Idea no.3: IT and other Tech solutions for Pakistan

Another reason I have been reluctant in starting such a thread is while I have few ideas how to start such a program with short, medium and long term goals, Pakistanis on dark net are talking about the need for such initiative but the reality is this idea of NSA type org is not going to catch traction

@R Wing , @zulu I understand where you guys are coming from but the problem is how many realize the importance of such initiative incompetent politicians who could better be described as low level thugs, corrupt stinking useless bureaucracy which cannot even think properly, faujis with all due respect to whom only respect worth person is a uniformed one coming off officer assembly line.

Look at the importance of the subject Mods too haven't given a flying f to thread.

While R Wing is right people do sacrifice a lot in the name of patriotism, but for hardcore professionals the choice is impossible we have seen the corporate world, interacted with bureaucracy, politicians, uniformed how much altruism one sees there is a general guideline.

Honestly as times I feel I am wasting my time by contributing to forums, I am better off designing my own software and gadgets and enjoy listening to my personally designed MP3 player around VS1053 chip with these monsters:

Bluedio Victory with PPS12 drivers

Good things is bought them earlier, V2 is totally crap.

Sorry probably over work, damn traffic mess in lhr, hot weather and consistent dust allergy is causing melancholy.

Ha HA come on buddy do u think even that topic understood by many ? let me give u example generally people they install latest OS,antivirus,firewall and such for laptop,pc ,tab,mobile(where very few to bother to put security ),smart tv and all and start thinking we are safe but everyone forgetting the main component the router weakest link of all and once u compromise it every devices attach to it in your hand why bother to hack one by one ;)
i m not saying to look anyone just think .start watching and trust me things coming into shape that way u can also invite independent minds to work project wise.Whats in it for u any of u ?freedom ,peace of mind,boss of your own better scope than regular job think and design some which u can consider u can sell in any market.Whats in it for Pakistan ???foreign exchange,cyber security,potent weapon for future against any enemy any where.BTW the project u said making fast computer using 3-4 ps4 kindly sent me its link love to read and in meantime read that article israel genertae over 1 billion $ just by cyber security products and services
https://www.jpost.com/Israel-News/I...ceeds-1-billion-for-first-time-in-2018-578906
Another reason I have been reluctant in starting such a thread is while I have few ideas how to start such a program with short, medium and long term goals, Pakistanis on dark net are talking about the need for such initiative but the reality is this idea of NSA type org is not going to catch traction

@R Wing , @zulu I understand where you guys are coming from but the problem is how many realize the importance of such initiative incompetent politicians who could better be described as low level thugs, corrupt stinking useless bureaucracy which cannot even think properly, faujis with all due respect to whom only respect worth person is a uniformed one coming off officer assembly line.

Look at the importance of the subject Mods too haven't given a flying f to thread.

While R Wing is right people do sacrifice a lot in the name of patriotism, but for hardcore professionals the choice is impossible we have seen the corporate world, interacted with bureaucracy, politicians, uniformed how much altruism one sees there is a general guideline.

Honestly as times I feel I am wasting my time by contributing to forums, I am better off designing my own software and gadgets and enjoy listening to my personally designed MP3 player around VS1053 chip with these monsters:

Bluedio Victory with PPS12 drivers

Good things is bought them earlier, V2 is totally crap.

Sorry probably over work, damn traffic mess in lhr, hot weather and consistent dust allergy is causing melancholy.

we do have a lot of awareness and NR3C is full of talented people, the thing is people at top at the moment are old school mostly and slowly and gradually as young blood comes things will change

That dear sir is one aspect of a major problem, I am often asked so and so nation is out friends we should trust them and my answer has always been know the difference between trust and faith. Chinese have been installing malware (hardware based) for over a decade now.

One of my friends who got this "friendly donation" laptop from a friendly country for his organization found it to be very slow when it came to Internet usage and was discussing the same with me, I asked him to bring it over to my place.

Now I connect it to my own equipment and start using it, man this machine is sending data like crazy, over half the packets are being dropped. SO I run a few thing and wallah buried deep inside the ACPI tables is very interesting piece of code.

Had to rework to whole damned tables and rework the BIOS its not really fun to reprogram a protected bios, only to find that two months down the road the old laptop was upgraded with a new model free of cost.

Nutshell we do not even know what is happening to our data...

@zulu here are few links on exploring super computers made out of PS3

https://phys.org/news/2010-12-air-playstation-3s-supercomputer.html

https://www.datacenterdynamics.com/analysis/the-playstation-supercomputer/

https://www.zdnet.com/article/build-an-8-ps3-supercomputer/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_3_cluster

I had a post grad level thesis somewhere I think from stanford, if I find it I'll share on google drive. After firmware 3.21 when Sony took back other OS support, incidentally I was among the first few to propose having a dual NOR/NAND for PS3 developed my own model shared it with a team, unfortunately one of the team members along few investors launched a commercial version. I think I still may have two of hem lying around.

That dear sir is one aspect of a major problem, I am often asked so and so nation is out friends we should trust them and my answer has always been know the difference between trust and faith. Chinese have been installing malware (hardware based) for over a decade now.

