Fazlur rehman says PDM should resign

also PDM isnt a single unit
ANP for example still voted for afridi simply because they promised him, ANP and pkMAP are independent parties

also JI, was neutral and didnt vote..

all in all instead of easy comfortable lead pTI should have had in open ballot we have a very close neck to neck senate now

currently it is
48-50 (excluding 1 ishaq dar & 1 JI)

so even 1 person defecting will make it 49-49..
PTI deputy chairman senate got 54 votes so technically govt has majority in Senate
its 48-50 with PDM having 1 vote majority..

so passing resolutions will still be tight but will mostly happen

this is in contrast to 51-47 lead had open ballot been adopted

so passing resolutions will still be tight but will mostly happen
Govt can call joint sessions in that case as both chairman and deputy chairman is PTI supported.
this is in contrast to 51-47 lead had open ballot been adopted
Govt did its best to avoid this situation but it happened anyway thanks to PDM's election commission.

Govt can call joint sessions in that case as both chairman and deputy chairman is PTI supported.

Govt did its best to avoid this situation but it happened anyway thanks to PDM's election commission.
probably it wont come to that

however what will happen if a no confident movement comes in..

govt needs bring in ANP/JI into govt from PDM..they have enough seats to counter that ..ANP already has commitment with BAP in senate(ANP got votes from BAP)

This is basically like gali cricket. Fazlu and maryam are the kids who brought bat and balls and after being declared out they are going home because kahi jana hei😔
probably it wont come to that

however what will happen if a no confident movement comes in..

govt needs bring in ANP/JI into govt from PDM..they have enough seats to counter that ..ANP already has commitment with BAP in senate(ANP got votes from BAP)
PTI Will give presidential reference to get rid of ishaq dar who hasn't taken oath and will bring hafeez shaikh from that seat.

Whatever happens inside Senate cannot be challenged in any court lol.
Technically yes, but it's really up to the courts to decide whether they'll take it up or not, they may well agree with your view that they have no jurisdiction, but in some cases they do decide to take it up and enforce their writ.

In his camp? You mean establishment won't sit with elected govt unless blackmailed? :D

Define "Sit with". If that includes all the over and above they have provided since 2018, then no, they will only do all of that out of self-interest, a lack of alternatives, and also pressure from IK.

Imran has at least two more nuclear options up his sleeves, even if his party falters in parliament, it might damage him as PM, but he'll still have a lot of political power and anything that might destabilise him will force him to use that substantial power, and show his hand.

It was PMLN who backstabbed PPP in Senate Chairman Elections. A day before at PDM conference, Nawaz and Fazlu openly spoke against PPP's strategy as they were getting nothing from it.

Hazfeez Sheikh loss is an open and shut case in public as loot from Sindh was used to purchase those MNAs. No such thing happened in Senate Chairman election.

Lol. I thought we agreed not to quote one another friend? :wave:

Also advice for Imran Khan ... he need to stop lecturing and stop talking about risat e madina .... need to show some performance on the ground.

Lol. I thought we agreed not to quote one another friend? :wave:

You have either reading or comprehension issues .. or both!

I told you a long while back that Zardari will screw your nazriyati baap (read: Nawaz) and he has. He got himself a permanent bail in all this whilst staying put and playing politics inside Pakistan, whereas Nawaz and his daughter are finished for good.

You have either reading or comprehension issues .. or both!

I told you a long while back that Zardari will screw your nazriyati baap (read: Nawaz) and he has. He got himself a permanent bail in all this whilst staying put and playing politics inside Pakistan, whereas Nawaz and his daughter are finished for good.

Just to remind you, we agreed not to quote one another, is it me who has comprehension issues or you? At any rate, I don't to want be the subject of another emotional outburst. So it's best I stay avoid that. You and your IK are unquestionable right and very, very competent. Congrats on the huge confidence vote and the senate chairmanship victories, truly awe-inspiring. Absolutely nothing can go wrong between now and 2023, goodbye again friend. :wave:

Maulana sahib, if you choose to play the horse trading game, you don't get to cry when you lose and the other side wins. Zero credibility for the crying side is left, and no sympathy. That goes for government's tears after Hafeez Sheikh election loss, and PDM tears at chairmanship election loss. :whistle:

However, this jump to suggesting resignations seems to me to say that Maulana has little faith left in the strength of PDM in parliament. Whereas just a few days ago, they were supremely confident and nobody even mentioned resignations.

