Four-day meat ban in Mumbai during Jain fasting period

Do you support this four-day meat ban in Mumbai during Jain fasting period? (For Indians only)

• Total voters
Really? You are the only community that the Indian govt. is asking to procreate. What more appeasment do you want?

Appease me more.

Not enough.

Paida karega aur khayega kya? Ghas foos?

Will you sign?

Another minority appeasement scheme by the state govt. Only other day Modi claimed that our's is Buddhist India...& now this. This communal BJP govt is turning into secular by the day, looks like they'll put even congress into shame if they carry on like this! :hitwall:
this has been done before too ,since 94

A lot of Indians will be starving for 4 days then.

I made my Jain friend eat Chicken :p:

In my native, Even Muslims do not eat meat. We have many well developed town with population of around 1 to 2 lakh where you shall not find a Omlet lorry. People are totally vegetarian whether they are Hindus or Muslims.

The 4 day ban during Jain festival has been in effect since 1994...its nothing new or out of way. So cry more please :lol:

Something is new. NO 1 enemy of secular is in power. They need every reason to cry.

Fasting day suppose to come with food ban not only meat ban. It is actually making mkery of Muslim in Mumbai nothing else. Daud bhai ko bulana porega pher... ;)

People lose objectivity when they blindly support one particular political party. That is what I am observing here too. This is a stupid decision, as much as one tries to spin it.

Shaina NC was looking visibly hot and bothered last night.

We need a lot more color in our politics like her and the AAP chick (Muslim, I forget her name).

Shaina NC was looking visibly hot and bothered last night.

We need a lot more color in our politics like her and the AAP chick (Muslim, I forget her name).

Shazia Ilmi ? no more AAP chick though.

On Topic : this ban is cruel like the one in kerala during ramzan to kids in school, why was their no outrage since 2004 ?

I do not bothered at all if half of Hindus eat non veg. Most of them do not eat non veg on festival day. They will not die if they do not eat non veg for few days. After all India's non veg consumption is not even a fraction of non veg consumption of other countries per capita. It is not a regular food of either Hindus or Muslims.

Vegetarians won't die either by eating non-veg for just one day, animal sacrifice and having it cooked as 'prasad' is mandatory in most traditional temples of Maa Kali, for reasons you can read about the battle between Maa Kali and the demon Raktabija. Will the vegetarians eat meat that day?

I just want all sections and communities of the society to practice their faith freely without imposing it on others...and that includes ALL communities, for the record vegetarians are minorities in this country, and it shouldn't have mattered even if they were majority.

BS of first order.

Ok I call your bluff - prove its BS . Our ancestors started eating meat around 2 million years ago, this along with the use of fire to cook foods is what gave us enough nutrients and energy to build the huge brains we have in comparison to other closely related species. Our guts became smaller and our brains larger. Without the addition of meat it is unlikely that proto humans would have developed into the social and intelligent creatures we have become. Raw vegetation alone would mean spending most of the day eating in order to maintain body mass. Brains are very energy consuming.

Fasting day suppose to come with food ban not only meat ban. It is actually making mkery of Muslim in Mumbai nothing else. Daud bhai ko bulana porega pher... ;)

For the third or fourth time to the people like you, where do you see "Muslim" here?

'Beef Festivals' To Fight Against #BeefBan. How's That For A Protest?
beef-pic_1427443985_1427443990_980x457.jpg

Outraged with the recently imposed beef ban in the state of Maharashtra, several states across the country have found a unique way of protesting. Unlike the usual protests, there are no fasts unto death and no buses set on fire. The idea is simple enough - to organise a 'Beef Festival' and it's catching on. After Maharashtra and Kerala organised food festivals around the beef theme, now Kolkata is throwing its hat into the ring.

Kolkata, the cultural capital of India, is all set to organize a 'beef fest' at the Muslim institute, near Subodh Mullick Square on Tuesday, March 31. Two Kolkata-based NGOs, Subhas Chakraborty Foundation and Paschim Banga Pratibondhi Sammelani, have decided to organise a ‘yummy protest’ with nawabi spreads of chicken, mutton and beef.

“The BJP government is banning cow slaughter in several states. We believe that eating whatever one wants to is a personal choice. The central government’s intolerance towards an individual’s food habits is against the spirit of national unity and secularism,” said Faiyaz Ahmed Khan, one of the organisers and a former CPI(M) councillor of Kolkata Municipal Corporation told Hindustan Times.

Earlier in the month, students of Hyderabad university had screened a documentary, titled - 'Caste on the Menu' and around 200 students of Ambedkar Students Association, University of Hyderabad and organised a similar 'beef festival' protest. They gathered around restaurants, ate beef biryani, distributed packets of biryani and chilli beef in the university and shouted slogans against the ban, all of this to showcase that any suppression of food culture to protect certain religious sentiments will not be tolerated and accepted silently.

"In a democracy, food habits of all should be respected. Banning beef is a mode of discrimination against the already marginalised communities," D Prashant, student leader of University of Hyderabad was quoted telling TOI.

