India appears ambivalent about role as U.S. strategy pivots toward Asia

Khisyaani billi khamba noche. :D

They didn't get nuke deal like India did. They asked for similar treatment but India's non-proliferation record was given as argument by Australia. Its their fault not ours.

India's foreign policy has been independent. We are still working with Russians even when we are increasing relations with US. Same in case of China. Look at our relations with KSA, Iran, Israel etc. All are each other's enemies but India is friend of all.

Romney is so frustrated about India buying oil from Iran that he said India shouldn't buy even an ounce of oil from them. US wanted to stop importing, ended up making India as an exception. :D

India rejected US and European consortium recommendation and pressure for MMRCA deal even when their head of states openly endorsed their product. So what does that signify ?

US really trying to keep India away from China but it is ending up in more cooperation between both Asian giants.

Last but not the least, we don't have to get lecture from someone on independent foreign policy. Back stabbing, we all know who back stabbed whom in WoT.

Vibhishan. He took the side of right and justice. May be people should learn few things from him. Accessory to crime is equivalent to crime itself.

Actually that's inaccurate. The United States itself wants India to have strategic autonomy, because India's strategic autonomy is in their best interests too.

A pro-US India would mean, an anti-US Pakistan. Given the fact that Pakistan entirely depends on the US for economic growth (which isnt the case with India) and given the fact that Pakistan is worth around 7 decades of investments for the US, neither the US not Pakistan is not gonna give up on each other atleast for the short to the mid-term. Especially with their current war on terror efforts. India also desires the United States to be present in the region, without infringing upon her sovereignty, because the US presence in this region is also a Chinese deterrent. The only way to achieve this, i.e a pro-US India, a pro-US Pakistan and a credible deterrent to China, is through a strategically autonomous India.

From the American perspective, a strong India will not only balance out the power with China, but a pro-American India will give the Americans more credibility in the region. This is why India supports US occupation of Afghanistan. India is also getting contracts out of Afghanistan which is once again profitable for us.

This equation however might change, if the US decides to dump Pakistan.

Pakistan are ready to dump US and moving closer to china and russia .we all know that. Nato country wants to leave afghanistan asap they are not going to stay behind in Af for economical reason same for US .
If we see our neighborwood we dont have any friends there is some thing wrong in our policy and once US depart from Af they will abundant it like they did it in past and pakistan is not needed to provide logistic support.so the leverage they enjoy of pakistan will be lost completely and we will see pakistan member of SCO ..
If we think our foriegn policy is independent then why we consider china our enemy .if we go too close to US we will lost russia .

A pro-India US certainly does not mean an anti-Pakistan US. US is practicing multi-lateralism because of its critical interests in the area. You are very wrong in your assessment here.

In the 1960s, US attempted to follow the strategy of Pivotal Statecraft with regard to India and Pakistan. The strategy entailed that as US had influence and leverages in both India and Pakistan, it could manipulate or coerce both countries to find solutions to bilateral problems, under US auspices. However, the attempt failed as India had an alternative in the form of Russia and Pakistan looked for Chinese support.

Apparently, US is attempting to follow a similar strategic posture again. Interestingly, in the ensuing geo-political environment India has no other entity to align with except the USA, whereas Pakistan can still lean towards China and Russia and frustrate US desires.

India in these and emerging environment has placed itself in a corner and has only one way out - USA.

Which also means by default, that even if India doesn't want to, it will come in conflict with Chinese and Russian interests in due course.

A pro-India US doesn't necsercarily mean anti-Pakistan US but Pakistan Has managed alienate the US and most of the West and turn them against Pakistan. This has nothing to do with India but a failure of Paksitani foreign policy.

If we see our neighborwood we dont have any friends there is some thing wrong in our policy

There is nothing wrong in our policy. Its just that we are surrounded by pissants.

and once US depart from Af they will abundant it like they did it in past and pakistan is not needed to provide logistic support.so the leverage they enjoy of pakistan will be lost completely and we will see pakistan member of SCO ..
If we think our foriegn policy is independent then why we consider china our enemy .if we go too close to US we will lost russia .

I think you misunderstood the word independent. Foreign policy of any nation even the US, cannot be independent. Cuz it deals with relationships.

By independent here, we mean Non aligned. We have bilateral relations with all. We dont take sides. BTW China is not considered an enemy, but a competitor. The security threat that is frequently spoken about is because China attacked in 1962, thats all. Nothing more than that.

Khisyaani billi khamba noche. :D

They didn't get nuke deal like India did. They asked for similar treatment but India's non-proliferation record was given as argument by Australia. Its their fault not ours.

India's foreign policy has been independent. We are still working with Russians even when we are increasing relations with US. Same in case of China. Look at our relations with KSA, Iran, Israel etc. All are each other's enemies but India is friend of all.