One of my friends who got this "friendly donation" laptop from a friendly country for his organization found it to be very slow when it came to Internet usage and was discussing the same with me, I asked him to bring it over to my place.

Now I connect it to my own equipment and start using it, man this machine is sending data like crazy, over half the packets are being dropped. SO I run a few thing and wallah buried deep inside the ACPI tables is very interesting piece of code.

Had to rework to whole damned tables and rework the BIOS its not really fun to reprogram a protected bios, only to find that two months down the road the old laptop was upgraded with a new model free of cost.

Nutshell we do not even know what is happening to our data...

@zulu here are few links on exploring super computers made out of PS3

https://phys.org/news/2010-12-air-playstation-3s-supercomputer.html

https://www.datacenterdynamics.com/analysis/the-playstation-supercomputer/

https://www.zdnet.com/article/build-an-8-ps3-supercomputer/

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation_3_cluster

I had a post grad level thesis somewhere I think from stanford, if I find it I'll share on google drive. After firmware 3.21 when Sony took back other OS support, incidentally I was among the first few to propose having a dual NOR/NAND for PS3 developed my own model shared it with a team, unfortunately one of the team members along few investors launched a commercial version. I think I still may have two of hem lying around.

Are you currently working in the cyber security sector in Pakistan?

If you listen to these retards talking they would seem to look like they know everything and you are just an idiot. While working for a big bank put one such idiot by demonstrating how to get root access with a shitty computer in less than 10 minutes. So if the data of Pakistani banks was (I say some new data has been recently been put up recently) for sale8-) it no wonder. In a system which looks at your degree and the awarding institution first and never at your real skills its no big deal.

@zulu , @NA71 , @Sully3 you know we are not looking for programmers/necessarily rather the reverse of it, people who could think outside the platform as observers and can find ways to get in.

iOS and PS4 along Win10 are the most secure platforms and android/chrome are not spywares. LOL.
IOS is pretty secure, i know a few years ago FBI had to go to apple to get access to iphone related to a terrorist and apple refused. also here in the UK i have friend who works for Met police forensic team in the technology department and he tells me breaking into Iphones is pretty hard work and in most cases they are unsucessful and not worth the time, effort and money needed to hack IOS. (though IOS can be hacked for some information by a non secure IOS 3rd party app)

Not so sure about PS network though, 3 years ago when a hacker brought down their entire online network, sony ended up offering the hacker a job to secure the system. althought its common for big companies to employ hackers to work for them but in this particular incident the hacker got the system offline for a few days.

I like iOS both its speed and security not perfect but less flawed than others.FBI paid 1.3 million dollar to some israeli firm to unlock it funny thing some British researcher put paper how to unlock it yourself but it requires physical access after that every game over.But recent iphone models esp those face recognition feature more vulnerable also check this UAE govt software to hack iphone by messages (i wonder did they just re labelled NSA softwares released on dark net ? ) https://www.cnet.com/news/uae-karma-hack-tool-spied-on-iphones-just-by-sending-a-text-report-says/

@baqai aap tu yeh na kahain aap khud jaanty hain under regular service even the best hacker just become automated machine doing job 9-5 .no freedom to think and do things their waya and if wanna do first to ask boss which most of cases are super duffer pehlay ussay samjhaoo phir woh haan ya naa kahyy.one of reason best ones always work as free lancer

@ps3linux sir if u get it would be grateful hardware my passion.now u see just in this forum u are finding special kind of talent imagine how many more u can find just in Pakistan.That was my purpose just to put seed in minds IA with time it will shape itself in all of you.Lot of scope and lots of benefits for Pakistan too.Just look at this karma like softwares lots of scope in defence industry.I think someone(may be myself? )should write an paper requirements,scope and benefits and danger if not taken steps of cyber security products but who gonna read better leave it :) Over 1.2 billion dollar industry for Israel bhai mera tu dil jal giya hai hamary yahan itna talent bus use kiya jaye
IOS is pretty secure, i know a few years ago FBI had to go to apple to get access to iphone related to a terrorist and apple refused. also here in the UK i have friend who works for Met police forensic team in the technology department and he tells me breaking into Iphones is pretty hard work and in most cases they are unsucessful and not worth the time, effort and money needed to hack IOS. (though IOS can be hacked for some information by a non secure IOS 3rd party app)

Not so sure about PS network though, 3 years ago when a hacker brought down their entire online network, sony ended up offering the hacker a job to secure the system. althought its common for big companies to employ hackers to work for them but in this particular incident the hacker got the system offline for a few days.

Are you currently working in the cyber security sector in Pakistan?

Me in cybersecurity sector, I am just an uncultured, uncouth bloody ol civilian, not supposed to have that kind of IQ. Honestly there is no true cybersecurity sector in Pakistan, it's antivirus guys. I am a financial analyst/advisor/planner whichever is required.