Though cows are considered scared and worshiped among the Hindus, going by what the sales figures in Kerala suggest, it is consumed not only by the Hindus, but is one of the most favoured meat in the state.
beef-protest-in-kerala-ndtv_1427439820.jpg

political-leaders-who-were-at-the-protest-venue-in-kerala_1427439903.jpg

In a rare occasion, both Hindus and Muslims in Kerala came together for a 'beef meal'. The fete was organised to show solidarity with the people of Maharashtra and to sent across a message to the authorities that no such ban would be accepted in the state.

Democratic Youth Federation of India's B Biju,who was heading the protest, said, “This is a token protest against the ban of beef in Maharashtra and a warning for anyone who would want to implement the same in Kerala. Any ban our food will not be acceptable.”

The protests started sprouting up after Maharashtra imposed a ban on selling or eating beef can be jailed for five years and fined Rs. 10,000.

Here's celebs took to Twitter to express their opinion over the issue of #beefban in Maharashtra. Here is what they had to say:

Ok I call your bluff - prove its BS . Our ancestors started eating meat around 2 million years ago, this along with the use of fire to cook foods is what gave us enough nutrients and energy to build the huge brains we have in comparison to other closely related species. Our guts became smaller and our brains larger. Without the addition of meat it is unlikely that proto humans would have developed into the social and intelligent creatures we have become. Raw vegetation alone would mean spending most of the day eating in order to maintain body mass. Brains are very energy consuming.

Stop your BS. We have lots of vegetarian people very well build living very healthy and long life. My family is an example.

Anthropologist give credit to fast improving of human intelligence in last few thousand years.

They are

1) Ban on insist (No sexual relation between brother and sister and close relations)
2) Ban on cannibalism

Where above 2 is there you shall see bellow IQ ill people.

beef-pic_1427443985_1427443990_980x457.jpg

Outraged with the recently imposed beef ban in the state of Maharashtra, several states across the country have found a unique way of protesting. Unlike the usual protests, there are no fasts unto death and no buses set on fire. The idea is simple enough - to organise a 'Beef Festival' and it's catching on. After Maharashtra and Kerala organised food festivals around the beef theme, now Kolkata is throwing its hat into the ring.

Kolkata, the cultural capital of India, is all set to organize a 'beef fest' at the Muslim institute, near Subodh Mullick Square on Tuesday, March 31. Two Kolkata-based NGOs, Subhas Chakraborty Foundation and Paschim Banga Pratibondhi Sammelani, have decided to organise a ‘yummy protest’ with nawabi spreads of chicken, mutton and beef.

“The BJP government is banning cow slaughter in several states. We believe that eating whatever one wants to is a personal choice. The central government’s intolerance towards an individual’s food habits is against the spirit of national unity and secularism,” said Faiyaz Ahmed Khan, one of the organisers and a former CPI(M) councillor of Kolkata Municipal Corporation told Hindustan Times.

Earlier in the month, students of Hyderabad university had screened a documentary, titled - 'Caste on the Menu' and around 200 students of Ambedkar Students Association, University of Hyderabad and organised a similar 'beef festival' protest. They gathered around restaurants, ate beef biryani, distributed packets of biryani and chilli beef in the university and shouted slogans against the ban, all of this to showcase that any suppression of food culture to protect certain religious sentiments will not be tolerated and accepted silently.

"In a democracy, food habits of all should be respected. Banning beef is a mode of discrimination against the already marginalised communities," D Prashant, student leader of University of Hyderabad was quoted telling TOI.

Though cows are considered scared and worshiped among the Hindus, going by what the sales figures in Kerala suggest, it is consumed not only by the Hindus, but is one of the most favoured meat in the state.
beef-protest-in-kerala-ndtv_1427439820.jpg

political-leaders-who-were-at-the-protest-venue-in-kerala_1427439903.jpg

In a rare occasion, both Hindus and Muslims in Kerala came together for a 'beef meal'. The fete was organised to show solidarity with the people of Maharashtra and to sent across a message to the authorities that no such ban would be accepted in the state.

Democratic Youth Federation of India's B Biju,who was heading the protest, said, “This is a token protest against the ban of beef in Maharashtra and a warning for anyone who would want to implement the same in Kerala. Any ban our food will not be acceptable.”

The protests started sprouting up after Maharashtra imposed a ban on selling or eating beef can be jailed for five years and fined Rs. 10,000.

Here's celebs took to Twitter to express their opinion over the issue of #beefban in Maharashtra. Here is what they had to say:

There are some agents of anti Hindu political parties who does this. Today India has a ban on beaf in more than 20 state. nationwide ban is in pipeline. Our Home minister has instructed BSF to stop animal to be taken for slaughter in BD. We have non vigilance at the core of value and we are just putting that into practice. Tomorrow Muslims of Ahmedabd rose in big way against cow slaughter.

Stop your BS. We have lots of vegetarian people very well build living very healthy and long life. My family is an example.

Anthropologist give credit to fast improving of human intelligence in last few thousand years.

They are

1) Ban on insist (No sexual relation between brother and sister and close relations)
2) Ban on cannibalism

Where above 2 is there you shall see bellow IQ ill people.

There are some agents of anti Hindu political parties who does this. Today India has a ban on beaf in more than 20 state. nationwide ban is in pipeline. Our Home minister has instructed BSF to stop animal to be taken for slaughter in BD. We have non vigilance at the core of value and we are just putting that into practice. Tomorrow Muslims of Ahmedabd rose in big way against cow slaughter.
Hindu extremism on rise good for us keep it up.