India launches giant cheap food programme

nothiongs going to happen its onli a election gimmikk and of the 22 billion $ 20 will end up with beurocracy , netas and middlemen

Govt should first make sure that every poor have a ration card...I highly doubt that.

forgive me for saying this but please cut the crap of fiscal recovery.If this was scheme that gave you some financial freedom or tax break you will not call India revenue agency and say sorry it will create sisal mess i dont want this money.

Economy is a brutal taskmistress. It extracts it'd pound of flesh sooner or later.

Soviet anyone!!!!!!!!

Or even Greece would do.

1. The circulation of excess money in itself is a cause of inflation. ( This would have been a neutral bargain but for the other facts that would follow)

2. Government is already running heavy deficit. It would have to finance this deficit either by borrowing (unsustainable),High taxation ( which is already quite high) or by printing more money thus courting more inflation. This would be the most ruinous aspect of the whole saga.

3. High inflation combined with high taxation would suppress growth and by extension jobs that would have followed that growth.

4. The scheme even if implemented effectively would not do any good for long term welfare of poor. It would simply made them dependent on state.The effect would be similar to that of NREGA. That vicious scheme of Congis raised farm wages and dried up supply of labor for industries. The effect was inflation due to higher farm inputs.

Thus it would have a multiplier effect on inflation.

5. History has repeatedly proved the futility of socialism. Argentina, chile, EU are perfect examples of the ruin bring forth by this bankrupt ideology.

You and i see this from different angles.Money can come from cutting Government waist full spending or programme that no longer are required.

They way i see it if the money will reach the needy who in turn will buy the goods and services they require thus creating jobs and extra taxation for the government.

That vicious scheme of Congis raised farm wages and dried up supply of labor for industries.

And what would be the effect of agri labor moving to industries? who would you find to work for free or almost free on farms? How would non existence wages will alleviate poverty?

If the Government dont increase minimum wages farm workers will leave in droves then how would you feed the local population?

Economy is a brutal taskmistress. It extracts it'd pound of flesh sooner or later.

Soviet anyone!!!!!!!!

Or even Greece would do.

Tehelka - India's Independent Weekly News Magazine
Rs 60,000 carore grain rotted per year till 2010 itself , I think by current depreciation in rupees and inflation during last 3 years it must be Rs 80000 carore per year.So no worries at all if this scheme gets implemented in transparent manner.

Soviet anyone!!!!!!!!

Or even Greece would do.

Wrong examples soviet economy was resource based and involved in cold war ,almost had no industrial base and Greeks enjoyed one the best benefits in the world.A lot more then few bucks a day that this scheme will provide.

What we really need to do is adopt better Food Management, tones of food produce go to waste due to lack of proper storage facilities. And we also must keep our eyes on adulteration of basic food items. Although its an election gimmick but if implemented properly without any corruption then thumps up to it !!!

Wish they had spent this money on building proper storage facilities instead. This is a temporary solution whereas better storage could have provided a long term one. But that would not bring you votes. :rolleyes:

And what would be the effect of agri labor moving to industries? who would you find to work for free or almost free on farms? How would non existence wages will alleviate poverty?

If the Government dont increase minimum wages farm workers will leave in droves then how would you feed the local population?

Don't open your mouth if you don't have any knowledg of ground realities, farm wage in as high as Rs 160 in my village and on top of that we give them two free lunches too , so stop blabbering about farm wages.

bhai india please give me one thali rice with daal . thanks :partay: nhi nhi chay khany ke baad yaar chaay abhi mat lao thandi ho jay gee . or haan paani cold hona chayee india bhai .:omghaha:

You and i see this from different angles.Money can come from cutting Government waist full spending or programme that no longer are required.

According to me this is wasteful spending. Being a student, i am more concerned about the harm high government deficit would cause to job market.

They way i see it if the money will reach the needy who in turn will buy the goods and services they require thus creating jobs and extra taxation for the government.

That would have been a scenario if government would have done it while running a moderate fiscal deficit.

The major share of inflation would not come from people spending more money but from deficit financing measures of government.

Agriculture has a share of 16% in India's GDP but employs 52% of population, a large part of which is disguise unemployed.

The agricultural labour has to move towards industry as Agriculture does not have capacity to soak so much of it.

Handouts are not good for sustainable growth. They make people dependent on provider, in this case government and ensures that they would remain captive vote banks.

Wrong examples soviet economy was resource based and involved in cold war ,almost had no industrial base and Greeks enjoyed one the best benefits in the world.A lot more then few bucks a day that this scheme will provide.

Greece has a much smaller population than India.

Better fit would be example of chile.

From now onwards India will have two defence budgets .:cheers:
But we want transparency .Every penny worth food must be accounted for.

india-rotting-grain2.jpg

Here is an example of storage facilities !!!!

this is a complete waste :cry: