Indian Political Corner | All Updates & Discussions.

This lady is directly responsible for tens of thousands of farmers deaths directly and lakhs of farmers being poor.
This lady stopped irrigation projects that affected 5 states and destroyed these states economy for decades.

The same people who cry about farmers are the same people who deny the same farmers water. i.e the Patkar types.
Worse, these people commit murder and then take umbrage under the burkha of secularism.

http://starofmysore.com/two-arrested-attempting-rape-mother-daughter/

Secularism in full swing in secular state of Karnataka.
Secular Siddu is more interested with Hindi than providing safety to Hindu woman.

27 year old Suhail & 25 year old Akmal from Secular Karnataka attempts to rape Hindu mom & daughter.
The perverts are in custody.

What the heck is BJP doing? They should make this communal and show the world the double standards of the secular vermin.
BJP should take the game to seculars at every point.

India is now going through Hindu terror. Beyond control. The braindead rightwing supporters who are behind Muslims questioning their patriotism while the country is destructing by own kartoot of RSS Swayamsevaks elected in key positions.

20728706_1561449043917980_2589125822919845166_o.jpg

India is now going through Hindu terror. Beyond control. The braindead rightwing supporters who are behind Muslims questioning their patriotism while the country is destructing by own kartoot of RSS Swayamsevaks elected in key positions.

20728706_1561449043917980_2589125822919845166_o.jpg

When 25000 Kids died in the same area under the secular rule, how come you lot were sleeping?
Why are u opposing closing of slaughter houses which are causing deaths of these children?

why secular, answer why?

Where is the opposition in India?
The BJP’s ideology is reasonably clear, in both its extreme and moderate forms. But the opposition lacks a coherent and consistent platform

My friends who are opposed to the Bharatiya Janata Party — and I have friends who support it too — often despair at the politics of the party ruling at the Centre and in various States. But sometimes I feel that they should despair more at the national opposition — and the parties in opposition to the BJP in many States.

Because the BJP, for better or for worse, is there. You can count its warts or confer a halo on it, but you cannot miss noticing it. But I wonder if we have any real opposition left in India — both at the national level and in many States.

This came through most recently in my home State, Bihar, where Chief Minister Nitish Kumar easily switched from his ‘grand alliance’ with Lalu Prasad to staying the Chief Minister with the support of the party (BJP) that he had rebuffed just three years ago. Now, I am not convinced that Mr. Kumar’s move was necessarily opportunistic — though things like his inability to induct more than one woman in a cabinet of 27, given his loud commitment to women’s emancipation, were definitely disappointing. Still, he had to choose between a family increasingly seen as tainted with nepotism and a party sadly dominated by those whose vision of the future seems to be based on virulent hatreds inherited from the past.

The disappearing opposition
So, that is not the main issue for me. It is this: that once Mr. Kumar made the switch, the opposition to the BJP was revealed as basically ineffective and non-existent. This seemed to follow the pattern at the Centre and in some other States. This is also far more worrying, because the BJP does exist as the ruling party today, but the opposition seems to exist less and less with each year.

There are various reasons for it. These include the inability of the Congress to abandon its ruling family, compounded by the fact that Rahul Gandhi, as decent a person as any in politics, nevertheless lacks the type of political charisma that is required to lead a party to victory in India today. This is partly because the times have changed: the taluk classes call the political shots in India, and they cannot easily trust a very metropolitan person like Mr. Gandhi. I know; I come from those taluk classes, and I have difficulty trusting Mr. Gandhi’s equivalents in the literary world! But even without the times changing, compare the political acumen and sheer rhetorical presence of Jawaharlal Nehru and Indira Gandhi with Rahul Gandhi’s performance, and you will spot a difference.

The communists have long been split between a highly intellectual urban circle, which can get across only to people with university degrees, and a very parochial rural movement, which addresses genuine problems (for instance, the exploitation of aborigines at the hands of all governments), but in the very process limits its appeal to small regions. Even if you are a communist, it is impossible to imagine the supposedly revolutionary activities of Maoist groups finding any purchase outside remote parts of the hinterland.

As for the rest, well, they seem to comprise parties led by powerful regional leaders, and often run by specific families. Sometimes the words come up — secularism, democracy, human rights, etc. — but they seldom seem to be anything other than rhetoric used by a certain group to obtain fleeting electoral support. In short, it is worrying: there is no substantial and coherent opposition left in India right now. Some people might argue that it exists at the grassroots. This is a deceptive argument: first, because it cannot be documented with numbers; and second, because in a working democracy any grassroots opposition needs to wear the face of at least some political party.

The great Indian tragedy
Some of my BJP friends — not in the lunatic fringe, thankfully, but belonging to the old ideological core — smirk at this. They exult in the fact that the Indian opposition is either in disarray or divided up by narrow domestic walls. This worries me (also because the lack of a real opposition seems to be a spreading global problem, undergirded by the corporate logic of neoliberal capitalism and its enmeshment with nationalism).

