Hospital tags Bihar earthquake injured with 'bhukamp' stickers on forehead

INDIAPOSITIVE

Hospital tags Bihar earthquake injured with 'bhukamp' stickers on forehead
Apr 29, 2015 13:31 IST
#bIhar #Bihar Earthquake #Darbhanga #earthquake #India #Nepal earthquake #NewsTracker

9 Comments
  • Email

• Screengrab from IBNLive.

Superintendent of DMCH Shankar Jha expressed regret over tagging the earthquake injured in such an insensitive manner.

Television grabs showed injured patients in a separate ward of the DMCH earmarked for earthquake victims with stickers reading ‘bhukamp’ (earthquake) on their foreheads.

When minister in-charge for relief work for Darbhanga district Baidyanath Sahni was drawn to the controversial episode, he said, “I inquired with the DMCH Superintendent on the issue and directed him to remove them at once.”

Sahni said he had asked the Superintendent to probe the matter and fix responsibilities.

“I am at present in the interior areas of Darbhanga district and on return, will visit DMCH to look at the matter,” he said.

District Magistrate Kumar Ravi too described the action as wrong and said he would order immediate removal of the stickers.

Nearly 15 earthquake victims in Bihar had come to the DMCH initially for treatment, out of whom six are still being treated at the hospital.

Hospital tags Bihar earthquake injured with 'bhukamp' stickers on forehead - Firstpost

Why make a big deal out of it?Sorting out patients accordingly and are color coded is taught in Medicine, so the patients are better attended to in Natural disasters and war.
Black is the color for dead.

Why make a big deal out of it?Sorting out patients accordingly and are color coded is taught in Medicine, so the patients are better attended to in Natural disasters and war.
Black is the color for dead.
They could have used tags on patients wrists as is the usual procedure, instead of putting stickers to their foreheads.

Arre bhai,tags on wrists? get real you cant go on checking thousands of peoples wrists for tags,while looking at face with a tag in a disaster saves time.
This is the standard procedure taught in Medical school.

Arre bhai,tags on wrists? get real you cant go on checking thousands of peoples wrists for tags,while looking at face with a tag in a disaster saves time.
This is the standard procedure taught in Medical school.
Book keeping is some work.
They can simply note bed no. & other detail in books for it.
What what we can expect in Bihar ?

Book keeping is some work.
They can simply note bed no. & other detail in books for it.
What what we can expect in Bihar ?
This is the norm followed in Disaster Management and Triage Internationally .Color coding and Stickers on face are the fastest way to sort out patients from the critically injured and not so critical patients.Since visual confirmation is faster than meticulous checking on each and every persons wrists.
You dont have time for political correctness during Disaster management.Everything needs to be done quickly.
This is not about book keeping, but saving precious time which can lead to life or death in a matter of minutes.

This is the norm followed in Disaster Management and Triage Internationally .Color coding and Stickers on face are the fastest way to sort out patients from the critically injured and not so critical patients.Since visual confirmation is faster than meticulous checking on each and every persons wrists.
You dont have time for political correctness during Disaster management.Everything needs to be done quickly.
This is not about book keeping, but saving precious time which can lead to life or death in a matter of minutes.
That would apply if number of patients overwhelm hospital's capacity like in Nepal.

Its called triage. Its not meant to be pretty or politically correct.
but this is not triage.
most probably this is for easier identification of politically sensitive patients within the hordes of in-patients in the hospital for the convenience of staff:D

lol on the forehead. It's like they think biharis are defective, return to OEM.

but this is not triage.
most probably this is for easier identification of politically sensitive patients within the hordes of in-patients in the hospital for the convenience of staff:D
You are right, but this is how its done when there is a Doctor to Patient ratio of 1:1750 in Government Hospitals.
Color coding of patients is still taught in PSM(Preventive Social Medicine).

That would apply if number of patients overwhelm hospital's capacity like in Nepal.
This would definitely apply since the Dhotis and Madheshis would swarm to Bihar which is the nearest to Nepal.
We already have a normal doctor to patient ratio of 1:1750 ( in disaster forget the ratio)and its not getting any better soon unless the Government opens a lot of New Medical Colleges and trains lakhs of Paramedics.

This would definitely apply since the Dhotis and Madheshis would swarm to Bihar which is the nearest to Nepal.
We already have a normal doctor to patient ratio of 1:1750 ( in disaster forget the ratio)and its not getting any better soon unless the Government opens a lot of New Medical Colleges and trains lakhs of Paramedics.

That crowded situation happens all time in Bihar but they are inefficient to the core , there are not many Nepalese currently heading to Bihar due to connectivity problem.

The situation is more or less the same in all over the nation in Government Hospitals,You need to check around 100 patients per hour in a typical Government hospital setting.Even if you allot 1 minute to each patient you are still short by another 40 minutes.So doctors have to improvise in order to get the situation under control and it happens all the time.
Its called "Jugaad" , it doesn't mean they are inefficient it only means they lack provisions,equipment and infrastructure to handle daily patient rush.In case of Disasters it takes a heavy toll on Doctors checking patients as they have to be quick about it.

The situation is more or less the same in all over the nation in Government Hospitals,You need to check around 100 patients per hour in a typical Government hospital setting.Even if you allot 1 minute to each patient you are still short by another 40 minutes.So doctors have to improvise in order to get the situation under control and it happens all the time.
Its called "Jugaad" , it doesn't mean they are inefficient it only means they lack provisions,equipment and infrastructure to handle daily patient rush.In case of Disasters it takes a heavy toll on Doctors checking patients as they have to be quick about it.
In all rush hour you don't tag patients Diaerrea, fewer, Cancer etc. Its most embracing act to begin with.

Fever,Diarrhea are common ailments and there is no need to rush to tag them unless there is a Cholera Outbreak.
Tagging is part of protocol in Epidemics and quarantine and also used in Natural disasters to seperate, Critical Patients from minor injuries patients.
Embarrassing or not Classification of patients is not based on Political correctness but based on shrewd and working models.Are you worried about saving the Patient or worried about being Politically correct in a Natural Disaster.
Medicine teaches you to Amputate a body parts in order to save the patient.You think Political correctness then matters in critical situations?

Already i said Bharat has the worst Doctor to Patient ration in normal days its 1:1750 in Disaster the doctor is overburdened and they improvize using the things they have in hand.We dont have tags or bar code readers like USA has in its hospitals.The doctors make do with what they have and the resources provided to them.