Edhi Foundation refuses to accept Rs 1 crore offer by PM Narendra Modi

Maarkhoor

426728-edhi-700.jpg

New Delhi: Pakistan's noted humanitarian Abdul Sattar Edhi on Tuesday refused to accept Prime Minister Narendra Modi's donation of Rs 1 crore to his charity.
"Abdul Sattar Edhi has thanked PM Modi and politely declined to accept his announced financial help," Edhi Foundation spokesman Anwar Kazmi was quoted as saying by 'Dawn' news.

Kazmi said Edhi's son, Faisal Edhi, will be addressing a press conference in this regard at 4:30 pm at the Karachi Press Club.

PM Modi had on Monday announced the contribution to the charity after the return of hearing and speech impaired girl Geeta to India.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday offered Rs 1 crore to Pakistan's Edhi Foundation for taking care of Geeta, a deaf and mute young Indian woman who was stranded there for over a decade.

Also Read: PM Narendra Modi gives Rs 1 crore to Edhi for caring for Geeta

"I don't think any amount of words are enough to thank the Edhi family for taking care of Geeta. They are apostles of kindness and compassion," Modi tweeted on Monday.

“What the Edhi family has done is too priceless to be measured but I am happy to announce a contribution of Rs 10 million for their foundation,” said another tweet from PM Modi.

Also Read: All about Abdul Sattar Edhi – Geeta’s saviour and the greatest living Pakistani

PM Modi also expressed his gratitude to Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif for his efforts that ensured Geeta's return to India.

The Edhi Foundation is a non-profit social welfare NGO in Pakistan, founded by Abdul Sattar Edhi in 1951. He is popularly known as Pakistan's "Father Teresa"
Edhi Foundation refuses to accept Rs 1 crore offer by PM Narendra Modi | Zee News

. . . . . .
He should have taken it would have been used to help a lot more people.

Edhi Foundation has a policy of not taking any funding from any Government or Government Run Institutions. He turned down millions of dollars offers of aid from Italian Government, USAID, Pakistan's Federal Government etc.

He only accepts money from common citizens. A very noble policy if you ask me.

One slap on terrorist modi face ... did anyone heard it ? alot of people got it .. amazing slap Edhi sahab ... Keep it up ..

In Pakistan we say ... baiti to baiti hai apni ho ya doshman ki ... but this modi does not understand it .. but we do what our values are and they are killing innocent muslims as thats what hindu values are ..

BUT LOVED THIS SLAP ON MODI FACE :) :omghaha::omghaha::omghaha::omghaha::omghaha::nana::nana::nhl_checking::nhl_checking:

Plus it seems like a form of compensation (hence inappropriate)..... besides whatever policy may be.... so good job EDHI
Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday offered Rs 1 crore to Pakistan's Edhi Foundation for taking care of Geeta, a deaf and mute young Indian woman who was stranded there for over a decade

One slap on terrorist modi face ... did anyone heard it ? alot of people got it .. amazing slap Edhi sahab ... Keep it up ..

In Pakistan we say ... baiti to baiti hai apni ho ya doshman ki ... but this modi does not understand it .. but we do what our values are and they are killing innocent muslims as thats what hindu values are ..

BUT LOVED THIS SLAP ON MODI FACE :) :omghaha::omghaha::omghaha::omghaha::omghaha::nana::nana::nhl_checking::nhl_checking:
You better read a couple of more posts above before replying bro :)

This isnt anti-India sentiments at work. The Edhi Foundation has a policy of only accepting money from Pakistanis. He does not get involved in politics or funding from foreign NGO's. This is the reason why he is loved so much by the common man.

A political tone is bad for noble work of Edhi's. That is why they never take money from political figures. In the words of Edhi Sb, he never runs out of money and if he does he himself goes out in streets and markets and starts asking people for money. One of my friend told me it is a sight to behold when Edhi Sb is out asking for money. People are just running to give him money. Traders will empty their cash boxes entirely. The amount Edhi collects in just few hours is far greater than what Indian PM announced. But it happens rarely. Most traders of Karachi have already set aside a portion of their income for Edhi foundation. Don't be fooled by modest appearance of Edhi Sb. He doesn't spend on himself but he manages a charity network worth billions.

Edhi foundation runs on trust of people of Pakistan. As per Edhi Sb, people of Pakistan have never let him down. He has to maintain his distance from political figures to maintain that trust. Hope Indian fellows will understand why he politely declind Modi's donation. He probably also doesn't doesn't want to be feel like being paid for his services. He is a man who will do it as his duty and not accept reward for it.

He should have taken it would have been used to help a lot more people.
If you look into the donations Edhi foundation gets from just Pakistanis, you will be amazed. 1 crore is like peanuts to them & it is not about money really. I applaud their decision for not taking money. This is what i really expected from them.
Edhi sent a peaceful message across the globe that their services & their humanitarian efforts are not for sale & never was.
:pakistan:

Edhi Foundation has a policy of not taking any funding from any Government or Government Run Institutions. He turned down millions of dollars offers of aid from Italian Government, USAID, Pakistan's Federal Government etc.

He only accepts money from common citizens. A very noble policy if you ask me.

hmm yes but they would be able to touch more lives with that money. Any particular reason why they don’t accept ?