Any democracy needs a thriving and coherent opposition. The great tragedy of India does not seem to be the BJP, with which one can agree or disagree; the great tragedy of India is the lack of a real and issue-based opposition. The BJP’s ideology is reasonably clear, in both its extreme and moderate forms. But the opposition seems to lack a coherent and consistent platform. It largely fails to provide alternative views of government and it seldom responds cohesively to the BJP’s moves, leaving it to afflicted politicians to react singly.

Alas, it is not just a nation that needs an opposition. So do human beings, as Kabir knew:

“Neendak niyare raakhiye aangan kuti chhawaye;

Bin saabun paani bina nirmal karat subhaye.”

Roughly translated:

“Your critic keep beside you, his hut on your house should lean:

Without water or soap, he’ll keep your nature clean.”

Both BJP supporters and BJP opponents need to worry about this lack of a coherent opposition — for the sake of India, and perhaps also for the sake of human nature.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/where-is-the-opposition-in-india/article19436063.ece/amp/

Both BJP supporters and BJP opponents need to worry about this lack of a coherent opposition — for the sake of India, and perhaps also for the sake of human nature.

Sure, we want opposition.
but not the kind where China is on verge of attacking us and Rahul Gandhi is making some backroom deals with them.
We want opposition but not the one which in the name of secularism gives us draconian RTE act or the one that keeps Temples under govt control or the one that can't give justice to Kashmiri Hindus.

Message is clear. Shed the fake secularism & stop muslim appeasement and work hard for Hindu votes. We won't be taken for ride in the fake narrative of secularism anymore.

Where is the opposition in India?
The BJP’s ideology is reasonably clear, in both its extreme and moderate forms. But the opposition lacks a coherent and consistent platform

My friends who are opposed to the Bharatiya Janata Party — and I have friends who support it too — often despair at the politics of the party ruling at the Centre and in various States. But sometimes I feel that they should despair more at the national opposition — and the parties in opposition to the BJP in many States.

Because the BJP, for better or for worse, is there. You can count its warts or confer a halo on it, but you cannot miss noticing it. But I wonder if we have any real opposition left in India — both at the national level and in many States.

This came through most recently in my home State, Bihar, where Chief Minister Nitish Kumar easily switched from his ‘grand alliance’ with Lalu Prasad to staying the Chief Minister with the support of the party (BJP) that he had rebuffed just three years ago. Now, I am not convinced that Mr. Kumar’s move was necessarily opportunistic — though things like his inability to induct more than one woman in a cabinet of 27, given his loud commitment to women’s emancipation, were definitely disappointing. Still, he had to choose between a family increasingly seen as tainted with nepotism and a party sadly dominated by those whose vision of the future seems to be based on virulent hatreds inherited from the past.

The disappearing opposition
So, that is not the main issue for me. It is this: that once Mr. Kumar made the switch, the opposition to the BJP was revealed as basically ineffective and non-existent. This seemed to follow the pattern at the Centre and in some other States. This is also far more worrying, because the BJP does exist as the ruling party today, but the opposition seems to exist less and less with each year.

There are various reasons for it. These include the inability of the Congress to abandon its ruling family, compounded by the fact that Rahul Gandhi, as decent a person as any in politics, nevertheless lacks the type of political charisma that is required to lead a party to victory in India today. This is partly because the times have changed: the taluk classes call the political shots in India, and they cannot easily trust a very metropolitan person like Mr. Gandhi. I know; I come from those taluk classes, and I have difficulty trusting Mr. Gandhi’s equivalents in the literary world! But even without the times changing, compare the political acumen and sheer rhetorical presence of Jawaharlal Nehru and Indira Gandhi with Rahul Gandhi’s performance, and you will spot a difference.

The communists have long been split between a highly intellectual urban circle, which can get across only to people with university degrees, and a very parochial rural movement, which addresses genuine problems (for instance, the exploitation of aborigines at the hands of all governments), but in the very process limits its appeal to small regions. Even if you are a communist, it is impossible to imagine the supposedly revolutionary activities of Maoist groups finding any purchase outside remote parts of the hinterland.

As for the rest, well, they seem to comprise parties led by powerful regional leaders, and often run by specific families. Sometimes the words come up — secularism, democracy, human rights, etc. — but they seldom seem to be anything other than rhetoric used by a certain group to obtain fleeting electoral support. In short, it is worrying: there is no substantial and coherent opposition left in India right now. Some people might argue that it exists at the grassroots. This is a deceptive argument: first, because it cannot be documented with numbers; and second, because in a working democracy any grassroots opposition needs to wear the face of at least some political party.

