India's Tech Revolution - Aadhar (Forbes)

You freaking serious? The Aadhar? It was conceived as a random number costing billions with no cards, then they found the flaw, it now has cards. Hell try comparing it to Chinese second gen IDs, did it on time, secured with a card, complete with service platforms and not a scam. No hooha and SUPAPOWA attention seeking bhai.
Eagerly waiting for these types of comments...
Please go on and ask your cheer- Leeds to do the same

Here you go, I give you lollipop to enjoy longtime:

View attachment 535798

Now take your childish antics to other threads little one.
Awww, now a lollipop is enough to defend Aadhar? I remember debating with people in BR about this scheme. It's not that having digital IDs is bad, but overhyping it and over paying it to the tune of billions while employing foreign technology is dumb. The same thing with demonetization, nothing wrong with changing higher denomination bills to reduce black money, or enforcing anti laundering rules, the point is you don't have to fck it up with millions of job losses and a few dozen deaths. It's plain incompetency.

From what I understand, there has been a genuine push for infrastructure in rural India and lot has been done. But incomes haven't increased and the flawed demonetization policy has wiped out a lot of goodwill.
Yeah this is the case, there was article on this as well recently in newspaper. While new services have reached rural areas, the income of people especially farmers haven't increased, so they just see things like electrification and cooking gas as more expenditure.
I sincerely hope UPA doesnt take votes because of that, but people dont see the bigger picture.

A robust ground work and infrastructure is put in place as what I had written in my article. As modi said, 90000 crore (about 13 Bn USD) of theft is stooped because of this systems. Ghost Ration cards and LPG connections have disappeared. Now if you have defaulted payment anywhere, it shall be displayed in system at all places to credit card , banks, loan givers etc. First time, poor people have some some surplus money beyond there need and this should result into huge surge in demand. Few years back , there was a stage when Indian masses started growing rich and that resulted in demand of high end food resulting in high inflation but country's farmers and industries promptly cope up with it and supply fruits, vegetables and food grains in abundance. Overall, India's progress is robust. Medical felicities are touching sky. Medicines are available at a cost lesser than a toffee. Electricity rates are not rising. over 100 million people are given loan for their small businesses. Lots of good work is done.

Yeah this is the case, there was article on this as well recently in newspaper. While new services have reached rural areas, the income of people especially farmers haven't increased, so they just see things like electrification and cooking gas as more expenditure.
I sincerely hope UPA doesnt take votes because of that, but people dont see the bigger picture.
My grouse with him has been his aversion to face the press and silence on gau raksha and other Hindutva nonsense.

What's your take? My take is NDA with Amit Shah booted out and Modi cut to size.
I dont think this will happen. he will get one more term but not by the thumping majority he got in 2014. This term we will actually have an opposition.
It has been somewhat disappointing term. He did a lot of things but so much more could be done as there was no opposition. But this isnt the reason to vote him out.
If u change a teacher because only 30% of students pass and new teacher promises a result of 80% but delivers 70, u dont go on to restore previous teacher to the position.

I dont think this will happen. he will get one more term but not by the thumping majority he got in 2014. This term we will actually have an opposition.
It has been somewhat disappointing term. He did a lot of things but so much more could be done as there was no opposition. But this isnt the reason to vote him out.
If u change a teacher because only 30% of students pass and new teacher promises a result of 80% but delivers 70, u dont go on to restore previous teacher to the position.
Yea. That's what I am saying - he will come back but Shah will be replaced as BJP chief. And Modi will have to following coalition dharma.

Thank you for posting this excellent analysis and tagging me @Nilgiri

Unfortunately, am rather lazy in terms of writing on Economy as I need to undertake a slight effort on presenting an executive summary. However, I shall, I think, make an attempt at putting out what I know as I find a prevalence of a pervasive outlook, aimed at undermining the achievements of the GoI in the past couple of years, which have, in my very personal opinion, potential to leave the same impact that perhaps, ex-PM Narasimha Rao Government had left back in the 90s.

Let me start by sharing something that shall exhibit what most will tend to dismiss out of being unaware - an undercurrent of a demanding voter.

LPG, toilet, house: BJP built solid rural assets but income didn’t rise

“Incomes” not rising, due to low crop prices and stagnating wages, has more than offset any “asset” gains in the recent period, which also probably explains the party’s heavy losses in the three states it ruled, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh.

Written by Harish Damodaran | New Delhi | Updated: December 12, 2018 7:14:33 am

View attachment 535583
The Modi government’s record in creation of assets and provision of amenities in rural areas is quite impressive.

The big rural economy takeaway for the BJP from the just-concluded assembly elections is that mere asset creation — building roads, houses and toilets or providing access to electricity, LPG and broadband connectivity — isn’t enough.

For rural voters, incomes count as much, if not more.

“Incomes” not rising, due to low crop prices and stagnating wages, has more than offset any “asset” gains in the recent period, which also probably explains the party’s heavy losses in the three states it ruled, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh.