Sorry for late reply I was delivering couple of lectures in unis and some budget planning for next year.

iOS is an off shoot of FreeBSD, which in turn has been branched off from Berkley Software Distribution (BSD) a fork from Unix, much like a linux platform. It is undoubtedly very secure but not invulnerable earlier there were jailbreaks of iOS, its not that all vulnerabilities of iOS have been patched rather whosoever finds a potential vulnerability prefers to keep it to him/herself or within a very tightly knitted group no more public releases.

Even PS OS is based upon Free BSD, it does gives one idea about how secure unix based systems are as compared to winblows.

I have utmost respect for Israeli cybersecurity experts particularly those coming off of Unit 8200 assembly line, some of the best in the world; but its not limited to Unit/8200/MIT or PLA Unit 61398 or RSI, I have seen them coming off almost everywhere. Unlike the popular belief that with a proper system of nurturing anyone could be transformed into a leader, I have always believed leaders are born they cannot be mass produced, of course rough edges could be polished but thats all, same way people who could really explore vulnerability of a software/hardware platform cannot be mass produced its a gift, inherent if I must say. Make billo Rani a man... he he he

@ps3linux sir if u get it would be grateful hardware my passion.now u see just in this forum u are finding special kind of talent imagine how many more u can find just in Pakistan.That was my purpose just to put seed in minds IA with time it will shape itself in all of you.Lot of scope and lots of benefits for Pakistan too.Just look at this karma like softwares lots of scope in defence industry.I think someone(may be myself? )should write an paper requirements,scope and benefits and danger if not taken steps of cyber security products but who gonna read better leave it :) Over 1.2 billion dollar industry for Israel bhai mera tu dil jal giya hai hamary yahan itna talent bus use kiya jaye

I know what you mean. O Bhai you have no idea which kind of retard and the screwed up system we are dealing with, imagine me being turned down by QAU physics deptt for a particular PhD in quantum physics, admission denied self finance basis because I did not study physics in B.Sc/M.Sc anybody even considering reading anything on quantum physics should know what he is venturing into.

I am willing to start contributing to the paper but will it have any impact, one thing I am sure is that it's genuine content will be plagiarized and will end up in some retard's presentation, paper or it would become the career building platform for an idiot in public sector/financial institutions.

On a serious note, if any one is seriously considering cybersecurity analysis and is not willing to put in a year or so of hard-work innumerable reading, programming and debugging and rather opt for fast-food solution they should check out the following open source:

Nmap/Zenmap if properly configured the data dump could be utilized to make a very presentable data analysis with python overlay or for that matter with C and its variants.

The possibility are endless even a darn ARM cortex is now available at sub $5 range, and of course a whole array of very interesting solutions could be made with raspberry pie in less than $100.

Just go through this article you'll understand how naive we are when it comes to cybersecurity:

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/feat...ny-chip-to-infiltrate-america-s-top-companies

@waz can we please make this thread sticky?

in today's world anyone who owns a mobile phone and a computer is exposed to this threat. there is no way we can protect ourselves completely but we can only reduce the chances of becoming a victim.

@ps3linux bhai as it established now we all are old ""paapi "" in this and faced our share of govt and private sector incompetence in this field may i suggest we should put some workable suggestions now on the table?i asked mods they are opening inbox facility for us if u interested lets do some brainstorming who knows we can find some way or some project.

I am game.

Just having severe eye allergy problem, will take few days till my new glasses arrive that'd be about 10 days. Meanwhile I am working on the possibilities (I am no doodmsday prophet) but I will outline few things which might happen if we don't start preparing now. World is changing rapidly, from what I gather A.I algorithms are getting even better, I haven't been aware that any of them passed the turing test, but I believe its not too far.

@ps3linux Have you ever wondered why we have been never target of well coordinated cyber attack from enemies?

Get well soon buddy waiting for your paper once people decided we will req mod to open inbox so can easily discuss.i m worried saw some sample on darknet what is on offering its frightening just imagine if any such our enemy get financial backup/govt support what havoc they could create
I am game.

Just having severe eye allergy problem, will take few days till my new glasses arrive that'd be about 10 days. Meanwhile I am working on the possibilities (I am no doodmsday prophet) but I will outline few things which might happen if we don't start preparing now. World is changing rapidly, from what I gather A.I algorithms are getting even better, I haven't been aware that any of them passed the turing test, but I believe its not too far.

He is having allergy issue but if u can share your thoughts with rest of us love to hear it
@ps3linux Have you ever wondered why we have been never target of well coordinated cyber attack from enemies?

Get well soon buddy waiting for your paper once people decided we will req mod to open inbox so can easily discuss.i m worried saw some sample on darknet what is on offering its frightening just imagine if any such our enemy get financial backup/govt support what havoc they could create

He is having allergy issue but if u can share your thoughts with rest of us love to hear it
My opinion is that enemy is just waiting for us to build a huge cyber space,which would be unguarded.On right time they would unleash their cyber weapons on us as we would be unprotected,pretty much sitting ducks.Damage would break us apart.We are moving to 4G,5G,Digital Pakistan etc without any protection.
Our lines of Internet coms are unprotected and unguarded.