The great Indian tragedy
Some of my BJP friends — not in the lunatic fringe, thankfully, but belonging to the old ideological core — smirk at this. They exult in the fact that the Indian opposition is either in disarray or divided up by narrow domestic walls. This worries me (also because the lack of a real opposition seems to be a spreading global problem, undergirded by the corporate logic of neoliberal capitalism and its enmeshment with nationalism).

Any democracy needs a thriving and coherent opposition. The great tragedy of India does not seem to be the BJP, with which one can agree or disagree; the great tragedy of India is the lack of a real and issue-based opposition. The BJP’s ideology is reasonably clear, in both its extreme and moderate forms. But the opposition seems to lack a coherent and consistent platform. It largely fails to provide alternative views of government and it seldom responds cohesively to the BJP’s moves, leaving it to afflicted politicians to react singly.

Alas, it is not just a nation that needs an opposition. So do human beings, as Kabir knew:

“Neendak niyare raakhiye aangan kuti chhawaye;

Bin saabun paani bina nirmal karat subhaye.”

Roughly translated:

“Your critic keep beside you, his hut on your house should lean:

Without water or soap, he’ll keep your nature clean.”

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/where-is-the-opposition-in-india/article19436063.ece/amp/

We need an actual constructive opposition not pseudo seculars and liberals

Hope action is taken against anyone who is responsible for the death of children's in BRD hospital but here is the tale of childrens death in UP
20799283_1023800947759553_1706667341299183861_n.jpg

Nothing that we’re going to say here can ever be proved. One is free to believe it, one is free to label it a plain lie. That anyone says is immaterial, for the truth must be told somewhere.

What's happening right now was waiting to happen ever since Yogi Adi swore in as UP CM against the wishes of Motabhai and his trusted lieutenant.
The fact is, Motabhai wanted their puppet installed as CM in the state, the way they did in other states before UP. So Maurya was their choice.
After a high drama between Lucknow and 11 Ashoka Road, Yogi Adi was able to throw his weight around- thanks to the statewide influence of the Hindu Yuva Vahini (HYV) under his command. After a week-long drama, for the first time after ’14, Motabhai & co had to concede defeat in front of someone they considered weak.
Defeat notwithstanding and given the larger than life stature of Motabhai, negotiations ensued and Yogi Adi was asked to water down HYV, don a secular, moderate Vikaasvadi face. Adi had to agree to this and some top leaders of HYV were shown the door. Recruitment in HYV was brought to a near standstill in the state. Maurya and Sharma were made deputies to keep a tab on him.
Minority schemes in UP had a massive increase in funding- be it madrassas or minority scholarships.

But as if this wasn’t enough, Yogi Adi was warned in advance - One communal Riot in the state and he'll have to step down from CMship. Adi has been walking a darn tight rope in the state ever since. And even while he was concentrating on Law& Order in the state, Samajwadi Party ecosystem not helping things either, Gorakhpur happened.
There’s nothing novel about the left and the opposition making their usual noise over such things. What’s new this time is, even pro-BJP mouthpieces hyping the issue beyond Yogi's control - giving the impression it's a major national calamity.
Switch to any pro-BJP channel and they’ll be seen talking not about the RS scam, Doklam standoff, Pak ceasefire violation, debate on article 35A or even the current devastating floods in the NE– it’s all just the Gorakhpur incident everywhere.

There's an immense pressure right now on Yogi to resign.
This being the first strike against him, he won't. However, it means him being strong-armed by Mota Bhai to concede more ground to them and giving more powers to his men.

The moment Motabhai is done with his terms & conditions, makes Yogi let go of some of his territory, the media will swiftly turn to facts like who the doctor was, who the administrator was etc., and hint the fault of erstwhile SP govt in the entire case. Corruption will be labelled the culprit and Vikaas will emerge the winner.
Yogi will then be let off the hook and left to attend to his wounds, being shown his place and who he can't be the alternative to.

-- Shankh Naad

@Roybot @ranjeet @Soumitra @IndoCarib @Nilgiri @JanjaWeed @Rain Man

Who is the motabhai in this ? is it Arun Jaitely or Rajnath Singh? becoz yogi was the choice of both amith shah and modi so i dont see them going against him . Not sure how true is the above article as i cant believe anyone being more powerful than modi/Shah in BJP now

Nothing that we’re going to say here can ever be proved. One is free to believe it, one is free to label it a plain lie. That anyone says is immaterial, for the truth must be told somewhere.

What's happening right now was waiting to happen ever since Yogi Adi swore in as UP CM against the wishes of Motabhai and his trusted lieutenant.
The fact is, Motabhai wanted their puppet installed as CM in the state, the way they did in other states before UP. So Maurya was their choice.

