Indian Political Corner | All Updates & Discussions.

BJP does do a lot of what we call "populist" schemes. But that is no different from any other political party. BJP does not have a hegemony on this, despite what you may think.

All political parties in India know that the poor can never be a reliable vote base, therefore they have to engage in such schemes. I welcome such efforts to alleviate the poverty of the poor.

Well be what BJP's "populist" schemes may be - these are nothing but eyewash. I hate to drag in Bangladesh in for comparisons, but this may be an apt case.

Modi's Shwacch Abhijan was an eyewash - Indian open defecation rate still stands at around 50% despite BJP IT cell smoke and mirrors and data fudging by Indian planning commission folks, while Bangladesh' rate is near ZERO.

Granted we have strong NGO's but still, these are the same basic uneducated people in India and Bangladesh we are targeting. What is the difference?

I believe the only difference is the grassroots dynamism and sincerity by NGO's we have in Bangladesh which has no political gain as a goal, whereas for BJP it is ENTIRELY driven by politics, hence insincere. People in India (even the poor) are smart enough to know this.

The fact that India STILL does not have the likes of a GRAMEEN BANK or BRAC (both of which are global organizations now) or even something as simple as micro-finance, despite Grameen's own efforts - speaks volumes about the sincerity of people (or lack of it for India, rather) in solving social ills which relate to HDI. These are tangible things, a dirt-poor single woman raising and educating two kids with her own income by raising poultry, cows, goats by sitting in her own village, instead of going to cities and causing further issues there. These are REAL solutions to REAL problems.

Same for womens' participation in labor, which has resolved population issues as a concomitant side effect in Bangladesh. Fertility rate in Bangladesh is now below that of India at 2.1 child per woman - or replacement rate. Soon - Bangladesh will have a population contraction, or negative growth.

Where is the BJP equivalent for these movements in India?

India lifting its middle class through the backoffice outsourcing and exports have not translated to anything for its poor. I don't think folks in the BJP really care. Again - poor people in India are smart enough to know this. They can feel it and see it. Just a bunch of cheap talk.

And no one is buying that BJP will ever back pedal on CAA/NRC or its anti-Muslim rhetoric. So Muslims will never be BJP's ally.

Modi's Shwacch Abhijan was an eyewash - Indian open defecation rate still stands at around 50% despite BJP IT cell smoke and mirrors and data fudging by Indian planning commission

Give proof or STFU

. I don't think folks in the BJP really care. Again - poor people in India are smart enough to know this. They can feel it and see it. Just a bunch of cheap talk.
That is why they voted BJP with even larger numbers. There is a saying in Hindi "Angoor Khatte Hain"

And no one is buying that BJP will ever back pedal on CAA/NRC or its anti-Muslim rhetoric. So Muslims will never be BJP's ally.
Only this part of your whole rant against BJP is true.

Well be what BJP's "populist" schemes may be - these are nothing but eyewash. I hate to drag in Bangladesh in for comparisons, but this may be an apt case.

Modi's Shwacch Abhijan was an eyewash - Indian open defecation rate still stands at around 50% despite BJP IT cell smoke and mirrors and data fudging by Indian planning commission folks, while Bangladesh' rate is near ZERO.

Granted we have strong NGO's but still, these are the same basic uneducated people in India and Bangladesh we are targeting. What is the difference?

I believe the only difference is the grassroots dynamism and sincerity by NGO's we have in Bangladesh which has no political gain as a goal, whereas for BJP it is ENTIRELY driven by politics, hence insincere. People in India (even the poor) are smart enough to know this.

The fact that India STILL does not have the likes of a GRAMEEN BANK or BRAC (both of which are global organizations now) or even something as simple as micro-finance, despite Grameen's own efforts - speaks volumes about the sincerity of people (or lack of it for India, rather) in solving social ills which relate to HDI. These are tangible things, a dirt-poor single woman raising and educating two kids with her own income by raising poultry, cows, goats by sitting in her own village, instead of going to cities and causing further issues there. These are REAL solutions to REAL problems.

