Indian Political Corner | All Updates & Discussions.

After a drubbing in Bihar in November, Prime Minister Narendra Modi wants to overhaul his cabinet to weed out underperformers and improve his government's image. Problem is, several sources said, he can't find the right replacements.

As New Delhi buzzes with speculation about changes in several ministries, senior members of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and a close aide to Modi said some changes could come early next year but the talent pool was too shallow to engineer a major revamp.

Pressure is mounting on Modi to revive his party's fortunes. Nearly two years after he swept to power on a promise of jobs and growth, the shine is coming off - reforms to revive investment have withered and the economy is stuttering. Rural distress has grown after two successive droughts.

"The challenge is to identify the right candidates who can deliver fast-paced reforms and policies in their work sphere," the Prime Minister's aide said.

Articulate and suave, finance minister Arun Jaitley has been considered for the defence portfolio, another high-profile role that is crucial to Modi's geopolitical ambitions and plans to boost Indian industry. But there was no one to take Jaitley's place in finance, the sources said.
A spokesman for Modi declined to comment.
An official in Jaitley's office said they didn't have any knowledge of a possible reshuffle.
Modi tends to keep such decisions close to his chest, and the sources said the final decision lay with the prime minister. They added that he has yet to make up his mind on the changes, and that nothing has been confirmed.
Another close aide to the Prime Minister dismissed talk of a reshuffle as speculation, saying it had no basis.

DEARTH OF TALENT

The problem with the government's search for talent is that Modi's administration is loath to tap people who are associated with other ideologies, such as liberals or the left.

At the same time, the right-wing intelligentsia has not developed after decades of rule by the centrist Congress party, under which liberal institutions flourished.

"Compared to the Congress, we have a smaller talent pool and less exposure, but it's only a matter of time that we expand our base," BJP vice-president Vinay Sahasrabuddhe said.

He said Modi has "embarked on the process of fine-tuning the government machinery and also send a concrete signal that inefficiency will be checked."

BJP's defeat in Bihar state polls earlier this year led to calls from within the party and the Hindu group that is its ideological parent, the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), to remove ministers and party officials who failed to deliver.
Although a general election is not due until 2019, the government's fortunes will depend on upcoming provincial polls, including an election in bellwether Uttar Pradesh state in 2017.

Top RSS and BJP leaders are expected to meet in New Delhi in the second week of January, where these issues are likely to be discussed.
A revamp is also expected to send the message that Modi will not tolerate remarks by ministers that fan intolerance against minorities.

Junior ministers Giriraj Singh and Niranjan Jyoti could be removed after they made public remarks construed as anti-minority, the sources said. Singh's and Jyoti's offices said they have no information about Modi's reshuffle plans.

Some ministers are also looking for a change. Foreign minister Sushma Swaraj has asked to be moved to a portfolio with a more domestic focus, the sources said.

Swaraj's office said they will not comment about her plans.
Road transport minister Nitin Gadkari was offered additional charge of the agriculture ministry, but he declined saying he already had too big a job, the sources said.

A source in Gadkari's office declined to comment, calling it a "hypothetical question."

Modi is looking to the RSS and may go further afield in southern and northeastern states to find new, lesser-known faces to bring to his government, his aide said. That would also give his cabinet a more pan-India feel, the aide said.

Modi can't find people for his Cabinet revamp plan - Times of India

@JanjaWeed @ranjeet @Rain Man @Aminroop @Bang Galore @Marxist

So looks like Jaitely will be moved out of finance and someone will be replaced . As the article states modi took the Bihar defeat seriously and moving jaitely out of finance is a good thing but a good PR manager for the government is the need of the hour not sure what modi is doing for that ?

Why didn't you tag me??:o::confused::cry:

& yes a reshuffle may happen in the 2nd week of the next year. PM wants to change some people. He isn't satisfied with the performance of some ministers.

@Nair saab Swami would do a good job as I&B Minister :D
--------------------------------------------------------------------
& I don't think Shourie will make it in ,especially not after he get too "intimate" with the opposition.

Also there is one more reason why Shourie is not in the berth(2 more if I'm not wrong). Both of them were taking into consideration vote-bank politics & the defeat of 2004 into consideration. I won't state them here as I don't think you guys would believe me anyway.

Also NaMo is a believer in making PSUs work (like he did in Gujarat), & not privatising them like Shourie
Congress of course had talent but non of that talent had a free hand ever thing needs the Italian lady's approval. But in modi's cabinet see what talented people like Suresh Prabhu,Piyush goyal, Nitin Gadkari, Manohar Parrikar, sushma and Smriti is doing Just imaging these guys under UPA they will all be sitting ducks . So the need of the hour is a Good PR manager for the government and an innovative ,out of box thinking person in finance . Comeon buddy i cant imagine Advani , MM joshi kinds in the cabinet post even though i agree with you on including arun shourie
MM Joshi isn't that bad TBH.. you just shouldn't give him an important/critical berth or one where he lacks domain expertise.

