What's new

Has India missed the manufacturing boat?

Well an old topic discussed it a lot.

I wud say India mite have almost missed the train but actually not missed it. Modi enters at the rite tym. Vajpayee cleared so many infrastructure projects which has led to industrialization of India post 2000. Modis gonna simply build, build and build.

@Chinese-Dragon Do you agree with the topic's statement?

Not necessarily.

It's never too late. China and India both had enormous working age populations even back in the 1950's, but did not have the right policies to take advantage of it.

With the right policies, growth in manufacturing is always possible. And India's new government is likely to be very pro-business and pro-manufacturing.

Even if we start my achieving self reliance in manufacturing needs for 1.2 billion, still the demand will be high enough to be sustainable.

There is a reason why I've been chanting 'Abki baar Modi sarkar' for the last 6 months. And that reason is a stronger economy - corruption. We have to pick up vigorously in the hardware & manufacturing sector and I hope that Modi and his team have a plan in their head.

I was just hoping for the best. Anyway what all do we need in terms of infrastructure ?

The first thing is, we need 'self sufficient' industrial zones to cut the time required for transportation in between, for example, if we are manufacturing cars, then all the subsystems manufacturing hub has to be located within a very small radius. And those zones has to be near sea ports to be more conducive for exports, if you're eyeing for that.

The first thing is, we need 'self sufficient' industrial zones to cut the time required for transportation in between, for example, if we are manufacturing cars, then all the subsystems manufacturing hub has to be located within a very small radius. And those zones has to be near sea ports to be more conducive for exports, if you're eyeing for that.