India-China Buy-Buy

If we are discussing the trade inequality between India and China then it's a different ball game altogether. I think China have an upper hand on all the countries when it comes to trade.

Agreed.

We however trying to contribute more to the trade relation between India and China and as Premier Wen suggested, China will also act with benevolence as she is e the elder in trade relation.

China may act with "benevolence" as you say, but in order for that to happen, outstanding issues with China will have to be resolved. As mentioned in the original article that started this entire discussion, absolutely no headway was made on any of these issues.

Aaghaz-e-ishq hay, rota hay kya!
Aagay aagay dekh, hota hay kya :-)

Fair enough. We will see how this goes. But for the record, the individual who you should be asking to relax is Mohinder Singh.
Ye ishq nahin aasan ,bas itna samajh lije,
ek aag ka dariya hai , aur doob ke jana hai

Nothing is easy to come by.Have to strive hard for any relationship/partnership.

Come now! You can do better than that. If "China is not in a position to make extensive investments", what was Premier Wen doing in Pakistan?

And by the way, Chinese foreign investment in 2010 alone exceeded $50B!

China investment overseas to top 50 billion dollars in 2010 - LANKA BUSINESS ONLINE

Trade between India and China as it stands is NOT a win-win game. Please read the first post again - that is what the article alludes to.

Don't know much about his Pakistan visit.

Author seemed to be irked up with the trade disparity between India and China. Fair reason to be irked up.

Why trade deficit with China makes India any more loser than Pakistan, BD or US for that matter?

Agreed.

China may act with "benevolence" as you say, but in order for that to happen, outstanding issues with China will have to be resolved. As mentioned in the original article that started this entire discussion, absolutely no headway was made on any of these issues.

No I don't think so. So far unlike Indo-Pak relation, Indo-China trade relation was unaffected by outstanding issue. Also when Wen says something, I will take his word(and silence!) more seriously than the author or Mr Obama for that matter.

During Premier Wen's trip, how much Chinese investment in India was agreed to and signed?

Our govt. recently opened to chinese investment otherwise we used to discourage them or reject their investment saying security concerns.

'We Are Still Suspicious of Chinese Investment in India'

news.outlookindia.com | 'We Are Still Suspicious of Chinese Investment in India'

Huawei To Invest Over $2 Bn In India
The Hindu : Business / Companies : RCom in pact with China Development Bank for USD 1.93 bn loan

The Hindu Business Line : India, China ink 48 deals worth over $16 b

India, China ink 48 deals worth over US$16 billion

The Hindu Business Line : India, China ink 48 deals worth over $16 b

Trade between India and China as it stands is NOT a win-win game. Please read the first post again - that is what the article alludes to.

What exactly is your point? If it is that the trade as of now is skewed in favour of China,realise it gives India quite a bit of leverage. The trade relationship(since China does not buy any Indian bonds:P) is far more important to China as it currently stands. If China does not give access to Indian Pharma & IT companies, then be rest assured there will be pressure building up to squeeze Chinese imports. There is no such thing as a free lunch in international trade. India's importance to China will only grow as it becomes an important trade partner. China's importance to India is currently not high especially since iron ore exports are facing opposition. If China does not move quickly to change that, sooner or later they will find themselves squeezed. There are enough indications that the Chinese will move towards rectifying that imbalance.

Already happened in some cases

Chinese milk is banned in India

NTPC(largest power producer in India)can only buy those power equipments which r manufactured inside India.

I think Chinese mobiles r now also banned here.

In the coming yrs u can expect more

I think Chinese mobiles r now also banned here.
actually those mobiles are not banned because they are chinese but because they dont have IMEI NO. which is a international rule for security reasons

Ah! But wouldn't you say that's a different topic altogether. Mittal's sales are not India's exports. That is what we were talking about.

Bestway UK is a giant retailer owned by Sir Anwar Parvaiz, who hails from Pakistan. I wouldn't count the billions of pounds of Bestway revenue as Pakistan's exports.

But he's not pakistani only of pakistani origion.

On the other hand Laxmi Mittal still holds Indian Passport and have a home here and lives half of the year in India. His children marred and staying in India.

So Laxmi Mittal is a Indian born in India and still holds Indian citizenship. :bunny:

The problem with India is that India retains a quasi-colonial mentality. They are predatory toward neighboring countries and disdainful toward non-Western people, especially Chinese.

Until that changes, there is no chance of normal relations between the two countries. I think only a second Sino-Indian War will be enough to finally overthrown the New Delhi government and create a more peaceful India playing a more responsible role in South Asia.

HongWu keeps nailing it right about the indian colonial mentality!
They want to be the next Great Britain crown!

One good example of this would be the indians self proclaimed economic miracle. Indian investor only see themselves as what they can exploit for profit. Therefore despite record economic gains and employment creation India has seen very little poverty uplifts. This is synchronous to classical colonial mentality where powers looked to over seas territory for continued supply of cheap / slave labor to be competitive in production.

I kinda find it funny when Pakistani members interfere in India-China issues.

When two adults speak,the child should listen and keep quiet.

And its amateur that when two brothers speak, the "saala" should stand aside quiet in respect. But India keep poking in with its potty mouth until China whips out its large one and shows who is the boss..

So it's entirely in our favour...

Not only are you buying things from us, but you're also borrowing our money to pay for it.

Both the countries need trade its good for us. This is WIN-Win situation.
Little bit off topic but Indians will always prefer Pakistan. Whatever we have between India and Pakistan is crystal clear. We are enemies and we are very clear on our stand from day 1.

But china want trade same time she don’t want stable relation with India.

Here numbers of times members are saying nuke India and same time china want trade with us. How???
In long run this rigid policy will be harmful for Chinese not Indians.

Laxmi Mittal still holds Indian Passport and have a home here and lives half of the year in India. His children marred and staying in India.

So Laxmi Mittal is a Indian born in India and still holds Indian citizenship. :bunny:

And how is that relevant to the discussion? Does anything you have said above imply that ArcelorMittal is either an Indian company or that its revenues would be accounted for as Indian export? That is what we were discussing.

And by the way, Sir Anwar spends much of the year in Pakistan too, he has several houses here and Bestway Group is a large investor in Pakistan. For example, Bestway Cement is based entirely in Pakistan and United Bank is co-owned by Bestway. So the point is not whether Mittal's riches or Sir Anwar's riches indirectly come back to help India and Pakistan, respectively. The discussion is about India-China trade and the large trade gap. ArcelorMittal's performance has nothing to do with this.

Don't know much about his Pakistan visit.

Author seemed to be irked up with the trade disparity between India and China. Fair reason to be irked up.

Why trade deficit with China makes India any more loser than Pakistan, BD or US for that matter?

I wouldn't use terms like "loser" because this just gets people emotional. Much better to simply state things as simply as possible.

The Chinese engagement with Pakistan does actually center on investment. Of the roughly $40B worth of deals announced during Premier Wen's visit, most of them were investments in infrastructure and ventures. This is the exact opposite of what he did in India.