Dhaka Metro rail: Also a show of local engineering might

Some people are born whiners, you can never satisfy them even if you give your life at their service. If we want the most modern metrorail with the latest technology, then we must need foreign help who are best at that. We can not take risk of buggering off such a massive and crucial project by handing over it to construct to the novices and first timers. Those who are whining that Japanese money and technology were used instead of Bangladesh doing by itself are living in a ganja's paradise.

I am satisfied that, with all the bulk construction materials provided by Bangladeshi companies and also most of the construction workers and mid level engineers are from Bangladesh, most of the spending of this project are absorbed by our local economy and adding to our GDP. It is true, the top officials in this project are Japanese and Japan also providing metro train coaches, but these are not the costliest inputs. Most of the money is spent on giving compensation to land owners, buying bulk construction materials, giving tax to Bangladesh govt. and giving salaries to thousands of Bangladeshi workers and mid-level engineers means that most of money circulated within our economy. This will make repaying back the loan a lot less painful compared to if we had to secure all those construction materials from abroad by spending Foreign reserves.

And we also can be confident that our construction materials are top grade that even the quality- conscious Japanese put trust on them. This will give us confidence to use local materials in all future projects and also help to export to other countries.

I don't think the either of you are civil engineers. Your dislike of @bluesky bhai notwithstanding, I would have liked for you to criticize and refute his argument points and not criticize the fact that he put them up in a post.

Stating the poor quality of our engineering expertise is not whining. A whole majority of my acquaintances, close relatives and friends are civil engineers and we discuss these projects happening in Bangladesh in ALL our get togethers. The poor quality (and horrifically unsafe outcome) of the engineering jobs of all these companies (with one or two exceptions such as Abdul Monem) are self-evident. You cannot hide them.

One railroad company (MAXX engg. ltd.) who built the CTG-CXB rail link has had all their trackage laid in non-straight serpentine manner the whole way and its openly visible if you sight down the track. They also did part of the Laksham Akhaura railway. It is pathetic how brand new BG and MG locomotives bounce and sway like rabbits over rail track laid only three years ago. Is this what we call "top grade" construction in laying track or reinforcement underneath ?? Is producing cement and/or re-bar having ASTM conformance that tough ? No - its bare basics you can do. Supplying OK cement and re-bar is no great shakes and if this is all you can claim as "achievement" then may Allah help you.

Our standards are no better than African countries, just admit it. Loads of room to improve, scads of it.

If @bluesky bhai complains about these pathetic local civil engg. standards we have in Bangladesh, he does it as a well-wisher, be thankful for that. He has had experience with better processes and materials compared to what happens in Bangladesh, and if he says something to correct those, then I'd listen. Most of the time I agree with him for this reason. The standards in countries like US/Japan and those of Bangladesh should be the same, if the same money is spent. What is the GOD DAMN excuse of doing so much worse ??

It might not seem so nice, but it is a heck of a lot better than pretending all is well and pat ourselves on the back like idiots.

All the govt. public debt incurred in all these projects will not result in ANY long term skills upgradation, other than maybe some minor things.

We have become drivers of Metrorail, but we cannot make any parts of any metro railcars, meaning simple AC motors. Forget that - we cannot even make motor parts for any irrigation pumps or engine parts of motorcycles. But driving skills, yes, that's where it's at.

We spent thousands of crores loaned by JICA to build steel trusses for Jamuna Railway bridge being built right now. But these haramkhors could not put in a single clause in there to have it fabricated locally. Instead the parts were all made in Vietnam and shipped to site in Bangladesh. We spend so much money, but we ask little about leverage. Because our leaders are a bunch of kamjaat backboneless haramkhors who only look for their Swiss bank account and not for the future of this country.

Well a 5 yrar old can probably do a decent job learning to make complex objects with Lego over time.
No one wants instant gratification but wants to see people are getting a better return.

Indians have been assembling their fighter jets since the 60's, less than 20 years after independence.
When you have so many projects to float, you are certainly in a better position to negotiate a better deal. Only Japanese Metro deals were favorable.
All the overpriced Ruppur supporting projects went to India.
The Chinese brought their own cement to build Padma bridge.
I would like to see more involvement of local companies for providing materials and services as we don't have enough foreign currency for concurrent mega projects and also to help develop local talents. There is nothing better than hands on training.

BD was under Pakistan's thumb till the 1971 and it has only had control of its own destiny for 51 years so far.

1970s was a lost decade as it had no money and it lost a large percentage of its educated population during 1971.

India is different as it had all that UK administration and industries to start off with in 1947.

Roopur was not overpriced - check the price of a 2.4GW nuclear power reactor given to other countries as their first nuclear power plant.

Even then despite the fact that BD started its development journey a whole 24 years later, it beats India in per capita GDP nominal.

What you like to see in terms of more local involvement is what is already happening and so why are you whinging here?

so why are you whinging here?

Because he is not getting a share of the loot 😂

Simple! Animal instinct!

Anyway, for the first 30 years BNP/Jamat and Ershad flooded our country with madrasas.

Hence the dearth of engineering expertise.

However, we have millions of experts on the intricacies of various hadiths 🤣😂😂

This guy is a Madrasa educated lazy troll! Envious of India!

Claims to be settled in USA but hasn’t managed to improve his English!!

That just shows his IQ level!

My French is better than his English!!