Hunza Valley: A whole new spectrum of colours

Krash lala I've been hoping n planning to visit the region since like 2 years.. Every time some shit hit the fan n I couldn't visit..

But this time I'm determined .. Hopefully in August ... Even alone if I have too (although it ain't much fun that way).

But I got some questions :

I'm thinking of driving all the way .. My ride is a CJ-5 with a 3400cc engine .. Not in perfect condition (it being a 74 model).. And if I take the jeep how muh would it cost me (POL and all - gives a 7km per liter) .. Also is the route safe ?
So any advice @WAJsal.
:Should I take the plane bus or my jeep.

All other stuff is pretty much sorted out.

P.S: abt tht "Hunza Water" yeah heard a lot about it .. I wonder if it's easily available ?..

Thanks..

Yeti must live there lol
Krash would give you a better suggestion, but recently a new bus service started to Gilgit ....and from there you can travel till Kashghir .....only one suggestion ...bring your best adventure buddies and a nomadic attitude ...you would love it !
NATCO Gilgit-Baltistan

Krash would give you a better suggestion, but recently a new bus service started to Gilgit ....and from there you can travel till Kashghir .....only one suggestion ...bring your best adventure buddies and a nomadic attitude ...you would love it !
NATCO Gilgit-Baltistan

Dnt know about adventure buddies but I'm an adventure junkie (we'll sort off-- highest peak I ever climbed was probably takhte suleman or Koh Murdar lol )... As for nomad Bhai .. I've living lovin my entire life that way thanks to the army.

Krash lala I've been hoping n planning to visit the region since like 2 years.. Every time some shit hit the fan n I couldn't visit..

But this time I'm determined .. Hopefully in August ... Even alone if I have too (although it ain't much fun that way).

But I got some questions :

I'm thinking of driving all the way .. My ride is a CJ-5 with a 3400cc engine .. Not in perfect condition (it being a 74 model).. And if I take the jeep how muh would it cost me (POL and all - gives a 7km per liter) .. Also is the route safe ?
So any advice @WAJsal.

All other stuff is pretty much sorted out.

P.S: abt tht "Hunza Water" yeah heard a lot about it .. I wonder if it's easily available ?..

Thanks..

Yeti must live there lol

We've been talking about your trip for too long and I have a feeling that eventually I'm gonna have to kidnap you and take you there myself! The trick really is to realize that there's nothing really to it except for having time. The fear of the unknown usually holds people back. Don't be afraid to go alone either, you'll make plenty of friends there.

Your ride will take the trip and then some and even if it does break down you'll find plenty of people there who can fix it on an ad hoc bases. Its the comfort level that you'll need to worry about since it is a pretty long drive. Last Eid-ul-Fitr I grabbed the old 70 series and a couple of friends and left for Fairy Meadows. Cost us Rs.7k+ plus for the fuel till Raikot Bridge, with some to spare (have no clue about the consumption). My honest advice would be, since it is your first proper trip up north, to go by road. Although I would still suggest the road if it was your hundredth trip :p Driving yourself would be very tiring and slow, especially since you're not used to driving there. The bus would waste the road trip, since you can't stop and get out. But fear not, I have a better idea. There are taxi services running Gilgit to Islb and then back everyday. Last I checked a corolla would cost you around 16k and one of the small cruisers would cost you from 30-35k (inclusive of fuel and exclusive of your negotiation prowess) one-way. It will come with a driver who's perfectly at home on those roads and with those driving schedules. All you'll need to do is stare out the window and be amazed at what God created and decided to just gift us. I seriously recommend this. I have a few numbers if you decide to go this way. Just make sure you check out the car a day or two before.

