India offers its retired soldiers to guard Brunei

Raftaar

With Sultanate of Brunei’s territorial dispute with China showing no signs of ending, India has now offered the services of its retired soldiers to the tiny island nation to augment its armed forces. Brunei, so far, has been dependent on British military support, especially in the form of soldiers. If accepted, Indian hands could replace British forces in Brunei.

On Tuesday, an agreement on defence cooperation was inked between Vice-President Mohammad Hamid Ansari and senior representatives of the Sultanate. While the agreement only talked about boosting defence ties by conducting joint military exercises and bilateral cooperation through exchange of visits, experience, information, training and cooperation between the defence industries, sources present at the meeting told The Indian Express that India offered to provide the services of retired officers and soldiers, particularly of the Gurkha Regiment, to Brunei.

However, no final decision was taken Tuesday on the matter. Defence cooperation between India and Brunei already exists in the form of naval ship visits, training of senior military officers in staff colleges and exchange of experience. The framework agreement seeks to institutionalise this cooperation. Brunei is a British protectorate, with British forces stationed here at the request of the Sultan. Last year, the agreement between the UK and Brunei was renewed for another five years. Meanwhile, other MoUs signed during Ansari’s visit included an agreement on health cooperation that will involve exchange of doctors, other professionals and experts, besides regulation of pharmaceuticals, medical devices and cosmetics.
Ansari has also talked about setting up a fertiliser plant in Brunei.

- See more at: http://indianexpress.com/article/in...oldiers-to-guard-brunei/#sthash.IJTcdPY3.dpuf

India, Brunei discuss South China Sea dispute

SOURCE: THE HINDU

TH03-KALLOL-ANSARI_2721485f.jpg

Brunei on Tuesday held discussion with an Indian delegation led by Vice-President Hamid Ansari on Chinese territorial claims in the South China Sea which has the potential to affect free maritime traffic in Southeast Asia.

“Brunei briefed us on the negotiation under way for the Code of Conduct for the South China Sea. India supports a negotiated settlement of Brunei’s maritime dispute with China,” said Mr. Anil Wadhwa, Secretary (East), following the conclusion of a bilateral defence agreement between India and Brunei. The pact is aimed at ensuring uninterrupted energy lanes between India and Southeast Asia.

An Indian military source in Brunei said the defence cooperation will provide both sides the institutional foundation for more collaborative work on maritime security and secure India’s energy lanes to Brunei.

Brunei’s main port, Muara — one of the main ports in Southeast Asia through which the bulk of the country’s oil and gas exports to India take place — is in the South China Sea region and will become a major component of India’s growing maritime partnership with Brunei. Sources tellThe Hinduthat India has taken note of the growing Chinese influence on Muara.

Mr Wadhwa said that the part of South China Sea that Brunei claims is largely “unexplored” and might contain hydrocarbon reserves vital for the country’s economy.

Are they going to train the Brunei Soldiers are going to be Soldiers???

“China” is the magic word for our Indian friends。:enjoy:

I am looking toward the day when the word “India” is mentioned in Chinese media with the same frequency as China is in Indian media today。:D:lol:

Tumhara dimagh har waqt apni gaand ki taraf rehta hai.. Tou hum Kya karien ... Either you come out of your closet and openly declare you gayness or stop moaning like a sodomite itching for some ....

Too bad, an elite member like you chose to write about orifices. Pity you !! For your kindest information janaab, mirchi kahi aur bhi tez lag jaati hein. Not only exit or entry points. Masjid jaa ke dimaag saaf karwaa lein.

Kakay Jim school mein tou parha hai .. Hum auskay head master reh chukay haien.

Jaisa mouh waisay tamacha.. Yeh apna asoul hai.

Remittance. Isn't that obvious?

Retired soldiers seem to be more for consulting than fighting.

The peak of military youth is between 17 and 35 years of age. It won't make sense for older retired personnel to go in for combat.

Personally I am against sending our gurkha brothers to fight for someone's money.

They are not mercenaries like how the British made them as but honourable warriors of our lands.

Time to declare Brunei as Indian protectorate.

No thanks.

We have enough protectorate agreements already: Bhutan, Mauritius, Maldives, Seychelles and Nepal (as a joint strategic military partner).

I fail to see what Brunei could offer us that we don't have. We already dominate the Malacca Strait.