Is Nawaz Sherif Machiavelli of South east Asia?

Arey bhai ye tau Modi ka Taqiya kalam hai

Modi is the best Machiavellian
The best sly wily.
Modi is a good example too
coming abck to Nawaz . its really interesting that not just the politicians inside Pakistan but also India and Afghanistan and the west are willing to forgive or ignore the links Nawaz had with Osama Bin Laden and the revelation that OBL funded him in one of his political campaigns in the late 90s against Benazir Bhutto. its the time when OBL was declared an international terrorist.
Nawaz is a true survivor where the Americans and Saudis are willing to forgive his OBL links and also Indians only limit the LeT / Hafiz Saeed related accusations and complaints to Pakistan army although it is his seat of Punjab that accommodates the religious thugs

@Arsalan @fatman17

lol my piece escaped your view

LOL..... I fail to see how he had any win with Indians.

Pretty much all Indians who matter is aware of his duplicitous nature and his covert support for terrorists and the army.

Which is why the Modi govt. never had any serious engagement with him.

Modi is a good example too
coming abck to Nawaz . its really interesting that not just the politicians inside Pakistan but also India and Afghanistan and the west are willing to forgive or ignore the links Nawaz had with Osama Bin Laden and the revelation that OBL funded him in one of his political campaigns in the late 90s against Benazir Bhutto. its the time when OBL was declared an international terrorist.
Nawaz is a true survivor where the Americans and Saudis are willing to forgive his OBL links and also Indians only limit the LeT / Hafiz Saeed related accusations and complaints to Pakistan army although it is his seat of Punjab that accommodates the religious thugs

@Arsalan @fatman17

lol my piece escaped your view
Well Nawaz is too much of value, not something to be discarded on grounds of having relations with OBL. The west always choose to look the other way when it suites them. Frankly, i do not blame them for that. EVERYONE should be putting there own interests first. If we or OUR leadership fail to do that, we have no right to blame others for doing it for their interests.

I was away for 2 days so didn't read the OP. Will do so now and surely revert back. :)

NawazSharif380PointingFingers_Reuters.jpg

"Do you know, what is my biggest asset?"
"it is my ability to keep a flat face and not let anyone have a clue what I am thinking about.
friends or foes can never figure out what I am thinking and I always keep them guessing."

Nawaz Sherif is quoted as saying few years back to a close aide in a private gathering

Machiavellianism
the employment of cunning and duplicity in statecraft or in general conduct".

inside Pakistan he has Atheist cum liberals like Asma Jahangir, Najam Sethi in his pocket
together with those who promote religious extremism like Irfan Sadique. in Punjab he has the backing of Hafiz Saeed and Punjabi Taliban to provide muscle on the streets while in other parts of the country he has secular and ethnic parties like Pashton ANP and Mohajir movement leaders and Baloch nationalists. in Punjab he uses the Punjabi card and knows that the disproportionate population advantage from punjab gives him guarneeted win in a democracy he has molded to his advantage due to the rule over Punjab over several decades from the time of Zia.

outside the country on the east he presents himself a peace loving and well wishing civilian leader who likes business and hates war and he would say things which the Indian crowd and opinion makers love to hear i.e. hating the Pakistan army and ISI. he will never mention Kashmir and if it will be mentioned then it will be in context of Kargil and how Pak army back stabbed India. to much Indian applause and pleasure he will even question the wisdom of partition when there is so much in common. if ever anyone will bring up Hafis Saeed or Jamat ut Dawa then he will throw out Kargil and ISI to bring back the guns on Paksitan army.

and he will do the same on the western side talking to Afghan racist regime of Northern Alliance warlords and drug barons.

he will tell outside world that he is confronted by Pakistan army which doesn't like peace with its neighbors and his efforts are sabotaged by Pakistan army to explain violence in Afghanistan or armed conflict in Kashmir. he will claim that he has been ousted before and now because he wanted peace.

he pocketed money from Saudis over cancelling Gas deal with Iran and promised them to send Pakistani troops to fight their proxy wars in Yemen or even Syria and kept quiet when Saudis showed their shock and disbelief when Pakistan army didn't comply.

Inside Pakistan while in Punjab he will claim that he is punished for building motorways and CPEC and conducting the nuclear explosions. while in Baluchistan to appease the separatist leaders he will blame Pakistan army and claim to care for them.

it takes some special talent to have atheists, nationalists, xenophobes , religious fanatics and liberals all together under his thumb and he knows that these influential people or entities have one thing in common and that is their common hatred for Pakistan army as an entity. and he views Pakistan army as a final and permanent hurdle in establishing the House of Sherifs as the rightful rulers of Pakistan on the Middle eastern apartheid model.
his house is ruthless in its dealing with the rest of people of Punjab, eliminating the political and non political (business) adversaries through intimidation, legal actions. the civil administration bows to the will of house of sherifs and no one dares to challenge the house even if his caravan runs over a child and drives on or kills 14 people in broad day light in Lahore without any legal repercussions.

he has openly vowed to change the law and constitution to his liking and change all clauses that can make him accountable. he is sure to win the next elections because the democracy is molded to his will through money and intimidation.

outside Pakistan he is seen as a legit leader of Pakistan who is a physical manifestation of goodness , peace and love who must be helped in all possible manners and his financial misconduct should be overlooked for he is only true rival to Pakistan army.

his biggest win is with the Indians, he is willing business partner with Indians, shares the hatred and misgivings towards Pakistani military and has successfully used the same formula in his limited correspondence with Afghan regime.
given some recent and near recent events since I wrote this article I cant help but bring back this debate

sadly last time the few participants that did take part mistook it as a moral judgement on Nawaz or on their personal like/ dislike towards him.