The Kohistan stretch on the classical KKH route (Mansehra-Batgaram-Bhesham-Pattan-Dassu-Chillas) has always been a little unsafe. However, the authorities have now gotten even more strict since the Nangaparbat incident. They don't allow night travel after 10 and force people to travel in convoys with police escorts even during the day. You can bypass this troublesome stretch entirely by turning east from Mansehra and taking the route through Naran, then over the Babusar pass down into Chillas district and back onto the KKH, provided that you don't delay it beyond august or the Babusar pass will be snowed shut. This route is more scenic as well, especially if your into all those alpine forests and stuff. You don't wanna miss Babusar Pass. I took this last August, its pretty much how you'll see it:

IMGP0364_zpse7jds1pb.jpg

ps: It is very easily available.

We've been talking about your trip for too long and I have a feeling that eventually I'm gonna have to kidnap you and take you there myself! The trick really is to realize that there's nothing really to it except for having time. The fear of the unknown usually holds people back. Don't be afraid to go alone either, you'll make plenty of friends there.

Your ride will take the trip and then some and even if it does break down you'll find plenty of people there who can fix it on an ad hoc bases. Its the comfort level that you'll need to worry about since it is a pretty long drive. Last Eid-ul-Fitr I grabbed the old 70 series and a couple of friends and left for Fairy Meadows. Cost us Rs.7k+ plus for the fuel till Raikot Bridge, with some to spare (have no clue about the consumption). My honest advice would be, since it is your first proper trip up north, to go by road. Although I would still suggest the road if it was your hundredth trip :p Driving yourself would be very tiring and slow, especially since you're not used to driving there. The bus would waste the road trip, since you can't stop and get out. But fear not, I have a better idea. There are taxi services running Gilgit to Islb and then back everyday. Last I checked a corolla would cost you around 16k and one of the small cruisers would cost you from 30-35k (inclusive of fuel and exclusive of your negotiation prowess) one-way. It will come with a driver who's perfectly at home on those roads and with those driving schedules. All you'll need to do is stare out the window and be amazed at what God created and decided to just gift us. I seriously recommend this. I have a few numbers if you decide to go this way. Just make sure you check out the car a day or two before.

The Kohistan stretch on the classical KKH route (Mansehra-Batgaram-Bhesham-Pattan-Dassu-Chillas) has always been a little unsafe. However, the authorities have now gotten even more strict since the Nangaparbat incident. They don't allow night travel after 10 and force people to travel in convoys with police escorts even during the day. You can bypass this troublesome stretch entirely by turning east from Mansehra and taking the route through Naran, then over the Babusar pass down into Chillas district and back onto the KKH, provided that you don't delay it beyond august or the Babusar pass will be snowed shut. This route is more scenic as well, especially if your into all those alpine forests and stuff. You don't wanna miss Babusar Pass. I took this last August, its pretty much how you'll see it:

IMGP0364_zpse7jds1pb.jpg

ps: It is very easily available.

Thank you saien.. It was never the fear of unknown.. just bad luck .. Univ,CPL., weddings n asshole frnds who spoil the prog at the last moment.. But Inshallah this time I'm going no matter what ..

Again Shukran Ya Shiekh..! :D

We've been talking about your trip for too long and I have a feeling that eventually I'm gonna have to kidnap you and take you there myself!

No invitation for me ! :(

Theek hai bhai aakhir hum hain kaun ? :cry:

Last Eid-ul-Fitr I grabbed the old 70 series and a couple of friends and left for Fairy Meadows. Cost us Rs.7k+ plus for the fuel till Raikot Bridge, with some to spare (have no clue about the consumption)

What happens if I don't know how to ride a bike ? :ashamed:

So any advice @WAJsal.
I usually take the plane.But you would miss out on all the action if you take the plane.So my advice drive all the way.Take the naran-Kagan road ( Babusar pass) ,you can't miss out on all the great scenes in the region. You can't miss out on this beauty.
saif ul malook lake
fdsfsdfdsf.jpeg
file (3).jpeg

