India could sign a $6 billion deal for five S-400 by the end of 2016

Son,

When you buy a car, You Buy a "Car" Not the Engines or the Seats !
Hint : STOP READING BLOGS.

And, Plz dont tell me You know ALL about Indian Purchases, while All of the pakistani Weapons are kept "Secret".
The Truth is No one Knows the Clear Status of the Purchase, but given the fact that India takes the defence of strategic assets very very very seriously, and the fact that It could get Nuclear Subs in 1980s, S 300s were an easy acquisition, till an Indian Alternative ( Cheaper & mass produced ) was on the table.

http://www.deagel.com/Air-Defense-Systems/S-300PMU1_a000372001.aspx
hey, drop it. No need to discuss it.
regards

Nope, it is the full system and not one but 6.

http://missilethreat.com/russian-s-300-to-go-to-india/
Officially it is undeclared, but yes rumour is there that S300 is deployed for the protection if New Delhi.

Wait, why are you buying this when you have your own ABM now.....?

Because Indian ABM is not ready yet. the AAD, and PDVs are the tech demostrator and the only information available on the public domain. The actual missile would be based on the these technologies -- and is developed according to the phase - 1 and according to senior scientist Saraswat the Phase-1 is comparable to PAC-3 air defence system.

However Phase 2 which have AD-1 and AD-2, which is the system more comparable to US THAAD and instead of fuse detonation will have hard kill payload..

For the Starter ABM is not only the Missile or the Swordfish Radar, it is just a small part of the System. What is left is the Space based and Ground Survellance Radar for the Early Warning System. The GSAT-7 have IR sensor on its payloads which can also be part of this ABM system. Direct energy weapon is also needed to complete the tier. For cruise Missile protection the Aerostat mounted Radars are needed, and for the short range tactical missile defence Iron dome needed to be procured and supported by indegenous ASTRA, and Spyder MSAM. Now if S-400 is inducted, this could also become one the system or a tier of the Air defence system of India.

Here is the AAD Ashwin video of interception.

For S-400 its a Long Range SAM, with the Anti Ballastic Missile capability as the Secondary. Looking at the distance of closeness of the border between India and Pakistan, and many important cities close to the border, S-400 could be useful for the Air defence against Cruise Missiles and short range Ballastic Missile.

Wait, why are you buying this when you have your own ABM now.....?

S-400 is not a BMD. It has some characteristics of BMD as every long range SAM has (limited; but good enough for repainted North Koren and Chinese junk that Pakistan field), but its primary function is to snipe enemy aircrafts: AWACS, Transport, and Tankers at extremely long range of 400 Km, and Fighter aircrafts at short range of 100-150 Km.

phir to acha hai agar iss saal ke end main bhi ho jaye to