Same for womens' participation in labor, which has resolved population issues as a concomitant side effect in Bangladesh. Fertility rate in Bangladesh is now below that of India at 2.1 child per woman - or replacement rate. Soon - Bangladesh will have a population contraction, or negative growth.

India lifting its middle class through the backoffice outsourcing and exports have not translated to anything for its poor. I don't think folks in the BJP really care. Again - poor people in India are smart enough to know this. They can feel it and see it. Just a bunch of cheap talk.

india wishes you the best .

Only this part of your whole rant against BJP is true.
muslims vote for every party some vote for BJP too, majority votes for non BJP.

Is it really Rahul Gandhi who’s ruining Congress?

Part One of two-part Blog.

It’s often said that BJP’s single biggest campaign success in 2014 and 2019 was creating a ‘Pappu’ out of Rahul Gandhi. This effectively rendered Congress campaign ineffective and converted both elections into a one-horse race. Hilarious memes are created every other day to mock Congress and Rahul, further denting his image. At times BJP spokespersons themselves have called him BJP’s ‘Star Campaigner’. Also, it is no secret that he is no match to the towering personality of Narendra Modi. But to say that it’s because of Rahul Gandhi, BJP is winning elections is nonsense.

True, that Congress hit its rock bottom with Rahul at the helm. But Congress’ worst performance has hardly to do anything with Rahul as such. Actually, when Congress performed at it’s worst, Rahul was there. The more accurate analysis would be, that he was not able to pull the party up singlehandedly like Narendra Modi or his Grandmother, Indira Gandhi. But that’s downright unfair. When it comes to winning elections there’s no one quite like these two. For the disastrous performance in 2014, if anyone has to be blamed it’s Sonia Gandhi and Manmohan Singh.

These two ran one of the worst administrations between 2009 to 2014. UPA II, as it was known, was a complete disaster on both, Economic and Cultural fronts. For these 5 years, the average inflation was a disastrous 10.4 %. In simple terms, it means, something which was costing Rs 100 in 2009 was at more than Rs 165 in 2014. Whereas the average GDP growth during this period was 6.70%. So, the revered Economist Prime Minister, Manmohan Singh actually reduced the incomes of the crores of people by more than 15% in just five years. No wonder the poor voted Congress out in 2014.

On the cultural side, Sonia did everything to infuriate Hindus. Amongst, culturally awake Hindus, Congress was not popular anyway. The Urban Middle-Class vote which it lost after Ram Janma Bhoomi, never came back. Notwithstanding this unpopularity, Digvijay Singh launched a book by Aziz Burney named ’26/11 RSS ki Saajish’ in 2010. Then again, same year P Chidambaram, the home minister urged people to be aware of Saffron Terror. The same term was used by Sushil Kumar Shinde again in 2013 when he was the home minister. Congress literally went overboard chasing the Muslim vote.

Add ‘Sonia cried looking after Batla House Encounter’ story to this and you realize, Congress not only went overboard chasing Muslim votes, but it was insulting Hindus. How can Congress President shed tears for Islamic Terrorists, who are regarded as enemies of the nation by the majority community? Congress had taken the Hindu and Nationalists (Difference between two) votes for granted. In 2011 Sonia tried to bring Communal Violence Bill, which was completely loaded against Hindus. This one step was nastier and damaging than all these chronicled above. The bill generated such outrage that Congress shelved it without bringing it to parliament. But this revealed its true colors and feelings towards Hindus. It also provided a big opening to BJP to brand Congress as an anti-Hindu party.

One can ask, what’s so new about this? Congress did it earlier (Shahbano, Kashmiri Pandit exodus for example) and still managed to rule for many decades after. To me, along with these failures of Sonia and Manmohan Singh, there was another factor in 2014. And that was Narendra Modi. BJP, riding on his image as an able administrator and clear & clever messaging simply demolished Congress. And brought it down to 44 seats in Loksabha. There was another factor, a subfactor actually. The corruption charges against Manmohan Singh, P Chidambaram and Shiela Dixit. I don’t think Indian voters mind corruption but, when combined with high inflation it was a potent mix. At the cost of repetition, along with all these, the message which Modi-Shah’s BJP delivered, snuffed life out of Congress campaign.

