Indian Companies to Invest in Auto Sector in Bangladesh

The bold part shows you are misinformed.

Still seeing Coke cans of foreign origin. Along with other little products. Just because you don't buy them doesn't mean they aren't there.

Our trade balance is not good at the moment.

Check the data yourself:
http://trade.ec.europa.eu/doclib/docs/2006/september/tradoc_113349.pdf

But exports have increased and likely to in the near future.
Exports rise 40pc in 10 months

But we have to ban or at least severely tax these little things of foreign origin. Its the imports of these little everyday things that can easily be researched, developed marketed and produced locally that really hurt.

This matter has already been much discussed among the Bangladesh business community and business media.

I find it dumb to pay Tk. 2,000,000 for a damn Corolla. Even beyond retarded to buy a Land Cruiser for Tk. 35,000,000.

Why did they increase duties on cars recently? Why are they reluctant to invite more FDI?

Its all about making money.

POISHA BANANO JONE OSTHEER!

Do you always live in contradiction? One way you try to show yourself as sole flag bearer of free market economy in the next sentence you want a regulated market. Whats your stand?

The reason we are manufacturing coke cane is because we imported them at first. Once the market is created we started manufacturing. The biggest problem from my own view point is that the lack of knowledge regarding consumer and technology products amonsgst our customer. We need to introduce the consumer with those products first then the market will automatically get created and the investor will follow through. Simple example is tissue clothing. We first started importing from Japan, then from India as a cheaper alternative. now we are producing them in here for even cheaper alternatives.

Again if you dont keep the door open for competition your domestic industries will loose at the end because as there is a captive market they will always try to optimize their profit and offer the customer with low quality products which eventually has not use when it comes to export as nobody going to pay for this shittty products overseas.

I'll never understand this corolla craze among BD people even if they have to pay as high as 15-18 lacs for a damned corolla. Forget 'bout cruisers they have crossed 1 crore. The increase in tax is to reduce import of cars but thats not stoping anyone as it seems.

Its becasue middle class still not in the car market. Infact they cant affort to pay 15 lacs for a car when 85% of the people still living in a rented house. We should follow india and find an alternative to offer customer with a car priced between 5-7 lacs.

If they don't follow any dirty politics and unfair
advantage over national resources such as gas
then why not? Mithubishis are getting assembled
here and the lower ends are totally untapped.

The CKD vehicle import duties will probably be scrapped
a bit from the next year so it'll be more viable
to buy locally manufactured cars rather then importing
them.

Does anyone have any news regarding Tagaz
motors from korea, weren't they going for
production next year? Or was it a hoax....
as theres no recent news.

For integra only

So suddenly you are very much fond of Indian made vechiles ? Let me tell some of my observations:

1. Your grand father and my father had been using these foreign made imported "Corolla" since long. And they used to it. And suddenly how can they change their teste ?

2. Indian made cars are far below the standard. I remember last time(1996-2002) when AL came to power they bought near about 1000 "Ambassador" taxti cabs and sold in the market. And I tell you in those days Dhaka City was so ugly looking as if we have gone back 50 years back. Soon within 2 years these cars went to scrap and we were saved. Then came "Maruti", Taxi cab and "Maxi". You see the condition of these cars, how ugly looks these in our city. AL govt tried their best to sell all these "Maruti" cars among the public. Lot of exhibitions were held throughout Bangladesh but the output was zero. Than govt tried to sell it in the private companies. Those who bought it only they realise what "Chise" they have bought.

3. And now our beloved Sk Hasina in order to give preference to Indian car entreprenier has decided to increase the car tax so that people are forced to buy the Indian cars. "Koi faida nahi".

4. And you in the name of decreasing of import and saving our foreign exchange suggesting to give permission to establish Indian car industries in Bangladesh.

5. OK, for TATA trucks it is fine but why for other vechiles ? Think logically. "Dushto loker misti kotha kokhono bhulio na". Sh Hasina has come to poer only to give leverage to India. Before transit they had been shoiting that we will be billionaire soon. Have you got any penny? Now they are dictating us to give free.