Uppala though in Kerala,But comes under Tulunadu region..Hindus are majority Tulu speakers,Kannada,Marathi etc,local Muslims are byaris of mixed Arabic-Tulu ancestry(not Malayalam Muslims),Christians are konkani speakers...Religious tension are very common in that area just like adjacent Dakshina Kannada district of Karnataka...
Marathis?? In Northern Kerala!!

Interesting.. Are there no Tulu Christians?

Another media stunt.

Delhi IAS officers are full-fledged B-teams of BJP, says Kejriwal | delhi | Hindustan Times

Seems like Delhites love him. Ab tak kisine is madar-chod ko jute se nahi mara. He is abusing his constitutional position day in and day out.

At least circus lasts for 3 hours.
Everybody who doesn't lick his feet or do his chamchagiri is a B-team of the BJP or a BJP chamcha.

2015 was a dull year for us Sanghis nothing much to look forward in 2016 also it seems , I'll be back in 2017, hopefully we'd have some some success on Ram Mandir by then! Khuda Hafiz

Let me post a comment here from a FB page-Satyameve Jayate with some edits to the original piece.

I want to share my today's experience with all of you.

Today morning during a @@ minutes travel in the &#%. I met a person. During chat, I come to know that he is working in South Block New Delhi. He is working there in Government Ministries since last !# yrs. When I know this, I asked him, dat how things have changed after 2014 elections.
And his answer was not indifferent from my Expectations. But after listening some of his points, my reaction was like "OMG".
(1) He told dat previously there was a culture among some Secretary level officers of not coming to office on time. And when they come, they keep work pending. And if its urgent to complete the work, then there was a culture of sitting till late in office. During late sitting they order their dinner from "Hotel Le Meridian" @ ₹1300 per plate. Though there will be 15 ppl present in d office, but food will come for around 30 ppl (including for d family members of Those so called Secretaries). In d next morning, there bills of ₹ 39000/- of dinner get passed instantly by planning commission vice chairman Mr. Montek Singh Ahluwalia.
That was the kind of wastage of public money by our babus.
Now, if someone has to sit late, there food comes from their own home.
(2) Previously there was d habit of spending public money on changing furniture, curtains and furnishing of office.
Now, PM has communicated that No furniture and curtains will be replaced before 7 yrs. and no furnishing allowed before 11 yrs.
(3) Now, no file can be kept pending for more than 7 days, otherwise PMO starts queries.
(4) PM takes class of many of his Ministers at 6:20 AM early in the morning, if necessary/
(5) PM Modi get up daily before 5 AM, throughout the yr. and reaches office daily before 9:20 AM.
(6) Modi keep fast for more den approx. 100 days in a year. During fast only water & sometimes lemonade juice is consumed.
(7) Daily at 10:10 all attendance sheets are dispatched to PMO, which takes not of absent officers.
(8) Kaaju- Kishmish n Milk culture in Government Ministries has now been stopped by our New PM.
(9) Government revenue's have increased by approx. 17%, after 2014 elections, due to above mentioned spending's have been curtailed by d PM.

Not even a year and cracks are beginning to show.:agree:
How long do you think this government will last??

This is very important with 2019 in view.
CONgrass might use NK as a PM bait to grab power.

The more such incidents, NK image goes down.

I know its not good. But that's the only way for NK to get the bad fruit of tying up with such people for his PM dreams.

BTW some news for you guys, which misses from MSM.

and

HAPPY NEW YEAR. May NAMO get success and we all also do good in 2016.

Nitin Gadkari announces Rs 55,000 cr highway projects for Uttar Pradesh - The Economic Times

Investment in electronics manufacturing at Rs 1.14 lakh crore - The Economic Times
Investments jumped 6 fold.

PM Narendra Modi to babus: Break silos, get cracking to deliver results - The Economic Times
PMji working even on 31st December evening.

Check Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal's political fitness regime in his political gym in the latest ‪#‎SoSorry‬

=============================================================

Is this guy that Mohammad Afroz?

CXbWEEfUMAEoPZW.jpg:medium

1545614_922257967829601_3714621970995282614_n.jpg

Not even a year and cracks are beginning to show.:agree:
How long do you think this government will last??

There is a feeling that- RJD can rule all alone- It has 80+20 MLAs supporting it- If BJP looses Assam and does bad in 2017 too- expect a RJD take over by 2018- Good BJP performance may create doubts in the mind of Lalu for 2019 finals-

BJP is gonna lose Assam.Don't have a second of doubt about that.Too large Muslim majority and a core voter population brainwashed by 15 years of ideological subterfuge.

14 Lane, NCR, Meerut.

#IAmWithModi

BJP is gonna lose Assam.Don't have a second of doubt about that.Too large Muslim majority and a core voter population brainwashed by 15 years of ideological subterfuge.

Nationalists if are able to form govt nothing like it, but i expect them to be the primary opposition.

Sorry, but a rubbish analysis.

Let Swamy be the law minister we need an innovative person like Arun shourie to be in finance not sure how modi is going to get someone like that . If the report is to be believed if Jaitely is moved to Defence where would Manohar Parrikar go ?

Basically its the ideology of of RSS that people above 70/75 shouldnt be in the cabinet.
Else Swamy would have been the finance minister.

Military Forum Latest Posts