Idea no.3: IT and other Tech solutions for Pakistan

Still do u tag me as windows lover ? its for children :) but i just wanna say how much scope and as expert of your field which all of u obviously more than me as i was just DATA ENTRY OPERATOR :( every guy can do for country from his field
Hahaha well said....man Hassan Siddique is ghazi.....and Akhon ka tara......May Allah bless him and his team.

I am no expert just trying to learn ...

Just give you hint....develop your own operating system based on Linux .....India is doing it for last couple of years...no more windows. specially for Govt./Military usage.

Still do u tag me as windows lover ? its for children :) but i just wanna say how much scope and as expert of your field which all of u obviously more than me as i was just DATA ENTRY OPERATOR :( every guy can do for country from his field
It means you are doing some great work....disguised on PDF as DATA ENTRY OPERATOR.....SALUTE

Aisa na keh bhai marwaye ga kiyaa i m simple sedha sadha pure civilian :o::o:
It means you are doing some great work....disguised on PDF as DATA ENTRY OPERATOR.....SALUTE

now its over 9-10 years quitting game was in it back from 1993 bulletin board service time

bhai i used to be one of the few sysops of a BBS in Karachi along with Muhammad Sufi, Anila Weldon (Weldon BBS), Ahsan (Knights Lair BBS) ... my BBS name was "The Twilight Zone BBS"

HAzrat aap bhi meri tarah khi ky purany paapi niklay :) aap ka tu aab special input chahye or if u can inbox me .
bhai i used to be one of the few sysops of a BBS in Karachi along with Muhammad Sufi, Anila Weldon (Weldon BBS), Ahsan (Knights Lair BBS) ... my BBS name was "The Twilight Zone BBS"

sir special input on what jee? at your service if i can help

offtopic whatsup with russians creating a new internet how can thwre be two internets how will users on two different interners connect with each other not social media bs but sharing of information if russian internet is a success how will interter new or old work?

Not to me Sir for Pakistan and yes not for free :) i earlier i suggested NA71 to consider an company designing cyber security products and services Israel doing it for long time and generting huge foreign exchange too also extra weapon over his enemies .Lot of scope in Pakistan too esp defence industry apny bhi loog bhala karain aur mulk ka bhi bus yehi guzarish thi also tag u in previous post check it too.Soon things moving to 5G and its going to become most potent weapon(for both side depends who use it and in what way ) just in this post i pointed out 4-5 potential.
What about bank story i earlier asked ? Recently someone just did that and hack over 8 crores from an branch.So scope in private sector too they will listen now have to issue of bank reputation
sir special input on what jee? at your service if i can help

Sir that can be answer by our more able friends on thread
offtopic whatsup with russians creating a new internet how can thwre be two internets how will users on two different interners connect with each other not social media bs but sharing of information if russian internet is a success how will interter new or old work?

@zulu , @baqai , @NA71

Teen puranay pappi , you can count me in as an innocent bystander.

Found three potential candidates for my cybersec company, so far so good.

Ah good old nixie, still reminds me of the good old day lynx, PuTTY, spoofers, sniffers, all sorts of interesting stuff. I do remember few kids (that time) picked off debian sources, went through all the sources, recompiled and repackaged as I don't remember Paklinux or green-flag linux something like that, it was available on two CDs and available in CD form I think from tower area and of course few FTP sites.

Nixie is a pretty mature platform now, best of both world is its free and open source.

While working for one of the financial institution in Pakistan there was once a major crash lot of data was corrupted the vendor was asking too much money in dollar terms, which eventually turned out to be due to external intrusion there was one geek there he and I could communicate, we did make a new proposal (me not in the IT deptt) to rebuilt the corporate data platform bottom up from scratch, nixie was the platform selected, DB was made out of opensource, now they have one of the most sophisticated platform and they are absolute masters in it with zero problems, to the extent that they have considered many times to setup a new IT company and sell the software thus developed. Winblows is rarely used there its pure nixie enviro.

Like I said its not that there is shortage of right people here what they need is recognition (not the kind of recognition which is usually accorded, one uniformed guy in front and two at the back carrying loaded guns and treated like some terrorists), respect, money and freedom. Difficult here. I do remember meeting few people two did setup their own company in lahore for cybersecurity never heard of them again. Few in Isb and khi working for MNC and selling their prepacked cybersecurity solutions (closed sources).

Personally I have always loved IBM cell-core processors, their RISC instruction set, the check methods built in to the hardware to kill processes demanding too much of resources or halting other processes. You know you could still make a super computer out of 4-8 PS3 with YDL and right configuration.

BTW: IT and cybersecurity are not my profession if you know what I mean, never was interested or needed for that matter to work as stenographer (read data entry) or system administrator (glorified P.A or windows installation, printer,mouse,keyboard and scanner troubleshooting experrrrrrrrrrrrrt PUN intended).