The Modi government’s record in creation of assets and provision of amenities in rural areas is quite impressive. Consider the following:

* The total number of rural houses constructed since 2015-16 under Central schemes, including the Pradhan Mantri Awaas Yojana-Gramin, is 3.3 times that during the preceding four financial years. The last three fiscals alone (the current one still has 3.5 months left) have seen over 1 crore houses being built, with more than 27% of them in MP (15.43 lakh), Chhattisgarh (5.99 lakh) and Rajasthan (5.96 lakh).

* The pace of rural road construction has significantly increased during this government’s tenure (see table). Currently, only 10.89% of habitations in MP having minimum 250 population are without pucca all-weather roads, whereas this ratio was 60.14% in April 2000. The proportion of such unconnected habitations has similarly fallen from 50.04% to 8.54% in Rajasthan and from 60.52% to 3.98% for Chhattisgarh.

View attachment 535584

* The number of active domestic LPG connections has, thanks to the Pradhan Mantri Ujjwala Yojana, gone up from 15.33 crore in June 2015 to 24.72 crore in October 2018, with overall household penetration levels, too, rising from 57.86% to 88.51%.

The states that have recorded substantially improved penetration during this period again include MP (from 39.12% to 73.49%), Chhattisgarh (27.63% to 71.23%) and Rajasthan (58.21% to 94.80%).

* Of the country’s 21.69 crore rural households, 20.87 crore (96.24%) are now electrified. Under the Modi government’s Saubhagya scheme, launched on September 25, 2017, the number of un-electrified households has reduced from around 4 crore to just 81.53 lakh. MP and Chhattisgarh have already achieved 100% and 99.21% electrification, respectively, while it is 95.59% for Rajasthan.

* More than 8.98 crore household toilets have been built in rural India since October 2, 2014 under the Swachh Bharat Mission-Gramin. Household toilet penetration is now 100% in MP, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, whereas the corresponding ratios for the three states before the programme began were 27.53%, 29.74% and 40.26%.

* The BharatNet project has so far enabled laying of optic fibre cable lines in 121,859 out of India’s 2.5 lakh Gram Panchayats (GP). In 116,492 GPs, actual broadband connectivity through installation of equipment has taken place.

* 33.38 crore bank accounts, with 19.75 crore of it in rural areas, have been opened under the Pradhan Mantri Jan-Dhan Yojana.

However, all this asset creation work has not had the desired political impact – for the simple fact that the crisis in rural India today is primarily one of incomes.

One indicator is crop prices.

Since 2014-15, the average annual increase in the wholesale price index has been only 2.75% for “food articles” and 0.76% for “non-food” agricultural articles. As against this, the same during the preceding five-year period of the UPA government amounted to 12.26% and 11.04%, respectively, while higher than the average annual general wholesale inflation of 6.89%.

In other words, along with lower income growth, farmers have also experienced deterioration in terms of trade.

But it isn’t farmers alone.

The table shows a marked decline in rural wage growth for agricultural and non-agricultural occupations after 2014-15, with the average yearly increase working out to about 5.2% in nominal terms. That is slightly above the corresponding rise of 4.9% in the rural consumer price index, pointing to a virtual stagnation in real rural wages. The reason here has partly to do with low crop prices, reducing the demand for farm labour. Moreover, a sluggish economy has led to a drying up of job opportunities for rural migrant workers, especially in sectors such as construction, real estate and manufacturing.

This is in contrast to the UPA period, which witnessed double-digit rural wage growth on the back of a booming farm as well as non-farm economy.

With incomes under stress – particularly in the post-demonetisation period, when crop prices have been more prone to falling than rising – it is not surprising that investing in public and household assets alone has not helped the ruling party’s electoral cause. It is one thing to provide free electricity or LPG connection to poor rural families. But without jobs and incomes, paying for power or refilling of the cylinder becomes that much more difficult.

source: https://indianexpress.com/article/e...d-rural-assets-but-income-didnt-rise-5489311/
Always pleasure to read and BJP seems to be coming back from La-la land to reality. Only problem for me is if it's temporary election time juice or self realization by Gemba.

Farmers need better exposure to more markets. They are still stuck in the license raj period with not much choices for selling their produce (even taking into account the current logistical situation...i.e lack of cold storage + processing intensity). I don't get why Indian consumers should have "first dibs" on what Indian producers make in any sector incl farming....leading to skewed prices and actually dissuading productivity in some sense (since the more you produce, the less you can sell it for given your consumer base is forcibly limited and thus are not increasing all that much). This makes the rural wages all the more sensitive to how labour intensive jobs are going on in urban areas (for migration to those)...given the less going on there, the more people have to stay and compete for income in rural areas (again depressing wages)....and of course the lingering NPA problems are causing problems with credit to those labour intensive sectors....so it goes on (timeframe for its eventual sustained resolution through IBC+reforms has proven longer than political tenures).

