Winchester
Is it a good option?
Yeah... you probably will make a poopy entrepreneur.Pakistanis only love mangoes province or financial backgroud doesnot matter
What about dairy farming guys?
Is it a good option?
Nah, useless.. unless you have a big farm near a city like karachi or Lahore etc.What about dairy farming guys?
Is it a good option?
It depends entirely on the soil, if it can pick up these fruits..Yeah... you probably will make a poopy entrepreneur.
Look at the Instagrams, the snapchats and the twitter feeds of fashionistas and rich folks and their wannabe upper middle class subjects; they worship avacado and quinoa(@DESERT FIGHTER another possible avenue)
I just googled it... Its being done in Potohar.. and murree...
I wonder if it can be done in DIK/Layyah region.
i am not a farmer but i trade agricultural produce so i visit farm lands...Hello folks, Im opening this thread for benefit of all farmers,hobbyists and people with general interests in the agri sector.. big or small.
I know next to nothing about agriculture.. although my family owns land, which my uncle manages.
So, last year..I went to the lands.. I was impressed and that woke up interest in me to look into it myself.
I saved and borrowed money to buy around a few acres myself... land was cheap.. but the catch was it wasnt fertile.. it was mostly desert.
Also amazing that people there have even made patches of the land fertile enough to grow mustard,ganwarah,cotton and whatnot (by leveling it and use of electric tubewells).
After some research I came upon the idea of drip irrigation and plantation of citrus fruits in the region.. I approached the local office of Agriculture Department and after alot of hassle I got drip irrigation system on subsidy.. The cost I had to bear was 40% .. which is around 1.5 million (again I had to borrow money).. and have now planted orange,lemons etc on 15 acres.
—-
The ironic part, the machinery was imported somewhat.. ex, the main turbine is from Jaffer 11 co. (However upon closer inspection I came to know that it or part of it was imported from Jain Agri , India) Which is located in Karachi.
The solar panels and pipes are Chinese...
All in all, I myself could have done that without any subsidy under 1.4 million... and would be probably even cheaper If I imported these from china myself!!! (I have to look into this option too).
Anyways.. now Im looking to expand the thing..
The next planting,sowing season is in December next year (I may not be here as il be leaving for my LLMs to UK).
But I discovered another thing..Tunnel farming... vegetables.. which require alot of personal attention..
Another option is Olive farming ... which i wonder could be possible there?
Im also interested in setting up a small farm.. A friend of my father is operating an ostrich farm near Bahawalpur...
@Rafi. @Irfan Baloch @Oscar. @Zibago. @django. @Maler. @Mirza Jatt @Deino. @Chinese-Dragon @RescueRanger @niaz. @ghazi52. @Chak Bamu. @VCheng @waz.
Whom should i get help from in this regard? Agriculture department babus are useless cucks.i am not a farmer but i trade agricultural produce so i visit farm lands...
okay there are different things you can do
1: that i would do myself i owned agri land id plant High density orchard (but that requires management and technical knowledge)
True, but the govt is giving 2.25 lakh subsidy on an acre.. so that should cut costs.2: yes tunnel is profitable but its capital intensive and again you need technical knowledge to operate and manage a tunnel (the environment inside the tunnel gets humid and humidity is perfect for growth of fungus and that can harm plants)
3:i dont find wheat and cotton or even sugarcane profitable wehat farmers make 12-18k per acre same goes for cotton farmer so for me thats a waste.
of time and most importantly resources
HDP... i know next to nothing bout High density plantation.. or even types of plants with high yields.of time and most importantly resources.
4:i dont know about your lands location but if it can support citrus orchard go for it but its only profitable if you go for HDP.
Wheat straw is an excellent idea.. couple of other good people have also advised me about it..5: another option depending on your area climate and that has huge potential is Rhodes grass farming but for that minimum area should be 300 acres and you need that much to recover cost of movers.balers etc.Rhodes is exported in huge quantities i also export wheatstraw and sometimes rhodes grass but mainly wheatstraw so its in high demand and also can be grown on marginal quality land.And if you have capital then export it yourself otherwise sell finished product to traders/exporters on cash payment/advnace payment basis.
Our agriculture is fked up because it lacks markets,unskilled labour and lack of technical education but this field has potential as population increase there will always be demand for food.
and yes study trends take tomato for example last year farmers made crazy money growing tomato it was retailing @ 200 rs so farmer was getting somewhere around 100-130 rs profit but currently right now its selling at 4-5 rs per kg and mandi rate is 2-3 rs so farmer is making huge losses reason being over cultivation and huge supply and low demand.Onion an exportable commodity 2 years back farmers made crazy money they were making around 3-4 lakh / acre on good quality land next year loss of 100k per acre reason being India (the biggest supplier of onion in the world) has over supply so they started exporting and dirt cheap prices and since our exporters coudnlt compete with indian suppliers so there was low demand and prices crashed!