Romney is so frustrated about India buying oil from Iran that he said India shouldn't buy even an ounce of oil from them. US wanted to stop importing, ended up making India as an exception. :D

India rejected US and European consortium recommendation and pressure for MMRCA deal even when their head of states openly endorsed their product. So what does that signify ?

US really trying to keep India away from China but it is ending up in more cooperation between both Asian giants.

Last but not the least, we don't have to get lecture from someone on independent foreign policy. Back stabbing, we all know who back stabbed whom in WoT.

Vibhishan. He took the side of right and justice. May be people should learn few things from him. Accessory to crime is equivalent to crime itself.

The article under discussion has been written by Simon Denyer and Rama Lakshmi in Washington Post, an American and an Indian.

Kya ye log Khisyaani billi ka khamba noche gein.

Ya tum Khisyaani billi ho aur khamba noche rahi ho, kiyunke in logon ne sach bola hai.

Simon Denyer is not the only one saying this. There are many other key American journalists and analysts who are saying the same thing.

Which means gradually the pressure is building on India. And that pressure is telling by the way Indian officials are running to Washington.

Your illustrative ignorance is not going to change the course of future happenings. It may just let you create a mutual praise group here, who may be equally and illustriously ignorant about the emerging geo-political environment and realities.

US is not going to wait for India to decide forever. It may find alternatives beyond a certain stage.

It is India which has no alternative. So whereas you guys may think that India is a big power and can sustain US ignoring India, at the end of the day you may be standing alone in this region, waiting for remittances from Indian workers abroad to sustain your economy, which the IMF has already said would grow around 4.9 %.

You may have your way on this forum by banning discussion of India's social la misrable, internally you will remain a bunch of wretched la misrables without any ban on the growth of lesser Indians.

The article under discussion has been written by Simon Denyer and Rama Lakshmi in Washington Post, an American and an Indian.

Kya ye log Khisyaani billi ka khamba noche gein.

Ya tum Khisyaani billi ho aur khamba noche rahi ho, kiyunke in logon ne sach bola hai.

Simon Denyer is not the only one saying this. There are many other key American journalists and analysts who are saying the same thing.

Which means gradually the pressure is building on India. And that pressure is telling by the way Indian officials are running to Washington.
Your illustrative ignorance is not going to change the course of future happenings. It may just let you create a mutual praise group here, who may be equally and illustriously ignorant about the emerging geo-political environment and realities.
US is not going to wait for India to decide forever. It may find alternatives beyond a certain stage.
It is India which has no alternative. So whereas you guys may think that India is a big power and can sustain US ignoring India, at the end of the day you may be standing alone in this region, waiting for remittances from Indian workers abroad to sustain your economy, which the IMF has already said would grow around 4.9 %.
You may have your way on this forum by banning discussion of India's social la misrable, internally you will remain a bunch of wretched la misrables without any ban on the growth of lesser Indians.
Geo-political recommendation was made by US asking India to increase its depth in Afghanistan and play a major role. India won't send its troops but will help in development of Afghanistan. This is the reality. Go do some research and you will find what is India's position in the world.

Last time I checked, Germany Chancellor, France President, US President, UK Prime Minister came running to India and openly supported their products for MMRCA deal. Germany even went to blame Pakistan on terrorism. So this is the reality. We know who are running to where

Should I also give the references of various renowned think tanks of US like RAND that projects India as a potent power which should be kept on friendly side and treat with respect.

Do you really know how many Indians live in US and how much they are needed in US. Indian companies provides thousands of jobs to US and UK citizens and it is said by Obama and Cameroon.

UK and other European nations pushed for Eurofighter as it would have generated thousands of jobs in their country for at least a decade.

It all comes down to money. US is going through huge unemployment and it needs contracts from countries like India to provide jobs. Should I tell you the number of jobs which were saved when India signed the Globemaster deal. Same happened in C-130 deal.

India knows that it needs these western nations and they feel the same. Its a trade relation and no one is going to stop it. This happens because of India's economy and its market. May be you should also learn about this change in policy by the western nations considering their economic condition.

Understand the economy as power of this century. It is a weapon if used smartly. People call it that they are milking India, we say we are keeping these world powers on our side on basis of our money and economy.

That's our economic power and senior posters from Pakistan also agreed with me in past.