So PPP went from taking the lead in parliament while it battled the government, PMLN and Maulana went silent and let PPP do their thing. Now that they have lost, PPP are taking the election to high court, Maulana is suggesting resignations ahead of the long march, most probably the threat is that the march reaches Islamabad, and the PDM goes in one by one and resigns. And while Nawaz is busy attacking the millitary on his end to apply pressure, Imran Khan also blackmails them on the other end to keep them in his camp. These are interesting times. :pop:
One thing is clear no matter which camp you support. This is a struggle to protect interests of some elites and feudals and has nothing to do with issues pertaining Pakistani public. And that is why public support so far has been non existent.
If PDMs march succeeds, at the most assemblies may be dissolved and new elections held again with another promise of “neutral establishment”.
In an election I don’t see people missing JUIF that they will vote for them in droves, same for PPP in Punjab and Karachi, they are not expanding beyond interior sindh. Punjab will be a battle ground again between PTI and PMLN, but they would badly need NS back and a united PMLN (ie no Maryam vs Shabaz grouping).
So in a new midterm election PDM may end up losing more badly, as no party has improved on their credibility and PTI despite bad performance overall may make a case of not letting them complete a term etc.

You have lied yet again, Mr Liar. There was no such agreement from my side (even in the link).

Stick to the topic!
Okay, maybe you were not clear and I misunderstood. In that case, please continue as normal.

By the way, it may seem that Maryam and Nawaz are finished. As much as I would hope that these two relics of dynastic politics are finished, they are probably not. Attacking the establishment may seem like a career ending move, but long term it probably isn’t. Who knows, before long, IK may also have no choice but to attack them with the same rhetoric himself. Every single politician today has sucked up to them in good times, and turned on them when they were abandoned in favour of another.
One thing is clear no matter which camp you support. This is a struggle to protect interests of some elites and feudals and has nothing to do with issues pertaining Pakistani public. And that is why public support so far has been non existent.
If PDMs march succeeds, at the most assemblies may be dissolved and new elections held again with another promise of “neutral establishment”.
Agree. Perhaps the only real thing that I liked about PDM is that they went true on the anti-establishment rhetoric. But beyond that, they’re the same career politicians, family dynasties, and generally incompetent leaders who’ve kissed the ring when it suited them.

maybe you were not clear

If I can be explicit in calling you a liar, there is no reason why I can't be explicit in agreeing to not quote you as well!

By the way, it may seem that Maryam and Nawaz are finished. As much as I would hope that these two relics of dynastic politics are finished, they are probably not. Attacking the establishment may seem like a career ending move, but long term it probably isn’t. Who knows, before long, IK may also have no choice but to attack them with the same rhetoric himself. Every single politician today has sucked up to them in good times, and turned on them when they were abandoned in favour of another.

Siyasi shaheed is the only option for any kind of return and they won't get it. That's why you won't see them being tried for treason. During IK's tenure (& possibly beyond), Maryam's exit from long term jail would only be possible in return for plea bargain (eternal disqualification).

Zardari has opened the door for Bilawal and then Asifa (his favourite - and she is being trained in the background). But Nawaz with his barking against his masters has left all doors closed for him. Showbaz & Sons may survive however.

If I can be explicit in calling you a liar, there is no reason why I can't be explicit in agreeing to not quote you as well!

This is the fourth time you’ve called me a liar, it’s insulting and shows that you’ve become frustrated. This is why I suggested you not quote me, to which it seems to me that you had agreed. You can excuse yourself now but I don’t buy it.

I would also advise you to be careful who you call a liar. It’s easy now, but also consider the possibility that you are wrong. If you want to continue adding this insult to every reply. Then kindly don’t quote with me in the first place.

Siyasi shaheed is the only option for any kind of return and they won't get it. That's why you won't see them being tried for treason.

Treason wouldn’t apply if all they’re doing is criticising the establishment. You need to read article 6, and what constitutes high treason. Even the reasonable limitations to free speech alluded to in article 19, nowhere near invalidate Nawaz’s rhetoric. At best you might win a defamation case against the persons and institutions whom he has named, even that is subject to libel laws, which I’m not familiar with.

It’s funny because the same rhetoric you want to try Nawaz for high treason, Imran used to say too. There are clips of him. So are they both treasonous? Let’s hear your attempt to rationalise this obvious double standard.

During IK's tenure (& possibly beyond), Maryam's exit from long term jail would only be possible in return for plea bargain (eternal disqualification).

Zardari has opened the door for Bilawal and then Asifa (his favourite - and she is being trained in the background). But Nawaz with his barking against his masters has left all doors closed for him. Showbaz & Sons may survive however.
Ok, let’s see what happens.