Dalit Muslims of India

Maira La

Bangladesh
For centuries India's social structure was built around a rigid Hindu caste system. While the caste system was constitutionally abolished in 1950, its legacy still deeply affects contemporary Indian society.

The Hindu population, around 84 percent of the 1.2 billion people that live in the country, is still influenced by the four main traditional castes, which also have their own sub-sects: Brahmins, the priestly and academic class; Kshatriya, the warrior caste; Vaishya, which comprises the business community; and Shudra, the working class.

Outside these four groups are others, including the Dalits, at the bottom of the hierarchy. Dalits have traditionally done jobs considered ritually impure, like garbage collection, street sweeping, the cremation of dead bodies and the disposal of human waste.

With Dalits continuing to face prejudice and discrimination within their own communities, some try to find social acceptance by converting to Buddhism, Christianity, Sikhism or Islam.

"Garbage pickers already live in hell from the day they're born. It's not their fault they're born into a lower caste. All of this gets dumped on them. If you're born into a lower caste you suffer the worst type of slavery. Converting to another religion doesn't change anything and this includes Islam." - Ashif Shaikh, director of the NGO Jan Sahas, which works towards abolishing manual garbage picking in Madhya Pradesh

"It bothers me whenever I introduce myself. People ask about my surname," says Rakesh, who's a Dhobi, the washerman caste. Rakesh has converted to Islam and changed his name to Ali Kanojia.

"I tell them my name is Rakesh. They ask, 'Rakesh what?' They normally ask you this at a Hindu's house," he says.

But conversion is not simply a way out - prejudices still carry over into other religions. Many converts face resistance and even violence from their families or the communities they were born into and the new chosen faith can pose a different set of challenges - like those faced by Ali Kanojia from his own family. "It's not easy to convert to Islam," he says. "They [the family] say it's not right. I ask, Why? They say it's because Muslims have a bad reputation."

Abdulrahman Bharti's conversion to Islam almost cost him his life.

"I got shot by Hindu people from the Sawar clan... When a person converts, the new religion welcomes them, but people from the old religion try to stop them. If they can't, they'll try to kill them. This happened to me," says Bharti who was shot in the chest and leg.

After independence in 1947, the Indian government introduced positive discrimination in favour of low caste groups, but not everyone enjoys the same benefits. It’s a highly complex benefit structure with certain jobs, education opportunities and political representation reserved for different social and religious groups. The Reservation Act covers a wide range of eventualities - but for Dalits the disadvantages of conversion may arguably outweigh the advantages, especially when it comes to jobs.

"The protection includes Sikhs and Jains, and Buddhists, but it doesn't include Christians and Muslims, so what happens is that they get excluded from those - the quotas for SCs [Scheduled Castes]," says Meenakshi Ganguly, the South Asia director for Human Rights Watch.

Kanojia, for instance, has not been able to get a government job.

"If you don't have a lower caste certificate you won't get a reserved job. I don't have the lower caste certificate. My parents were illiterate and had little understanding of things... I can't get a job anywhere," says Kanojia.

Set primarily in Mumbai and in the Madhya Pradesh countryside, this film provides an insight into conversion to other religions - the social reformer and principal architect of the Indian constitution, B R Ambedkar, was born a Dalit and converted to Buddhism and many followed in his footsteps - and the processes for finalising conversions.

We hear the personal stories of different Dalit Muslims and the campaign of one man, descended from Muslim converts, to end garbage picking and the discrimination of Dalits in Madhya Pradesh. This is part of a broader struggle where castes, clans and religions determine the course of millions of lives.

Source: Dalit Muslims of India - Al Jazeera English

Basic rule: Stick to topic. Post according to thread not by poster's flag.

. . . . .
Shove ur advice where sun don't shine:coffee:
ye Bangladeshi bhi na piddi se hain aur khudko tees maar khan samajhte hain:laugh:

Shove ur advice where sun don't shine:coffee:
ye Bangladeshi bhi na piddi se hain aur khudko tees maar khan samajhte hain:laugh:

Chal be chutta nehi hai age barh

Let me just leave you at the hands of mods, accusing of Troll. See if they help here or not. No time to argue with urchin class people.

@Horus @waz

Many of the poorest are targetted for conversion by evangelicals and daawa organisations. Thats their best bet and there is nothing wrong with it.

Its only when Hindus try to (re)convert the poorest of muslims or christians, thats when people foam at their mouths.

Im trying to follow rules of this forum. Now see how many you have broken. Also I have matters to settle with some members here. Full Metal, Rezanghir and Ranvir Sena. Who attacked Bengalis by calling subhuman in some other threads. Ranvir Sena is banned. I will do everything to ban you 2 remainings.

kapurush nejer matter e onner help chao keno?

Why don't u man up and face me amar opar banglar bhai?

FORUM RULES AND REGULATIONS

All users are expected to abide by our rules irrespective of their seniority/nationality/etc. Unable to follow the rules not only can give you temporary bans but also permanent ones.

