Government planning to extend Army Chief tenure to 4 years

It's good.and was expected

He need to complete the work load he started, there is a lot of work to be done in Zarb e Azb, Karachi operation and CPEC. Operation in Punjab is even yet to start, and it will need Raheel Sharif to be completed with success.........

Of course he is the powerful person in Pakistan....He will get whatever he wants....

Agar meri chalti toh.. i would have given him extension for "infinite years"
12046762_1009981732365766_379366973423187950_n.jpg

Couldn't agree more with you Sir. 3 years is a very short period for any serious work to be done. Plus i hope that the trend of selection of 2nd senior most to COAS is implemented. Rather COAS be made CJCSC, thus a system is put in place. COAS being made CJCSC may have its own benefits.

COAS should groom his successor, then he becomes CJCSC & his #2 becomes COAS, thus they may have a good communication level.

And i believe CJCSC should be given more powers to make it an effective / efficient position.

NOT A SINGLE DAY OF EXTENSION should be given.

IF RAHEEL SHAREEF is just ONE MAN in the whole army with the mindset that we all appreciate then may Allah help us.

we need the mindset to change across the board every single politician and military general should have this mindset to eradicate terrorism and corruption from Pakistan.

@fatman17 would you agree to looking at the bigger picture like i suggested?

Govt. k pass aur koi choice he nahy hai, pata nahy new COAS Raheel jesa hoga, Kiyani jesa hoga ya Musharaf jesa hoga..

So, its better to continue with Raheel..

IF RAHEEL SHAREEF is just ONE MAN in the whole army with the mindset that we all appreciate then may Allah help us.

we need the mindset to change across the board every single politician and military general should have this mindset to eradicate terrorism and corruption from Pakistan.

He has already communicated that he will not seek an extension, and rightly so. I strongly believe his successor will continue on with the same policies, this man has effectively changed the thinking and the mindset of the institution. He will set a great precedence by completing his 3 years, sit back, relax, and play golf knowing that he is leaving the nation in a much better state. Although i do agree with other posters here, the tenure of Army Chiefs should be extended to 4 years instead of 3.

No extension..
I believe the sub general are as much competent and patriotic... though gen Raheel is way visionary and assertive

What a Great move by PML-N government this is the most intelligent thing they did fully support their move. General Raheel Sharif Deserves Extension.

Does any army chief ever retire on time? just asking.
@Imran Khan bhai
yes all of these

1. Frank Messervy General 15 August 1947 10 February 1948 9th Hodson's Horse KCSI, KBE, CB, DSO
2. Douglas Gracey General 11 February 1948 16 January 1951 1st Gurkha Rifles KCB, KCIE, CBE, MC

4. Muhammad Musa General 27 October 1958 17 June 1966 1 (Royal) Frontier Force Regiment HPk, HJ, HQA, MBE

6. Gul Hassan Khan Lieutenant General
20 December 1971 3 March 1972 5 Horse SPk, SQA

7. Tikka Khan General 3 March 1972 1 March 1976 12 Medium Regiment Artillery HJ, HQA, SPk

9. Mirza Aslam Beg General 17 August 1988 16 August 1991 Baloch Regiment NI(M), SBt
10. Asif Nawaz General 16 August 1991 8 January 1993 5 Punjab Regiment NI(M), SBt (Bar)
11. Abdul Waheed General
11 January 1993 12 January 1996 Frontier Force Regiment NI(M), SBt
12. Jehangir Karamat General
12 January 1996 6 October 1998 13th Lancers NI(M), TBt

15. Raheel Sharif General 29 November 2013 Present 6 Frontier Force Regiment NI(M), HI

Couldn't agree more with you Sir. 3 years is a very short period for any serious work to be done. Plus i hope that the trend of selection of 2nd senior most to COAS is implemented. Rather COAS be made CJCSC, thus a system is put in place. COAS being made CJCSC may have its own benefits.

COAS should groom his successor, then he becomes CJCSC & his #2 becomes COAS, thus they may have a good communication level.

And i believe CJCSC should be given more powers to make it an effective / efficient position.

our system is outdated now. what we need is a CDS - Chief of Defense Services. the war and battlefield environment in the 21st century is changing rapidly. militaries are depending more and more on IT based technologies to get an upper hand over its adversary. this requires a high level of co-ordination between the tri-services to operate at the highest level of efficiency and effectiveness.
that said, it is why the post of CJCSC should be converted to the CDS. the chiefs of the tri-services should report to the CDS. CDS becomes the focal point of the military in its interactions with the govt. in power. the formations still report to the chiefs so they really don't lose their authority and the plus side of this chain of command is that the chiefs spend 100% of their time on their professional matters. this also reduces the risk of military takeover because even though the CDS is the boss, he would require the consent of all 3 service chiefs to impose martial law which would be more difficult to get than in the existing situation where the army chief acts alone without consent of the other service. Ayub, Yayha, Zia and Musharraf all imposed ML on their own authority as head of the army. the new chain of command would also make the appointment of the service chiefs a routine and less politicized affair. the CDS would be appointed on a strict rotation between the tri-services not like the present where the army has hogged most of the appointments to date.