Here is another one few years back went to this organization don't want to name, they asked me to submit my cell there which was BB Z10, by looking at it he got scared like he has seen something which will blast in his face. I was like what the f*, and asked whats wrong, he says we are scared of blackberry like its the most sophisticated terrorist platform and I asked why he said something called BBM, imagine.

Now I go meet the big boss heading the project, besides discussion on the business he tells me we are very sophisticated in terms of IT we just got our latest system installed with windows 7 by a international brand having their rep office in the diplomatic enclave isb, the server is brand new and now we are all linked to the outside world and can pull a lot of data for research. I said OK thats great, wonderful in his inflated status calls in his IT guys who turns out to be a NCO. So I ask what is the server OS Sun Solaris, Unix, Linux or what looks at me like I am talking gibberish. Says server is the latest one Ok.

Next question knowing what your organization is data security is of utmost importance, so how do you manage that? Ans . Don’t know but we have firewall and latest antivirus.

OK

So you would need network traffic analyzer, packet drop analysis, port sniffing, keylogging, piggyback malware, intrusion detection and lot of expertise local developed, they are like OKKKKKKKKKKKKKK (looking at me like watching E.T) and say we will definitely ask the vendor.

Time for me to get out and pick up my intrusion device of BB-Z10 with its BBM.:hitwall::hitwall::hitwall::o:

Hackers Eve
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carolyn_Meinel

Learned a lot from her, more of a Fortran Lady, but still taught a lot of techniques to C++, VB idiots like me.​

i feel old hehe, a lil recap of myself

sysop The Twilight Zone BBS back in pre internet days, than came internet revolution and digicom and IBM account spamming at that time i was very active on IRC and was admin on #pakistan undernet and voiced user on #mp3tunes with a regular pain in butt on #delusion and other channels, few times used to go to dalnet but it wasnt my thing. At that time computer science was not a "proper" field and only option was to take diploma from petromen and become "CHOTU" or data entry operator, being from a family from medical background (my father's first cousin was Dr Fareed Baqai who established Baqai Medical University and Hospital) i ended up in MBBS (which was NOT my cup of tea)

When Mushy came and introduced the boom of I.T i dropped out of medicine and joined BSc I.T at APIIT getting a degree from Staffordshire University UK, got my first real job at WorldCALL Broadband Limited Karachi as Junior Engineer in MIS (VAS) department where i was exclusively working on CLI Linux looking after and creating gaming servers, ftp servers, torrent servers, in house media channels.

From there i went to NIFTeTRUST (NIFT) where i got into info sec and did marketing and sales, from there i joined Atrium Cinemas when it launched as their Head Of I.T and my last stint was/is Assistant Technical Director at Valkyrie, our firm was hired to do the hologram campaign of Mr Bilawal Bhutto Zardari for election 2018 where i lead the technical team and developed mobile hologram platform from scratch running on a linux platform.

i feel old hehe, a lil recap of myself

sysop The Twilight Zone BBS back in pre internet days, than came internet revolution and digicom and IBM account spamming at that time i was very active on IRC and was admin on #pakistan undernet and voiced user on #mp3tunes with a regular pain in butt on #delusion and other channels, few times used to go to dalnet but it wasnt my thing. At that time computer science was not a "proper" field and only option was to take diploma from petromen and become "CHOTU" or data entry operator, being from a family from medical background (my father's first cousin was Dr Fareed Baqai who established Baqai Medical University and Hospital) i ended up in MBBS (which was NOT my cup of tea)

When Mushy came and introduced the boom of I.T i dropped out of medicine and joined BSc I.T at APIIT getting a degree from Staffordshire University UK, got my first real job at WorldCALL Broadband Limited Karachi as Junior Engineer in MIS (VAS) department where i was exclusively working on CLI Linux looking after and creating gaming servers, ftp servers, torrent servers, in house media channels.

From there i went to NIFTeTRUST (NIFT) where i got into info sec and did marketing and sales, from there i joined Atrium Cinemas when it launched as their Head Of I.T and my last stint was/is Assistant Technical Director at Valkyrie, our firm was hired to do the hologram campaign of Mr Bilawal Bhutto Zardari for election 2018 where i lead the technical team and developed mobile hologram platform from scratch running on a linux platform.

See what I meant No shortage of people with the right aptitude, experience and expertise. Linux CLI man the right kind of guy. I don't know if you remember the horrors of installing nixie kernel 1.xx, problems with real expensive CD writers/writing and long file names issues during CD copying.

