India arrests 88 Sri Lankan Fisherman

Lankan Ranger

India arrests 88 Sri Lankan Fisherman

Sri Lanka said Wednesday that talks are underway to seek the release of the 88 of its fishermen who are under Indian custody.

“88 fishermen and 17 trawlers are under Indian custody,” Narendra Rajapaksa, the fisheries ministry spokesman said.

He said Colombo was working with the Sri Lankan High Commission in New Delhi to seek their release.

“We have warned Sri Lankan fishermen to restrict their fishing to Sri Lanka’s 200 mile zone and not to stray in to international waters for their catch”, Rajapaksa added.

Illegal fishing in each other’s waters by fishermen of both countries caused a flurry of diplomatic activity since January.

Sri Lanka News-Adaderana-Truth First - Trying to seek release of 88 fishermen, says Sri Lanka

Thats right, you come into our waters you get arrested, just like our Fishermen got arrested when they go in Srilankan waters.

Today we arrested theirs, tomorrow they will arrest ours. How long will this go on?

India and Sri Lanka should forge a treaty regarding such issues and stop these childish feuds.

Today we arrested theirs, tomorrow they will arrest ours. How long will this go on?

India and Sri Lanka should forge a treaty regarding such issues and stop these childish feuds.

Lets not forget who started this, with all the fanfare and chest thumping.

that's another bully incident, good, earn your disproportional reputation among your neighbors.

Thats right, you come into our waters you get arrested, just like our Fishermen got arrested when they go in Srilankan waters.

U forgot one thing...Some of the Indian fisherman who mistakenly entered Srilankan waters were not even arrested, but shot..atleast Indian coast guard is arresting them and will release them in near future

.Wow!

If this is true then shame on Sri Lanka if the Indian fisherman were not armed and firing at them

Yep and the Indian fishermen might have gone into Srilankan EEZ by mistake, but the Srilankan one caught couple of days back surely didn't make any mistake. They were deliberately shipping in Indian EEZ of the Andhra coast!Thats easily more than 500 Nautical miles away.

The Sri Lankan fishermen in two boats were held at about 120 nautical miles from Kakinada coast. The two boats -- along with the catch, including five tonnes of tuna fish -- were seized.

This is normal, nothing new. SL navy arrests Indians fishermen, and Indian navy arrests SL fishermen.

Yes there is nothing new. SL arrests Indian fishermen, India arrests SL fishermen . The fishermen arrests fishes. The fishes arrest other fishes.

Its a never ending story.

KOI NAHI ....YAAR...DO CHAR DIN ...POLICE SEWA KARKE CHOD DEGI....

ye tho roj ka natak ho gaya hai .......really now i don't give a _______ !!!

You'd think that India would flex it's SIGNIFICANT political and military might in these matters and SL would take notice. Once again weak leadership at the top of GoI. Some high up politicians don't seems to understand the power India has and even less willing to use it.