Critical thinking 101: challenge your mind

Do you want me to put exercises up for practice?

• Total voters

Dubious

RETIRED MOD
Ok children,

Enough trolling, spewing garbage, wasting time (mine esp), and enough lack of ability to think...Seriously, if we start growing brains on a petri dish, I would suggest many of you to get one and go for an implant!

Now I am going to leave a series of of questions, posts, article and videos...that should help you think or at least point you (clueless people) to the right direction!

Now, I will start with definitions, concepts...summarize it and give you sources (for the parhaku) to read more into it...for the lazies I read for you and summarize so please read the summary!

ANY ATTEMPTS TO DERAIL, TROLL OR GIVE ME ANY BS WILL LEAD TO A BAN, KAPISH?

*P/S: no I am not being rude...read some of the reports/ crying and whining and you people will be running down my path...Instead of banging my head on the wall, I am going to try to teach you -I have a battle going on in my head to use the chappal or the teacher...I will go for the teacher for now(God bless the teacher in me)

A quick google showed me that critical thinking means: the objective analysis and evaluation of an issue in order to form a judgement. Basically, to logically think of a way to evaluate a situation to come up with the best solution.

So critical thinking requires reasoning and being an active learner rather than a passive recipient of information (rattafication). In critical thinking, you

• Question ideas and arguments, rather than accepting them as they are presented.
  • Determine the importance of the arguments
  • Able to link them
  • Find errors and inconsistencies
  • The questions asked should lead you to identify whether the findings are the whole picture and are able to figure out where the holes lie.
  • Reflect.

This relies on identifying the problem, analysing and then solving it systematically.

Some places have put 5-8 criteria:

• Observation
  • Analysis
  • Interpretation
  • Reflection
  • Evaluation
  • Explanation
  • problem solving, and decision making.

Read more at:
https://www.skillsyouneed.com/learn/critical-thinking.html

https://www.thebalancecareers.com/critical-thinking-definition-with-examples-2063745

For those who wish to read more:

https://www.criticalthinking.org/pages/defining-critical-thinking/766

If any online test includes in this i m in going to tag @War Thunder he knows and can share some valuable links for such tests
  • Observation
  • Analysis
  • Interpretation
  • Reflection
  • Evaluation
  • Explanation
  • problem solving, and decision making

If any online test includes in this i m in going to tag @War Thunder he knows and can share some valuable links for such tests
This is not a personality test

How to Practice Critical Thinking in 4 Steps
1. Ask Questions
2. Seek Information
3. Analyze With an Open Mind
4. Communicate Solutions

1) Ask questions: When you read something and dont understand, dont be shy to ask questions. It shows someone is alive and trying to process..Sure, we have trolls asking irrelevant questions but that shows more about them.

If this, then what? If that, then how is the outcome different? Each action has a reaction, hence think of different outcomes...from different angles. I encourage curiosity but not BS!

2) Seek information: Once you ask questions, in the day of technology, you should be able to find some form of information regarding the issue! Curiosity should automatically lead to a hunger to investigate! Instead of wasting time bashing another, use it to learn more (background information about the issue). Read various sources...The more different sources you read the more you broaden your mind and can think in from different aspects of the issue. Try reading different opinions and point of views concerning the same issue or related issues.

3) Analyze With an Open Mind: We are a product of our environment and how we were brought up. So, you may need to close some "filters" that have been pre-installed while growing and during your lifetime...this will help you understand if you are objective or biased!

4) Communicate Solutions: Critical thinkers are more interested in solutions than blaming others, complaining or whining or even gossiping! Discuss [not bash]. Discussing with people who have a different brought up can give you a different narrative/ angel / aspect to view from

To read more:

https://www.thoughtco.com/how-to-practice-critical-thinking-31722

If more people join I will post an exercise for the day...

This is not a personality test

How to Practice Critical Thinking in 4 Steps
1. Ask Questions
2. Seek Information
3. Analyze With an Open Mind
4. Communicate Solutions

1) Ask questions: When you read something and dont understand, dont be shy to ask questions. It shows someone is alive and trying to process..Sure, we have trolls asking irrelevant questions but that shows more about them.

