Indian Army soon with delivery of Dhanush 155mm artillery gun

They both have but in cooperation with foreign partners -

TATA Power SED's 155mm/52-cal Motorised Howitzer developed with South Africa’s DENEL Land Systems is dubbed as 55% indigenous by content. Indian Army has a requirement of 1,800 such Mounted Gun Systems.

T5-52.jpg

The gun itself isnt though. They will start producing the gun eventually some time after they get the contract. And it's hard to say where this Denel partnership will lead if they dont get the Indian contract.

Kalyanis on the other hand have a gun being produced, as they bought out the whole line.

If I'm not mistaken BEL exported some of those WLRs to Indonesia too.

No, they were not LR's but Battle Field Surveillance Radar- Short Range (BFSR-SR) - Around 100 units were exported to Indonesia - Tey have also been exported to Sudan.

BEL Swathi WLR's are in the process of being inducted in the Indian Army.

What's the advantage of 52 calibre ove 45 one.asper bharatha forge presentation range is mere 41 km for 52 calibre,where dhanush is having 38 to 39 km.

usually Higher Calibre = Longer Range.

Other facts are Gun design, Sea Level, Climate, shape of shell etc..

Range - longer the barrel length for a given caliber and charge weight,the more distance your rounds will cover.

This may be a 155 mm gun but not 155 mm*52 caliber. so range is bound to be shorter.

Give Baba kalyani and TATA a chance. They have developed very nice gun too.
when i posted large guns you guys cry that these are too large dinosaurs now these short guns you need baba where the hell i have to go ? you have to die now short or large

Imran sa'ab,apne jitni bhi guns ki picfture previous page mein post ki thi uss mein se koi bhi 155 mm gun nehi hain.Ha,yeh baat ekdom sahi hain ke in the matter of SPH and 155 mm towed guns/howitzer the Pakistani Army is far ahead than their Indian counterparts.The only advantage is that most of your 155 mm barring a couple of hundreds are very old surplus U.S.Army stocks and have limited range.OTOH,our M-46 guns which we have around 1200(may be more) has a range greater than most of your 155 mm barring the Panther.So,this technically negates the advantage P.A. has over the I.A. in the towed artillery dept. but as of this moment the P.A. is far ahead of I.A. in case of SPH:coffee:!!
@Argon Prime dada,what's your opinion in this matter(I mean,am i right or wrong in my assessment)??

So basically, the Bofors ToT helps to make a local copy dubbed as "indigenously-developed" . So is it a 45 calibre or 52?

Bofors are 39 and danush will be 45 calibre . 52 calibre under development

Imran sa'ab,apne jitni bhi guns ki picfture previous page mein post ki thi uss mein se koi bhi 155 mm gun nehi hain.Ha,yeh baat ekdom sahi hain ke in the matter of SPH and 155 mm towed guns/howitzer the Pakistani Army is far ahead than their Indian counterparts.The only advantage is that most of your 155 mm barring a couple of hundreds are very old surplus U.S.Army stocks and have limited range.OTOH,our M-46 guns which we have around 1200(may be more) has a range greater than most of your 155 mm barring the Panther.So,this technically negates the advantage P.A. has over the I.A. in the towed artillery dept. but as of this moment the P.A. is far ahead of I.A. in case of SPH:coffee:!!
@Argon Prime dada,what's your opinion in this matter(I mean,am i right or wrong in my assessment)??

i agree with you but abut our 155mm guns i must say they did not got it from US stock but new sir .please lets have link abut US surplus i will be thankful

Sir jee,most of your 155mm and 203 mm guns barring the Panther howitzers are quite old.Btw i am only talking about the towed artillery version and not about SPH
M-115 203 mm-Surplus U.S. stock(vintage WW-II)
M-198 155 mm-surplus U.S. stock(Relatively new,made in the early 80s but range is limited,now replaced in the U.S.Army arsenal by M777)
M-114 155 mm-surplus U.S. stock(vintage WW-II)
M-59(Long Tom)-Surplus U.S. stock(vintage WW-II)
Now,lets come to the SPH version-
M110 203 mm-Surplus U.S. stock(vintage early cold war)
M109A2 155 mm-Surplus U.S.stock(vintage cold war model)
Btw,all the above artillery pieces(both towed and SPH ones) have limited range of not exceeding 30 kms when using R.A.P.(M110 ones)!!
The only potent SPHs at this moment in the P.A. arsenal are the modernised M109A5 155 mm and the Norinco SH-1 which is basically a beast with a max. range of around 53 kms using R.A.P.:coffee:!!
P.S.-Sorry i don't have any source to back my post but i am quite sure that you'll find some in the Pakistan Army artillery thread if you ask Bratva or Icarus:-).

Last two pictures are of 105 mm ?
mix masala hai bhai kha le chup ker ke :lol:

Sir jee,most of your 155mm and 203 mm guns barring the Panther howitzers are quite old.Btw i am only talking about the towed artillery version and not about SPH
M-115 203 mm-Surplus U.S. stock(vintage WW-II)
M-198 155 mm-surplus U.S. stock(Relatively new,made in the early 80s but range is limited,now replaced in the U.S.Army arsenal by M777)
M-114 155 mm-surplus U.S. stock(vintage WW-II)
M-59(Long Tom)-Surplus U.S. stock(vintage WW-II)
Now,lets come to the SPH version-
M110 203 mm-Surplus U.S. stock(vintage early cold war)
M109A2 155 mm-Surplus U.S.stock(vintage cold war model)
Btw,all the above artillery pieces(both towed and SPH ones) have limited range of not exceeding 30 kms when using R.A.P.(M110 ones)!!
The only potent SPHs at this moment in the P.A. arsenal are the modernised M109A5 155 mm and the Norinco SH-1 which is basically a beast with a max. range of around 53 kms using R.A.P.:coffee:!!
P.S.-Sorry i don't have any source to back my post but i am quite sure that you'll find some in the Pakistan Army artillery thread if you ask Bratva or Icarus:-).
sir what if i told you you are wrong here
m-115 pakistan got brand new in early 70s showcase first time in 1974 23 march prade .
m-198 delivered in 1997 US stock
m-114 delivered new after pakistan sign ceto -cento
m-59 delivers new after pakistan sign ceto - cento

Range - longer the barrel length for a given caliber and charge weight,the more distance your rounds will cover.
usually Higher Calibre = Longer Range.

Other facts are Gun design, Sea Level, Climate, shape of shell etc..
But even 52 calibre giving only 41 or 42 for normal rounds,where as dhanush is capable of delivering normal rounds up to 38 km.then why to invest on heavy 52 calibre gun for just a 4 km increase in range.