BE RESPECTFUL
The purpose of the forum is to provide a platform for the exchange of ideas. Occasionally, there will be conflicts that arise when people voice opinions. Be courteous when disagreeing with others. It is possible to disagree without being insulting.

RANTING IS PROHIBITED
A rant is a post which is long-winded, redundant and filled with angry, non-constructive comments. A free exchange of ideas is essential to building a strong sense of community and is helpful, but rants are disruptive and incite flaming and trolling. Please post your thoughts in a concise, clear manner and avoid going off on rambling tangents.

PERSONAL ATTACKS ARE PROHIBITED

Commonly known as flaming, personal attacks are posts which are designed to personally berate or insult another. Text of this nature is not beneficial to the community spirit and will not be tolerated.

RACISM AND OTHER “…isms”.
No racist posts are allowed or other posts that are designed to put people down based on their nationality/sex/color/creed/etc.

PHOTOS AND VIDEOS
You are not allowed to create threads in other sections solely to discuss photos and videos except in the Photos and Multimedia sections such as Military Photos & Multimedia and General Photos & Multimedia. Understand copyrights.

OTHER FORUMS
In order to ensure healthy relationship with other forums we ask you not to talk about other forums or link them. Keep the topics related to other forums to their forum only.

SARCASM
We do not allow people to post sarcastic post at all. They are a very pathetic way in the end to back things up. They will be deleted on sight and user warned.

COMMENTS ON MANAGEMENTS DECISION

Don’t make posts about a decision made by a moderator or admin that you feel was unfair. If you think it was unfair, PM a person who edited/deleted your post, even if that doesn't resolve the problem contactwebmaster@defence.pk

TROLLING

Trolling is the word used to describe a post that is deliberately designed for the purpose of angering and insulting the members of the forum community. Posts of this nature are disruptive and do not convey a friendly attitude.

PERSONAL INFORMATION
Please respect the privacy of others and do not give out information such as phone numbers and addresses. Please don’t post credit card/social #s in anyway through the website.

Private communication between the members, moderators and administrators of the forum and the forum users is not to be made public on these forums or by any other venue.

You are not permitted to publicize any private correspondence (including petitions) received from any of the aforementioned.

IMMEDIATE BANNING
The posting of pornography; discriminatory remarks which are sexually explicit, harmful, threatening, abusive, defamatory, obscene, hateful, racially or ethnically offensive; excessive obscene or vulgar language; posts which discuss or illustrate illegal activity; providing links to sites that contain any of the aforementioned; advertising other websites on our forum.

SPAMMING AND BUMPING
Spam is considered to be repetitive posting of the same text again and again or nonsensical posts that have no substance and are often designed to annoy other forum users. Bumping posts in order to keep them near the top of the list is also prohibited. Posts of this nature are not conducive to community spirit and are unwelcome.

REDUNDANT AND DUPLICATE THREADS
As a courtesy to others before beginning a new thread, please look to see if an active thread on that topic has already been established. If so, place your comments there instead. Multiple threads on the same subject clutter up the forum needlessly and many good ideas may be lost. Keep discussions about one topic to one thread only.

IMPERSONATING
Impersonating another forum user, moderator, staff, administrator, or member is prohibited. You are expressly forbidden from impersonating anyone else, including those named above, on the forum. This may be grounds for permanent loss of your account.

ADVERTISEMENTS

Advertisements and spams through any feature of the website are considered serious offense. Posts discussing or linking to your own site or other defense forums are prohibited.

PROFANITY
Using partial masking (such as asterisks or punctuation marks) to byp*** the profanity filter is prohibited and will result in the same action as if the actual word had been typed.

NEWS AND INFORMATION

You must give credit to online newspapers by posting their article with link. The link should be in the end of the post to keep the professionalism, and better if you quote the news, so members can easily tell which one are your own words and which ones aren't. Also bold the title and make it in red color to make it look perfect. Understand FAIR USE.

MULTIPLE ACCOUNTS
After violating multiple rules and getting banned multiple times you may get banned permanently. In that case you might be looking for another account. Please know that multiple accounts are prohibited and we will track you. So just abide by the rules and post constructively and nothing will happen.

ONE-LINERS
The rules have been put into place to make the forum act like a serious forum. ONE-LINERS are prohibited in every section of the forum except member’s club and introduction forum. Please also look at the spamming rule.

If in any case you need to discuss something important feel free to shoot an email at webmaster@defence.pk

Thank you.

FORUM RULES AND REGULATIONS

The Saudi garbage collectors - Blogs - DAWN.COM

But why these Indian Muslim don't end up as garbage collectors in Saudia.

Most of the garbage in Saudi Arabia is collected and disposed of by Pakistani workers. When they are not Pakistani, they may be Bangladeshi, Indonesian, Filipino or from some other similarly unblessed nation whose destiny has not been driven by the discovery of oil.