As expected what? Do you even know what articles says? General don't want his tenure to be extended. What's your point?

Why General Kiyani's tenure was extended?

the govt. of the day extended his tenure citing WOT.

Lol. Yes, we all REALLY hope he isn't the ONLY mindset in the army.

We NEED the mindset to change across what you say. But the thing is, we 'NEED'
There's a list of 100 things we need. Corruption to end, Politicians to be sincere, system working, etc, etc. Hell, we need loadshedding to end. Don't tell us what we need, we are quite aware of it.

The thing is, IS IT WORTH THE RISK? We have got someone after decades, or may for the first time in the history of Pakistan have we got someone such brave and staying within his jurisdiction, pro-democracy with the heart of a lion, someone opposite of Zia who is trying to reverse the damage Zia and most other dictators did.

Again, yes we ''NEED'' the mindset changed, and we certainly HOPE he isn't alone within his institution with such an ideology.. BUT, what is HE IS ALONE? Is it worth the risk? That is what we stupid Pakistani's are. When we have someone in hand, we tend to lose them just for the sake of fake drama expecting the other one to be better or same. Care for what you have, rather than RISK destroying him what he built. Stop gambling the nation and national interests for no reason.

He has already communicated that he will not seek an extension, and rightly so. I strongly believe his successor will continue on with the same policies, this man has effectively changed the thinking and the mindset of the institution. He will set a great precedence by completing his 3 years, sit back, relax, and play golf knowing that he is leaving the nation in a much better state. Although i do agree with other posters here, the tenure of Army Chiefs should be extended to 4 years instead of 3.

How do you believe his successor will continue on with the same policies? Did Musharraf's successor Asfhaq Pervez Kiyani continue with HIS policies? Did Raheel Sharif continue on with Ashfaq Perfez Kiyani's policies? Every army chief has a DIFFERENT mindset. They don't follow their ex-chief's mindset. Take Zia, Mushi, Kiyani, Ayub Khab, Yahya Khan into account. They didn't follow their ex-chief's mindset. Everyone was different from the other. I say, Don't risk this man. You never know what you have in stock for you, and if the upcoming COAS would ever be as daring and focused as Raheel Sharif.

No one should assume the future would be the same as the present, as the present isn't the same as the past, and based on that theory the future will have a complete different ideology based on THE PERSON IN COMMAND. What if we get a Zia or a Musharraf? Ever thought of that? After every good democratic General we had an Ayub Khan, Zia and Mushy. Just when we were happy for getting rid of the dictator and reinstating of democracy, we got dictatorship again. Be thankful for what you have, try your best to NOT LOSE Raheel Sharif, as what you expect with the next one is a gamble, with 90% chances him being something other than him. It's said amongst the army, something I can assure you of, personally, that many despise Raheel Sharif within the ranks, and wish for him to leave so they can enforce their credo. A complete different one.

Allah wants us to be thankful for what he has given us, and not throw him away gambling for the next. If he stays for another 3 years even, it's no harm done to our nation, or national interests - whatsoever.

our system is outdated now. what we need is a CDS - Chief of Defense Services. the war and battlefield environment in the 21st century is changing rapidly. militaries are depending more and more on IT based technologies to get an upper hand over its adversary. this requires a high level of co-ordination between the tri-services to operate at the highest level of efficiency and effectiveness.
that said, it is why the post of CJCSC should be converted to the CDS. the chiefs of the tri-services should report to the CDS. CDS becomes the focal point of the military in its interactions with the govt. in power. the formations still report to the chiefs so they really don't lose their authority and the plus side of this chain of command is that the chiefs spend 100% of their time on their professional matters. this also reduces the risk of military takeover because even though the CDS is the boss, he would require the consent of all 3 service chiefs to impose martial law which would be more difficult to get than in the existing situation where the army chief acts alone without consent of the other service. Ayub, Yayha, Zia and Musharraf all imposed ML on their own authority as head of the army. the new chain of command would also make the appointment of the service chiefs a routine and less politicized affair. the CDS would be appointed on a strict rotation between the tri-services not like the present where the army has hogged most of the appointments to date.

the govt. of the day extended his tenure citing WOT.
GOVT IS THINKING ABOUT DOING IT . HE DON'T WANT EXTENSION SO WHICH PART U DIDN'T GET?

Government will never extend his tenure mark these word and bookmark my post.

Nothing against raheel he's done great if he gets extension might lose respect.he's one of the best general we had in history of Pakistan.
but the man might have been retire if it wasn't for nawaz sharif..