From The Vault

So many brave sons, so many stories and so many martyrdoms. May their sacrifices are accepted.

War has a huge price to pay.

Quoted

My 1st Commanding Officer

By: Kamran Shafi

Lt Col (Later Lt Gen) Ahmad Jamal Khan, older brother of Major (Later Lt Gen) Ahmad Kamal Khan, Adjutant P.M.A. when I was there. (Which is why I did not get my choice posting: 12th Cavalry/6th Lancers/5 Horse, and was sent to 4th Battalion, (Prince of Wales' Own) The Baluch (then, now Baloch) Regt, Col Jamal Commanding.
I was only a junior Lieutenant with one years service when I went to my village, Wah, for a long weekend. My grandmother who had brought me up and who saw nothing wrong with whatever I didagreed that I should take her 2-door Chevrolet 1951/2, California Model, back to Sialkot with me.
I parked the car behind the Nissen Hut within the Bn HQs because I had a feeling I had done something wrong! I was in the Training Area when I saw the Adjutant's Orderly marching towards me. He saluted and said, 'Sir, Adjutant Sab salaam bola rahe hain'. Meaning that the Adjutant had summoned me. I walked to the Bn HQ and entered the Adjt's office and saluted him. Without asking me to sit down, Capt Ghulam Mehdi, who in later years I found to be a lovely man, turned to his left, where the Head Clerk sat with his clerks in an office abutting the Adjt's and said, “Head Clerk Saab, Lt Saab ka leave certificate tayaar hai”. The Adjt handed me the Leave Certificate and said, “The CO has given you a weeks leave. Go and leave the car home”. “Sir...” The Adjt interrupted me and said, “You may leave now”. I snapped off an angry (therefore exaggerated) salute and marched out of his office, got into the car, packed a bag, said goodbye to my batman the Late and much mourned L/Nk Azam Ali (who saved my little daughter's life 33 years later), and drove to Wah.
The following Monday I was playing football with our Bn team when I saw the CO drive his VW into the car park. He summoned me... I greeted him in the formal way and he started walking gesturing me to follow him. “How many officers have cars in the Bn, Kamran?” “Two (him and the 2I/C) Sir”, I said. “Now do you understand why I asked you to leave your car at home”? “Yes Sir”, I said. “Do you have a Bicycle”, he asked. “No Sir”. “Well, get one”. “I don't have the money, Sir” I replied.
The very next day the CO's orderly, red sash and all, came marching into the Training Area, saluted me, and said, “Sir CO Saab salam keh rahe hain”. O' God what have I done now, I said to myself. I marched into the CO’s office and snapped off an exaggerated salute. “Sit down, Kamran”, and to his Orderly, “Subedar Major Saab ko salam bolo”. The Subedar Major Mehr Mohammad Khan (who I arrested a year later, when he didn't salute me purposely) came in and saluted the CO. “Saab, Laftain Saab ko City lay jaiyen aur RTC (Regimental Treasure Chest) say inn ko achha sa cycle lay dein. Dekhna dynamo bhi ho aur poora chain cover. Mess Havildar ko bataein kay Laftain Sab kay mess bill main har maheenay 50.00 rupay jama karay jab tak cycle ki keemat poori nahin ho jati”. So, off we went in the Duty Dodge, me in the front seat, SM Saab on the bench in the back (there were no double-cabins then). Bought the bicycle, and the next day happily rode with my comrades to parade. What a way to bring a young whippersnapper down to earth! Tears!
Beautiful memories! CO’s were like fathers, their lady wives, mothers to the Young Officers. And what a kind lady was Mrs. Ahmad Jamal Khan.... They are all gone now...May the Lord rest them...Tears...

He was actually GE.... Garrison Engineer.... Means your father is from Engineers.

thank u for ur clarification.
but in fauji lingo especially in the engineers circle, it is referend to as the "G".

It is elementary my dear as a garrison engineer can only be from the corps of engineers. He also served as "GE" of drigh road now faisal afb.

lest we forget,

Wg Cdr Mervyn Leslie Middlecoat
Sitara-e-Jurat and Bar
Sitara-e-Basalat
9 Sqn "Griffins"
12ᵗʰ December 1971
near Sikka, Jamnagar

missing in action for 49 years, and counting.

"no mission too difficult, no sacrifice too great." https://t.co/R8Os9fsyc4
IMG_20201212_084525.jpeg
IMG_20201212_084530.jpeg

Anyone read this book?
Where can I get it?
IMG_20201212_160232.jpeg
IMG_20201212_160242.jpeg

remembering,

Flying Officer Nasim Nisar Ali Baig
Tamgha-e-Jurat
19 Sqn "Sherdils"
13ᵗʰ December 1971
Talhar, Sindh

"those who are dead....are not dead....they're just living in my head..." https://t.co/VlA5zL4cGF
IMG_20201213_095012.jpeg