Floods to hit economic growth: Finance Ministry

to my Pakistani brothers,
plz don't call it "typical Indian mentality" because not all Indians have the same view.

A wise thanks sir.
It not only about country but lot's mind is shrinking to only thinking to their own needs:cry:

Nobody wants its enemy strong and if the enemy have attacked 4 times then everyone has right to have his opinion.

Wars are won by attacking,

armies,
media (by propaganda)
governments
diplomacy
economy(to some extent)

MOST IMPORTANTLY, WARS ARE WON BY RETAINING THE MORAL HIGH GROUND

But my dear friend, if you attack the common man, then you lose the moral high ground.

Our fight is not with people of Pakistan, what they perceive of us is merely the symptom.

What pakistan's rulers have done to make the common pakistani perceive us the way he does is the disease and that's what our fight is against.

^ man sorry for that, i edit.

It always tuf in mobile to browse:P

Our economy was already in ICU now its euphimistically speaking, fecked up . The horror word is inflation and worst of all its Government induced ... electricity and fuel prices alone have risen massively and must be increased in future to provide for a better living standard of our masters .

Yaar sometimes I fear if the damage has been done beyond repair.

Pakistan needs a leader with a vision. Sadly, I see no hope when it comes to that.

its always dark before dawn my friend.answers have 2 and will cm frm the people themselves.unstable pak is nt good 4 india.

^^ Sometimes, merely hoping for change doesn't bring change. Sometimes, a reality check becomes a must. :coffee:

dont reply to this troll, waste of effort

he'll be banned pretty soon most likely :)

Wars are won by attacking,

armies,
media (by propaganda)
governments
diplomacy
economy(to some extent)

But my dear friend, if you attack the common man, then you lose the moral high ground.

Our fight is not with people of Pakistan, what they perceive of us is merely the symptom.

What pakistan's rulers have done to make the common pakistani perceive us the way he does is the disease and that's what our fight is against.
There are many views to what constitutes a victory in war. And all do not adhere to the principles mentioned by you. For example, to speed up the WW-II victory, US of A reduced Hiroshima and Nagasaki to Ashes by using Nuclear Weapons against common citizens ; Even though the Intel was that the cities being of prime military importance, the bombs were dropped in Urban industrial areas thereby causing heavy civilian casualties ; To this day Americans discuss ethics to support its reason while morality files out of the window.

Hence the statement,
is inappropriate when used for generalization.

DW..... The Nukes are in safe hands, we wont use them until you will :lol:
Wow...i never knew that Pakistan has a no-first use Nuclear policy ; In fact it is India which possesses that policy whereas Pakistan is pretty much committed to the FIRST use of them when losing face in a Conventional war.

Pakistan flood-hit economy may see 0 to 2 % growth

* GDP growth could be as low as zero percent:woot::woot:

* Cotton crop loss about 25 percent

* Inflation could reach 25 percent

By Sahar Ahmed

KARACHI, Aug 23 (Reuters) - The worst floods in decades could knock down Pakistan's economic growth for fiscal 2010/11 to between zero and two percent, Pakistani officials said on Monday, fuelling concern about the country's stability.

The Asian Development Bank, assessing flood damage and Pakistan's needs along with the World Bank, said last week economic growth could be three percent [nSGE67J028]. The finance ministry said the country would miss this year's 4.5 gross domestic product growth target, but did not give another figure.

Sakib Sherani, a senior adviser to the finance ministry, said there was a whole range of growth estimates which would be revised once the actual impact of the floods became clear.

"We think zero percent is the lower bound of these estimates," Sherani told Reuters, adding that this was his own estimate, and not an official figure from the finance ministry.

He said the zero growth estimate was based on the economic impact of the damage caused to key crops and livestock, adding an estimated 25 percent of the cotton crop has been affected.

The textile industry, which accounts for more than 50 percent of total exports, depends on the cotton crop.

Drastically lower economic growth would be a major cause of concern for the Pakistani government and the United States, which wants its ally as stable as possible because it is a frontline state in Washington's war against militancy.

Pakistan's president and foreign minister have expressed concern that Islamic militant groups would exploit the widespread suffering to gain recruits.

Islamist charities, some with suspected links to militant groups, have been more effective than the government in providing relief to floods victims.

INFLATION COULD SOAR

The International Monetary Fund will review Pakistan's budget and macroeconomic prospects following catastrophic flooding during talks with senior Pakistani officials in Washington starting on Monday.

The meetings are set to focus on the future of Pakistan's $10.66 billion IMF programme agreed upon in 2008. If the IMF agrees to ease the programme's targets, or extends the repayment period that would ease the government's financial burdens.

Reconstruction is likely to cost billions of dollars, burdening an economy that was already fragile before the waters raged from the northwest to the south, destroying villages and key infrastructure and making more than 4 million homeless.

Sherani said inflation could reach as high as 25 percent, compared with the 2010/11 target of 9.5 percent.

Higher costs and food shortages could enrage people who had lost everything in the floods and who are already angry at their government for its slow response to the disaster.

The U.N. said the floods have left millions of people hungry, raising the prospect of popular unrest unless immediate and reconstruction aid reach the victims swiftly.

Sherani said lower commodity prices could prevent prices from spiking up. "We will have to import essential items and if international commodity prices go down, then inflation at 25 percent will be less probable," he said.

The Pakistan Planning Commission's forecast was not as grim. "I agree the growth will come down but at the same time, the zero percent is cruel, it will be one to two percent," said Nadeem ul Haque, deputy chairman of the commission, which formulates and monitors implementation of development projects.

"There will be a negative impact but when reconstruction starts in November or December and people go back to their lands and restart farming, there will be a positive impact." (Additional reporting by Kamran Haider in Islamabad; editing by Miral Fahmy) (For more Reuters coverage of Afghanistan and Pakistan, see: here)

Pakistan flood-hit economy may see 0 to 2 pct growth | Reuters

Bhai ye thik nahi hain. Is baat pe kyon "Mogambo khush hua".