If this, then what? If that, then how is the outcome different? Each action has a reaction, hence think of different outcomes...from different angles. I encourage curiosity but not BS!

2) Seek information: Once you ask questions, in the day of technology, you should be able to find some form of information regarding the issue! Curiosity should automatically lead to a hunger to investigate! Instead of wasting time bashing another, use it to learn more (background information about the issue). Read various sources...The more different sources you read the more you broaden your mind and can think in from different aspects of the issue. Try reading different opinions and point of views concerning the same issue or related issues.

3) Analyze With an Open Mind: We are a product of our environment and how we were brought up. So, you may need to close some "filters" that have been pre-installed while growing and during your lifetime...this will help you understand if you are objective or biased!

4) Communicate Solutions: Critical thinkers are more interested in solutions than blaming others, complaining or whining or even gossiping! Discuss [not bash]. Discussing with people who have a different brought up can give you a different narrative/ angel / aspect to view from

To read more:

https://www.thoughtco.com/how-to-practice-critical-thinking-31722

If more people join I will post an exercise for the day...
I'm in.

Exercise:

Think of something that someone has recently told you. Then ask yourself the following questions:

Who said it?

Someone you know? Someone in a position of authority or power? Does it matter who told you this?

What did they say?

Did they give facts or opinions? Did they provide all the facts? Did they leave anything out?

Where did they say it?

Was it in public or in private? Did other people have a chance to respond an provide an alternative account?

When did they say it?

Was it before, during or after an important event? Is timing important?

Why did they say it?

Did they explain the reasoning behind their opinion? Were they trying to make someone look good or bad?

How did they say it?

Were they happy or sad, angry or indifferent? Did they write it or say it? Could you understand what was said?

Video example:

Ok people:

Do the exercise and paste it here! Try to use a non-personal example!

Like write a para of the situation and then analyze it/ ask the questions in the exercise and paste it here! This way we can learn from one another and also help one another!

I will check tomorrow as it is VERY late right now!

I wont give exercises everyday but I will try to post SOMETHING (video/ article/ puzzle/ exercise/ weblink) 1-2 times a week so that more people can participate and you have more time to discuss the answers of the previous exercise..PLUS I have a life outside the net that ALSO needs attention!

DON'T JUST VOTE AND LEAVE

Kindly do the exercise...
Write a small paragraph of a scenario....go though the exercise and answer the questions...
Paste your answers here in the same order...preferably with the questions and we can discuss if any other questions or difficties arises

DON'T JUST VOTE AND LEAVE

Kindly do the exercise...
Write a small paragraph of a scenario....go though the exercise and answer the questions...
Paste your answers here in the same order...preferably with the questions and we can discuss if any other questions or difficties arises

Tomorrow , Its 2 where i am :cheers:

Well the only thing I can add here is for people to discover what cognitive functions are preferred by their mind, and in what order, and how to work on developing on those cognitive functions. This directly influences and improves their ability to think.

Even Allah hates people who do not use their mind. He refers to them as dumb, blind and worse than cattle. I hope more people can start using their mind and not live a life of distraction and shallowness.

Holy Quran - 008:022
"Indeed, the vilest of living animals, in God's sight, are the deaf, the dumb and those who do not use their intellect".

https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/...01403/eight-habits-improve-cognitive-function

@Dubious

Very interesting homework

Well here my homework.
But keep in mind that english is not my first language. And I don’t know if my replies suit the purpose of the exercise.

Who said it?

Someone you know? Someone in a position of authority or power? Does it matter who told you this?

It was during my return flight from Pakistan to France with a stop at Dubai airport.

An unknown man sat next to me in the plane at Dubai airport. I saw he had french written magazines, books. So I understood he was probably french spoken man.

Then by his look, I understood he was a Jewish. A Séfarade Jewish. Probably a dual passport holder.
Was he in any authority position ? Could not confirm it.
What he told does matter a lot.

What did they say?

Did they give facts or opinions? Did they provide all the facts? Did they leave anything out?

He didn’t said a fact, but what he said was a fact itself.
Actually I helped him a little bit to do his coming out ! :D

While the plane was making a turn just after taking off, we had a sight on the desert, I told him (sorry to the Arabs friends) what a fuc??ng country made of sand. Those Arabs have importance only because petrol. Without it they are nothing. That’s why they treat (us) Hindus like slaves.
He replied me with a very sadistic smile and in very angry mood they are awaiting the time when there will be no more petrol here.

