High costs stall Army's plans on China border

If you truly believe so, then try another Forward Policy.

why when the LAC is the de facto border? and again i'll say it China hasn't tried any funny business since 1967 because they know they can't take AP/Sikkim easily like they did in 1962, good job by stabbing us in the back you made us stronger and gave us a good wake up call there won't be a repeat of 1962 ever again

LOL, it was India who backstabbed us. :lol:

Check the dates, 1959 was BEFORE 1962 (duh).

The Forward Policy was also BEFORE the Sino-Indian war.

It was Nehru who said his Hindi phrase "Hindi Chini bhai bhai" before stabbing us in the back. Notice that this phrase is in Hindi, NOT in Chinese.

A friendly advice to you -> if China invades India, for your own personal safety, I'll advise you (and your family members) to move to Lhasa or Xinjiang. Those would be the safest places left for you to run to. If not, you would be at risk of finding a bright sunny day sky turning "purple", right above your head.

No offence intended, but I did say "If China invades India .....", quoting you.

Prior to that, "if" your govt decides to invade India, try to change your govt for the sake of your life and that of your family.

Agreed, it will be unfortunate for us, if China invades us. India propragates peace and mutual prosperity. We are discussing Aksai Chin for a peaceful settlement. But if you think you are going to change borders by force, then first move out all the concentrated high value assets in Shanghai otherwise they are also under risk.

While invading India, if you think it's just another Vietnam or Phillipines, please feel free (at your own peril). If you believe that it's going to be a border skirmish (like 1962), you are again mistaken. And then, you are further losing time in your "invasion" since nuclear subs for effective second strike ability are in the making. Take your risks and make your (mis)calculations if you insist on under-estimating India's nuclear deterrence. I can assure you, that you'll be more than sorry for those miscalcuations later.

Talking of 1962, if you think you can have a repeat then I must say the probability is same as Japan trying to repeat a "Pearl Harbor" or the possibility of Japan raping Nanking once again.

It's not 1962, and we're not talking about fighting on roads along the border (feel free to keep pouring money into them, no issues), but about counter-attacks against the heartland of China's economy. Be prepared to defend all that you value so much.

Let better sense prevail on your rulers in Beijing, otherwise I can tell you it's going to be bad for everybody.

Haha...sorry man I go ticket for far far away...consider MOON is my final destination before China invade India. I gamble that you gorvernment dare not to initiate the NUKE war...I don't need to trumpheting how much TNT we have more than your country. China certain wont hesitate to INVADE India if thing go nasty in the border.

Seriously we're more SCARE of vietnamese that your Indian force..because we over-ran your outposts and barracks so smoothly in 62 than vietnam war at 79:D

you know what Chinese people is good at? GAMBLING...when talking the deterrence we gamble the fate of our country against your..who will prevail in the NUKE exchange.

LOL, it was India who backstabbed us. :lol:

Check the dates, 1959 was BEFORE 1962 (duh).

The Forward Policy was also BEFORE the Sino-Indian war.

It was Nehru who said his Hindi phrase "Hindi Chini bhai bhai" before stabbing us in the back. Notice that this phrase is in Hindi, NOT in Chinese.

Chinese soldiers coming into our territory happened before the forward policy was implemented

and like i said Nehru mistakes screwed us over he initiated the forward policy without even putting troops in the disputed areas

when Chinese soldiers entered Sikkim in 1967 they were repulsed because we learned from our mistakes and since then you have not tried to invade us

your warmongering does not change reality China can't invade India like they did in 1962 we are not the same country with the same military realize its 2011 and not 1962

@AADHAAR,stop talking about nukes.Nukes are not diwaly crackers that you can use when ever you want.Both India and PRC has declared 'no 1st use' policy,so stop your bs.

"No first use" only applies to non-nuclear nations.

"China undertakes not to use or threaten to use nuclear weapons against non-nuclear-weapon states or nuclear-weapon-free zones at any time or under any circumstances."

And even then, the NFU policy can be changed in a heartbeat. We're not a democracy remember? If the Chinese leadership wants it changed, it can be done instantly.

Haha...sorry man I go ticket for far far away...consider MOON is my final destination before China invade India. I gamble that you gorvernment dare not to initiate the NUKE war...I don't need to trumpheting how much TNT we have more than your country. China certain wont hesitate to INVADE India if thing go nasty in the border.

Seriously we're more SCARE of vietnamese that your Indian force..because we over-ran your outposts and barracks so smoothly in 62 than vietnam war at 79:D

you know what Chinese people is good at? GAMBLING...when talking the deterrence we gamble the fate of our country against your..who will prevail in the NUKE exchange.