After a high drama between Lucknow and 11 Ashoka Road, Yogi Adi was able to throw his weight around- thanks to the statewide influence of the Hindu Yuva Vahini (HYV) under his command. After a week-long drama, for the first time after ’14, Motabhai & co had to concede defeat in front of someone they considered weak.
Defeat notwithstanding and given the larger than life stature of Motabhai, negotiations ensued and Yogi Adi was asked to water down HYV, don a secular, moderate Vikaasvadi face. Adi had to agree to this and some top leaders of HYV were shown the door. Recruitment in HYV was brought to a near standstill in the state. Maurya and Sharma were made deputies to keep a tab on him.
Minority schemes in UP had a massive increase in funding- be it madrassas or minority scholarships.

But as if this wasn’t enough, Yogi Adi was warned in advance - One communal Riot in the state and he'll have to step down from CMship. Adi has been walking a darn tight rope in the state ever since. And even while he was concentrating on Law& Order in the state, Samajwadi Party ecosystem not helping things either, Gorakhpur happened.
There’s nothing novel about the left and the opposition making their usual noise over such things. What’s new this time is, even pro-BJP mouthpieces hyping the issue beyond Yogi's control - giving the impression it's a major national calamity.
Switch to any pro-BJP channel and they’ll be seen talking not about the RS scam, Doklam standoff, Pak ceasefire violation, debate on article 35A or even the current devastating floods in the NE– it’s all just the Gorakhpur incident everywhere.

There's an immense pressure right now on Yogi to resign.
This being the first strike against him, he won't. However, it means him being strong-armed by Mota Bhai to concede more ground to them and giving more powers to his men.

The moment Motabhai is done with his terms & conditions, makes Yogi let go of some of his territory, the media will swiftly turn to facts like who the doctor was, who the administrator was etc., and hint the fault of erstwhile SP govt in the entire case. Corruption will be labelled the culprit and Vikaas will emerge the winner.
Yogi will then be let off the hook and left to attend to his wounds, being shown his place and who he can't be the alternative to.

-- Shankh Naad

@Roybot @ranjeet @Soumitra @IndoCarib @Nilgiri @JanjaWeed @Rain Man

Who is the motabhai in this ? is it Arun Jaitely or Rajnath Singh? becoz yogi was the choice of both amith shah and modi so i dont see them going against him . Not sure how true is the above article as i cant believe anyone being more powerful than modi/Shah in BJP now

Mota Bhai means big brother in Gujrati - So most probably it will mean Modi

We BJP supporters should not be hypocritical. Had this happened in say Karnataka we would be demanding Siddaramaih's head. The Responsibility of the Garakhpur tragedy rests n Yogi. For once I am happy that Republic and Times Now are pointing it out , like the way they pursued the Chandigarh case.

Chandigarh case I am inclined to believe the gorl 90% but there is a 10% chance of her lying to defame the boy. Let the investigations be complete

In this case there is no doubt in my mind. The company was not being paid for months together and they had sent repeated reminders. No company can continuously afford to bear the loss and it was the govt's duty to pay them. Whether funds were released for the payment and were gobbed up by babus fo the funds were not even released has to be investigated. But the end result is that the UP govt is at fauld and that means that the buck stops with Yogi Adityanath.

Please note I am not taking the left liberal media view of treating these deaths as a satire - asking whether children needed vande mataram or oxygen or whether they will go to shamshaan or Kabristan.

Mota Bhai means big brother in Gujrati - So most probably it will mean Modi

We BJP supporters should not be hypocritical. Had this happened in say Karnataka we would be demanding Siddaramaih's head. The Responsibility of the Garakhpur tragedy rests n Yogi. For once I am happy that Republic and Times Now are pointing it out , like the way they pursued the Chandigarh case.

Chandigarh case I am inclined to believe the gorl 90% but there is a 10% chance of her lying to defame the boy. Let the investigations be complete

In this case there is no doubt in my mind. The company was not being paid for months together and they had sent repeated reminders. No company can continuously afford to bear the loss and it was the govt's duty to pay them. Whether funds were released for the payment and were gobbed up by babus fo the funds were not even released has to be investigated. But the end result is that the UP govt is at fauld and that means that the buck stops with Yogi Adityanath.

Please note I am not taking the left liberal media view of treating these deaths as a satire - asking whether children needed vande mataram or oxygen or whether they will go to shamshaan or Kabristan.

I agree, but the only fault I can find with the Yogi govt. is poor Media management.

For now they do appear to be taking action.

What is important is to see STRONG ACTION to send fear down the spines of all those who have been appointed by the previous SP govt. UP is FULL of such appointments. There is nothing much BJP or Yogi can do about it, except wait for more such tragedies and take Strong Action.

I dont blame yogi for this. But the buck stops with him.Period.

True, he should have owned up to it. Its poor image management.