Creating an EA-16 B/D

Not a good idea from feasibility point of view. Dassault-20s are doing a good job but it PAF needs a wild weasel air defense suppression jet then it will be the JF-17 because of its ability to carry LD-10 and MAR-1As in collaboration with Falcon-20s.

The reason US chose the F/A-18 as EW warfare plane is primarily because it can operate from carriers, not a limitation for PAF. This role is usually given to aircraft with lots of internal space and loiter time.

Other than the Dassault Falcon-20s I believe the AWACs in use by PAF have SIGINT and EW capability as well.

Isnt the SIGINT in Erieye just in air to air mode? As far as i understand the Sigint is used to detect signals beyond the range of the radar if it picks up something it will allow the radar to focus in that area to aee what aircraft it is once it enters radar range.

More falcons would be nice 3 aint enough

After reading this thread Abhi Nandhan's tea is more hotter than ever....
Good post informative and up-to-date.
Or
Fantastic post...

Just saw this thread. Thanks @Signalian for a great informative thread.

This should definitely be doable. JF-17 may be configured as a growler, but it lacks the engine power to do this job effectively. Unfortunately it also lacks the range & staying power needed. That leaves only one option - F16.

Until Chinese are willing and able to share something at par with the American systems, this is the only viable option. There need not be a large number of aircraft configured for this role and for the ability that they would provide, the cost-benefit ratio would be favorable.

Only one question: would USA allow the integration (if it is third party) or provide the ALQ pods? What would happen in case of sanctions being imposed? I think strategic direction of Pakistan's policies would matter in avoiding sanctions (hint: FATF).

Been checking on EA 18G and F-18 E, after seeing the weapon and pod compatibility with F-16. Both F-18 and F-16 were basic planes in A/B configs and both have reached E/F stages through upgrades in past decades. Both can carry AGM-88 HARM and similar AIM series missiles.

What i am wondering is that EA-18G carries three dignified pod types (6 in total) for its EW work.

1. ALQ-218 (2 pods) on wing tips
This receiver is the main sensor, the ears for the aeroplane. That’s the 60 odd antennas that cover the spectrum. Highly sensitive, highly capable of geolocation, and also, clearly, highly capable of identifying the different threats in the battle space. Linked with AGM-88

2.ALQ-227 gives all round communications capability. That is the system that brings the aircraft down into the communications spectrum, right down the bottom of the EM spectrum.

3.ALQ-99 (3 pods in high/low frequency bands) The main jamming pods. They enable one versus many electronic attack from stand-off or modified escort positions.

Now PAF F-16's have DRFM already as established before, an AESA is missing along with AGM-88. The rest of tech like JHMCS, Link 16 etc are present.

Reportedly PAF has ALE-47, but since we dug up a link that ALE-50 is integrated, so lets go with that. for ECM, they have ALQ-131 and ALQ-211, along with a very important ALQ-213 EW management system, which makes me think that F-16 can be configured for EW like EA-18G.

So the question is:
For the right price, can PAF acquire the above 3 mentioned EA-18G pods, or a combination if not all and configure them to be used on F-16's, creating an EA-16 B/D ?

Would that give F-16 a chance for conducting offensive EW Ops against Indian IADS and S-400 ? A chance that EA-18G holds, considering DA-20 might noT enter IAF airspace.

Wing tips replaced by ALQ-218 instead of Aim-9 missile. Gun pod removed for controlling module for ALQ-218. 3-4 x pylons for ALQ-227 and ALQ-99 pods or AGM-88 HARM.

@Khafee @Tps43

Looks a fine possibility to me if they were to think about it. We don't need numbers, we just need the qualitative edge.
27/2 was a success solely because of our superiority with the EW side of things.

I'll be more interested if they can do something with the JF-17B's and configure them for EW roles as well. We can't be completely dependent on the AEW&C Platforms which become easy targets in the case of hostilities.

Besides, I have posted before about the J-16D and now even the recent J-15D from China. These are cost effective and very potent platforms with the gadgets they carry.
https://www.ainonline.com/aviation-news/defense/2018-05-08/china-reveals-another-growler

Stay out of your wishful thinking/fantasy world, we have no $$$ and mature military industrial complex to upscale JF-17, and assume that if your proposed UPSCALE JF-17 Block IV will develop, it already will become obsolete @AZADPAKISTAN2009 :crazy::crazy:

What's with this pessimistic mindset of some of you people? Do you folk actually drop in here every day to actually discuss why we cannot do something, or is it just the negativity in your personal life reflecting over here? We never had the $$$ through out most of our existence. Yet we have some of the most advanced and potent armed forces.
If we can have a JF-17 Block III, and we can go for a 4th gen fighter programme. What makes you think we can't come up with a JF-17 EW version tomorrow?

What's with this pessimistic mindset of some of you people? Do you folk actually drop in here every day to actually discuss why we cannot do something, or is it just the negativity in your personal life reflecting over here? We never had the $$$ through out most of our existence. Yet we have some of the most advanced and potent armed forces.
If we can have a JF-17 Block III, and we can go for a 4th gen fighter programme. What makes you think we can't come up with a JF-17 EW version tomorrow?
For that mostly thanks to China @War Thunder

oh bhai kuch to kar rahey hai. Aur bhi mulk hain jaha kuch bhi nhi hai even when they have better economic outlook. Take Bangladesh, what is that country capable of? Can they be a fighting power to even challenge Nepal or Sri Lanka in another 3 decades?

Only one question: would USA allow the integration (if it is third party) or provide the ALQ pods? What would happen in case of sanctions being imposed? I think strategic direction of Pakistan's policies would matter in avoiding sanctions (hint: FATF).

If PAF plays its card right, then yes its possible.
USA allowed ATLIS II Pod (non-US, I think its French) usage back in 1980's on PAF's F-16's.

EW pods on the Super Hornets do not need power from the engines, they generate their own power via an intake - air flows in and spins a turbine creating the required electric power generation for the pod.

The US may not give its full threat library and capability, thus it may be better to go for an JE-17 rather than an E-16j. I don't know why DRFM is seen as a very hard to achieve technology - it is basically the same technology on active noise cancelling headphones. The waveforms coming in are replicated and an opposite waveform is directed towards the waveform.

It is like @denel was saying, the South Africans were amused that PAF was not able to do a simple plumbing of IFR probe on the Mirages. Technical incompetence and lack of ambition is the real problem.

EW pods on the Super Hornets do not need power from the engines, they generate their own power via an intake - air flows in and spins a turbine creating the required electric power generation for the pod.

The US may not give its full threat library and capability, thus it may be better to go for an JE-17 rather than an E-16j. I don't know why DRFM is seen as a very hard to achieve technology - it is basically the same technology on active noise cancelling headphones. The waveforms coming in are replicated and an opposite waveform is directed towards the waveform.

It is like @denel was saying, the South Africans were amused that PAF was not able to do a simple plumbing of IFR probe on the Mirages. Technical incompetence and lack of ambition is the real problem.
one question before we even consider Ew; is there a consolidated comms link that is proprietary within PDFs; we have own Link-ZA.

IMG_1566.JPG
IMG_1567.JPG
IMG_1568.JPG
IMG_1569.JPG