India Shuts Down Internet To Prevent Mirwaiz From Addressing UN Geneva Convention

Since it's a Human Rights Council of UN ... can a case be made against how the poor persecuted Muslim Kashmiris made Hindu Kashmiris flee the valley? How threats of raping Hindu women and converting them were aired through the loud speakers of the mosques after the Friday prayer sermons.

Kashmiri Pandits: Why we never fled Kashmir - Kashmir: The forgotten conflict - Al Jazeera English

Sanjay Tickoo remembers it well. It was a warm summer's day in 1990, when he found a poster pasted to the outside wall of his home in Srinagar, the capital of Indian-administered Kashmir. It was written in Urdu, which Sanjay could not read, so he took it to his grandfather and asked him to translate it.

"As he read it out to us, tears rolled down his cheeks ... it basically instructed our family to leave the valley or die," Tickoo tells me as we sit in a café at the foot of Jhelum River in Srinagar.

But, unlike the estimated 100,000 Hindus from the valley - known as Kashmiri Pandits - who embarked on a mass migration south to Jammu following the start of the insurgency against Indian rule in 1989, Tickoo's family refused to leave.

"Over the past 20 years, we estimate that 650 Pandits were killed in the valley," Tickoo says, adding: "The figures of 3,000 to 4,000 killings [as suggested by some Pandit organisations] is propaganda, which we reject."

"Not that 650 is a low number, because even one killing should be not ignored, but we must get the numbers right."

While Tickoo's organisation says that 399 Pandits were killed between 1999 and 2008, and 650 in total, this pales in comparison with those estimates that put the figure at 3,000, but exceeds the state's suggestion that 219 were killed between 1990 and 2008.

But collating the numbers, or even unravelling the language of migration and exodus, is part of the historical ambiguity that surrounds the Pandits' flight from the valley. And it has been made all the harder by the fact that Pandits outside Kashmir have dominated the narrative

'Kashmir mei agar rehna hai, Allah-O-Akbar kehna hai' (If you want to stay in Kashmir, you have to say Allah-O-Akbar);
'Yahan kya chalega, Nizam-e-Mustafa' (What do we want here? Rule of Shariah);
'Asi gachchi Pakistan, Batao roas te Batanev san' (We want Pakistan along with Hindu women but without their men).
19/01/90: When Kashmiri Pandits fled Islamic terro

'Kashmir mei agar rehna hai, Allah-O-Akbar kehna hai' (If you want to stay in Kashmir, you have to say Allah-O-Akbar);
'Asi gachchi Pakistan, Batao roas te Batanev san' (We want Pakistan along with Hindu women but without their men).

there are so many blatantly factually incorrect points in this "article" i dont even know where to begin!

by the way there are several Pundits still residing in the valley....not only do they have organizations representing them, but even the JKLF and APHC are on record several times calling for ALL pundits to return to their homeland.

The article I posted clearly mentions that notable Pundits themselves are on record DENYING indian claims of an exuberant number leaving out in exodus.

india's propaganda artists can fool their own but cant fool everyone; nor does it change ground realities, my friend

Ye Bhen ke take terrorists are saying the same Allah o Akbar in Hell. Kudos Indian Army to actually responding and telling, KASHMIR MEIN REHNA HAI TO AUKAAT MEIN REHNA. :D

All those were sent to their Mustafa to establish their Nizam.

Ha Ha. Then they cry when reality turned into, Muslim women but without their men.

Its not like I ever justified atrocities on Kashmiris. Its just above statements prove that if Kashmiris wudnt have got it from our Army, they wud have been giving the same to Hindus all over in the name of Greatness of Islam and justification for treating a KAFIR bad.

there are so many blatantly factually incorrect points in this "article" i dont even know where to begin!

by the way there are several Pundits still residing in the valley....not only do they have organizations representing them, but even the JKLF and APHC are on record several times calling for ALL pundits to return to their homeland.

The article I posted clearly mentions that notable Pundits themselves are on record DENYING indian claims of an exuberant number leaving out in exodus.

india's propaganda artists can fool their own but cant fool everyone; nor does it change ground realities, my friend
Well for you what we say is propaganda and for us what you say is propaganda but truth lies somewhere in between. I can't deny the excesses done by IA in Kashmir and you can't deny Pandits beings persecuted however small the numbers might be.