So, in a way, outside that narrow Lutyens’ lane and Liberal Lounges, 2014 was done and dusted even before the ECI plugged the first EVM. Now the question is why Rahul Gandhi failed again in 2019? Frankly, he had no chance. For BJP, if 2014 was about exposing Congress and effective messaging, 2019 was the consolidation of old vote-bank and adding new voters through some solid economic benefits to the poor. Plus Congress didn’t seem to be rethinking on Muslim appeasement and hence gave no reason to Hindus to desert BJP. If Congress lost badly, it’s not because of Rahul, but because it’s caught in a bind on how to handle Culturally Awake Hindus without disturbing Muslim vote-bank. And as we enter the seventh year of the Modi-Shah era, they don’t have any answers to this challenge. Expecting Rahul to come up with one, is an injustice to him.

By now if you are thinking I like Rahul Gandhi, can’t blame you. For the record, he is downright unfit to lead the party. But so was Rajiv Gandhi. Yet he was not mocked the way Rahul is. That’s because he came in when Indira Gandhi was assassinated and the country was going through a trauma. But eventually, he too was exposed when he wasted the massive 414 seat mandate and was destabilized by a wily UP politician named Vishwanath Pratap Singh. So, you never know what would have been the result had Rajiv faced BJP of 2014. My point is, Rahul is not too different from his father. He is facing different conditions and Congress ideology has run its course.

Now the question remains why BJP spokespersons and even journalists who oppose BJP seem to agree on this one thing? That Rahul is a Pappu. And yet the same Congress, which was so trusting these journalists only a decade back is not ready to replace Rahul?

As declared at the top that this is the first of the two-part blog. Will try and answer these vexed questions in second part.

https://myvoice.opindia.com/2020/06/is-it-really-rahul-gandhi-whos-ruining-congress/

Give proof or STFU

Low class third rate comment from a low class Sanghi with comprehension issue. Lazy, shallow, cheap (texting one liners from a cheap phone probably) incapable of forming coherent thought or translate them into viable arguments. Just eff off. The problem with India is it is filled with uneducated Sanghis like you - lowest life form on the planet. :lol:

Don't ever tag me and waste my time you freak.

Low class third rate comment from a low class Sanghi with comprehension issue. Lazy, shallow, cheap (texting one liners from a cheap phone probably) incapable of forming coherent thought or translate them into viable arguments. Just eff off. The problem with India is it is filled with uneducated Sanghis like you - lowest life form on the planet. :lol:

Don't ever tag me and waste my time you freak.
You don't have proof of your assertion so you are crying.

Don't worry by next year there will be a sanghi CM sitting in writer's building

BJP will always go to the grassroots. Before loksabha election at the village level list of people who benefitted from any central government schemes was prepared and they were used as on-the-ground mouthpieces of the party. A Modi or Amit Shah may address a rally for thousands of people but many people may not be able to hear it. A Janakibai would go door to door and tell her neighbours that she got an LPG cylinder under the Ujwalla Yojana.

People like @xeuss, @ChennaiDude or @The_Showstopper would call her a Sanghi and lament the death of secularism when BJP wins the election. They fail to understand that BJP doesn't win only on basis of anti-muslim rhetoric, the Janakibais and Hansmukhlals who benefitted from various schemes prove to be a very crucial extra plus. They easily add 20% additional vote which tips the balance.

And it is not just that these people benefitted from the schemes. The BJP kaaryakarta goes to the village to make sure that they know who gave them the benefits. The Karyakarta knows that his hard work will be rewarded. Modi was a grassroot level worker whose organization skills were recognized by the Party and he was asked to helm Gujarat after the 2001 earthquake. He transformed Bhuj from a sleepy desert town to a bustling metropolis. He transformed Kutch from a desert to a tourist destination with the Rann Utsav and now lakhs of people come there every year to breathe the "Khushboo Gujarat Ki" (Amitabh Bachchan) He brought the Narmada waters to the farthest villages of Gujarat all the while busybodies like that Medha Patkar tried to stop the development.
An Amit Shah started his career putting posters for the BJP and now he is the 2nd most powerful man in the government.

