Five homemade drinks to beat the heat

ghazi52

PDF THINK TANK: ANALYST
Five homemade drinks to beat the heat

893670-foodyourmood-1432802983-131-640x480.gif

The summer heat is becoming unbearable by the day and it is time we take measures to beat it.

Although drinking a lot of water is the best option to stay hydrated, there are times when you crave for a flavoursome treat. And for all such instances, we bring to you five homemade drinks that not only taste great but will also keep you well hydrated.

1. Aam Panna

chefinyou1.gif

The one drink to fight sunstroke and that everyone can count on is aam panna. The drink is made of raw mango, sugar and spices. ‘Aam panna’ is easy to make and helps to cure ailments such as tuberculosis, anemia, cholera and dysentery.

2. Wood-apple juice

MG_3255.gif

Although a less popular drink on the list it’s benefits are exceptional. Wood-apple juice is easy to make and effective in dealing with a heat stroke. Open the wood apple and scoop out the inside. Put the inside of the wood apple and sugar in a grinder. Grind till smooth and serve chilled.

3. Lemonade

butterfliesandme.gif

Long hours of exposure to the sun is certain to leave you dehydrated. And the best way to deal with that is by having a chilled glass of lemonade. Get a glass of cold water, squeeze a lemon in it, add a teaspoon of sugar and a pinch of salt, stir. And your weapon against heatstroke is ready.

4. Lassi

theapricity.gif

Lassi is a popular yougurt drink among all which is usually served as a refreshment. It will help cool you down as well as aid food digestion.

5. Water-melon juice

doctormurray.gif

Scrumptious red watermelons on a hot sunny day should be a must on your falvoursome drink list. One large glass of watermelon juice in your breakfast will help keep you hydrated this summer season.

mangoshake.gif

mangoshake2.jpg

ingredients.gif

• 1 tsp. of Mango (cut in cubes)
  • 1/2 cup of Mango Pulp
  • 1/2 cup of Milk (chilled)
  • 1 tbsp. of Water
  • 2 tsp. of Powdered Sugar
directions.gif

1) Blend the mango pulp well in a blender or mixer.

2) Add milk, water and sugar to the mango pulp and blend well once again.

3) Pour the shake in tall glasses. Put the mango pieces over it and serve cold.

Serving Suggestions: Serve Very Cold
Degree of Difficulty: Easy
Recipe Category: Coolers

mangolassi.gif

mangolassi2.jpg

ingredients.gif

• 4 ½ fluid ounces of Mango Pulp (canned) or 7 ounces from 3 Fresh Mangoes (stoned and sliced)
  • 9 fluid ounces of Plain Yogurt
    • 4 ½ fluid ounces of Milk
    • 4 tsp Sugar (or as a variation use salt to taste and cardamom seeds)

directions.gif

• Put all the ingredients into a blender and blend for 2 minutes, then pour into individual glasses, and serve.
      • Feel free to try salt and cardamom seeds. The lassi can be kept refrigerated for up to 24 hours.

Serving Suggestions:
Serve Very Cold
Yield: 4 Servings
Preparation Time: 5 minutes
Recipe Category: Cold Beverage

fruitpunch.gif

fruitpunch2.jpg

ingredients.gif

• 20 ounces of Frozen Strawberries (thawed)
  • 2 pints of Strawberry Ice Cream
  • 1 (12 ounce can of Frozen Pineapple Juice (from concentrate) (thawed)
  • 2 liters or (1 ½ to 2 quarts) Lemon-Lime Soda (chilled

directions.gif

• Combine pineapple juice, strawberries, and 1 pint of ice cream; and blend until smooth.
    • To serve, pour into chilled punch bowl and add chilled lemon lime soda.
    • Spoon remaining ice cream on top. Serve in punch cups.
Serving Suggestions: Serve Well Chilled in Punch Cups.
Yield: 18 Servings
Total Serving Amount: 18 Cups
Recipe Category: Cold Beverage

ROOH AFZA MILKSHAKE RECIPE

rooh-afza-milkshake-recipe-summer-drink-3-200x300.jpg

PREP TIME............10 mins

Rooh Afza milkshake - very refreshing summer beverage

Yield: 3 Servings

INGREDIENTS
  • Chilled milk - 2 cups
  • Rooh afza syrup - 4 tablespoons or as required
  • Sugar - 2 tablespoons or to taste
  • Sabja seeds - 1 ½ teaspoons, soaked for 30 minutes, optional

INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Add rooh afza syrup to the chilled milk, add sugar. If sugar has big granules then grind into powder, so it dissolves quickly.
  2. Mix well and keep it refrigerated till serving.
  3. Add spoonful of sabja seeds before serving, if you like.

Strawberry-banana-milkshake-recipe-2-150x150.jpg

Mera Baccha---tu tey satoo noon bhul wi giya. Thaadal kithay gayee----gunnay the joos kithay giya----hehn

Having Falsa(Grewia asiatica) juice these days. Imli aloo bookhara(Tamarind & plum juice) are also one of the widely used drinks during summers.

there are more then 5 drinks at local stalls sugar cane juice Tamarind & plum juice and Sattu etc etc

Ab koi mujhay bana kay bhi day day kasmay, Allah ka wasta. I want aam panna.

Thanku , aur plz zara jaldi bana dain.

Oye mango lassi hamari recipe nahi hai, yeh india ki koi recipe hai ,we dont drink or like it. As in its an indian speciality. Pakistan may mashhoor nai hai. mango lassi got popularized from india.
Scratch it off the list.

Doesnt taste too great either.
Mango smoothies all the way.

El-Capone-Margarita.jpg

El Capone Margarita

• 2 oz. Sauza Blanco
  • ¾ oz. DeKuyper Sour Watermelon Pucker Liqueur
  • 1¼ oz. fresh watermelon puree
  • ¾ oz. fresh lime juice
:chilli: