they need to invest in talent, both acting and directing, and increase budgets. The public also needs to be kept in an excitable state.
If you have a proper marketing strategy and a good script you will make money jpna was a proof of that and in the next 5 years after 50 more screens will get completed earnings of blockbuster movies may go as high as 80 crore or more

Horrible acting? We got some best acting skills actors. :) I can give you long list. Andddd all these Pakistani actors and actresses who are working in Bollywood are actually our tv actors. If they can cast them for big screens why not us?
He is actually right. Ever heard kawa chala huns k chaal aur apni chaal be bhool gaya..role of actress in bollywood movie is typical and limited i.e to dance and to seduce hero with smiles etc unless there is story which demand some serious acting skills from actress thats why many foreign born models get easily fits in these role as long as they are cute looking and good in expression and body movements then acting skills or speaking hindi dont matter

Pakistani actress are good in serious type of acting/role but they will fail big time if they have to dance on item songs or has to play typical Bollywood rule..example is humaima malick and compare her role in Bol with her role in Raja natwarlal with emraan hashmi and in others bollywod movies which were flop

Is the revival of Pakistani cinema sustainable?
Local filmmakers have changed the face of Pakistani cinema in 2015 but more is needed to make the revival sustainable.
11338_10153162162912237_250586953230236913_n.jpg

Illustration by Creative Unit.
Pakistani cinema has reached the tipping point. With a record 11 local films (10 feature films and one animated film) in 2015, at least three of which were massive hits, the long sought after revival of local cinema has happened.

Gone are the days of the gujjars and gandaasas, seamlessly replaced by a mix of artsy biopics, big budget entertainers, kitschy coming of age numbers and rollicking, if raunchy, comedies. Decrepit and dingy cinema halls have been traded in for slick cineplexes equipped with plush seats, modern technology and the promise of a film ‘experience’. Going to the cinema has become not only an acceptable but a desirable activity as well, and the choices, whether in terms of show times, cinema locations or the films themselves, are extensive. For a country where an entire generation grew up without ever having seen the inside of a cinema, a new cinema going culture has arrived and is by all accounts being embraced with the greatest of enthusiasm.

The lifting of the ban on the import of Indian films in 2009 can safely be credited with bringing about the greatest change to Pakistan’s cinema environment. Prior to this, film supply was so limited that there was no business case for establishing a cinema, and in the absence of cinema halls to screen films in, producing local films was out of the question.

Mohsin Yaseen, GM Marketing at Cinepax Cinemas, which owns 22 of the 83 screens in Pakistan, says that when the owners of Cinepax thought of building a cinema in 2005, they knew they would have to create the supply chain first. So they established a distribution company called Box Office (now Footprint) and became the official distributors of Sony, Paramount and Universal in Pakistan. This gave them a much needed boost and they started building a cineplex in Rawalpindi but it wasn’t until the import of Indian films began that the expansion began in earnest.

Which language are Pakistani movies made? Urdu or Punjabi or Sindhi?

He is actually right. Ever heard kawa chala huns k chaal aur apni chaal be bhool gaya..role of actress in bollywood movie is typical and limited i.e to dance and to seduce hero with smiles etc unless there is story which demand some serious acting skills from actress thats why many foreign born models get easily fits in these role as long as they are cute looking and good in expression and body movements then acting skills or speaking hindi dont matter

Pakistani actress are good in serious type of acting/role but they will fail big time if they have to dance on item songs or has to play typical Bollywood rule..example is humaima malick and compare her role in Bol with her role in Raja natwarlal with emraan hashmi and in others bollywod movies which were flop
Who told you Pakistani actresses only do the sharmili gharelo khatoon role?

Ahem Mehwish Hayat disagrees :whistle:

Which language are Pakistani movies made? Urdu or Punjabi or Sindhi?
Urdu

Spot on...Even i noticed the same thing...Pakistan women lead are very serious looking face...They are cure,pretty and talented..but they can not make a cut into typical masala bollywood movies of Karan Johar or Yash Raj because they look too much serious in their appearances...So they will be good with serious female lead roles which Kangna Ranaut is doing now a days..But they wont click on typical dance and drama movies...

thats why many foreign born models get easily fits in these role as long as they are cute looking and good in expression and body movements then acting skills or speaking hindi dont matter

Must be thinking of Amreena Rana and this new lady Sonya Jaha. But trust me Amreena has no facial expression. She is just cute looking lady. But why not mentioning the real talent like saba Qamar, Sajal Ali, Ayesha khan, Ayeza khan, Sana Javed and list goes on.

Also, I pointed out what he said that most of the film actors belong to drama industry. But if you see all these actresses or actors who are working or worked in Bollywood are tv actors. If they can cast them in movies why not Pakistani film industry cast them too?

Spot on...Even i noticed the same thing...Pakistan women lead are very serious looking face...They are cure,pretty and talented..but they can not make a cut into typical masala bollywood movies of Karan Johar or Yash Raj because they look too much serious in their appearances...So they will be good with serious female lead roles which Kangna Ranaut is doing now a days..But they wont click on typical dance and drama movies...
kangna ranut or vidya balun

my all time fav india movie is either swades or Pinjar and i think acting of urmila in pinjar was fanatstic