Not in perfect condition (it being a 74 model).. And if I take the jeep how muh would it cost me (POL and all - gives a 7km per liter)
How much does a full tank cost? That should do it,if not don't worry there are plenty of petrol stations available.
There's nothing special about it.It's just clean refreshing.It's available for every one.
I bet you're going to love the place.Do share Pictures.
Just a piece of advice , go in June.There is a Shundur festival which takes places every year on 7 , 8 ,9 July.You can't miss it.Just that the drive is long and tiring.At the end of the day it's all worth it.You might not know shit about Polo.It's a festival one cannot miss .
Last time i went,i was 14 which was 3 years ago.I can't explain the experience.Yes it was that magical.And fire works at night , superb.
Shandur Top - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Shandur Polo Festival | Gilgit Baltistan - promoting culture and tourism

Too bad Pakistanis cannot buy property in Gilgit. :(
Why? That's bulls.My father owns property in Gilgit.

@DESERT FIGHTER , i suggest don't take the bus.Trust me.They drive it so fast,scary as hell.One can't sleep at night,so scary.If you are a good driver i suggest you drive yourself.

Your ride will take the trip and then some and even if it does break down you'll find plenty of people there who can fix it on an ad hoc bases. Its the comfort level that you'll need to worry about since it is a pretty long drive. Last Eid-ul-Fitr I grabbed the old 70 series and a couple of friends and left for Fairy Meadows
Fairy Meadow is heaven on Earth,i would do anything to live over there.BTW , i'm pretty lucky,my grandfather's house is near Chilas (near Fairy Meadow) so i go there usually :bunny:.
BTW , have you seen saif ul malook lake what a lovely place.

@Windjammer , @DESERT FIGHTER guys if you are going to Hunza you can't miss this beauty.
Fairy Meadows - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
file.jpeg

Yep the route is scary,but it's worth it .
images.jpg

Have a good journey.

ro nahi bhai.Bolo to CIE 's kay bad apkey sath chalon.:-)

Gilgit to Hunza road is superb,your gonna love the drive , so smooth.Damn,the Chinese have done a good job on it.

NATCO Gilgit-Baltistan

The Kashgir service and the non-stop Islb to Gilgit service is new, well relatively (2006). But NATCO has been operating since I couldn't walk :p There are a couple of relatively new comers too with comparable service, or so I've heard. One is Karakoram the second I can't remember the name of right now.

The local bus service is something I'd advise everyone no to touch even with a 100 feet pole. Those guys are insane! The few times that I've travelled with them was because I absolutely had to reach back home in time. Imagine 4 coasters, racing on a barely two lane mountain road, neck and neck, going full-throttle parallel to each other around a completely blind hair-pin turn with a 300 feet drop on one side. And this happens every single effin time all throughout your journey. You're hoping that some local would talk some sense into them? Nope, the local passengers clap and cheer their own driver on as he plays Russian Roulette with your life and 25 others.

Thank you saien.. It was never the fear of unknown.. just bad luck .. Univ,CPL., weddings n asshole frnds who spoil the prog at the last moment.. But Inshallah this time I'm going no matter what ..

Again Shukran Ya Shiekh..! :D

Lala, kaisa shukran wukran? Just go and introduce your self to my Pakistan. It is a gift not comparable to anything in existence. I completely understand what you mean about those lost opportunities. That's why you need to get a little insane. For 3 years I was away and couldn't do any of this, then I came back and spent the last both eids in tents :D Have a great journey!

Btw make 150% (!!!) sure that the car has an AC. It gets super HOT in August as soon as you go down babusar pass. I'm talking heat that stops you from breathing. Once my phone read "Too hot for you iphone to operate". Funny bit is that while your skin is melting off, you can't breath and everything is on fire in the valley you look up and you see snow on the peaks. The land of paradoxes.

Dnt know about adventure buddies but I'm an adventure junkie (we'll sort off-- highest peak I ever climbed was probably takhte suleman or Koh Murdar lol )... As for nomad Bhai .. I've living lovin my entire life that way thanks to the army.

hehehehehehe :p:

Yarra, kardi na parai'on wali baat....you think I can kidnap the man who fights in the deserts alone?