Ye Bhen ke take terrorists are saying the same Allah o Akbar in Hell. Kudos Indian Army to actually responding and telling, KASHMIR MEIN REHNA HAI TO AUKAAT MEIN REHNA. :D

All those were sent to their Mustafa to establish their Nizam.

Ha Ha. Then they cry when reality turned into, Muslim women but without their men.

Its not like I ever justified atrocities on Kashmiris. Its just above statements prove that if Kashmiris wudnt have got it from our Army, they wud have been giving the same to Hindus all over in the name of Greatness of Islam and justification for treating a KAFIR bad.
Yeah they deserve what they are getting. no one cried about human rights when pundits were butchered but kill some over jealous muslims all hell break loose.

Well for you what we say is propaganda and for us what you say is propaganda but truth lies somewhere in between. I can't deny the excesses done by IA in Kashmir and you can't deny Pandits beings persecuted however small the numbers might be.

Yeah they deserve what they are getting. no one cried about human rights when pundits were butchered but kill some over jealous muslims all hell break loose.
Small numbers? 50k is small?

It isnt, but the point is that not all of those who fled did so b/c of so-called "genocide"

some left for purely economic reasons....

and meanwhile, over 100,000 Kashmiris have been murdered by the occupation forces and that doesnt include those who are still being uncovered in mass graves to this day.

It isnt, but the point is that not all of those who fled did so b/c of so-called "genocide"

some left for purely economic reasons....

and meanwhile, over 100,000 Kashmiris have been murdered by the occupation forces and that doesnt include those who are still being uncovered in mass graves to this day.
So what u trying to do? Asking to ignore the injustice to Hindus in Kashmir just coz 1 Lac Muslims in Kashmir have been killed?

Dick measuring?

So what u trying to do? Asking to ignore the injustice to Hindus in Kashmir just coz 1 Lac Muslims in Kashmir have been killed?

Dick measuring?

No that is called selective sympathising. . . a way to feel for a selective community only. . . we call it hypocrisy in other words :)

Good move, more international spotlight on Indian occupied Kashmir is bad for India and will expose more and more each day.

And at the end of the day ...... no change to ground reality .

Dick measuring?

nonsense; you should just introspect and learn to respect the aspirations of Kashmiris

UN asked to appoint special rapporteur on Kashmir | Kashmir Media Service

By Our Special Correspondent
GENEVA, Switzerland: The Kashmiri delegation to United Nations in Geneva saw its busiest day on Wednesday, where three Kashmiri leaders addressed the Human Rights Council and two chaired side panel discussions on the situation in Indian-occupied Kashmir.

The three Kashmiri speakers requested the UNHRC to appoint a special rapporteur for Kashmir, where freedoms and human rights have deteriorated considerably in the last four years.

Senior APHC leader Altaf Hussain Wani, Mrs. Shamim Shawl of International Muslim Women’s Union, and Sardar Amjad Yousaf Khan, the Executive Director of Kashmir Institute of International Relations, participated in the General Debate of the 34th Meeting of the 25th session of UNHRC currently underway in Geneva.

Shamim Shawl chaired a side panel on Women in Conflict, where two Kashmiri women activists, Zomorroda Habib and Masooda Bano, addressed the audience via Skype from Srinagar, Indian-occupied Kashmir.

Indian, French, Moroccan and Dutch women rights activists joined the panel discussion, including Daniela Donges, Joyce Anderson, and Sadani Malinie.

At one point, the panel invited APHC’s Wani to chair the sideline event while Mrs. Shawl left to participate in the parallel session of UNHRC where she delivered a statement to member States and NGO representatives.

nonsense; you should just introspect and learn to respect the aspirations of Kashmiris

UN asked to appoint special rapporteur on Kashmir | Kashmir Media Service
Same old...........

Ignoring my point and superimposing ur mandate. Age old Pakistani Hypocricy. Hell with the Hindu Kashmiris coz they r not superior like Muslims and do that age old crying of ISLAM is in Danger. Islam is been Exploited.

It was Pakistan who converted India PAkistan issue to a Hindu Muslim Issue. Typical