The TV and flags you see in the picture would have been put by a nameless (to us) Karyakarta but he would be known in the village and after Amit Shah's speech he would have explained everything the government is doing. The people in the photo may not have understood Hindi, so he would have translated the words to Bengali.

@Bilal9 would laugh at just 3 people but it is not just 3. In thousands of villages across Bengal this would have been repeated. A congress, TMC or CPI(M) is not doing any of this. And the best part, elections are more than an year away but BJP is already campaigning. Amit Shah has set his eyes on Kolkata and he would do whatever it takes to install his government in Writer's Building.

@jamahir you know one more funny thing, the person who installed that TV and flag may even be an ex CPI(M) guy
Bustling metropolis? Bhuj?

I have been there before and after 2001- the difference is stark. I am not comparing it to an Ahmedabad or Vadodara

If you can read Hindi

https://www.google.com/amp/s/m.jagr...special-on-bhuj-city-of-gujarat-17340592.html

There are theses and deaertations on the transformation of the city

https://ecommons.cornell.edu/handle/1813/31136?show=full

https://www.researchgate.net/public..._in_Bhuj_Who_stayed_who_left_and_who_moved_in

BTW do reply to the other points that I have made

BJP will always go to the grassroots. Before loksabha election at the village level list of people who benefitted from any central government schemes was prepared and they were used as on-the-ground mouthpieces of the party. A Modi or Amit Shah may address a rally for thousands of people but many people may not be able to hear it. A Janakibai would go door to door and tell her neighbours that she got an LPG cylinder under the Ujwalla Yojana.

People like @xeuss, @ChennaiDude or @The_Showstopper would call her a Sanghi and lament the death of secularism when BJP wins the election. They fail to understand that BJP doesn't win only on basis of anti-muslim rhetoric, the Janakibais and Hansmukhlals who benefitted from various schemes prove to be a very crucial extra plus. They easily add 20% additional vote which tips the balance.

And it is not just that these people benefitted from the schemes. The BJP kaaryakarta goes to the village to make sure that they know who gave them the benefits. The Karyakarta knows that his hard work will be rewarded. Modi was a grassroot level worker whose organization skills were recognized by the Party and he was asked to helm Gujarat after the 2001 earthquake. He transformed Bhuj from a sleepy desert town to a bustling metropolis. He transformed Kutch from a desert to a tourist destination with the Rann Utsav and now lakhs of people come there every year to breathe the "Khushboo Gujarat Ki" (Amitabh Bachchan) He brought the Narmada waters to the farthest villages of Gujarat all the while busybodies like that Medha Patkar tried to stop the development.
An Amit Shah started his career putting posters for the BJP and now he is the 2nd most powerful man in the government.

The TV and flags you see in the picture would have been put by a nameless (to us) Karyakarta but he would be known in the village and after Amit Shah's speech he would have explained everything the government is doing. The people in the photo may not have understood Hindi, so he would have translated the words to Bengali.

@Bilal9 would laugh at just 3 people but it is not just 3. In thousands of villages across Bengal this would have been repeated. A congress, TMC or CPI(M) is not doing any of this. And the best part, elections are more than an year away but BJP is already campaigning. Amit Shah has set his eyes on Kolkata and he would do whatever it takes to install his government in Writer's Building.

@jamahir you know one more funny thing, the person who installed that TV and flag may even be an ex CPI(M) guy

Firstly, all of India has transformed from 2001. This is not a phenomena restricted to Bhuj. To call it a metropolis is ridiculous.

Most tourists to Gujarat are from within the state - https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...rom-within-the-state/articleshow/69909253.cms

Most Indians don't bother going to Gujarat except for religious tourism because it is a dry state. With barely any meat and no booze, it is a pipe dream to attract foreign tourists. I would think Rajasthan, Goa or Kerala get more foreign tourists in a week than Gujarat gets in a year.

It has some industry. But Gujjus have always been enterprising.

Where is the Bombay Ahmedabad bullet train?
Gujarat was actually the last place in the world to have the bloody bubonic plague for crying out loud - sometime in the mid 90s.