What happens if I don't know how to ride a bike ? :ashamed:

Hahahaha! I didnt mean the Honda CD70, although I do know of some guys who actually took their 125s till Khunjrab. But imagine us three guys, with all their camping gear going from Islamabad to Raikot on a small bike! I meant the other 70 series,

70_title_01.jpg

Not the Yeti bro, she lives there:

May Allah and the good people of Darda protect her and her kind.

Their numbers are recovering. The brilliant scheme adopted from the Markhor is working very well.

10690282_1585066031730748_8979659293721178043_n.jpg

Now that you mentioned Safi-ul-Malook, that place i have visited twice, last time in 2013. But another spot one must visit before dying is Shogran Resort in Kaghan Valley (Below)

10377388_1587320168172001_2061070419490015338_n.jpg

Post 05-06 quake, Naran, Saiful-Maluk and Shogran have been devastated. The new road has made the places too accessible and now you see hundreds of ill-bred morons destroying the place. You see littering and trash everywhere, the northern bank of the lake is now barren with a huge dirt parking-lot for the jeeps and too many khokas selling over-priced tea and pakoras. And then you see wrappers floating in the lake. The situation is worsening every year. But leave the tourist infested northern bank and go beyond the lake you will find the same, untouched, pristine beauty that you see in the posters. Same is the case as soon as you cross Naran towards Batakundi or go further up from Shogran towards Siri Paye. This is the sole reason why I'm not a big fan of expanding tourism in this country.

There's nothing special about it.It's just clean refreshing.It's available for every one.
I bet you're going to love the place.Do share Pictures.

Think he was talking about the other Hunza Water *wink wink*

Why? That's bulls.My father owns property in Gilgit.

Only people holding NICs from Gilgit-Baltistan can purchase land there, legally that is. Your Mom's from there, bet it has something to do with that. Same is the case with AJK too.

@DESERT FIGHTER , i suggest don't take the bus.Trust me.They drive it so fast,scary as hell.One can't sleep at night,so scary.

Are you talking about the NATCO people? Have you tried the local service? :D

Fairy Meadow is heaven on Earth,i would do anything to live over there.BTW , i'm pretty lucky,my grandfather's house is near Chilas (near Fairy Meadow) so i go there usually :bunny:.

Jealous I am. Although I'd have a tonne of reservations before wanting to live anywhere near Chillas. Btw which village or town exactly?

BTW , have you seen saif ul malook lake what a lovely place.

@Windjammer , @DESERT FIGHTER guys if you are going to Hunza you can't miss this beauty.
Fairy Meadows - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
View attachment 209796
Yep the route is scary,but it's worth it .
View attachment 209799
Have a good journey.

Yup. Let's just say that travelled a little up north. Did you guys just notice my false modesty!?!?! Please someone give me a positive rating for this. Btw the scond picture in your post is the Moraine Lake in Banff, Canada. That is one gorgeous corner of the world as well.

But seriously, since we are talking about Fairy Meadows,
I have some amazing high resolution pictures of the monster but my favourite I took from my phone. The second time I was there I went to the call point trying to catch some signals. Couldn't catch any signals but sure did catch this gem (#nofilter),

IMG_5401_zpslbciuwj1.jpg

Only people holding NICs from Gilgit-Baltistan can purchase land there, legally that is. Your Mom's from there, bet it has something to do with that. Same is the case with AJK too.
OK . What stupidity.
Are you talking about the NATCO people? Have you tried the local service? :D
I have tried almost everything.They drive crazy.
Jealous I am. Although I'd have a tonne of reservations before wanting to live anywhere near Chillas. Btw which village or town exactly?
Goner farm:-) .
@krash , did you notice the ice on the side of the road? get's so cold at night.