Hindu extremist group to observe ‘martyrdom day’ for Gandhi’s assassin

Musafir117

image.jpeg

NEW DELHI: The Indian extremist group, Hindu Mahasabha, has announced to commemorate the death anniversary of Mahatma Gandhi's assassin, Nathuram Godse, as martyrdom day at district level in all states on 15 November.

According to Indian media reports, the Hindu Mahasabha plans to hold blood donation camps and distribute literature by a co-accused in Gandhi's assassination and the younger brother of Nathuram Godse, Gopal Godse.

The Indian media quoted the president of Hindu Mahasabha Chandra Prakash Kaushik as saying that India is a democracy and let the public decide whether Nathuram was right and a patriot or a traitor.

"Whether Gandhi is truly the nation's father or not, the people should decide", he added.

Nathuram Godse had killed Gandhi at Delhi's Birla Mandir on 30 January, 1948 and was sentenced to death on 8 November, 1949 after a trial.

Godse was hanged in Ambala jail on 15 November, 1949

Hindu extremist group to observe ‘martyrdom day’ for Gandhi’s assassin - thenews.com.pk
Let's people decide he was traitor or patriot. Seriously?

Some Indians are going crazy in Modi's tenure.
I don't endorse or condone violence..but you have to remember the background in which he was killed..some 10 lakh Hindus and Sikhs we're butchered by Muslims and some crores were left shelter less.. all because of gandhian politics of Muslim appeasement..10 lakh people dead? Can you imagine what might have gone through a hindu's mind?

Let me ask you, Do you support the idea of Martyrdom for Godse?

There is one nice theatre play in Marathi (with nglish translation). its give good insight on Godse's viewpoint.

Let me ask you, Do you support the idea of Martyrdom for Godse?
Definitely...the circumstances in which Gandhi was killed should be told to every child...he did not get hanged for his own sake..he was hanged because he killed a traiotr..a megalomaiac..a pervert.

Thanks for a thought provoking reply. Do you really feel he did it for Muslim appeasement ?

As I said that fellow wanted his status of mahatma not to be damaged..he knew ,just like sickulars of today,that Hindus were not one group.. so he could afford to be silent on their killings.Nobody would question his mahatma credentials..he also knew Muslims were more united and considered themselves as one group..it was significant to be in their good books to maintain his image of mahatma...

In hindsight I blame Hindus too for not getting united and fighting against Muslim thugs.

I did not delete any comment...none of my comments is deleted by anyone..all are present

I dono , The post which i rated negative is not visible for me, so i assumed it to be deleted...... May be a new feature of the forum......

I cannot digest all these positive signs at one time, did not realise it would take one person to bring the real face back again to limelight.