Where did they say it?

Was it in public or in private? Did other people have a chance to respond an provide an alternative account?

It was in the plane, it could be considered as public space but the conversation was finally a kind of private one.

When did they say it?

In this case — can’t say anything.

Why did they say it?

Did they explain the reasoning behind their opinion? Were they trying to make someone look good or bad?

No. He didn’t explained why they were waiting the time when those countries will have no more petrol. But I was able to understand it easily. He wasn’t aware that he was talking to a Muslim. :enjoy:

How did they say it?

Were they happy or sad, angry or indifferent? Did they write it or say it? Could you understand what was said?

As said previously he said it with angriness that it was near sadistic.

I understood very well what he said.

It wasn’t the sole experience I had with Jewish people. It could be tagged as conspiracy theory / anti Semitic but the fact is I have witnessed myself.

Hmmm 3:35 am in France.

What I said in this exercise is true.

If smartphones existed at that times, I would have made him the star which is a famous judge in Pakistan today’s.
Ok I am going to re analyse what you wrote after lunch and use it as an example.

For the others..

Write a paragraph o a situation first. An instance not a series of encounters or happenings.

Ham to kisi ki suntay hi nahi hain isliye yeh test nahi da saktay
This is why you don't heed the warning
ANY ATTEMPTS TO DERAIL, TROLL OR GIVE ME ANY BS WILL LEAD TO A BAN, KAPISH?

And if it were a test you even failed to read the instructions can't expect anything more than that from you...kindly be gone

Well the only thing I can add here is for people to discover what cognitive functions are preferred by their mind, and in what order, and how to work on developing on those cognitive functions. This directly influences and improves their ability to think.

Even Allah hates people who do not use their mind. He refers to them as dumb, blind and worse than cattle. I hope more people can start using their mind and not live a life of distraction and shallowness.

Holy Quran - 008:022
"Indeed, the vilest of living animals, in God's sight, are the deaf, the dumb and those who do not use their intellect".

https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/...01403/eight-habits-improve-cognitive-function
Thank you for your insight but I don't wish to give it a psychological twist. People here can't even understand proper instructions to train themselves to think let alone explore that ability in the context of the brain.

@Vortex thank you for trying. It takes a lot of courage to be the first and that is admirable but unfortunately you misunderstood but no problem that is what we are here to train.

Did you watch the video?

This is why you don't heed the warning

And if it were a test you even failed to read the instructions can't expect anything more than that from you...kindly be gone

Thank you for your insight but I don't wish to give it a psychological twist. People here can't even understand proper instructions to train themselves to think let alone explore that ability in the context of the brain.

@Vortex thank you for trying. It takes a lot of courage to be the first and that is admirable but unfortunately you misunderstood but no problem that is what we are here to train.

Did you watch the video?

Not yet because it wasn’t working on my device yesterday night on my smartphone, but I will watch it then I will retry the exercise because it is very interesting and the lesson I will learn I will try to teach to my children too.

Hundreds thanks to you.

This one is very interesting but it will require some involvement and time to participate meaningfully. I will definitely do that and post some amazing things here but not right now. I will discuss about critical thinking in vedic mathematics. We all know how easy the multiplication is but you will be amazed to know that there is so much of mathematics is hidden in multiplication then what we know. I am planning to discuss vedic mathematics techniques here. That'll make it is easy to understand what critical thinking is.

Thanks for posting such a nice thread.
Open your own thread :)

We are not doing mathematics here

========================================================

Ok I think I wasnt clear.

You need to present a 1 paragraph scenario and analyze it using all the questions in the exercise.

Who said it?

What did they say?

Where did they say it?

When did they say it?

Why did they say it?

How did they say it?

Now, also understand that not all situations would fit these questions nor are all circumstances worth breaking into analysis (some people's naturally works that way but many have to practice to go down that path).

But critically analyzing anything and everything is not necessary until and unless you are say on a battlefield or a spy! USUALLY people use these skills at work or to analyze news text (modern day fake news should exercise this skill more frequently).