so I was referring to 3 events that have forced me to bring back the debate and reinforce my belief that Nawaz is a successful manipulator and a Machiavelli of this region.

attempted amendment in National assembly pertaining to question of Prophethood
to appease the west
also to appease the west stating that we need to put our house in order (target only anti India/ anti America elements)

but in total contrast to that , during NA4 by-elections enjoy support of JUI-f and Sipah Sahabah (a proscribed organisation that is engaged in the fight against state of Pakistan and its forces)

how can you be the top politician of the country and not be like him... it comes with the territory, he is no special... you can find similar leaders in India... even in UK...

given some recent and near recent events since I wrote this article I cant help but bring back this debate

sadly last time the few participants that did take part mistook it as a moral judgement on Nawaz or on their personal like/ dislike towards him.

so I was referring to 3 events that have forced me to bring back the debate and reinforce my belief that Nawaz is a successful manipulator and a Machiavelli of this region.

attempted amendment in National assembly pertaining to question of Prophethood
to appease the west
also to appease the west stating that we need to put our house in order (target only anti India/ anti America elements)

but in total contrast to that , during NA4 by-elections enjoy support of JUI-f and Sipah Sahabah (a proscribed organisation that is engaged in the fight against state of Pakistan and its forces)

Given recent developments, your arguments seem to have been superseded by his dismissal from office. And if he can be prevented from running in the next elections, he will be further marginalized.

Besides, he was created and removed by powers that be, so he is more of a puppet than a Machiavelli.

People with power in India have a different point of view. be it the business tycoons or Indian sarkar

reading through the comments I see that the discussion has taken an unintended turn I.

one person has taken a very broad concept of politicians . by that definition every sociable encounter is politics. and leaders of every state institution, business communities, religious groups and sports teams captions are politicians.
(and to some extent they are although in classical sense politicians are classes as individuals whose main purpose purpose of life is politics and everything else is secondary.

now one poster took a part of my sentence and thus suggesting that I was hating on politicians . I wont call it wrong because like what I wrote , it was just an opinion.

but just want to clarify that its not a moral commentary on Nawaz and its not about hating politics.
I am distinguishing Nawaz for his ability to use and befriend people who'se existence, ideology, life style and outlook is stark contract to each other and complete contradiction. their union is not for any shared purpose for the sake of the society it is their common hate for Pakistan military which the house of Sherifs sees as a hurdle for its end goal of total domination. again it is not about nobility of Pakistan military institution but arguing how much of a
Machiavelli Nawaz is, he is never challenged for his own contradictions by those he has befriended inside the country or outside. in India he will never mention conducting nuclear explosions or claiming CPEC as an achievement but will stick to directly or indirectly criticizing Pak military. he will never explain why Hafiz Saeed & other religious extremists enjoy free reign and direct patronage of his party.

inside Pakistan however he will appeal to patriots by highlighting nuclear tests and CPEC as his achievement and then lament over his dismissal and criticize the military and will claim that he cares for Kashmir struggle by pointing out at support he enjoys from elements that India routinely blames for terrorism inside India and Indian Kashmir.

in the rest of the world he is relying on opinion makers belonging to secular / liberal group to suggest that judiciary
decision was not based on merit but influenced by military and his financial misappropriations are never a reason he should be held accountable because he and his house owns the people of Pakistan.
he is a textbook politician.... nothing special about him.

Besides, he was created and removed by powers that be, so he is more of a puppet than a Machiavelli.
he broke free from the "boys" long time ago and there was a messy divorce after 99.
granted he has not been able to prevent his dismissal but he is still able to play both sides
he is able to use the religious muscle in punjab when it suits him during elections and when in front of international audience he says all the "right" things.

one of things he enjoys the most in his own party is infighting among his lieutenants he loves it when they throw insults at each other specially he uses his junior supporters to insult and bring down the heavyweights of the party who seem to be getting bigger than their size.

he broke free from the "boys" long time ago and there was a messy divorce after 99.
granted he has not been able to prevent his dismissal but he is still able to play both sides
he is able to use the religious muscle in punjab when it suits him during elections and when in front of international audience he says all the "right" things.

one of things he enjoys the most in his own party is infighting among his lieutenants he loves it when they throw insults at each other specially he uses his junior supporters to insult and bring down the heavyweights of the party who seem to be getting bigger than their size.

In other words, he is just a politician who is trying to work within the confines of a process that is defined by extra-political means. One can take your last paragraph and apply it to just about any political party in Pakistan these days (except the JUI perhaps).

Mr. Sharif is indeed a master-mind. How else one can explain his playing everyone to his benefit. Let us call it a dark genius or master manipulator.

However, one does feel if he truly is that astute then he should know it is time to sip juice in some tropical paradise and manage his enormous wealth in a family trust. He should call it a day.

Anything else will only bring him and his clan in deep troubles. Pak appears to be changing for good. All has to do with the self-consciousness that is emerging in your country.

But then The Prince... always makes a mistake or two in the end. So let us see how it plays out for your country.

I say it's time for some Planned/State Governed Freemarket.

In the political ethos of Pak, in the current make up, there is no vision, no gameplan... only this vulgar abuse of parliment or useless sound bites.

I appologise...but the fact remains your good country is no democracy... not yet anyhow. Will take a generation or so to get there.

How is the corruption investigation going for Mr. Sharif and his band?

Mangus