But its always catch 22 given you simply have to invest in capital assets for longer term improvement...you can't have only income assistance programs like NREGA obv. Govt inherited quite a mess and they have done an OK job overall (maybe got a few sequences and priorities wrong in hindsight)....let us see how the welfare assistance (esp given DBT now has stopped leakage/waste) serves to remedy/balance it somewhat this soon to be presented budget....and if its enough to get the votes they need in the federal election.

Entire agriculture sector need rejuvenation and they need to adopt Pull system rather than Push system. It is my dream to go back to my root after 10 years and imply "Lean manufacturing"and "Six Sigma" concept on my beloved agriculture sector.

Aadhar is revolution and so is JIO 4G and they need to dance together. As for elections well you guys watch too much TV and certain bias push towards your mind without you even knowing it.

Congress and opposition used all their cards too early and i am awaiting for BJP's and they have put their house in order in Bihar and now Maharashtra(I tried to meet doc there but he was sailing with vikings) and yesterday they sowed the seeds for UP. This weekend gonna be juicy i will say that.

Yea. That's what I am saying - he will come back but Shah will be replaced as BJP chief. And Modi will have to following coalition dharma.
BJP bended in Maharashtra and Bihar so next NDA will be different obviously.

From what I understand, there has been a genuine push for infrastructure in rural India and lot has been done. But incomes haven't increased and the flawed demonetization policy has wiped out a lot of goodwill.

I travel a lot... like 200+ Kms everyday... meet several people... and I can tell you that we are very greedy... we know all our CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS but don't give a damn to CONSTITUTIONAL DUTIES...

We all know how demonetization was UTILISED by bankers to earn 15/20% cuts...

I can tell you that there is no goodwill loss for Modi due to demonetization... There was a nightmare in initial months but people have no grudges against MODI...

As you cannot show bad of Modi to a hard-core BJP man... you cannot show good of Modi to the hard-core cadre of other parties...

Well the verdict will come just bit later in this year. Let's see.

My estimate is that number will dip but not drastically... plus, 2 recent announcement had changed the entire scenario:

1. 10% reservation on economic basis...
2. Request in SC to allow allocation of undisputed land in AYODHYA to their owners...

And more will come in upcoming days by keeping electoral politics in mind...

Exactly...
Plus don't UNDERESTIMATE the effect of dissent... who were ticket hopefuls... In UP, there are at Least 2 people on each seat who were preparing for LS elections since 2014... 1 from SP and 1 from BSP... Will they act in tandem without pulling each other down?

My estimate is that number will dip but not drastically... plus, 2 recent announcement had changed the entire scenario:

1. 10% reservation on economic basis...
2. Request in SC to allow allocation of undisputed land in AYODHYA to their owners...

And more will come in upcoming days by keeping electoral politics in mind...
More to come and for Middle class and upper class. A big one for farmer too.

Eagerly waiting for these types of comments...
Please go on and ask your cheer- Leeds to do the same

You should understand his problem. He can not do that against his own government howsoever persecution he undergoes in his his own country. He is doing it here to express his right to expression. let the poor guy do that here. In china, he is compelled to see Xi propaganda film.

Entire agriculture sector need rejuvenation and they need to adopt Pull system rather than Push system. It is my dream to go back to my root after 10 years and imply "Lean manufacturing"and "Six Sigma" concept on my beloved agriculture sector.

I strongly believe that agriculture do not need anything except the proper education to farmers. Just explore Zero budget farming and you will get mesmerized with its benefits. I am not a farmer but I myself is interested in farming a lot. I am now in a process of buying some agriculture land.

What's your take? My take is NDA with Amit Shah booted out and Modi cut to size.

Something like that ,the mandate will be less and coalition will be needed. As for Amit Shah, it depends on the results this election.

Awww, now a lollipop is enough to defend Aadhar? I remember debating with people in BR about this scheme. It's not that having digital IDs is bad, but overhyping it and over paying it to the tune of billions while employing foreign technology is dumb. The same thing with demonetization, nothing wrong with changing higher denomination bills to reduce black money, or enforcing anti laundering rules, the point is you don't have to fck it up with millions of job losses and a few dozen deaths. It's plain incompetency.

Wow you finished that lollipop quick! What a spoiled brat lol.

(I tried to meet doc there but he was sailing with vikings)

Yeah he dropped by (while in that sojourn) and said hi on @Mage profile and got banned just few hours later lol.

Something like that ,the mandate will be less and coalition will be needed. As for Amit Shah, it depends on the results this election.

Yeah he dropped by (while in that sojourn) and said hi on @Mage profile and got banned just few hours later lol.
Nilgiri, living in denial is an Indian trait. Now they use a lollipop as shield. :rofl::rofl::rofl:

I strongly believe that agriculture do not need anything except the proper education to farmers. Just explore Zero budget farming and you will get mesmerized with its benefits. I am not a farmer but I myself is interested in farming a lot. I am now in a process of buying some agriculture land.
Yeah when i said those concepts it obviously come into education and new methods.

He did reach Delhi but i was in Sena bastion that time and when his "Ghar Vapsi" came i was doing the same.