India ahead of China in quality of scientific papers

jbond197

India ahead of China in quality of scientific papers

India is well ahead of China in the quality of its scientific papers, though it lags in growth in the number of papers, a study has revealed.

The quality of papers is determined by the number of citations per article, and this has gone by 2 to 2.7 over the past five years for papers from Indian scientists, says the study done by Elsevier, a world-leader in medical and scientific publications. On the other hand, articles from Chinese scientists are found to have a citation factor of 2.2.

Michiel Kolman, senior vice-president of Elsevier in charge of global academic relations, said the company's database also showed that India was steadily gaining global leadership in different research areas. An analysis of research leadership areas from 2006 to 2010 showed that India was a global leader in 159 research areas, against 130 for the previous five years.

Noting that “India is a science powerhouse in the making,” Dr. Kolman said the study had also shown that India had the greatest strength in chemistry: 38 per cent of articles in India's 159 leadership areas fell under the broad category of chemistry. This was followed by engineering (15 per cent), biology and biotechnology (14 per cent), mathematics and physics (10 per cent), computer science (5 per cent) and medical science (4 per cent).

Dr. Kolman said Elsevier's database showed that the current growth in the scientific articles from India came typically from universities rather than scientific institutions.

has to be the biggest joke..after working with Indian engineers and technicians side by side..India like any mass populated country produces quantity rather than quality!

Now you are talking...:P

16.gif

Yea right! So you think you were the smart one in the room? :lol:

Technicians don't write scientific papers, they could write manuals. Academicians and PHD, MS Candidates do.

Couldn't control the jealously..could you :azn:

Indian Press is obsessed, like restraining order psycho stalker obsessed, with China.

I know of at least two Chinese with Nobel in Chemistry, so this article is questionable too.

“India – A Scientific Super Power to be? ” Dr. Michiel Kolman , Senior Vice President , Elsevier, raised this thought-provoking question in his presentation on India’s research performance over the last five years at the 99th Indian Science Congress. India retains its position in the top 10 nations worldwide and also shows an impressive growth of 14.3% which is exceeded only by China with 22.8% among the top 10 nations.

“India is a science powerhouse in the making, as reflected by its enormous growth. It does have a fierce competitor in China, which has an even higher growth, but India scores higher in terms of quality” stated Dr. Kolman. :cheers:

99th Indian Science Congress discusses

Didn't know that Dr Michiel Kolman= Indian media:lol:

Nahi not possible ....... coz u see bhagwaan ne sirf do logo ko aakal di hain , chinese and pakistanis...
Bakhi hum to sab ayevehi Tp karne school aur college jaate hai:hitwall:

Iran, China, India and Brazil are the only developing countries among 31 nations with 97.5% of the world's total scientific productivity. The remaining 162 developing countries contribute less than 2.5% of the world's scientific output.

China, Brazil and India lead southern science output - SciDev.Net

I think Pakistan belongs to the 2.5%.:smokin:

Look where he is presenting. I'm not a scientist, but I would imagine this type of presentation is considered in poor taste outside of India

Why whats wrong with where he is presenting? He is talking facts not giving his opinion. If you have access to SciVal spotlight go look it up yourself.

Citations are influenced by what field people publish in, not just quality of the articles.

For example, biochemistry papers have 10 citations on average, while math papers have 1.

Agree. :cheers:

---------- Post added at 08:02 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:00 AM ----------

Its not worth discussing. the quality of the Indian research is bad except in some research institutes. I cant comment abt China coz i have not seen it myself but from what i have heard they are far ahead in most areas. Moreover Chinese researchers are very dedicated to their research which lacks in India.