Had lot of interaction with Worldcall people back in the day when they started first dedicated cable net in lhr full 64kb bandwidth, these guys were really good with linux. Another ones good with linux were POL I think the company was owned by Qazi Hussains son.

where i lead the technical team and developed mobile hologram platform from scratch running on a linux platform
impressive

Had lot of interaction with Worldcall people back in the day when they started first dedicated cable net in lhr full 64kb bandwidth, these guys were really good with linux. Another ones good with linux were POL I think the company was owned by Qazi Hussains son.impressive

haha yeah 64kb and the whole fiasco behind VOIP modems, me and my colleague were responsible for populating the in house media channels as well as FTP so we were given 50mbps uncapped connection at that time to download stuff, we used to be in heaven hahaha

my rig used to run Ubuntu and only had Winblows for gaming than i got married and wifey didnt liked Linux despite many attempts :(

haha yeah 64kb and the whole fiasco behind VOIP modems, me and my colleague were responsible for populating the in house media channels as well as FTP so we were given 50mbps uncapped connection at that time to download stuff, we used to be in heaven hahaha

my rig used to run Ubuntu and only had Winblows for gaming than i got married and wifey didnt liked Linux despite many attempts :(

WC guys were really good lot, upgraded my bandwidth to 128Kb free of charge after few interesting vulnerabilities were reported by yours truly.

Story of us sadly-married people always that argument between both wives the real one and the virtual one, tough competition man, only problem the first one could bite back.

Good old days, now I can run my websever / make my own firewall , intrusion detection and what not from elcheapo raspberry and self compiled nixie distro; took me 6 months to go through the entire code. Drang arduino's like ESP8266 and ESP32 are much more powerful that those old x86.

@ps3linux tag them too @baqai @R Wing .come on buddy u know the rule if u cant put 14-16 hours an day for years u cant be any good its not an job its passion so yah sociopath least u can expect to hear :P as here some one said it right u can't expect elite of elites to found easily already they earning so much second its against the code working for any institution esp govts.if u ppl start any good idea or should i give u one ?why not thinking to start one by yourself?lots of scope also working for defence industry and private sector.Just providing solution or selling demand not only national also can sell international and get experience,exposure and remittance to Pakistan??
About Pakistani banks ??i was sitting outside bank and was getting very good wifi signals from bank routers so tell me what anyone can do with it if just know basics ??

Sir chicken and hen, most of the guys I know in the corporate world and I would guess even @NA71 would x6 digit salary, if I were to think about it it is sophistication and huge cash outlays, does need sovereign platform. I m no nadeem ghouri (Netsol)

About banks man if the idiot decision makers think that sophisticated IT guys requirement is right at the proverbial in terms of priority that's what you get. Its normally one junior IT guy for 60 odd branches, or one junior operations officer doing the job, and it is mostly installing, microshit windows, running scripts, installing printer scanner.

It is the responsibility of the govt to:
1.) create a joint civ-mil Cyber Command (just like the NSA also serves as the US Cyber Command)

2.) even if govt salaries don't match the private sector (they never do, even in the States), the recruits should know that the work they are doing is contributing to national security in meaningful ways (this includes not having a dumbass Col from Signals thinking he knows more than you sitting on your head.)

3.) the works --- R&D, talent development, audacious ops, learning on the job, everything.

You may all be wondering WHY Pakistan doesn't implement such obvious reforms/improvements/new initiatives. This is the Trillion Dollar Question. In my opinion, having proposed similar things to people who can make them happen, it is a mix of either being sellouts (don't forget that a Lt Gen and a Brig, both having served in some of the most sensitive posts in the country, were recently caught by the MI for being on the CIA payroll; also keep in mind that a Lt. Gen. gets so much in terms of land/assets/pension/etc that he does NOT need to worry about money during his retired life; and when you can have PMs and Presidents like Shaukat Aziz, Zardari, Raja Rental, Gillani and Nawaz, I don't need to mention how sold out civ leadership has been) The second reason is sheer incompetence and a horrible bureaucratic lethargy. Such structural reforms require a visionary who also cares about his country more than his career. This is a rare (if not impossible) breed in the circles that matter, unfortunately.

@baqai Sir Pakistan sy IBM online internet acc back in mid 90's ko band karwany ka record aap ky bhai ky sar py sorry :oops: aab kiya karty rem back than net was 40 rs per hour tu methods invent to break it phir PTCL ki shamat rem ""nui khi*** """ ?? no fault of your wife very few can understand the beauty of black terminal esp not those who only saw GUI .studies ki bhi kinda same story like u
@R Wing thanx joining our conversation i m sure few more gonna do that .I was describing what an individual can do in this cyber world alone and more if become motivated group something more than money.Not suggesting anyone to start new venture but start thinking about it independently.Design some prog yourself ,check market there is lot of scope also if u looking in defence industry more there too.
You all are pure professional may be thats why its hard for u to understand my logic as i came from other side of line :) what an individual can do in cyber world?? If not every but many many things.Check stories of those 2 german hackers who stole all US nuclear submarine diagrams and data and was selling to eastern germnay/KGB late 80's.Also u may find offer to Saddam Hussain by an group to shut down all allied forces network in 1991 gulf war just for 0.5 million dollar which off course way beyond of imagination to Saddam and his team so they rejected :)