Govt will have to raise power tariff by 30pc to revive IMF programme

So now end consumers will have to pay for the circular debt that accumulated because of govt inefficiency and corruption? Way to go IK.

yeah, Thanks a lot Imran Khan for forcing us to pay for what was stolen in the pass because woh tho khata bhi hai or banata bhi hai.

Yeah make people pay for past crooks while those crooks are let to go abroad, thousands of others enjoy life in Pakistan upscale societies.

Past crooks were democratically elected, were they not?

Wow so u think democracy means u take it out on the people? Democracy enabled this govt too. Instead of catching the culprits they r taking it out on the ppl. In contrast to the pre election tall claims.

We are producing more than 60% from hydel, coal and nuclear with avg cost of 2-8 cents max except rare power plant.

It means there is something wrong somewhere. Or its easiest way for the govt. To earn money.
yes and 8 cents comes out to be 13 rupees, while the power average consumer cost is barely 14 rupees
you said it for your self

now add 17% sales tax to it and you end up paying 16-18 rupees on average..tariff is much more complicated you have several domestic tarrif lines, and several industrial tarrif lines

bottom line is the govt is losing money even on current tariff because the coal, gas, wind you just pointed outed is still 8 cents vs world average of 5-6 cents due to 25%RR on investment and expensive LNG deals..no wlest not even count the inefficient GENCOs which run at less than half the efficiency and the diesel and furnace oiled plant

So much power generation and no relief for the poor. Shameful.
If you can't pay the production cost of electricity, don't buy. You can't force the govt to give subsidies on a perpetual loss making power generation sector.

they should divert this tax to some other source as expensive electricity damage economy much more
Yeah and artificially making electricity cheap has landed us in 2 trillion Rs circular debt

The question need to b asked even with cheapest labour why we are paying for most expensive electricity in the world
You have already answered the question in your post above:
3- IPPs favoured contracts in many of which govt. Has to pay them in dollar for fix amount of power generation, even if govt. Utilise it or not its its upto them and one more thing its been reported that some of them generating less than agreed upon but charging for full generation.
Don't blame PTI govt for making these long term unsustainable contracts with IPPs

What i believe even a little sincere effort from govt. can decrease per unit cost by 30-40%.
No you can't. Current govt can't overrule expensive and unsustainable power contracts done by previous govts.

So now end consumers will have to pay for the circular debt that accumulated because of govt inefficiency and corruption?
Circular debt is accumulated due to loss making power sector that is subsidized by govt so that they can make further losses. It's not govt in efficiency but power sector in efficiency and incompetence.

MASHALLAH, every leader we get in this country is such a Harami that there are no words to describe their attributes.
Actual Harami are those that did these expensive and unsustainable power contracts which the people now are going to pay for.

Yeah make people pay for past crooks while those crooks are let to go abroad, thousands of others enjoy life in Pakistan upscale societies.
Is Imran Khan running Lahore High Court that let Nawaz Sharif go abroad?