So study the market and plan accordingly and please never sell your orchard or produce to contractor if you can sell to mandi yourself and take the risk either ull make good money or ull lose some money but if you sell your orchad (specifically) to contractor he will over fertilize over irrigated and destroy your plantation.
sir will reply in detail in the eveningWhom should i get help from in this regard? Agriculture department babus are useless cucks.
True, but the govt is giving 2.25 lakh subsidy on an acre.. so that should cut costs.
Technical n intensive care is a must .. and for that, I can find or try to find a few good farmhands.
Also, as of now.. im only thinking about it as an experimental thing.. an acre or two at most...
True.
HDP... i know next to nothing bout High density plantation.. or even types of plants with high yields.
Id he very thankful if you could explain or provide me a link or contact for it.
Wheat straw is an excellent idea.. couple of other good people have also advised me about it..
As for the climate.. its hot and windy dueing summers... its southern panjab bhai.
I agree on selling it to mandi yourself.. infact, i know another farmer who cut saved atleast 1.3 mil or 13 lakh by selling his produce directly instead of involving arhtis or middlemen.
The export part is another excellent idea.. but i have no clue which department or company etc to contact for that... or the paperwork involved..
I do know one thing that exporters (both local and international) are making a killing.. infact one of my former employee’s have a pretty damn big polishing n exporting business..
Buying fruits at cheaper rates, polishing,packaging and exporting... those guys ... down to transportation..
Again, it would be immensely helpful, if you could guide me to the right sources for above queries.
Thanks.
Avocados are mostly exported from the North/South America to the rest of the world...and even here they are expensive. U can perhaps try growing them in the greenhouse, which will have a lot more controlled conditions, to see if it works.A canal is under construction... was approved during Musharaf era..
But as of right now its dry, barani ... hence the solar drip irrigation system.
Im planning to construction a green house/tunnel ... for 1 acre.. as an experiment.. have heard alot and visited a few farms..
Avacardo is a good idea... I wonder if the soil can pick it up... although ppl are planting vegies like tomatos,onions,garlic etc in there... but nobodys farming avacardos...
Even Olives arent there in southern panjab.. the govt is providing subsidies to Potohar region.
I just googled it... Its being done in Potohar.. and murree...
I wonder if it can be done in DIK/Layyah region.
we have done exactly the same thing but on a grander scaleHello folks, Im opening this thread for benefit of all farmers,hobbyists and people with general interests in the agri sector.. big or small.
I know next to nothing about agriculture.. although my family owns land, which my uncle manages.
So, last year..I went to the lands.. I was impressed and that woke up interest in me to look into it myself.
I saved and borrowed money to buy around a few acres myself... land was cheap.. but the catch was it wasnt fertile.. it was mostly desert.
Also amazing that people there have even made patches of the land fertile enough to grow mustard,ganwarah,cotton and whatnot (by leveling it and use of electric tubewells).
After some research I came upon the idea of drip irrigation and plantation of citrus fruits in the region.. I approached the local office of Agriculture Department and after alot of hassle I got drip irrigation system on subsidy.. The cost I had to bear was 40% .. which is around 1.5 million (again I had to borrow money).. and have now planted orange,lemons etc on 15 acres.
—-
The ironic part, the machinery was imported somewhat.. ex, the main turbine is from Jaffer 11 co. (However upon closer inspection I came to know that it or part of it was imported from Jain Agri , India) Which is located in Karachi.
The solar panels and pipes are Chinese...
All in all, I myself could have done that without any subsidy under 1.4 million... and would be probably even cheaper If I imported these from china myself!!! (I have to look into this option too).
Anyways.. now Im looking to expand the thing..
The next planting,sowing season is in December next year (I may not be here as il be leaving for my LLMs to UK).
But I discovered another thing..Tunnel farming... vegetables.. which require alot of personal attention..
Another option is Olive farming ... which i wonder could be possible there?
Im also interested in setting up a small farm.. A friend of my father is operating an ostrich farm near Bahawalpur...
@Rafi. @Irfan Baloch @Oscar. @Zibago. @django. @Maler. @Mirza Jatt @Deino. @Chinese-Dragon @RescueRanger @niaz. @ghazi52. @Chak Bamu. @VCheng @waz.
Did what? Solar and oechards?we have done exactly the same thing but on a grander scale