Dhaka overtakes Karachi on "Liveability Index 2022"

Our Karachi city location alone is better than your capital squashed in by all sides

Karachi city sits on the Persian coast ocean with Arab peninsula just up the road. As said before many times here, Pakistan as a whole is the most strategically placed country in the region.

In every discussion a poop lover will start handling poop for no reason. Even though they have the choice of not doing it. WTF is wrong with people?

Just put them on ignore list...

I wasn't talking about Karachi or Bengalis. I was talking about Pakistan in general. Culturally we are similar I feel. When I look up photos of Pakistani cities (as I can't see streetview), I look for things like people's behavior such as how the paan and cigarette shops look like, how the guys parked their motorbikes in front of tea stalls, how the billboards look like, how posters and bills are stuck on the walls, how chaotic the traffic is, how carelessly people are crossing the roads while on the phone, how a bunch of schoolgirls wearing their school dresses walking to school (school dress is same as BD), how a shop keeper is sitting on his stool in his shop and there is a small wall fan facing him and the types of commodities in the shelves , how there are kebabs being hung from hooks in kebab shops etc. From those things I derive that apart from the language and racial/ethnic/facial/colour difference I probably would not feel much of a difference.
Agreed. Paan by the way is more a immigrant introduction to Pakistan from India/BD. And I suspect you guys copied our dress mode in the last 30 years. I have noticed how BD people in UK used to wear Saris back in 1970s/80s but now have adopted the standard Pakistan Shalwar Kameez - this also has happened in India where until 1980s it was mostly found in Indian Punjab etc but now has spread east and south.

I don't think it's google's decision not to include India or Pakistan. More likely it's the Indian and Pakistani establishment blocked google from doing that because of security concerns. I tried Egypt also, same story, can't see.

Dhaka City has some Google street views, and I have seen it. I don't think all city is covered, some areas though.

Bahria Town Karachi, when fully habitated, the Town can have a population of 1 million, Spread over 20 sq. miles. About 28 Km from Karachi.

Developed by Malik Riaz, the most crooked man and the richest too. all real estate developers are called corrupt though.

View attachment 856454

View attachment 856456

View attachment 856457

View attachment 856461

Bahria Town Karachi, when fully habitated, the Town can have a population of 1 million, Spread over 20 sq. miles. About 28 Km from Karachi.

Developed by Malik Riaz, the most crooked man and the richest too. All real estate developers are called corrupt though. He is paying about 460 billion Rs. to Pak govt. as fined by Supreme Court as he got the land is huge discounted price initially.

View attachment 856454

View attachment 856456

View attachment 856457

View attachment 856461

View attachment 856466

I was reading about the Bahria town, read some articles that for the Karachi Bahria they removed many villagers from their lands and when they protested they were shot. Wiki literally says it's affordability is only for 1% of the Pakistani elite. Nice town but nice only for the rich.

Agreed. Paan by the way is more a immigrant introduction to Pakistan from India/BD. And I suspect you guys copied our dress mode in the last 30 years. I have noticed how BD people in UK used to wear Saris back in 1970s/80s but now have adopted the standard Pakistan Shalwar Kameez - this also has happened in India where until 1980s it was mostly found in Indian Punjab etc but now has spread east and south.

No, school dresses were same even in the old times in BD although university going girls used to wear saari. Nowadays salwar kamis is worn more but that's not a copy thing, it's more convenient to wear in a chaotic city. Bengali women still wear saari regularly at every opportunity, it is seen by Bengalis as a prettier dress.

As for the paan, I am not sure it's an immigrant introductuon, it was always there in the whole of the subcontinent. In 1971 and before some Pakistani military officers, senior ones used to use PIA flights to smuggle paan from east to the west, read it in some books. There was demand of course in west Pakistan too.

Dhaka City has some Google street views, and I have seen it. I don't think all city is covered, some areas though.

All city is covered.

Also surprised to see Algiers on the list.

I didn't know anything about Algiers city. But looked up some photos now. Looks like some parts are really nice but some parts are really bad.

I was reading about the Bahria town, read some articles that for the Karachi DHA they removed many villagers from their lands and when they protested they were shot. Wiki literally says it's affordability is only for 1% of the Pakistani elite. Nice town but nice only for the rich.

No, what the developer Malik riaz did was he built the infrastructure at par with Dubai(well not exactly) the roads, the sewerage, storm water drainage is excellent, the electricity, gas are all underground. A good quality Town for the middle class to upper middle.

As you can see the houses are small, from 150-200 sq.yds. And priced between 1.2 to 1.5 crore Pak rupees. Apts are still cheap with 2 bed at Rs. 60 lacs upwards.

It's a middle class area with no huge bungalows, but smaller townhouses.

Some areas like Golf club and some other niche areas has big plots and bungalows. Most of the town house and apts are cheaper than many areas of Karachi.

Karachi is/ will be a hellhole urban dystopia in the next ten years if it isn’t flooded or sunk.

They have destroyed most of the mangroves protecting it and the land mafia incl. Bhargaya Town and those that run Dee Ehch Ayi is uprooting all ecological protection for the city.

Pakistan as a whole is the most strategically placed country in the region.
Can you please tell why that is,I have heard this before in this thread and genuinely want to know why it is.

As I see pakistan located in a dangerous spot having Afganistan and India as its neighbour also Iran a country under sanction. How can pakistan benifit from its geographical position is beyong my understanding. But you may have a better explanation and would love to hear.

On funny thing is mens kurta in bengali is called punjabi. Only when I came to Australia I got to know its a kurta, as it maynhave come from punjabis so it is called punjabi.

One of my friend went to a pakistani shop to buy kurta and he asked for a punjabi and the shopkeeper is like "what the hell?"

Do not know about shalwar kameez coming from pakistan, do you have any artcle on this?

Maybe, but Karachi still pays more tax then all of Bangladesh.
So no black economy in Karachi like you guys claim about 80% undocumented economy!!!!

Karachi's stability index is listed same as Damascus and less than Tripoli, is this some kind of a joke? Damascus and Tripoli are in the midst of a civil war, there is no on-going civil war in Karachi except one shown on media channels of a certain country.

No offence to anyone, but I'd still rather live in Karachi than Dhaka or any other city in Bangladesh. These threads are amusing though.

Thats grt achievement by rural people who are governing on Karachi and making like monjodaro. MASHALLAH may ALLAH save khi from devil eyes :wub: keep digging until its die..!!