6. Is there is no other country left in this world ? Why not Malaysia, why not Korea ? India has the tendency to dictate on us in every aspects. For the last 4 decades we had been trying hard to come out from Indian Hegemony and you are inviting them in our country. Shame ! Shame ! "Hatu jol pani te pore dobe moren".

For integra only

So suddenly you are very much fond of Indian made vechiles ? Let me tell some of my observations:

1. Your grand father and my father had been using these foreign made imported "Corolla" since long. And they used to it. And suddenly how can they change their teste ?

2. Indian made cars are far below the standard. I remember last time(1996-2002) when AL came to power they brought near about 1000 "Ambassador" taxti cabs and sold in the market. And tell you in those days Dhaka City was so ugly looking as if we have gone back 50 years back. Soon within a 2 yeras these went to scrap and we were saved. Then came "Maruti", Taxi cab and "Maxi". You see the condition of these cars how ugly looks these in our city. AL govt tried their best to sell all these "Maruti" cars among the public. Lot of exhibition were held throughout Bangladesh but the output was zero. Than govt tried to sell it in the private companies. Those who bought it only they realise what "Chise" they have bought.

3. And now our beloved Sk Hasina in order to give preference to Indian car entreprenier has decided to increase the car tax so they people are force to buy the Indian cars. "Koi faida nahi".

4. And you in the name of decreasing of import and saving our foreign exchange suggesting to give permission to establish Indian car industries in Bangladesh.

5. OK, for TATA trucks it is fine but why for other vechiles ? Think logically. "Dushto loker misti kotha kokhono bhulio na". Sh Hasina has come to poer only to give leverage to India. Before transit they had been shoiting that we will be billionaire soon. Hav you got any penny? Now they are dictating us to give free.

6. Is there is no other country left in this world ? Why not Malaysia, why not Korea ? India has the tendency to dictate on us in every aspects. For the last 4 decades we are trying hard to come out from Indian Hegemony and you are inviting them in our country. Shame ! Shame ! "Hatu jol pani te pore dobe moren".

Sorry to Jump in... If you allow me.

All those drama happend under BNP regime. No ambassador neither Maruti was imported under AL regime.

You get what you pay for. You may as well buy Tata land Rover if you find lower end tata cars as low-classy!

india-tata-jaguar-land-rover-2009-6-28-7-50-4.jpg

The girls dont come free although!

You get what you pay for. You may as well buy Tata land Rover if you find lower end tata cars as low-classy!

india-tata-jaguar-land-rover-2009-6-28-7-50-4.jpg

The girls dont come free although!

Good ! Good ! Dobro !!!!! You people have even surpass the Japanese. Ok send them to us with bonus!!! We may think what can be done ?

iajdani, not agreed with your points. Ambassador taxi cab came during 1996/1997. May be "Maruti" cars started coming during BNP govt.

^^Mr.Akmal I don't nor my generation sees everything in
the light of politics. The younger ones are even better purified of that poison.

My post regarding corolla didn mean that stop buying corollas
and start using ata or tata. Everyone here knows Indian cars are
crappy even not in par with the cheapest Japanese cars.

My point was why not nissan,mazda,mitsubishi or Honda? But suddenly
because of your perception you get me wrong. My grandpas
were more interested in Volkswagens rather then Japs.
Corollas don't have anything in special compared to mazda
or hondas products. Personally I woud probably not buy any
indian car because of their heartbreaking stomach lifting suspension.
But if anyone wants to construct a car plant whats wrong with it
is out of my head as that will make more manufacturers to
construct automobile plants here.

Indian companies should be careful.Hasina is not going to rule bd forever.There are a lot of people in that country who hate India and may cause harm to Indian interests there.

Deal is deal. BD will respect, regardless of who comes to power. Its quite different in Bangladesh unlike India.

Oh really.I won't be surprised if some pumped up zealots attack the proposed factories and shut them down citing some lame reason .If i am not wrong there were recently some protests regarding airtel in Bangladesh.The fact is that many in the country have strong anti-India feelings and would love to harass Indian companies.Investment in bd should be done after a lot of thinking .