You know the Total Direct Tax to India contributed by Gujarat? 4.6%
Maharashtra - 38%
Delhi - 13.7%
Karnataka - 10%

Firstly, all of India has transformed from 2001. This is not a phenomena restricted to Bhuj. To call it a metropolis is ridiculous.

Most tourists to Gujarat are from within the state - https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...rom-within-the-state/articleshow/69909253.cms

Most Indians don't bother going to Gujarat except for religious tourism because it is a dry state. With barely any meat and no booze, it is a pipe dream to attract foreign tourists. I would think Rajasthan, Goa or Kerala get more foreign tourists in a week than Gujarat gets in a year.

It has some industry. But Gujjus have always been enterprising.

Where is the Bombay Ahmedabad bullet train?
Gujarat was actually the last place in the world to have the bloody bubonic plague for crying out loud - sometime in the mid 90s.

You know the Total Direct Tax to India contributed by Gujarat? 4.6%
Maharashtra - 38%
Delhi - 13.7%
Karnataka - 10%
Wow so much hate for Gujarat just because Modi and Amit Shah are leading the country

About the bullet train

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe laid the foundation stone for the project in Ahmedabad on 14 September 2017.[38] All geo-technical surveys and tests under the sea bed for the underground section were completed by December 2017. Civil construction of the corridor was expected to begin by June 2018,[39] and the project was scheduled to be completed in 2023. The deadline was advanced to have the bullet train go on its first run on 15 August 2022 on the occasion of India's 75th Independence day. However, surveys and land acquisition for the project faced delays and disruptions due to protests by farmers, land owners, and members of the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena party, which opposes the bullet train project.[40][41] The deadline to complete land acquisition was postponed from December 2018 to December 2019 as a result of the protests.[42] Railway Minister Piyush Goyal stated in July 2019 that the project was expected to be completed by December 2023.[43]

Regarding Tourism

https://www.thehindubusinessline.co...rs-than-statue-of-liberty/article30189605.ece

Wow so much hate for Gujarat just because Modi and Amit Shah are leading the country

Regarding Tourism

https://www.thehindubusinessline.co...rs-than-statue-of-liberty/article30189605.ece
1. I don't hate Modi or Shah. I just think they are inept.

2. Fact stands - what is Gujarat's contribution to the national exchequer - why is it 1/8th that if neighboring Maharashtra?

3. Tourists - how many of these tourists are from within Gujarat and how many tourists are from all across the country and world? Are there any 3/4/5 star hotels in the vicinity? Movie halls? Museums? Tourism needs an ecosystem - not a statue.

4. Bullet train - let's see. Would be nice to see it complete.

You don't have proof of your assertion so you are crying.

Don't worry by next year there will be a sanghi CM sitting in writer's building

Don't waste your time with that one. It apparently knows better than UNICEF, UNESCO, WHO etc. Feelings instead of facts....

Then when a NASA satellite shows a pretty stark picture of its land w.r.t India for all the bold claims made (due to hyper inflated paper economy), thats fake news...because again it doesn't conform to feelings.

India political discussion is only credible to begin with among Indians. best to not indulge that.

1. I don't hate Modi or Shah. I just think they are inept.

2. Fact stands - what is Gujarat's contribution to the national exchequer - why is it 1/8th that if neighboring Maharashtra?

3. Tourists - how many of these tourists are from within Gujarat and how many tourists are from all across the country and world? Are there any 3/4/5 star hotels in the vicinity? Movie halls? Museums? Tourism needs an ecosystem - not a statue.

4. Bullet train - let's see. Would be nice to see it complete.

@Soumitra??

Bhai, I agree with most of your argument. Where I disagree is about micro-finance because it will never bring most people out of poverty. Lending out small amounts for some immediate small need will not work. I don't know if Bangladeshi micro-finance corporations ( Grameen Bank ? ) charge interest but in India ever since NBFCs like SKS Microfinance began operations, more and more farmers have committed suicide because of debt bondage. To provide a staggering fact, just between 1995 ( two years prior to SKS's start ) and 2015 more than 300,000 farmers committed suicide.