10,000 troops with lee enfield rifles against 80,000 troops who had tanks and top of the line soviet arms yet in 1967 things changed, your army has not tried to attack us since because they know they won't get the same result in 1962 whats with you Chinese still acting like its 1962? wake up and smell the coffee its 2011 things have changed

---------- Post added at 10:20 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:17 PM ----------

"No first use" only applies to non-nuclear nations.

And even then, the NFU policy can be changed in a heartbeat. We're not a democracy remember? If the Chinese leadership wants it changed, it can be done instantly.

same for us no first use against non nuclear states

Indian National Security Advisor Shri Shiv Shankar Menon further signaled a significant shift from "no first use" to "no first use against non-nuclear weapon states" in a speech on the occasion of Golden Jubilee celebrations of National Defence College in New Delhi on October 21, 2010, a doctrine Menon said reflected India's "strategic culture, with its emphasis on minimal deterrence."[3][4]

they know they won't get the same result in 1962 whats with you Chinese still acting like its 1962? wake up and smell the coffee its 2011 things have changed

Well, your own Armed Forces seem to think that the gap between China and India has become too wide to ever catch up.

Back in 1962, there was a sort of parity between China and India, neither one could claim to be much stronger than the other one. Today, the gap has widened enormously, as your own Military Chiefs have said.

AADHAAR,stop talking about nukes.Nukes are not diwaly crackers that you can use when ever you want.Both India and PRC has declared 'no 1st use' policy,so stop your bs.

Well, but they are the cheapest way to keep China in check.
(unless they turn into a madman that they force our hands)

We don't need nukes against Pakistan, USA or Russia !

Building conventional weaponry keeps the deterrence against Pakistan and keeps the threshold for things going nuclear against China higher.

Yes, if we build larger conventional capability vis-a-vis China, the nuclear threshold remains higher. (Which is good, off course).

But, no point increasing the defence budget beyond the current 2.2 to 2.5% of GDP. Even raising it to 3% of GDP is not good.

So, we need to be economically wise. I support the view of finance ministry.

Well, your own Armed Forces seem to think that the gap between China and India has become too wide to ever catch up.

Back in 1962, there was a sort of parity between China and India, neither one could claim to be much stronger than the other one. Today, the gap has widened enormously, as your own Military Chiefs have said.

our policy is defense not offense with the building of infrastructure in NE development and upgradation of air bases new regiments and strike corps for the border areas we are fine for what we need

LOL is that supposed to be a joke? China had better arms and equipment than us in 1962 our soldiers fought with .303 lee enfield rifles when Chinese soldiers were equipped with then state of the art soviet equipment

our policy is defense not offense with the building of infrastructure in NE development and upgradation of air bases new regiments and strike corps for the border areas we are fine for what we need

Nobody said that India gonna invade China by upgrading airbase or add some..strike corpses for the border...you guys just overreacted when China did the same...how your media drum up "Chinese threat" each time there is some development in Tibet such railway, airport or even road...sound like China is preparing an Invasion.

LOL is that supposed to be a joke? China had better arms and equipment than us in 1962 our soldiers fought with .303 lee enfield rifles when Chinese soldiers were equipped with then state of the art soviet equipment

I can't believe that..you still whining about having obsolete weapons and been outnumber in 1962.

Nobody said that India gonna invade China by upgrading airbase or add some..strike corpses for the border...you guys just overreacted when China did the same...how your media drum up "Chinese threat" each time there is some development in Tibet such railway, airport or even road...sound like China is preparing an Invasion.

I can't believe that..you still whining about having obsolete weapons and been outnumber in 1962.

dear when you guys boast 1962 i'm just reminding you of the background situation you really think had we been prepared the result would have been the same? besides this is just for defense prepardness

All I have to show is the picture of Indian POWs. Look, that's what I call many "well trained, brave Indian soldiers." Fight China? Dreamn on.

xin_012110528083812504461.jpg

LOL. China has a far superior victory record than India. China actually defeated Japan and killed millions of Japanese soldiers. China also defeated USA in Korea and USSR in border conflicts. India defeated nobody. It belonged to Islam for 800 years, and belonged to Great Britain for 200 years!

Please don't make a fool of yourself. Know your place (hint: it is far far below China).

China beat the USSR in the cold war so badly that USSR broke into pieces. Russia today is almost smaller than India now in GDP (LOL!). Russia's military tech is already surpassed by Chinese military tech. Russia's only advantage is its influence over the Middle East and Eastern Europe as a great power.