Oh pooh. a bunch of desperate paks and chines crying over some Indo-US
co-op. INDIA has not yet started any real military co-operation with USA
as of now, there's only a buyer-seller relationship so far, and I believe thats
how it should be. India should maintain such a relation with all favourable
major powers of the world, let it be USA, Russia, France/EU, and maybe
even China in future:azn:

As a nation, we should tilt to a various angles and make cozy with certain
nations at certain times in certain ways, thats just what ANY nation in the
world did, does, or would do. Technically, communist USSR and capitalist
Western allies should never have co-operated, but when nazi Germany came
up, they HAD to. communist China and same capitalist USA shouldn't have
co-operated either, but when USSR had risen as a great threat for USA/West,
US took China into confidence and began feeding it weapons and support (how
come over-active Chinese members didn't goddamn complain when they're
lamb-fcuked govt. began recieving Black Hawks from Sikorsky??? ) Now that
India is recieving C-130Js or C-17s, they (along with their Pak friend that
lives and breathes American aid) start crying! ).

But when India and USA (which really don't have any big ideological difference)
start some little co-op in some sectors, a hue and cry is raised, as if...as if, India
has leased out the Tezper AFB to the USAF for 99 years, so that they can base
their Northrop B-2s to strike deep and strike hard into China

India will continue to get what it wants and how it wants, as and when it
wants, and we will violate any treaty, and formulate ways to get away unscatched.

I think a strong long-term partnership with USA will be beneficial to our needs,
we need to pursue all types of lethal weapons and use our partnership with
USA and the resulting benefits to avoid potential sanctions.

THIS MESSAGE IS FOR TICKER

regarding this statenment from you "
and the pessure is building you say >>>

PLEASE EXPLAIN USA alternative to INDIA WHO CAN REPLACE INDIA AS A usa ally withy india,s military & economic muscle of today & the next decade. ?????

secondly this pressure building on india by USA you claiming is not working let me explain...

INDIA declined MMRCA deal to USA
India declined troops for AFGHANISTAN
India continues good relations with IRAN.

India cannot be pressured by USA and nobody in EUROPE or RUSSIA or mid EAST will break realtions with india on USA say so.

Rising powers with billion people and large FOREX & GDP cannot be manipulated like weak poor isolated nations

DONT CONFUSE INDIA with a weak nation

As much as they hate us deep down because of our success and their Arthashastra policy of befriending the far and attacking the near, india is scared of our J-10 airbases in Tibet, our alliances with Pakistan, Bangaldesh, Sri Lanka, Burma, Nepal and Bhutan, our aircraft carrier battlegroup patrolling the indian ocean and our 3000 nuclear warhead arsenal.

That is the only reason why they aren't going openly hostile yet ;)
Dont make me fart in your face
UfDsujBjm0qoKGl7eN9k6A2.jpg
!!!

You r right, India is a superpower. India import white servants from the US.

All India is showing that it's not a reliable Allie. No other country can trust Indians. As Andrew Jackson said, the only trustworthy Indian is a dead Indian.

Finally the Han supremacist faithfully speaks :fie:

KKK would be real proud i guess:lol:

Some people will sell their soul just to enjoy Indo-phobic deviant pleasures.

I'm pretty sure people on this forum of Native American heritage such as Thomas (Military Professional) will find your post very comforting.

You massacre , pillage and take away the lands of Native Americans / Red Indians and finally consider them worthy of death. :sick:

Finally the Han supremacist faithfully speaks :fie:

KKK would be real proud i guess:lol:

Some people will sell their soul just to enjoy Indo-phobic deviant pleasures.

I'm pretty sure people on this forum of Native American heritage such as Thomas (Military Professional) will find your post very comforting.

You massacre , pillage and take away the lands of Native Americans / Red Indians and finally consider them worthy of death. :sick:

I'm just quoting from a for mer US president. Don't take it personally.

If you don't, your economy will remain, if at all, 1/8th of the US. To become something that India wants to, where will it sell its products, who will come and invest in India. The US may still do it as an alternative to China but will use it as a political leverage to reduce it at will.

This will hurt India much more than US who could find an alternative to India as well.

Not subjugating to US policy does not means our growth will stop n our economy will become stagnant, had been this reason China would have never grown economically to this stature!! China has brazenly opposed US in almost all international affairs along with Russia since ages but by selling to US and western powers only they have become economically so strong!!

Policy makers in US are not so short sighted that they will contain Indian Economy to punish India for not subjugating to it!!!

If Indian economy and manufacturing sector grows it will definitely help entire world to find alternate solution other than China, observing recent Chinese hegemony in rare earth element has raised alarm bell in several parts of the world!!

I'm just quoting from a for mer US president. Don't take it personally.

Idiot you didn't even know what you were qouting LOL,andrew jackson refers to the red indians not the indians of the subcontinent.And that u quote this racist who committed systematic genocide shows your mentality and your true colours despite the often claims by chinese members here denouncing usa for crime against red indians.

to all pakistanis discussing Indian independence and sovereignty @ :)

Suraj Mein Lage Dhabba Fitrat ke Karishme hai
Boot Hum ko Kahi Kaafir Allah Ke Marzi Hai

;)