Govt to facilitate wheat importers

Any source or just...

Since people posting their opinion, I can too.

IMO the Nawaz and zardari mafia control rural areas which produce such crops, these traitors told the jageerdar and waderas to hoard wheat. And given that Pakistan is primarily wheat eating nation, this damaged the country as whole not just govt.

i have agricultral land in hafiazabd .

i go there every weekend

at a floor of 1400 /man , no farmer finds it feasible to grow wheat

and no, there is no one forcing us ,

wheat hoarding is impractical and plain stupid = moisture, rates, pilferages , warehouse maintenance eats away any potential profits u can realize later

----------------

the only good thing = now Punjab govt has somewhat relaxed the 'floor' price and farmers are selling for as much as 1800/man .

Then govt is doing right.

yes

this is what govt will do to pakistan

starve people into submission once every thing else fails

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Holodomor

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt3182620/

im seeing a sinister plot in the govt echelons to make pakistan food 'insecure'

---------------------------------------------

govt is not doing enough as if culprits of sugar scandals were treated in similar manner like the agencies treat matiullah jan no one will again think of doing such corruption,the problem is that they only act when their own interests come under threat and not when public interests are compromised
Then govt is doing right.

govt is not doing enough as if culprits of sugar scandals were treated in similar manner like the agencies treat matiullah jan no one will again think of doing such corruption,the problem is that they only act when their own interests come under threat and not when public interests are compromised

suggest you watch

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt3182620/

the psycopaths in power would use food as a weapon in pakistan,,

roti is now 7.5 vs 6

sugar daddies were part of govt

- aka the mafia /govt

how many have been charged as we speak?

Jee jee govt is not enough because ppl are na shukray. Wait till 2023 and bring back nawaz till then tax chor will suffer.

He knows but country Gaya bhar mein, their first priority is their political God and party.

Besharam log hai khud tax chori kartay hai aur yaha aker bhashan detay hai economy per.

Agriculture serves as a large chunk of Pakistan's economy...so wouldn't it be better if the government bought all the wheat, rice, and other grains...
...determined the domestic need(plus some cushion)...and exported the rest?

It would stabilize the price by eliminating hoarding mafia. This central control of how much to export would reduce chances of exporting excess amounts...and then when domestic shortage occurs having to import it at a higher price(something that has happened before). It will also help implementing an "aadhar" kind of system in Pak...where food items can be provided to the poor at a discounted rate...which will make sure that the poor don't suffer due to inflation. This will allow Pak to tax all "luxury" items to the max, or depreciate the currency, etc. without the inflation effects on food prices. Any economists here that can shine some light on this? I'm just thinking out loud.

This latest news I suspect, based on my own admittedly limited understanding, is that we are due to be short on wheat production compared to last year due to irregularities in rainfall, crop failure due to disease, increased prices of inputs for farmers, and of course locusts.

This talk of elusive and ominous mafias is getting old, I don't know how much of these crises is attributable to weather, natural phenomena, or market manipulation, but you're in government. You gave the order to export last year which contributed to the crisis, and if anyone can deal with these so called mafias, it should be you, especially since allegations are leveled against one of your own close confidants.

This latest news I suspect, based on my own admittedly limited understanding, is that we are due to be short on wheat production compared to last year due to irregularities in rainfall, crop failure due to disease, increased prices of inputs for farmers, and of course locusts.

This talk of elusive and ominous mafias is getting old, I don't know how much of these crises is attributable to weather, natural phenomena, or market manipulation, but you're in government. You gave the order to export last year which contributed to the crisis, and if anyone can deal with these so called mafias, it should be you, especially since allegations are leveled against one of your own close confidants.

Could be the readon. Also will it be beneficial to have imported wheat if its in less cost then our own wheat?

If imported wheat lets say 50/kg to public and our own wheat cost 60/kg to public.

Which should we go for? Just a question for better understanding

Could be the readon. Also will it be beneficial to have imported wheat if its in less cost then our own wheat?

If imported wheat lets say 50/kg to public and our own wheat cost 60/kg to public.

Which should we go for? Just a question for better understanding
As I said, I’m no expert in this field. But for relieving burden on awam, PKR subsidies are probably much cheaper than digging into forex reserves to secure cheaper wheat. And I’m not sure if it is cheaper imported in the first place. IMO importing would only be sensible if it’s there to cover short term shortfalls or supply problems.

I am not expert as well but my thinking on this, if import is cheaper for wheat then import it and that burden of import on foriegn reserve should be cover by exporting our wheat.

This way, public happy and no burden on foriegn reserves and good lesson for mafia.

In Pakistan new crop was harvested in April every year and there is no possibility that shortage occur in first 6 months after harvest as currently it is july and only 3 months have passed after crop was harvested so it seems that it is artificially created shortage to benefit particular mafias

Speaking of agriculture, we tend to forget that agricultural sector doesn't pay any tax, if we to collect it we might get as much tax as much as industry gives.
If agriculturalist are demanding subsidies, infrastructure, and other government support then it must pay taxes like the rest of Pakistan

Speaking of agriculture, we tend to forget that agricultural sector doesn't pay any tax, if we to collect it we might get as much tax as much as industry gives.
If agriculturalist are demanding subsidies, infrastructure, and other government support then it must pay taxes like the rest of Pakistan

how much tax did tareen pay on the bonanza sale of sugar ?

subsidies = check

allowed export = check

allowed price manipulation = check

bhai, ppl are not as stupid as you might think

how much tax did tareen pay on the bonanza sale of sugar ?

subsidies = check

allowed export = check

allowed price manipulation = check

bhai, ppl are not as stupid as you might think
Was saying in reference to taxes paid compared to Industry.
If ppl are not stupid, why doesn't speak up against this practice and instead are made to think armed forces are taking most of revenues